We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.
The latest reviews. The lowest prices. The perfect place to shop for hotels.

“Dirty”

Best prices for -
Check In dd/mm/yyyy Check Out dd/mm/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 9 more sites!
First Hotel Breiseth
Ranked #4 of 8 Hotels in Lillehammer
Oslo, Norway
Level Contributor
6 reviews
4 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 3 helpful votes
“Dirty”
Reviewed 29 October 2012

Dirty room, needs renovation. The dirt hung down from the bathroom roof, caused from lacking ventilation. Poorest room I´ve seen. The beds were clean and breakfast ok. Location is practical- close to the railway station.

  • Stayed October 2012, travelled with friends
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank Bibbi1910
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Write a Review

295 reviews from our community

Traveller rating
    62
    91
    78
    44
    20
See reviews for
66
84
31
71
Rating summary
  • Location
    4.5 of 5 bubbles
  • Sleep Quality
    4 of 5 bubbles
  • Rooms
    3 of 5 bubbles
  • Service
    4 of 5 bubbles
  • Value
    3.5 of 5 bubbles
  • Cleanliness
    4 of 5 bubbles
Traveller tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (13)
Date | Rating
  • Danish first
  • Dutch first
  • English first
  • French first
  • German first
  • Norwegian first
  • Portuguese first
  • Russian first
  • Spanish first
  • Swedish first
  • Any
English first
Sandefjord, Norway
1 review
Reviewed 17 September 2012

Good location, friendly staff and a very good breakfast. But that's about it. The room facing the train and bus station was extremely small. The walls really needed a paint job and the shower curtain smelled bad. Unfortunatelly the hotel was full, so upgrading or having another room was impossible. Noise from next door neighbours and hallway in the middle of the night made sleeping difficult. Poor hotel fascilities as well. Paying NOK 1259,- (USD 220) you'd expect more from a 3 star hotel

  • Stayed September 2012, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank Nilsen64
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC

Travellers are raving about these Lillehammer hotels

Trondheim, Norway
Level Contributor
4 reviews
4 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 2 helpful votes
Reviewed 6 September 2012

We were very dissapointed with the "quality" of our rooms in relationship to how very expensive the rooms were.
Our double room was 1399 kr.roughly 240.00 U.S.dollars.
Outside the hotel hung a large banner " We offer low prices"...this was not true!
The room was old, worn out, not as clean as it could be.... and there were no extras such as mini bar, coffer maker,or even pictures on the wall.

This was surprising as usually Norwegian standards are much better for thr price.
Never again!

  • Stayed September 2012, travelled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank joepapa251
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Houston, Texas
Level Contributor
453 reviews
83 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 194 helpful votes
Reviewed 14 August 2012

Maybe I thought Lillehammer would have quaint inns and hotels with that charming touch of Norway...this place clearly missed it.

Nice entrance and friendly reception area; good location for walking about on foot to see the area. The room - first, bath was out-dated with a very awkward tub. Overall room ceiling had stains and lines of past neglect. The bed was rather comfortable but hard to ignore the fact that the covered pad was just laying on top of the actual mattress; no mattress pad, cover, etc. Our room opened up to the street which would have been a problem if we had not had our sound machine app on the iphone going the entire night. Some friends had windows open for the breeze, but we could not due to the noise.

Coffee and breakfast was good, not great, but good.

We have stayed in many of the First Hotels, this one needs work to bring it to the 21st Century. I would stay here only if this is all the budget allows - otherwise, look elsewhere.

Room Tip: If you are a light sleeper, make sure you stay clear of the rooms facing the street noise!
See more room tips
  • Stayed July 2012, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank Alexa8776
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Oslo, Norway
Level Contributor
48 reviews
15 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 30 helpful votes
Reviewed 20 July 2012

very friendly check-in. our room was already ready when we arrived at noon. room was in the old part of the hotel, so looked outdated and worn, but had good beds! free wifi available, which is very convenient.
breakfast was superb!

2 minutes walk to both main street and/or train station, good starting point for excursions.

Room Tip: i suppose rooms in the newer section hold a higher standard, but it really doesn't matter if you...
See more room tips
  • Stayed July 2012, travelled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank hakadoelen
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Oslo, Norway
Level Contributor
6 reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 1 helpful vote
Reviewed 10 April 2012

Spent one night here on stopover on easter holiday with my man and two kids and didn´t expect anything special. We had the standard room and it was ok, but clean and the beds were fantastic to lay in. But what made the hotel special was the very friendly and helpful staff. The babycot we got was usable, but a bit broken, and they lent another one for us from a nearby hotel, which I thought was really great! The free breakfast was also super, with a fab service and the loungearea had a calm and good atmosphere. Great location. Overall very pleased and good value for money!

  • Stayed April 2012, travelled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank pingosvihus
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Lillehammer, Norway
Level Contributor
40 reviews
6 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 12 helpful votes
Reviewed 16 February 2012

Good rooms, quiet, top service and excellent breakfast. My company uses this hotel as our accommodation provider for our international project partner guests when they are in town. It is situated very close to the railway station and is in the very middle of the city center. Free parking and WLAN for guests. Breakfast included in room price.

Room Tip: Even the economy rooms are very good.
See more room tips
  • Stayed January 2012, travelled on business
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank OnkelOnx
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Hotels you might also like...
Travellers also viewed these Lillehammer hotels
0.3 mi away
Clarion Collection Hotel Hammer
0.5 mi away
Lillehammer Hotel
Lillehammer Hotel
#3 of 8 in Lillehammer
237 reviews
0.1 mi away
Lillehammer Stasjonen Hotel & Hostel
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
0.2 mi away
Scandic Victoria Lillehammer
Scandic Victoria Lillehammer
#8 of 8 in Lillehammer
275 reviews
0.2 mi away
Molla Hotel
Molla Hotel
#5 of 8 in Lillehammer
122 reviews
0.7 mi away
Birkebeineren Hotel & Apartments
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to First Hotel Breiseth? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about First Hotel Breiseth

Property: First Hotel Breiseth
Address: Jernbanegata 1, Lillehammer 2609, Norway
Region: Norway > Eastern Norway > Oppland > Lillehammer
Amenities:
Fitness Centre with Gym / Workout Room Free High Speed Internet ( WiFi ) Restaurant Wheelchair access
Hotel Style:
Ranked #4 of 8 Hotels in Lillehammer
Price Range (Based on Average Rates): £
Hotel Class:3 star — First Hotel Breiseth 3*
Number of rooms: 89
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
First Hotel Breiseth, established in 1898, is one of the oldest hotels in Lillehammer. At the time of its opening, it was considered the most fashionable hotel in town. During its first 40 years of operation the hotel was very popular among a group of artist. Cash was not always forthcoming, and as a result the hotel received a number of paintings still decorating its walls. As a guest at our hotel you will be within walking distance of attractions like Maihaugen, Lillehammer art museum, the pedestrian precinct Gagata, several restaurants and a range of activities. Ski bus to Hafjell departs close to the hotel. ... more   less 
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Expedia, Booking.com, Odigeo, Travel Republic (UK), Hotels.com, TripOnline SA, Traveltool, S.L.U., Evoline ltd and HotelQuickly so you can book your First Hotel Breiseth reservations with confidence. We help millions of travellers each month to find the perfect hotel for both holiday and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
First Hotel Lillehammer

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing