We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Keep coming back...”

Kjerringoy Old Tradingpost
Ranked #1 of 15 Tours in Bodo
Certificate of Excellence
More attraction details
Attraction details
Recommended length of visit: 1-2 hours
Owner description: A visit to northern Norway`s best preserved trading post is a journey back in time. Here you can feel the past, with "jektefart" and fish trading, Herring and the daily life in northern Norway coastal communities in the 19 century. Kjerringoy Trading Post is a unique example of coastal heritage set in magnificent scenery. It consists of 15 old buildings retaining many of their original contents. It is one of the country's most important collections of buildings from the nineteenth century. The beautiful slide-show "Anna Elisabeth of Kjerringoy" provides an excellent introduction to a visit. It lasts about 20 minutes. Guided tours are then available around the various yards and buildings. You can shop in the store ("Kramboden") or enjoy refreshments in Nyfjosen Cafe or in the garden. In the museumshop in Nyfjosen you can buy gifts and souvernirs, local design and crafts.
Bodø, Norway
Level 5 Contributor
44 reviews
19 attraction reviews
common_n_attraction_reviews_1bd8 34 helpful votes
“Keep coming back...”
Reviewed 30 July 2013

Yes, visitn at least once a year, often summertime. The grounds are beautiful even in wintertime, but the museum is closed or has limited access. Kjerringøy is a beautiful place, the scenery is marvellous, and the museum is very well presented and worth a visit to know more about northern norway coast cultural life.
There is a beach also, perfect for picnic or a swim if you like. I absolutely recommend a visit here!

Visited July 2013
Helpful?
3 Thank mamta66no
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Write a Review

120 reviews from our community

Visitor rating
    72
    42
    5
    0
    1
Date | Rating
  • Danish first
  • English first
  • French first
  • German first
  • Italian first
  • Norwegian first
  • Russian first
  • Spanish first
  • Swedish first
  • Any
English first
Abu Dhabi, United Arab Emirates
Level 3 Contributor
18 reviews
9 attraction reviews
common_n_attraction_reviews_1bd8 9 helpful votes
“Quaint Norway fishing village”
Reviewed 3 June 2013 via mobile

Beautiful little fishing village. Stunning views on the drive from Bodø including an interesting ferry ride. Friendly people.

Visited May 2013
Helpful?
1 Thank Darrell S
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Trondheim, Norway
Level 4 Contributor
46 reviews
10 attraction reviews
common_n_attraction_reviews_1bd8 14 helpful votes
“Don't miss it!”
Reviewed 29 September 2012

This is probably the most beautiful place I ever have been to. We did our visit early in June; almost no people and extremely pleasant weather (that means a lot). Very service minded staff has a lot of information to tell about this place. Don't forget to enter the old shop at the beach.

Coast life around the Mediterranean is nothing compared to this white beaches and the crystal clear green water. Except bathing of course :)

Visited June 2012
Helpful?
2 Thank Tomme83
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Tønsberg
Level 3 Contributor
22 reviews
6 attraction reviews
common_n_attraction_reviews_1bd8 17 helpful votes
“Perfect if you want to experience Norwegian history.”
Reviewed 28 July 2012

You should plan the visit in the summer months, Jun - Aug. I prefer July in northern Norway, that is when the weather is usually the best there.
This place will show you a bit of the Norwegian history from this part of the country. Also interesting for my kids that suddenly was interested in how things were in the old days.
You should take a guided tour of the area. They have excelent stories.

Visited July 2012
Helpful?
1 Thank Svenn S
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Haifa, Israel
Level 5 Contributor
51 reviews
22 attraction reviews
common_n_attraction_reviews_1bd8 32 helpful votes
“Wonderful place if you are looking for a Norwegian countryside experience.”
Reviewed 14 June 2012

As opposed to the other reviewers, I loved this place. I rented a bike for the day and rode around the countryside, taking photographs and talking to people. If you take an interest in their lives, they open up and you learn about how some other people live. The harbour was interesting and aesthetic. One of the staff explained the history to me as it was not tourist season. I wandered around on my own, taking my time and absorbing the atmosphere. There is a small general store with a quaint restaurant. You can stay overnight at the very lovely hotel.

You can see some of my photos here: http://www.squidoo.com/the-good-the-less-good-and-the-beautiful-about-norway

Visited August 2011
Helpful?
Thank Sheri O
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC

Travellers who viewed Kjerringoy Old Tradingpost also viewed

 

Been to Kjerringoy Old Tradingpost? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Owners: What's your side of the story?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing