We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.
The latest reviews. The lowest prices. The perfect place to shop for hotels.

“Great way to start our Norway trip”

Best prices for -
Check In dd/mm/yyyy Check Out dd/mm/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 10 more sites!
Clarion Collection Hotel Hammer
Ranked #1 of 8 Hotels in Lillehammer
Certificate of Excellence
Chicago, Illinois
Level Contributor
35 reviews
6 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 22 helpful votes
“Great way to start our Norway trip”
Reviewed 31 July 2013

We loved Hotel Hammer. The staff were very kind and patient with all our questions upon arriving in Norway. The rooms were very small but nice. The dining area and other decor were very nice. The food was plentiful and complimentary...afternoon waffle bar, soup/salad/bread for the evening, and a terrific breakfast buffet. The location is great...right in town with an easy walk to everything.

  • Stayed July 2013, travelled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
2 Thank Marie G
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
M_Haraldsen, General Manager at Clarion Collection Hotel Hammer, responded to this review, 2 August 2013
- And we love you !
Thank you very much for this very positive and nice review.
We certainly would appreciate to welcome you back someday.
Wish you a wonderful vacation in Norway, and a safe journey back home.
Yours sincerely
Marianne Haraldsen, GM
CCHHammer
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Write a Review

587 reviews from our community

Traveller rating
    299
    212
    50
    16
    10
See reviews for
123
196
28
150
Rating summary
  • Location
  • Sleep Quality
  • Rooms
  • Service
  • Value
  • Cleanliness
Traveller tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (28)
Date | Rating
  • Danish first
  • Dutch first
  • English first
  • Finnish first
  • French first
  • German first
  • Italian first
  • Norwegian first
  • Polish first
  • Portuguese first
  • Russian first
  • Spanish first
  • Swedish first
  • Any
English first
Minneapolis, Minnesota
Level Contributor
94 reviews
11 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 36 helpful votes
Reviewed 24 July 2013

Clean place right in the heart of town. Courteous staff. Child-friendly. Dynamite food.
Be careful about parking your car, though. Overnight on the street is free, but the
meter starts at about 7 a.m., and you'll want to park in the hotel lot instead.

Room Tip: Courtyard is fine.
See more room tips
  • Stayed June 2013, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank DavePorter090
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
M_Haraldsen, General Manager at Clarion Collection Hotel Hammer, responded to this review, 25 July 2013
Thank You very much for taking time to give us such a nice review. I means a lot to us that our guests enjoy staying here, and we hope to se you again sometime.
Yours sincerely
Marianne Haraldsen, GM
CCHHammer
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Hilton Head, South Carolina
Level Contributor
10 reviews
7 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 6 helpful votes
Reviewed 22 July 2013

My husband and I recently stayed here for four nights and were so glad we chose this hidden gem! Although the rooms and bathrooms were small, the friendliness, courtesy and helpfulness of the staff was HUGE!! And the best bonus was the breakfast buffet and "light" evening meal included in the stay. The weak exchange rate for the US dollar translated into expensive food prices in Norway, so these meals were greatly appreciated and enjoyed. We also liked the numerous displays of historic photos and items because they added much charm and supplied interesting information about the Lillehammer area. The location is perfect- in the center of this beautiful town- so we walked to shops and sights. I would highly recommend this Clarion Collection Hotel Hammer if you want EXCEPTIONAL service and a great value!

  • Stayed June 2013, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank luvaustria
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
M_Haraldsen, General Manager at Clarion Collection Hotel Hammer, responded to this review, 25 July 2013
Thank you very very much ! This gives us even more energy to start a new day and meet new guests with an even greater smile :-)
We hope we will see you again sometime - and wish you both a wonderful summer.
Yours sincerely
Marianne Haraldsen, GM
CCHHammer
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Finland
Level Contributor
112 reviews
90 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 67 helpful votes
Reviewed 8 July 2013

This hotel is an older building right in the middle of the town - just a half of a block from the pedestrian zone. The building is tastefully and finely maintained though and feels all modern inside. Friendly reception.
The room is technically speaking a three star room. Basic bed which is a bit too soft, an old tv, bathroom basic as well. However everything is again well maintained and clean.
There's a good feeling in this hotel.
Our window faced to the back yard parking lot. On the other side of that there's a Norwegian Post's truck point. They started their noisy work with the trucks at 5am. While sleeping our window open the noise disturbed me. Though my wife did not find that an issue at all and slept well.

Room Tip: Select a room on the street side where the main entrance is. On the other side, if you have light sl...
See more room tips
  • Stayed July 2013, travelled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank Jaatinen
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
M_Haraldsen, General Manager at Clarion Collection Hotel Hammer, responded to this review, 15 July 2013
Thank you very much for your very good and detailed review. We are sorry you did not sleep so good in the morning, but still glad that your wife did.
Next time on Lillehammer - we will take even a bit better care of you too :-)
Yours sincerely
Marianne Haraldsen, GM.
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Odense, Fyn, Denmark
Level Contributor
3 reviews
Reviewed 7 July 2013

Stayed here on numerous occasions with my wife and two small children. Always happy with the service and the receptionists are constantly keen on providing good and valuable help and advice. The Choice franchise is known for its food, and this hotel makes no exception. A huge plus is the evening supper from 6pm-9pm, which is a great way to finish a long day at Hunderfossen when the children are tired and hungry. A big variety of the meals is also a huge plus.

Would easily recommend this hotel to a friend or a family.

  • Stayed July 2013, travelled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank jorgenjevne
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
M_Haraldsen, General Manager at Clarion Collection Hotel Hammer, responded to this review, 15 July 2013
Thank you very very much for giving us such a good review. It is very nice to hear that we could satisfye the whole family.
You are all very much welcome back, on your next visit to Lillehammer.
Yours sincerely
Marianne Haraldsen, GM.
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
The Hague
Level Contributor
91 reviews
40 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 48 helpful votes
Reviewed 5 July 2013

Stayed here with a large group and was surprised at how good the hotel was. The room was a good size with a spotless bathroom. I was glad to have the blackout curtains due to the long period of daylight at this time of year. An ironing board was also provided in the room.

The free evening buffet was a nice surprise and more than adequate, esp if you have had a good lunch. The reception will serve beer for consumption in the small library. Free tea and coffee are available by the reception (saving on the need for kettles in the room).

All in all would recommend

  • Stayed June 2013, travelled on business
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank SirGoogle
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
M_Haraldsen, General Manager at Clarion Collection Hotel Hammer, responded to this review, 15 July 2013
Thank you very much for giving us such a good review. It was very nice of you to use of your time to give us feedback on our stay.
You are all very welcome back at your next visit to Lillehammer.
Yours sincerely
Marianne Haraldsen, gm.
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Charleston, South Carolina
Level Contributor
165 reviews
50 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 82 helpful votes
Reviewed 5 June 2013

This hotel has an evening buffet that had a nice spread of food including hotdogs, different kinds of rice, vegetables, salad, bread and more. They sold wine and beer. Breakfast was also a nice spread of food with fruit, yogurt, cereal, eggs, sausage, and a griddle to cook your own eggs how you like, a coffee machine that made cappuccino, juices, milk, etc...
The room was small but nice and new, and had a mini-fridge, ironing board and iron, flat screen TV, wireless internet that worked well, blowdryer and soap and shampoo in the bathroom. No clock. We parked on the street out front and that was free between the hours of 3pm and 9am. If you can't park there they have a parking garage that they charge you for.

  • Stayed May 2013, travelled with family
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
1 Thank strawberries4U
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
M_Haraldsen, General Manager at Clarion Collection Hotel Hammer, responded to this review, 6 June 2013
Thank you very much for taking time to give us such a positive response. We are very happy when we see that our guests appreciate our complimentary evening buffet.
Hoping to welcome you back sometime and wishing you a pleasent summer.
Yours sincerely
Marianne Haraldsen, GM
CCHHammer
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Hotels you might also like...
Travellers also viewed these Lillehammer hotels
0.5 mi away
Scandic Lillehammer Hotel
Scandic Lillehammer Hotel
#2 of 8 in Lillehammer
4.0 of 5 bubbles 249 reviews
0.3 mi away
Lillehammer Stasjonen Hotel & Hostel
0.3 mi away
First Hotel Breiseth
First Hotel Breiseth
#4 of 8 in Lillehammer
3.5 of 5 bubbles 310 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
0.2 mi away
Scandic Victoria Lillehammer
Scandic Victoria Lillehammer
#8 of 8 in Lillehammer
3.5 of 5 bubbles 280 reviews
0.6 mi away
Birkebeineren Hotel & Apartments
7.0 mi away
Hunderfossen Hotell & Resort
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to Clarion Collection Hotel Hammer? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Clarion Collection Hotel Hammer

Property: Clarion Collection Hotel Hammer
Address: Storgata 108B, Lillehammer 2615, Norway
Region: Norway > Eastern Norway > Oppland > Lillehammer
Amenities:
Bar / Lounge Business Centre with Internet Access Fitness Centre with Gym / Workout Room Free Breakfast Free High Speed Internet ( WiFi ) Free Parking Pets Allowed ( Dog / Pet Friendly ) Restaurant Suites Wheelchair access
Hotel Style:
Ranked #1 of 8 Hotels in Lillehammer
Price Range (Based on Average Rates): ££
Hotel Class:3.5 star — Clarion Collection Hotel Hammer 3.5*
Number of rooms: 142
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
Clarion Collection Hotel Hammer: the best and most obvious choice for business travellers in Lillehammer. Our hotel comprises 142 rooms, offers indoor parking and is located in the heart of Lillehammer. We serve a delicious breakfast in an informal setting in the dining room. In addition we treat our guests to waffles in the afternoon and an evening buffet, all without any additional charge. Guests can also help themselves to coffee/tea and national newspapers. If you would like to exercise during your stay, we will provide you with a map showing the best routes for running or you can use our indoor compact gym on the 2.nd floor. The hotel has expanded and been renovated in 2015 ... more   less 
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Booking.com, Expedia, Nordic Choice Hotels, Priceline, Odigeo, Ebookers, Hotels.com, TripOnline SA, Traveltool, S.L.U., Cancelon, Evoline ltd and HotelQuickly so you can book your Clarion Collection Hotel Hammer reservations with confidence. We help millions of travellers each month to find the perfect hotel for both holiday and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
Clarion Collection Hammer
Clarion Lillehammer
Lillehammer Clarion
Clarion Collection Lillehammer

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing