We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Pleasant experience”

Best prices for -
Check In dd/mm/yyyy Check Out dd/mm/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 7 more sites!
Birkebeineren Hotel & Apartments
Ranked #6 of 8 Hotels in Lillehammer
Certificate of Excellence
Germany
Level 1 Contributor
4 reviews
4 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 7 helpful votes
“Pleasant experience”
Reviewed 13 July 2008

The hotel is located in a quiet area between the town center of Lillehammer and the Lillehammer ski jump. Walking downtown takes about 10 minutes; the ski jump is a 20 minutes walk away. I recommend going uphill to the ski jump where you can enjoy a nice view of the scenery and lake Mjosa. If you're lucky you can also watch ski jumpers in action.

Outside the hotel there is a playground and lawn where you can sit and relax and enjoy the view. The rooms are nothing fancy but they are quiet and clean. The hotel staff was very friendly and supportive.

The breakfast was good; the only complaint I have is that you're asked to clean up your table by yourself.

Free parking space is available.

  • Liked — Location, friendliness of staff
  • Stayed June 2007, travelled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Check-in / front desk
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank sttr
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Write a Review

76 reviews from our community

Traveller rating
    19
    38
    15
    4
    0
See reviews for
30
12
4
5
Rating summary
  • Location
  • Sleep Quality
  • Rooms
  • Service
  • Value
  • Cleanliness
Traveller tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (3)
Date | Rating
  • Arabic first
  • Dutch first
  • English first
  • French first
  • German first
  • Hebrew first
  • Italian first
  • Norwegian first
  • Portuguese first
  • Any
English first
West Chester, PA
Level 2 Contributor
4 reviews
4 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 3 helpful votes
Reviewed 8 September 2007

We stayed two nights here in August and found the place clean and close to downtown Lillehammer (about a 10 min walk). The staff went above and beyond in terms of friendliness and helpfulness. Our only complaint was that it is near a venue where they held outdoor concerts (which lasted to 11:00 pm and midnight for the two nights we were there).

  • Stayed August 2007, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Check-in / front desk
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank CoffeyND
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Dublin
Level 6 Contributor
140 reviews
42 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 166 helpful votes
Reviewed 24 February 2007

Had a great experience here.
Despite breaking my collar bone 2 hours after arriving at the hotel (went Tobogganing at Kanthaugan!), the hotel was very helpful. They looked after taxis, rebooked car hire, and generally gave great advise.
They had 3 large school parites stating in the apartments on site, but because of the way they organised breakfasts, you would not have noticed. The De Luxe family rooms were big, warm, and had a great location. They cost NOK1195 per night, incl. breakfast.
We borrowed differents pairs of ski skates, and sleds/togoggans for free from reception, which meant we had enjoyment right at our door step.
It was really great, and despite my own misfortune, I would love to return some day once I recover.

A few words of advice:
Don't follow the signs for Birkenbeineren ski station as we did. There are a lot of signs for these around the town, but this is way up in the mountains, which were heavily covered in snow. The word ski station is not on most of the signs, it's just a symbol.

The tickets for the Hunderfossen Vinterpark are discounted at the hotel reception. Adults = NOK137 and Children = NOK102 v's NOK 195 and NOK 145 at the park itself. We saved over NOK200 by buying them this way, and did not have to queue when we arrived at the winterpark.

Stayed February 2007
Helpful?
4 Thank Dublinlocal
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Launceston, Australia
Level 6 Contributor
609 reviews
83 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 729 helpful votes
Reviewed 17 November 2006

A basic hotel located a short way out of town. Another place where they lost our reservation (the motel part has bunk beds). We stayed in the hotel section for three nights. Our room (307) was quite large but fairly basic as was the bathroom. There were no amenities in the bathroom. The hot water service was a bit steady as well. The TV was located on the far side of the room and was tiny so it was hard to watch it. The view was limited to the carpark and the woods beyond.
The breakfast room reminded us of an old fashioned school room. The spread on offer was okay but what really got to us was the signs on the tables asking us to pack up our plates when we had finished with them and put them on a trolley to aid the kitchen staff. We thought we were here on holidays...

  • Liked — Easy access and location
  • Disliked — Basic room, incorrect reservation, cleaning up at breakfast after ourselves
  • Stayed August 2006, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Check-in / front desk
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
2 Thank TassieTravellers99
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
New York City, New York
Level 5 Contributor
46 reviews
30 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 69 helpful votes
Reviewed 19 April 2006

Nice hotel a short and quaint 10 minute walk from the centre of town. The rooms are basic, but clean and functional. No bathtub, just a shower that is open on the floor, so water splashes all about. The breakfast is good, but basic. The hotel sauna was very nice after a day of cross country skiing, but it's split with a separate sauna for men and women - clean, but again basic.

The area has exceptional cross country trails (about a 20 minute car drive away) and unlike many other countries/areas you basically drive to a trail, park your car and off you go, without any boundries. The cross country trails are really quite exceptional.

In town there are several good restaurants and shops. The drive to the hotel from Oslo's main airport is very easy and takes about 2 hours.

  • Stayed February 2006
    • Value
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
4 Thank DanB24
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Scotland Uk
2 reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 3 helpful votes
Reviewed 2 July 2004

Had a lovely break here in Dec 02. Simple inexpensive apartment, clean, nice small kitchen, dishwasher etc.

About 15-20 minutes walk from train station. 25 minute bus to Ski area.

Nice walk to the local quiet bar in the evening.

If you don't mind the walk/ taxi from the train station (i didn't), its perfect!

  • Stayed December 2002
    • Value
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
3 Thank InvisibleNinja
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
A TripAdvisor Member
Reviewed 27 April 2003

Great place to stay in Lillehammer. We stayed in an apartment which included a fully equipped kitchen. Each apartment sleeps 6 in 3 bedrooms. Web site is ... and bookings can be done by e-mail ...

Helpful?
4 Thank A TripAdvisor Member
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Hotels you might also like...
Travellers also viewed these Lillehammer hotels
0.2 mi away
Scandic Lillehammer Hotel
Scandic Lillehammer Hotel
#2 of 8 in Lillehammer
317 reviews
0.6 mi away
Clarion Collection Hotel Hammer
0.7 mi away
HI Lillehammer -Stasjonen Hotel
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
0.6 mi away
Scandic Victoria Lillehammer
Scandic Victoria Lillehammer
#8 of 8 in Lillehammer
299 reviews
7.0 mi away
Hunderfossen Hotell & Resort
0.7 mi away
First Hotel Breiseth
First Hotel Breiseth
#5 of 8 in Lillehammer
324 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to Birkebeineren Hotel & Apartments? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Birkebeineren Hotel & Apartments

Property: Birkebeineren Hotel & Apartments
Address: Birkebeinervegen 24, Lillehammer 2618, Norway
Region: Norway > Eastern Norway > Oppland > Lillehammer
Amenities:
Free High Speed Internet ( WiFi ) Free Parking Pets Allowed ( Dog / Pet Friendly ) Restaurant Wheelchair access
Hotel Style:
Ranked #6 of 8 Hotels in Lillehammer
Price Range (Based on Average Rates): ££
Hotel Class:3 star — Birkebeineren Hotel & Apartments 3*
Number of rooms: 94
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
Birkebeineren Hotel & Apartments is located in beautiful surroundings in the middle of the Olympic Park in Lillehammer, a 10 minute walk from the town centre and about 15 minutes by car from Hafjell Alpine Centre and Hunderfossen Family Park. The standard of our facilities is new, good and sporty, and our customers range from families to bus groups, conference participants and professional athletes. Thanks to our ideal location and the great choice of activities right outside the doorstep, as well as a good standard at low rates, our guests are satisfied indeed! All hotel rooms have shower/WC, WLAN, Sat-TV and telephone, as well as beds which can be separated. The double de luxe rooms are twice as large as the regular double rooms, and have a double bed together with a double bed couch. We have a total of 54 hotel rooms. We have a total of 40 apartments, each of 60m². Each apartment has 3 bedrooms; 2 bedrooms with bunkbeds, 1 bedroom with doublebed, a total of 6 beds. 2 bathrooms with WC/shower in each apartment. Fully equipped kitchen, including kitchenrange, dishwasher, coffeemaker etc. Livingroom with dinner-table, sofa, WLAN, TV and telephone. Private balcony and storage room with each apartment. Cleaning upon departure, bedlinen and towels are included in the price, but the guests make their own bed. We can offer our guests free use of WLAN in all our hotel rooms and apartments. ... more   less 
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Booking.com, Hotels.com, Expedia, Priceline, TripOnline SA, Evoline ltd and Cancelon so you can book your Birkebeineren Hotel & Apartments reservations with confidence. We help millions of travellers each month to find the perfect hotel for both holiday and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
Birkebeineren Hotel Apartments

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing