We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.
“Ekkeröy, the best place to stay for bird-watching...”
other traveller has booked this property
Sea Gulls at the bird cliff in Ekkerøy
Bookings for this home are first-come, first served. Lock in your dates before they are gone
Sea Gulls at the bird cliff in Ekkerøy
The former chapel at Ekkerøy has now 2 apartments. Diningroom in Sea Apartment.
Check Availability
Request to Book
Make Enquiry
Excellent
54 reviews
Sea Gulls at the bird cliff in Ekkerøy
The former chapel at Ekkerøy has now 2 apartments.
Diningroom in Sea Apartment.
Bathroom in Sea apartment. One is with washing machine for clothes,
Sleeping room with 2 singel beds in Sea Apartment at Ekkerøy.
Kitchen are very well equipped.
One of the sleeping room in the first floor.
Old furnitures make it cosy in the Sea apartment.
Very close to sea and good winters from February/March in Varanger.
Sea Apartment at Ekkerøy in North-Norway.
Its good conditions for birding in Varanger
Stormy weather at Ekkerøy
Cross country skiing in Varanger - with view to the sea!
Ekkerøy with the special nature
Endless roads in white landscape. Its normally easy to drive on the open winter-roads in Varanger.
Reindeer - as you often can see by the roads!
Ekkerøy - a place for relaxing holidays
The bird cliffs at Ekkerøy in March
Nice to enjoy the Varanger peninsula
Puffins at Hornøya - 45 minutes driving from Ekkerøy
The Stellers Eider - over all in Varanger and close to Ekkerøy!
View from the cliffs at Ekkerøy
Northern Light over Varanger where you can stay at Ekkerøy Holiday House. Photo:Roy H. Friskilæ
Varanger - special nature and few people!
Here you can stay! Northern light above Ekkerøy Holiday House in Varanger!
The birdlife in Varanger is special
Puffins at amazing Hornøya - 45 minutes driving from Ekkerøy
Claudberry in Varanger
Hornøya - beside Vardø - 45 minutes driving from Ekkerøy
Relaxing time at Ekkerøy
Reindeer - all over!
The kittiwakes comes in March and leave in August. Its about 30 000 of them at Ekkerøy.
One of the two beaches at Ekkerøy
Ingjerd Tjelle is running Ekkerøy Holiday House. She try to give you good memories from Varanger.
This property is not available for these dates.
Don't give up! Enquire about other rentals just like this one that are available -
Show all rentals available
Overview
Condo/Apartment -
2 Bedrooms, 1 Bathroom, Sleeps 4
Vadso, Vadso Municipality, Finnmark, Northern Norway

Reviews from our community

Excellent - based on 54 reviews
Write a Review

Reviews from our community

Date | Rating
  • English first
  • German first
  • Any
English first
English first
German first
Any
English first
Helga D
Neftenbach, Switzerland
1 review
“Ekkeröy, the best place to stay for bird-watching at Varangerford!!”
Reviewed 12 September 2014 for a stay in May 2014

It was our second vi,sit to Ekkeröy Feriehus on Bedehuset.Last year in we stayed there in june,and every time for about a week.We got a very frendly receiving from Ingjerd Tjelle,
and we found the Apartment in Bedehuset very well equiped,clean and very cosy.We felt
at home at once.For bird-watching it is a eccelent place to stay,with a beautiful beach on both side of the house.with lots of birds.A place where we hope to come back again!
Helga and Jovan Djuric-Nygaard, Switzerland

Travelling group: Spouse/Partner
Would you recommend this hotel to a friend?   Yes.
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Cecilia F
Stockholm, Sweden
1 review
“Perfect living in a well equipped beautiful house”
Reviewed 3 September 2014 for a stay in June 2014

The house is beautifully situated with the sea in two directions. The equipment i perfect,: good beds and good kitchen. The house has an exiting history which was told by the renter and it gave us a good atmoshere. It's close to walk to the fantastic birdcliffs. We were five travel companions (birdwatchers) that stayed overnight in the house and we all recommend the house to new visitors.

How easy was it to book the property? How helpful were the directions to the property?
How easy was key pickup/access to the property? Overall condition of the property
Bedding & mattresses Kitchen & utensils
Bathroom cleanliness Other facilities & amenities
Service
Liked best: The house and the surroundings
Liked least: We didn't find anything bad
Travelling group: Friends
Would you recommend this hotel to a friend?   Yes.
Recommended for:
Friends getaway
  • Was the property as advertised?
  • Would you recommend the location of this property?
  • Was it a good value for the price paid?
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Thyja
Helsinki, Finland
Level 1 Contributor
4 reviews
3 hotel reviews
“excellent location, nice apartments”
Reviewed 3 September 2014 for a stay in June 2014

I have been in apartments and white house thrice on birding trip. Owner of rentals is very nice and helpful.

Apartments have nicer interior, but if there is loud neighbour on the other apartments, some noises can be heard through the wall. Also apartments have smaller bedrooms ( with low ceiling on upstairs, watch out for your head! ) than white house.
White house has splendid location and nice floorplan for 5 guests. There are two 2-person bedrooms downstairs, and one 1 person room upstairs. If you are not fan of high pillows, I recommend to bring your own pillow or ask the owner, if there is possibility get lower one. Kitchens are fully equipped, though I missed microwave in apartments. Location is great, and althought apartments are right beside road, there is no traffic noise. WiFi is huge plus.

Place is ideal for birding trips, white house is near birdcliff and apartments are right beside wader beach.

I think the pricing is Norwegian standard, and it includes free use saunas.

This is my favourite place to stay, if I have holiday in Varanger.

How easy was it to book the property? How helpful were the directions to the property?
How easy was key pickup/access to the property? Overall condition of the property
Bedding & mattresses Kitchen & utensils
Bathroom cleanliness Other facilities & amenities
Service
Liked best: location
Travelling group: Friends
Would you recommend this hotel to a friend?   Yes.
Recommended for:
Friends getaway Families with young children
Large groups
  • Was the property as advertised?
  • Would you recommend the location of this property?
  • Was it a good value for the price paid?
  • Did the property offer wi-fi/internet access?
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Management Response
4 Sep 2014
Thanks Tuija for a nice review, and good advices about pillows and other things. You are always welcome back to Varanger and Ekkerøy.
Best regards Ingjerd, Ekkerøy Holiday House
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Christian...
Halsnaes Municipality, Denmark
1 review
“Far away from everything, and Then, in the middle of it”
Reviewed 11 August 2014 for a stay in July 2014

Even tho the Barent sea is cold, It welcommed us with a beatyfull little house that haved almost everything you need for a fantastic hollyday in the north.

How easy was it to book the property? How helpful were the directions to the property?
How easy was key pickup/access to the property? Overall condition of the property
Bedding & mattresses Kitchen & utensils
Bathroom cleanliness Other facilities & amenities
Service
Liked best: All of it
Liked least: The wifii Was a bit slow
Travelling group: Other
Would you recommend this hotel to a friend?   Yes.
Recommended for:
Older travelers Families with young children
People with pets
  • Was the property as advertised?
  • Would you recommend the location of this property?
  • Was it a good value for the price paid?
  • Did the property offer wi-fi/internet access?
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Management Response
26 Aug 2014
Thanks Christian for nice words about your stay at Ekkerøy Holiday House :-) Best regards Ingjerd
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Ribe
Reviewed 10 April 2014 for a stay in March 2014

Value Rooms
Location Cleanliness
Check-in / front desk Service
Would I recommend this holiday rental to my best friend?  
Recommended for:
A romantic getaway
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of an individual traveller and not of TripAdvisor LLC nor of its partners.
Management Response
10 Apr 2014
Thank you so much for a positive review Trine!
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC nor of its partners.
London
Reviewed 9 April 2014 for a stay in March 2014

Value Rooms
Location Cleanliness
Check-in / front desk Service
Would I recommend this holiday rental to my best friend?  
Recommended for:
A romantic getaway People with disabilities
Older travelers Rugged travelers
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of an individual traveller and not of TripAdvisor LLC nor of its partners.
Management Response
9 Apr 2014
Thank you so much for a positive review Max!
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC nor of its partners.
Freiburg
Reviewed 27 March 2014 for a stay in March 2014

Value Rooms
Location Cleanliness
Check-in / front desk Service
Would I recommend this holiday rental to my best friend?  
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of an individual traveller and not of TripAdvisor LLC nor of its partners.
Enter dates for more accurate prices
2 guests
Adults2
Children0
Apply
Do you own a holiday rental? List it here.
Extra income
Earn money by renting out your home. With no up-front fees and no contract, you keep more for yourself.
Easy to manage
Confirm bookings in one click and track everything from enquiry to check-out – even while you're on the go.
Trusted by travellers
With millions of reviews and protected online payments, TripAdvisor helps travellers book your home with confidence.
Set up your free listing