We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“If you travel by car, there is a free parking”

Best prices for -
Check In dd/mm/yyyy Check Out dd/mm/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 8 more sites!
First Hotel Breiseth
Ranked #5 of 8 Hotels in Lillehammer
Reviewed 21 July 2013 via mobile

The hotel is ok if you have no other choises. The breakfast is good, with a lot of food to select from. The room for breakfast is very simple but I found a great coffee with a beautiful place to enjoy it, special made for that or just for relaxing(it has a fireplace and I think that in the winter has a magical vibe). The Coffee ( the tea also) is not limited so you can drink as much as you want to feel up for a new day and you can do that at anytime.

  • Stayed: July 2013
    • Value
    • Location
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank mihcojocaru
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Write a ReviewReviews (343)
Traveller rating
Traveller type
Time of year
Language

149 - 155 of 343 reviews

Reviewed 3 July 2013

nice hotel - as said, rooms a little small, especially for 3 people - service good though - wi/fi available and location nice, Lillehammer is a nice pretty town - free coffee and tea in the morning was nice

  • Stayed: June 2013, travelled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank duke147
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 18 April 2013

This hotel is a great value with very friendly and helpful staff. It's right across the street from the train and bus station, which is the best transportation to use to get to Lillehammer from Oslo or Trondheim, etc. There's a great free breakfast in the morning with lots of choices. Jan, at the front desk, was incredibly helpful in getting out a map and drawing all over it for me to show me how to get to the various things to see in Lillehammer. The room was comfortable with a nice-sized bathroom, bed and closet. Overall, it was clean, very convenient, and the staff couldn't have been nicer.

  • Stayed: February 2013, travelled solo
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank acp0505
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 29 March 2013 via mobile

Got a good deal on this hotel for 2 rooms over Easter. It's a little tired, and could do with a freshen up but the rooms are plenty big enough, the bathroom was clean and supplied toiletries were nice. Breakfast was fantastic value. Service was great -staff were really friendly

  • Stayed: March 2013
    • Value
    • Location
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank Karen S
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 30 January 2013

We spent in Lillehammer 2 weeks. I had tried to be very careful searching the hotel for this vacation as we traveled with a child 6 years old. We were really impressed by two things (it’s besides of hospitality of the stuff on the reception. About it later): the design of the room and breakfasts.
First of all about the room. As far as we understood there are two kinds of rooms –new designed and traditional style . We got the traditional styled room. It was quite big and reminded the second part of the of the 19th century – high ceilings and “fabric” paper walls with old styled furniture. There was one-and-a half safer for a child and a double bed for us, nice paintings (the Scandinavian style).
It looked like we dived in something from the bourgeois past, the pictures we used to watch in movies about 19th century. Besides there was a bathroom with warm floor and normal clean bath (not a douche cabin). I’m quite careful with bathrooms and really hate dirty and rusty bath equipment. But there was everything fine with it there were even the creams and sponges besides usual lotions.The cleaning was daily and thanks to the lady who did it ,as she was very accurate ordering our stuff that was everywhere in the room after early leaving the hotel each morning for skiing. We were really impressed with the breakfast (taking into consideration the price and the quality) – 3 types of cheese, fish (sometimes salmon), fresh croissants ( you can watch them baking ). There is a sauna there as well (it was clean), that was quite helpful after long stay outdoors. By the way the hotel is situated in the center of the town, just near the Art Museum and a wonderful sushi (it’s quite rare to find good sushi in Europe, but this small sushi shop belonged to a Japanese family, is really good. We had evening meal there during the last 4 days). The stuff on the reception was nice. Special thanks to the lady (don't remember her name), she recommended us where to find horse -riding last minute.

  • Stayed: January 2013, travelled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank Katherina C
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 29 October 2012

Dirty room, needs renovation. The dirt hung down from the bathroom roof, caused from lacking ventilation. Poorest room I´ve seen. The beds were clean and breakfast ok. Location is practical- close to the railway station.

  • Stayed: October 2012, travelled with friends
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank Bibbi1910
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 17 September 2012

Good location, friendly staff and a very good breakfast. But that's about it. The room facing the train and bus station was extremely small. The walls really needed a paint job and the shower curtain smelled bad. Unfortunatelly the hotel was full, so upgrading or having another room was impossible. Noise from next door neighbours and hallway in the middle of the night made sleeping difficult. Poor hotel fascilities as well. Paying NOK 1259,- (USD 220) you'd expect more from a 3 star hotel

  • Stayed: September 2012, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank Nilsen64
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Hotels you might also like...
Travellers also viewed these Lillehammer hotels
0.3 mi away
Clarion Collection Hotel Hammer
0.1 mi away
HI Lillehammer -Stasjonen Hotel
0.5 mi away
Scandic Lillehammer Hotel
Scandic Lillehammer Hotel
#2 of 8 in Lillehammer
416 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
0.2 mi away
Scandic Victoria Lillehammer
Scandic Victoria Lillehammer
#8 of 8 in Lillehammer
327 reviews
0.2 mi away
Molla Hotel
Molla Hotel
#4 of 8 in Lillehammer
140 reviews
0.7 mi away
Birkebeineren Hotel & Apartments
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to First Hotel Breiseth? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about First Hotel Breiseth

Address: Jernbanegata 1, Lillehammer 2609, Norway
Region: Norway > Eastern Norway > Oppland > Lillehammer
Amenities:
Fitness Centre with Gym / Workout Room Free High Speed Internet ( WiFi ) Restaurant Wheelchair access
Hotel Style:
Ranked #5 of 8 Hotels in Lillehammer
Price Range: £61 - £100 (Based on Average Rates for a Standard Room)
Hotel Class:3 star — First Hotel Breiseth 3*
Number of rooms: 89
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
First Hotel Breiseth, established in 1898, is one of the oldest hotels in Lillehammer. At the time of its opening, it was considered the most fashionable hotel in town. During its first 40 years of operation the hotel was very popular among a group of artist. Cash was not always forthcoming, and as a result the hotel received a number of paintings still decorating its walls. As a guest at our hotel you will be within walking distance of attractions like Maihaugen, Lillehammer art museum, the pedestrian precinct Gagata, several restaurants and a range of activities. Ski bus to Hafjell departs close to the hotel. ... more   less 
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Booking.com, Expedia, TripOnline SA, Hotels.com, Evoline ltd, HotelsClick, Ebookers, HotelQuickly, 5viajes2012 S.L. and Cancelon so you can book your First Hotel Breiseth reservations with confidence. We help millions of travellers each month to find the perfect hotel for both holiday and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
First Hotel Lillehammer

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing