We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Comfortable hotel,near trainstation”

Best prices for -
Check In dd/mm/yyyy Check Out dd/mm/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 8 more sites!
First Hotel Victoria
Ranked #3 of 6 Hotels in Hamar
Reviewed 19 September 2013

First Victoria is centrally located, with shops and restaurants near by. Few steps from the railway station, a good thing if you arrive/leave by train. If you are a light sleeper, however, ask for a room facing the back side of the building, as the trains pass in front of the hotel

Years ago I stayed at this hotel in an awful, worn and torn room. Pleased to find the hotel nicely renovated, clean and fresh now! Bathrooms a bit on the small side. Great views from my room on the 7th floor.
NIce breakfast served at the 3rd floor with lakeside views
The staff isn`t very smiling or cheerful, but efficinet and know what they are doing!
Popular Japanese restaurant at the ground floor.

Room Tip: If you are a light sleeper, choose a room which does not face the train tracks
See more room tips
  • Stayed: September 2013, travelled on business
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank abcnord
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Write a ReviewReviews (363)
Traveller rating
Traveller type
Time of year
Language
  • More languages

138 - 144 of 363 reviews

Reviewed 9 September 2013

The only room available when we needed to stay at the First Hotel Victoria was a suite. It was the nicest room I've stayed in while visiting Norway. The people who worked at the reception area were very nice and let us check in early to get ready for the wedding we were going to. My only complaint was the view. Our room looked over other parts of the building and for the price I paid, I would have loved a view of the sea.

  • Stayed: September 2013, travelled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank traveling_housewife
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 8 September 2013

Its a new hotel (renovated) hotel in Hamar.
Hamar it self is just an ordinary little town in Norway.

Reception very welcome and helpful.
Too small lift

Impressed (although didn't eat) with the Japanese restaurant run by the hotel.
Full with people, very busy.

Room ok, not really clean and my room view is to inside hotel area, look empty
and not very interesting.

Dinner on the 3rd floor coffee shop quite good, also the breakfast.

So for one night transit, it will be not bad

  • Stayed: August 2013, travelled on business
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank Gregorius S
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 14 August 2013

I got the best view from my big room..I can see the beautiful lake with many boats...this is my first time to stay here and I love it so much...if I get the 2nd chance to go back to Norway, I'll take Victoria as my hotel.

  • Stayed: August 2013
    • Value
    • Location
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank TrisyeDarmento
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 12 August 2013

This was actually the third time I had stayed in this hotel. The room upgrades they made have made this a really nice property. I enjoyed my previous stays, but this was much better.
The hotel staff is more professional now than in the past, and they did a great job making all of us feel welcome.
The rooms that face the lake have great views, but they come with a bit of a price. The train runs just across the street, so you get the train noise early in the day. The rooms that face the street don't have this problem.

Room Tip: Rooms on the upper floor are quieter, and those that are away from the lake are quieter still.
See more room tips
  • Stayed: June 2013, travelled on business
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank JMS959
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 16 July 2013

Our family had the good fortune to stay at the First Hotel Victoria for three days in June. This recently renovated hotel is a gem. The rooms are beautifully clean and decorated in spare Scandinavian style, with wood floors and clean bathrooms. The beds are comfortable and the breakfast is excellent with a full range of hot and cold foods, fruits, and juices, and was constantly being replenished by the staff. The hotel is a block from the train station and has free Wi-Fi. Parking is plentiful just across the street. Nagomi, the sushi restaurant within the hotel, is to die for. Chef Danny Thai serves the finest sushi and Japanese food you will ever eat. Our 22 year old son said the only trouble with eating at Nagomi is that you will never be happy eating sushi anywhere else again because it is simply so good. It is worth detouring through Hamar just to eat here. We also headed up to Lillehamar to visit the Maihaugen Open Air Museum that has models of Norwegian homes through the ages, all the way up to the present. It is a fascinating place to visit. You can also see the Olympic ski jump and head into the town for window shopping and lunch. The scenery on the drive up to Lillehammar is simply beautiful.

Room Tip: We had quiet rooms on the second floor on the end, near the dining room. We couldn't hear anyon...
See more room tips
  • Stayed: June 2013, travelled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank joyann2
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 27 June 2013

In this quiet norwegian town, a hotel located close to walking street but also close to the waterfront park this hotel has a very central location. There was a fee to park on the streets outside but it was affordable and there were many free parking slots. The hotel rooms had nice nordic neat design at the bed was comfortable. I especially remember the breakfast as it had a full range of choices, even gluten free bread. Check in was quick and personnel worked effecient. A nice hotel without any extras to give it more than 4 stars.

  • Stayed: July 2012, travelled with friends
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank strober
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Hotels you might also like...
Also consider these accommodations in or near Hamar
0.5 mi away
Scandic Hamar
Scandic Hamar
#2 of 6 in Hamar
253 reviews
0.1 mi away
Clarion Collection Hotel Astoria
16.9 mi away
Scandic Elgstua
Scandic Elgstua
#1 of 2 in Elverum
250 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
2.6 mi away
Scandic Ringsaker
Scandic Ringsaker
#1 of 1 in Furnes
210 reviews
12.8 mi away
Quality Hotel Strand Gjovik
0.8 mi away
Hamar Hostel Vikingskipet
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to First Hotel Victoria? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about First Hotel Victoria

Address: Strandgaten 21, Hamar 2300, Norway
Region: Norway > Eastern Norway > Hedmark > Hamar Municipality > Hamar
Amenities:
Bar / Lounge Beach Free High Speed Internet ( WiFi ) Pets Allowed ( Dog / Pet Friendly ) Restaurant Suites Wheelchair access
Hotel Style:
Ranked #3 of 6 Hotels in Hamar
Price Range: £70 - £125 (Based on Average Rates for a Standard Room)
Hotel Class:3.5 star — First Hotel Victoria 3.5*
Number of rooms: 161
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Expedia, Hotels.com, TripOnline SA, getaroom.com, Ebookers, HotelsClick, Evoline ltd, 5viajes2012 S.L., HotelQuickly and Cancelon so you can book your First Hotel Victoria reservations with confidence. We help millions of travellers each month to find the perfect hotel for both holiday and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
First Hotel Hamar

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing