We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“good option for tight budget”
Review of Bodo Youth Hostel

Best prices for -
Check In dd/mm/yyyy Check Out dd/mm/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 7 more sites!
Bodo Youth Hostel
Ranked #1 of 12 Speciality Lodging in Bodo
Copenhagen, Denmark
Level 5 Contributor
72 reviews
36 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 39 helpful votes
“good option for tight budget”
Reviewed 9 August 2013

The hostel is well located, in an adjacent building to the train station, and near the bus station. The room I was sleeping in was large, providing enough space, and with its own bathroom. It was a 8 beds bedroom, bunk beds. I was surprised to see that, because my reservation said that I was suppose to be in one of 4. The door of my room was tricky, sometimes you could open it without the card, which put the security in doubt. There is a large living room and one can also cook. The facilities include most of the things a traveller would need. It has a good price for Norway, so I could recommend it if one is traveling on a tight budget.

Room Tip: Ask at the reception when you check in how many beds are in your room.
See more room tips
  • Stayed August 2013, travelled solo
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
2 Thank SorinBu
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Write a Review

78 reviews from our community

Traveller rating
    26
    24
    21
    5
    2
See reviews for
13
21
20
4
Rating summary
  • Location
  • Sleep Quality
  • Rooms
  • Service
  • Value
  • Cleanliness
Traveller tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (9)
Date | Rating
  • English first
  • French first
  • German first
  • Italian first
  • Japanese first
  • Norwegian first
  • Russian first
  • Spanish first
  • Any
English first
42660
Level 6 Contributor
203 reviews
61 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 84 helpful votes
Reviewed 4 August 2013

We did arrive at 9:20 pm, nobody was there despite it was mentioned that reception is active up to 10:00pm. The booking was done by internet for the night plus breakfast and confirmed by mail but on the morning no breakfast was possible (in fact they don't propose anymore breakfast and forget to inform us). So we went in the city to get one and when we where back at the hostel we have been asked to leave the room asap for cleaning with no possibility to put our luggages some where in the hostel.
To come back on the hostel itself, the bunk beds remind me the one of my army... 35 years ago.
If we put the price of the night 900+nok (+120€) there is événement for norway a huge discrepancy between service and price.

Room Tip: Go somewhere else
See more room tips
  • Stayed July 2013, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank Jojo42660
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
legnano
Level 6 Contributor
168 reviews
69 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 44 helpful votes
Reviewed 28 July 2013

+: a very convenientely hostel located IN the railway station, close to the ferry terminal to Lofoten and just in the heart of the city. We stayed twice, going to and coming from the islands, in the first days of july. We had a three bed room, with shower and restroom just for us. Very quiet. The guy at the reception , a Swedish tattoed boy, a very smart one, reliable. Towels and bedlinen are in the room.
-: The room was spacious and had a lot of light (too much to sleep with the sun in the norwegian nights); does anyone sometimes really broom on the floor?

Room Tip: I made reservation in march but when in Bodø I wasn't really sure it was high time. Don't w...
See more room tips
  • Stayed July 2013, travelled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank gattodevil
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Groningen, The Netherlands
Level 5 Contributor
83 reviews
34 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 27 helpful votes
Reviewed 26 July 2013

To be honest, I didn't expect much of our first night in Bodo/Norway. And this is really not fair. We spend one night here and we enjoyed it very much. It was clean and well equipped. Although the room was small it was not a problem at all. The central area (where also the kitchen was) was large and great for a night to read a book or play cards with friends. And know I must say, the next time we would spend a night in Bodo I will spend it here.

  • Stayed July 2013, travelled with friends
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank rbrtbmw
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Oslo, Norway
Level 1 Contributor
4 reviews
4 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 4 helpful votes
Reviewed 1 July 2013

I visited this hostel in 2012 and since we were travelling by train we chose this hostel to accomodate us for the night. Bodø vandrerhjem is a great hostel with an amazing location, it is litterally in the same building as the train station! We were greeted by friendly staff that helped us with both the room and train logistics. Our room was clean, modern and with a television plus it had a good view over bodø. To summarize i would definiatly reccomend this hostel if you are going to bodø.

Stayed August 2012, travelled with family
Helpful?
1 Thank Brorrobin
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Siemianowice Śląskie
Level 2 Contributor
3 reviews
Reviewed 23 March 2013

We came to Bodo on March 2013. The price is very good (taking into account prices in Norway). The rooms and hostel in general are clean, dining room and kitchen well equiped. People were really nice. Cannot say anyting bad, to be honest.

  • Stayed March 2013, travelled with friends
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank licka
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Turku, Western Finland, Finland
Level 5 Contributor
39 reviews
4 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 20 helpful votes
Reviewed 17 January 2013

I really enjoyed my stay in Bodo because of this nice place to stay. I was only one night, but if I had to stay longer, I'd enjoy to stay in this hostel, I got so many friends only in one night stay in 8pers. room.

  • Stayed October 2012, travelled solo
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank Marko A
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Hotels you might also like...
Travellers also viewed these Bodo hotels
0.2 mi away
Scandic Bodo
Scandic Bodo
#7 of 10 in Bodo
272 reviews
0.4 mi away
Scandic Havet
Scandic Havet
#2 of 10 in Bodo
563 reviews
0.0 mi away
City Hotell
City Hotell
#9 of 10 in Bodo
57 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
0.6 mi away
Thon Hotel Nordlys
Thon Hotel Nordlys
#4 of 10 in Bodo
141 reviews
0.4 mi away
Clarion Collection Hotel Grand
0.5 mi away
Radisson Blu Hotel Bodo
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to Bodo Youth Hostel? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Bodo Youth Hostel

Property: Bodo Youth Hostel
Address: Sjoegata 57, Bodo 8006, Norway
Region: Norway > Northern Norway > Nordland > Bodo
Hotel Style:
Ranked #1 of 12 Speciality Lodging in Bodo
Price Range (Based on Average Rates): £
Hotel Class:2 star — Bodo Youth Hostel 2*
Number of rooms: 23
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Expedia, Hotels.com, Ebookers, Booking.com, Priceline, HostelWorld, Agoda and Evoline ltd so you can book your Bodo Youth Hostel reservations with confidence. We help millions of travellers each month to find the perfect hotel for both holiday and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing