We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“familyfriendly hotel with great staff”

Best prices for -
Check In dd/mm/yyyy Check Out dd/mm/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 11 more sites!
Clarion Collection Hotel Tollboden
Ranked #1 of 4 Hotels in Drammen
Certificate of Excellence
Reviewed 6 August 2013

I stayed there for 3 nights with husband and child. We got a spacoius room with an extra bed, and that didn't even feel crowded in the room.
Room was clean, and bathroom big enough.
The hotels is situated near a road and the railway, but t0we were not bothered by any noise- even with a light sleeper for a son.

The highlights of the hotel are the breakfast and evening meal buffets that are included in the price. Both hot and cold foods are served.

Staying with a kid, we also appreciated the playroom near the diningarea, where there was alot of toys and games for the kids to play with.
The hotel has a workout area as well, but we did not use it.

Will definitly reccomend to both familys as well as solo travellers!

  • Stayed: July 2013, travelled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
1  Thank tripptrapp95
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Tollboden, General Manager at Clarion Collection Hotel Tollboden, responded to this reviewResponded 8 August 2013

Dear Guests, thank you for this fabulous review, we're grateful for you taking the time to write a review. We love our guests and want them to experience the same as you did when visiting us. We look forward welcoming you to our hotel anytime soon:)

Best regards

"Tollerne and Trine"
General Manager

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Write a Review
Reviews (433)
There are newer reviews for Clarion Collection Hotel Tollboden
See the most recent reviews
Traveller rating
Traveller type
Time of year
Language
  • More languages

111 - 117 of 433 reviews

Reviewed 18 July 2013

After a whole day in the car it was perfect to check in and then sit down in the restaurant and eat from the very nice buffé. A good night sleep, half an hour in the gym and then eat a very nice breakfast. After that it was nice to continue the trip in the car. The staff so nice and friendly.

  • Stayed: July 2013, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
1  Thank AnnikaRosen
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Tollboden, General Manager at Clarion Collection Hotel Tollboden, responded to this reviewResponded 29 July 2013

Dear Guest, thank you so much for your review. We're grateful for you taking time to give us feedback, and we hope that the next time you stay, you'll stay longer than just one night.

Best regards

Trine Bingen
General Manager

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 18 July 2013

Rooms are always very clean. The beds can be a little firm.

underfloor heating in the bathroom is nice, The shower is pretty spacious. Toiletries provided are OK.

The evening buffet is included in the price. The food is always well prepared / presented. The few times i have stayed i have noticed that it can be a bit "same-y"

Breakfast is good. Again, a good selection of food, hot & cold.

Trying to get a coffee when the restaurant is not open is difficult. A couple of times I've given up trying

Room Tip: Rooms facing the railway line can be noisy
  • Stayed: March 2013, travelled on business
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
1  Thank Iain5Lewis
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Tollboden, General Manager at Clarion Collection Hotel Tollboden, responded to this reviewResponded 29 July 2013

Dear Guests,
we really appreciate you taking the time to write us a review. Although your rating of us is medium, when I read this review, I found that the words are more positive. I'm so sorry we didn't provide you with the information that the coffee is always available and free in the dining room. If there's no one there, just ask the staff in the front desk, they will help you. Next time you're visiting us, be sure to let us know what we can do to make your stay even better.

Best regards
Trine Bingen
General manager

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 6 June 2013

Stayed here for a week for business. The hotel is clean and situated in a nice city in Norway. It is close to the city centre and easily accessible. The hotel itself is modern. Boasts excellent facilities and has free wifi throughout.

The rooms was spacious, clean and very quiet. There is no difficulty sleeping here. The tv has a range of channels and there is a media port for HDMI, USB etc on the desk. All of the above was added to by the fantastic staff at this hotel. From reception through to restaurant/bar and room maintenance. Everyone made me feel very welcome.

The food here is excellent. I ate here many times during the week and found the food to vary greatly and was always top quality.

Stayed: June 2013, travelled on business
2  Thank sunflowers09
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Tollboden, General Manager at Clarion Collection Hotel Tollboden, responded to this reviewResponded 26 June 2013

Dear Guest, thank you so much for leaving us such a wonderful and positive review, we truly appreciate you taking the time doing so. We're also very happy that our values and atmosphere is something you as our guest also notice and enjoy. Hope to have you over for more visits.
Best regards

Team of Tollboden
Trine Bingen
General Manager

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 23 April 2013

You could have many perspectives on a hotel like this.

One perspective could be: Yet another boring, slightly worn, no-frills business hotel in a dull neighbourhood.

Even if the above is true - I rate it 5 stars because of the following features - which makes it a perfect fit for me - a regular business traveller.

1. 3 minutes walk from Drammen Central Station (great!)
2. Everything in the room works, and all what I need is there (ok!)
3. Sleep quality is good - a nice bed to my liking (great!)
4. Noise levels (even in a room facing the railway line) are ok and almost no trains a night (ok!)
5. Excellent, included-in-your-stay, dinner/buffet from 18:00-21:00 (really great!)
6. 2 minutes to running paths leading into the "mountains" (really great!)
7. Clearly-above-standard fitness facilities (really great!)
8. Above-average breakfast and free coffee-specialities (great!)
9. I felt welcomed by the hotel staff (great!)

That I why I like this hotel - and will come back. This is not the sort of romantic-get-away hotel - just a really nice business hotel in a city which otherwise is fairly dull (sorry Drammen).

Room Tip: If you prefer to go to bed early, prefer open windows (at summer time) and prefer quiet - ask for a...
  • Stayed: April 2013, travelled on business
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
1  Thank ThomasMS
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Tollboden, General Manager at Clarion Collection Hotel Tollboden, responded to this reviewResponded 30 April 2013

Dear Guest,
Wow, thank you so much for a great review- we really appreciate you taking the time and effort to let us and other possible guests know about your own experiences at our hotel, especially since this review was so positive-

Look forward to welcoming you to Drammen and our hotel once again


Best regards

Trine Bingen
General Manager

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 15 March 2013

Hoomey hotel with really friendly staff. I was travelling for a conference with my partner and we were very satisfied by the quality of the services. We were thrilled by their rich buffet that was available for both breakfast and dinner. Coffees, tea and chocolate were also available to customers throughout the day (how great is that?). Not to mention of course that it is walking distance from the train station I would definitely recommend this hotel!

  • Stayed: March 2013, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
1  Thank Ioanna N
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Tollboden, General Manager at Clarion Collection Hotel Tollboden, responded to this reviewResponded 18 March 2013

Dear Guest- thank you so much for this great review, it means a lot to us, and we really appreciate you taking your time writing this. We really hope to see you here again, always welcome to Drammen and home to Tollboden:)

Best Whishes

Tbings
Trine Bingen
General manager

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 11 December 2012

This is an excellent hotel with a warm atmosphere. The receptionist that we met was very welcoming and helpful. We were three friends staying at this hotel just over one night, and the room we had was very spacious and had a luxurious feel to it. Checking in at Tollboden we were informed of the evening meal, which had a nice ring in our ears considering we had had 2 hours on the train and bus and was starving. The receptionist told us that tonight's meal was tacos, I love tacos, but my friend was very surprised to see that it wasn't just tacos, but also a variety of sea food to choose from, so she was in heaven as well.

The breakfast was also really nice, lots of variety to choose from, and you had the choice to fry your own eggs :) All in all we had a brilliant, but alas short stay at Tollboden :D

  • Stayed: December 2012, travelled with friends
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
3  Thank Lotte S
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Tollboden, General Manager at Clarion Collection Hotel Tollboden, responded to this reviewResponded 25 February 2013

Dear guests,
Thank you so much for taking the time to write this review. We're happy that your stay here was a success, and look forward seeing you here again the next time you come home to Drammen:)

Best regards
Tbings

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Hotels you might also like...
Also consider these accommodations in or near Drammen
0.8 mi away
Comfort Hotel Union Brygge
0.4 mi away
Scandic Ambassadeur Drammen
0.7 mi away
Scandic Park Drammen
Scandic Park Drammen
#4 of 4 in Drammen
170 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
22.4 mi away
Son Spa
Son Spa
#1 of 1 in Son
687 reviews
11.1 mi away
Thon Hotel Vettre
Thon Hotel Vettre
#3 of 3 in Asker
158 reviews
15.3 mi away
Holmsbu Hotel & Spa
Holmsbu Hotel & Spa
#1 of 1 in Holmsbu
267 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to Clarion Collection Hotel Tollboden? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Clarion Collection Hotel Tollboden

Address: Tollbugata 43, Drammen 3044, Norway
Region: Norway > Eastern Norway > Buskerud > Drammen Municipality > Drammen
Amenities:
Bar / Lounge Fitness Centre with Gym / Workout Room Free Breakfast Free High Speed Internet ( WiFi ) Free Parking Pets Allowed ( Dog / Pet Friendly ) Restaurant Wheelchair access
Hotel Style:
Ranked #1 of 4 Hotels in Drammen
Price Range: £95 - £176 (Based on Average Rates for a Standard Room)
Hotel Class:3.5 star — Clarion Collection Hotel Tollboden 3.5*
Number of rooms: 127
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
Clarion Collection Hotel Tollboden is a different, first class hotel, centrally located at Stromso, Drammen. It's easy and nice to come "home" after a long day working, make your own waffles and have a cup of coffee or tea, on the house of course. For further relaxation we recommend our sauna. We also recommend staying at the hotel in the evening, enjoying our evening meal, served every evening, also free of charge. Welcome to us, we hope to see you here. ... more   less 
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Nordic Choice Hotels, Travel Republic (UK), Booking.com, Expedia, TripOnline SA, Hotels.com, Agoda, Evoline ltd, HotelQuickly, Cancelon and 5viajes2012 S.L. so you can book your Clarion Collection Hotel Tollboden reservations with confidence. We help millions of travellers each month to find the perfect hotel for both holiday and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing