We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.
The latest reviews. The lowest prices. The perfect place to shop for hotels.

“Not too bad for one night” 3 of 5 bubbles
Review of Scandic Hammerfest

Best prices for -
Check In dd/mm/yyyy Check Out dd/mm/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 4 more sites!
Scandic Hammerfest
Ranked #2 of 5 Hotels in Hammerfest
Sandnes, Norway
Level Contributor
96 reviews
16 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 27 helpful votes
“Not too bad for one night”
3 of 5 bubbles Reviewed 18 December 2013

Had to spend the night here as the plane was canceled due to bad weather. The room wasn't too bad, but the shower in the bathroom had a huge window inside facing another house, which I found weird and uncomfortable, so I opted out on showering!

The breakfast was OK, but I wasn't thrilled. Could have done with more vegetarian options!

  • Stayed December 2013, travelled solo
    • 3 of 5 bubbles
      Value
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Location
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Sleep Quality
    • 3 of 5 bubbles
      Rooms
    • 3 of 5 bubbles
      Cleanliness
    • 3 of 5 bubbles
      Service
Helpful?
Thank Elin_BS
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Write a Review

140 reviews from our community

Traveller rating
    38
    54
    26
    12
    10
See reviews for
16
37
8
62
Rating summary
  • Location
    4 of 5 bubbles
  • Sleep Quality
    4 of 5 bubbles
  • Rooms
    4 of 5 bubbles
  • Service
    4 of 5 bubbles
  • Value
    3.5 of 5 bubbles
  • Cleanliness
    4 of 5 bubbles
Traveller tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (16)
Date | Rating
  • Dutch first
  • English first
  • Finnish first
  • French first
  • German first
  • Italian first
  • Japanese first
  • Norwegian first
  • Polish first
  • Portuguese first
  • Russian first
  • Spanish first
  • Swedish first
  • Any
English first
Nottingham, United Kingdom
Level Contributor
69 reviews
62 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 29 helpful votes
4 of 5 bubbles Reviewed 10 November 2013

We stayed here for one night only on a driving trip up the coast.
We found the hotel next to an active building site, so dust and noise was an issue, but the hotel made every effort to minimise the effect for us.
We had an excellent room overlooking the sea and found the breakfast good. We were grateful to use the self laundry facilities offered.

  • Stayed July 2013, travelled with friends
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Value
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Location
    • 3 of 5 bubbles
      Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Rooms
    • 3 of 5 bubbles
      Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Service
Helpful?
Thank Cathy_Bob
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
New York City, New York
Level Contributor
38 reviews
37 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 40 helpful votes
3 of 5 bubbles Reviewed 12 August 2013

Nothing very memorable. Given the remote location, it is really the best option. The hotel is clean enough, room is comfortable. Typical Norway breakfast buffet was fine. There is very little in this town to choose from and that includes restaurants. It is more of a stop on the way to Nordkapp.

  • Stayed August 2013, travelled solo
    • 3 of 5 bubbles
      Value
    • 3 of 5 bubbles
      Location
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Sleep Quality
    • 3 of 5 bubbles
      Rooms
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Cleanliness
    • 3 of 5 bubbles
      Service
Helpful?
3 Thank drmmink
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Scandicci, Italy
Level Contributor
6 reviews
3 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 3 helpful votes
3 of 5 bubbles Reviewed 4 August 2013 via mobile

Rooms nice renovated but very dirty: fingerprints everywhere on the bed-header, bathroom door full of strange spots, dust, skirtings black for soiled...
Good and varied breakfast, nice new and panoramic restaurant but unattractive old lobby...
The building is very unpleasant like many other in the post-war town.

  • Stayed August 2013
    • 2 of 5 bubbles
      Value
    • 3 of 5 bubbles
      Location
    • 3 of 5 bubbles
      Rooms
    • 1 of 5 bubbles
      Cleanliness
    • 2 of 5 bubbles
      Service
Helpful?
Thank nerisimone
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
London, United Kingdom
Level Contributor
32 reviews
23 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 24 helpful votes
2 of 5 bubbles Reviewed 3 August 2013 via mobile

The hotel itself is nice, but service is lacking. Why have two new staff manning the reception without a more experienced staff? Result: 30 minutes for check in. Do not forget anythng at breakfast table, because staff will throw it away, even if it is clearly marked as medication. And it is certainly not the fault of the hotel that here is a construction site next to it, but construction noise at 7 am and 10:30 pm? Really?

Stayed July 2013, travelled with family
Helpful?
Thank thorstenleo
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC

Travellers are raving about these Hammerfest hotels

Oslo
Level Contributor
12 reviews
7 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 11 helpful votes
5 of 5 bubbles Reviewed 30 May 2013

There was nothing special about the room or facilities but everything just "felt right". My room faced the sea and was quite atmospheric because of this - there would have been a nice view except for the Winter light! The room was just the right temperature with natural windows and ventilation which are a bonus even in Winter. Walking distance from the attractions (okay that's only 2 in Hammerfest!)

I was there for work and taxis to the office and the airport were very fast. The restaurant served very good and interesting traditional food with very friendly service.

Room Tip: there is a fairly busy road on one side
See more room tips
  • Stayed January 2013, travelled on business
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Value
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Location
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Sleep Quality
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Rooms
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Service
Helpful?
Thank Dan S
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Norway
Level Contributor
17 reviews
9 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 18 helpful votes
5 of 5 bubbles Reviewed 22 March 2013

Very comfortable stay in a Deluxe Room with separate sitting room and entrance area for 10 days while on business in late January. The hotel is nicely situated on the water with views from the breakfast room/restaurant. My room looked out over the sea and entrance to the harbor. At night I could watch the northern lights and in the morning the "blue time" before sunrise. The bed was wonderfully comfortable.! Good bathtub with shower in the spacious bathroom. Breakfast spread was copious and service ok. The only negative was a television that was out of order, but fixed within a day. Very responsive evening/night staff both regarding the TV and problems with noise from a neighboring room at 4 am. Would have appreciated more personal hospitality from the daytime front desk staff considering how long I was there. Ate one dinner in the restaurant -- pricey but delicious. I recommend the hotel for business travellers and for tourists seeking extra comfort despite high Norwegian prices.

Room Tip: Deluxe room much more spacious than a standard, Has sleepsofa in the separate sitting area.
See more room tips
  • Stayed January 2013, travelled on business
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Value
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Location
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Rooms
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Cleanliness
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Service
Helpful?
2 Thank expat54
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Hotels you might also like...
Also consider these accommodations in or near Hammerfest
0.2 mi away
Thon Hotel Hammerfest
Thon Hotel Hammerfest
#1 of 5 in Hammerfest
4.0 of 5 bubbles 128 reviews
0.3 mi away
Smarthotel Hammerfest
Smarthotel Hammerfest
#3 of 5 in Hammerfest
4.0 of 5 bubbles 37 reviews
0.6 mi away
Hotell Skytterhuset
Hotell Skytterhuset
#5 of 5 in Hammerfest
3.0 of 5 bubbles 16 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
13.1 mi away
Skaidi Hotel
Skaidi Hotel
#1 of 1 in Kvalsund
3.5 of 5 bubbles 64 reviews
Show Prices

Been to Scandic Hammerfest? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Scandic Hammerfest

Property: Scandic Hammerfest
Address: Soeroeygata 15, Hammerfest 9600, Norway (Formerly Rica Hotel Hammerfest)
Region: Norway > Northern Norway > Finnmark > Hammerfest Municipality > Hammerfest
Amenities:
Bar / Lounge Business Centre with Internet Access Fitness Centre with Gym / Workout Room Free Breakfast Free High Speed Internet ( WiFi ) Restaurant Room Service
Hotel Style:
Ranked #2 of 5 Hotels in Hammerfest
Price Range (Based on Average Rates): ££
Hotel Class:3.5 star — Scandic Hammerfest 3.5*
Number of rooms: 84
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
Scandic Hammerfest is located in the center of the northernmost town in the world and offers a beautiful view of the harbour and the Soroy strait. Our hotel offers 85 rooms all with a view of either the city or the sea. If you are planning a meeting, conference or event we can provide venues for up to 250 participants. We also have a modern hotel gym where you can keep in shape during your stay. As a hotel guest you always have free WiFi in your room and public areas. ... more   less 
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Hotels.com, Booking.com, Odigeo and Agoda so you can book your Scandic Hammerfest reservations with confidence. We help millions of travellers each month to find the perfect hotel for both holiday and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing