We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.
The latest reviews. The lowest prices. The perfect place to shop for hotels.

“A nice hotel with an odd configuration” 4 of 5 bubbles
Review of Clarion Collection Hotel Grand

Best prices for -
Check In dd/mm/yyyy Check Out dd/mm/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 10 more sites!
Clarion Collection Hotel Grand
Ranked #1 of 11 Hotels in Bodo
Certificate of Excellence
Bergen, Norway
Level Contributor
125 reviews
36 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 65 helpful votes
“A nice hotel with an odd configuration”
4 of 5 bubbles Reviewed 23 January 2014

stayed at Grand last week while travelling throug town. My tidy and clean room was a standard singlerom consisting of two beds, a desk, a chair, a recliner with footrest. the television was mounted on the wall. Best position to wiev telly was when sitting in (not on) one of the the beds. I was told that there were no minibar in room when asking during checking in, and was surprised when finding a small refrigerator with two bottles of water inside (0.5 ltr á NOK 35,-). The bathroom was small as the room itself with shower. The challenge when showering was to limitate the amount of water to prevent overflow from the dedicated area because the combination og floorelevation and a low capasity drain. there is no drain outside the shower area, so I had to wipe overflow up by using towels.
An odd thing is also the amusing configuration of floors. To get to my room on third floor (300-series) I had to push the 4th floor button. When leaving the elevator I had to walk in a confusing circle to find my rooms wereabout. As allways I go through the hotels fireplans i e escaperoutes and the plan mounted on its standard place (inside of the door) gave an good idea of the floorplan and how to get out with alternative routes. Staff friendly and alert. Supper (free) and breakfast was good with an average choice. Free Coffee and tea service in restaurant 24/7. A Peppes pizza restaurant located on ground floor with access from lobby with a superb meny. I staying at this hotel, I advice you to take a look at some of the the historic photos and artifics placed here and there within the hotelwalls. Interresting and odd and to mee typical for the "Grand hotels" . I have "allways" (30y) liked this hotel. I will stay at this hotel again when planning my own trips and I tip my friends to do the same.

  • Stayed January 2014, travelled solo
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Value
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Location
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Sleep Quality
    • 3 of 5 bubbles
      Rooms
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Cleanliness
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Service
Helpful?
2 Thank Mizzentopman
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Travelwoman23, General Manager at Clarion Collection Hotel Grand, responded to this review, 27 January 2014
Dear Mizzentopman, thank you for your nice review! You're quite right, the hotel has many levels due to connecting old and new building together:-) We are happy that you enjoyed your stay, and we wish you a warmly welcome back!
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Write a Review

454 reviews from our community

Traveller rating
    217
    175
    50
    8
    4
See reviews for
64
162
33
154
Rating summary
  • Location
    4.5 of 5 bubbles
  • Sleep Quality
    4.5 of 5 bubbles
  • Rooms
    4 of 5 bubbles
  • Service
    4.5 of 5 bubbles
  • Value
    4 of 5 bubbles
  • Cleanliness
    4.5 of 5 bubbles
Traveller tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (12)
Date | Rating
  • Danish first
  • Dutch first
  • English first
  • French first
  • German first
  • Italian first
  • Norwegian first
  • Polish first
  • Russian first
  • Spanish first
  • Swedish first
  • Any
English first
Prague, Czech Republic
Level Contributor
38 reviews
32 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 30 helpful votes
5 of 5 bubbles Reviewed 22 January 2014

Stayed here for 2 nights in Jan 2014 on a business trip for meetings at Bodo airport.
Check in: quick easy and very cheerful.
Rooms: quite small and mine had 2 single beds (soft mattresses) and my colleague said his was the same. Quite amusing really as the last time I slept in a single bed I was probably about 10 :)
The bathroom was large and well lit and more of a 'wet room' style of shower. Nice powerful shower that strips the skin off you. Just what you need when it is -26C outside. The rooms have free wifi. A small fridge but no tea or coffee facilities.
Hotel in general: although it is an old building that has been there many years the decor inside is modern. How much can you right about a carpeted corridor from the lift to your room? Plenty of black and white pictures around the walls showing 'old' Bodo.
Reception area and lobby: welcoming. Pillars. Seating area with books and DVDs. Bar area is more like your front room at home. Warm comfy and cosy.

Location: less than 5 minutes by taxi from the airport. If you need a taxi for the other way just speak to reception. We needed one at 4.45am and it was there within minutes. It is a 2 minute walk to the harbour and sea front. Opposite a Subway sandwich bar. Next to a shopping centre that has fast food and restaurants.

Now let's talk about food.....

They have breakfast, afternoon waffles and a light evening buffet meal all included in the price.

Breakfast: coffee's (plural) , tea's, juice machine, choices of milk, choices of bread including gluten free (all fresh). Hot buffet. Do it yourself pancakes and waffles.Cold meats and cheeses. Fruit. Fresh vegetables. Muesli. Cereal. I think you get the idea.

Afternoon: do it yourself waffle machine.

Evening: hot buffet. One night when we were there it was rice and meatballs in tomato sauce. Another night it was pork steaks in gravy and potatoes. Plus....pasta salads, as much veg and salad as you can think of, breads, olives, sliced chillies.

Seriously....I could have just sat down with a cold beer, a good book and picked at the evening buffet all night.

When you consider the high prices of food and restaurants in Norway to have this as part of the price is a bargain.

To sum up........

I have to visit this new account in Bodo every 3 months. I can't see me staying at any other hotel in town.

PS...they have started stocking bottled beer from a local micro brewery in the hotel bar. Try the blues lable Mosaic Pale Ale

There is a fitness centre but I was too busy eating to try it !! But as it is an old building then apparently it shuts at around 9pm so that guests don't hear the running machines

  • Stayed January 2014, travelled on business
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Value
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Location
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Sleep Quality
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Rooms
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Service
Helpful?
1 Thank Tim_Owen
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Travelwoman23, General Manager at Clarion Collection Hotel Grand, responded to this review, 27 January 2014
Dear Mr. Owen, thank you so much for your wonderful review! We love that you enjoyed our service and concept, and our local beer as well:-) We hope to see you again soon!
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Channel Islands
Level Contributor
21 reviews
19 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 27 helpful votes
4 of 5 bubbles Reviewed 19 November 2013

We stayed here on our way to the Lofoten Islands. It is only a short walk from the station and in the centre of town. We were initially given quite a large room at the back of the hotel that was right next to the air conditioning/heating generators for the shopping mall. We immediately asked for another quiet room and without any fuss we were moved into a darkish room but in the quiet atrium area. We could have enjoyed the buffet supper available at all Clarion Hotels (that is included in the room rate) but we decided to eat out as a treat. The breakfast was amazing, great selection of quality healthy options.

  • Stayed September 2013, travelled as a couple
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Value
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Location
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Sleep Quality
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Rooms
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Cleanliness
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Service
Helpful?
Thank Camay
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Travelwoman23, General Manager at Clarion Collection Hotel Grand, responded to this review, 21 November 2013
Thank you so much for your review, and for staying at our hotel on your way to beautiful Lofoten. We are really happy that you enjoyed our service, and our commitment to healty food on our buffets. Hope to see you again soon:-)
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Bozeman, Montana
Level Contributor
15 reviews
14 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 9 helpful votes
5 of 5 bubbles Reviewed 14 October 2013

Considering how expensive it is to eat in Norway, this hotel was a very good value. Both breakfast and dinner (buffet style) were amazing with an endless amount of choices. In addition, we got free waffles when we arrive about 3 PM - a great treat after traveling. The room was nice, but the bathroom was tiny, in fact one had to "fold in" the shower doors to be able to sit on the toilet. The location of the hotel is perfect, right in town. We did walk to the airport and it took about 25 min at medium speed - good way to save 2x 33 NOK. However, if you rather take a bus, the bus stop is close by. Taxis are very expensive.

  • Stayed August 2013, travelled as a couple
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Value
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Location
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Sleep Quality
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Rooms
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Service
Helpful?
Thank wiffi_12
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Travelwoman23, General Manager at Clarion Collection Hotel Grand, responded to this review, 21 November 2013
Thank you for this great review, we are really happy that you appreciated our service consept:-) We all hope to see you soon again.
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Storvik, finnsnes
Level Contributor
20 reviews
10 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 12 helpful votes
3 of 5 bubbles Reviewed 14 October 2013

We stayd here for a weekend, we ordered a deluxe room, and expected that, but think the room was to small, to small bathroom, and when you order de luxe room, you expect moore than average. Problem With the doors, was difficult to Close the room door and the bathroom door.
Nice bed anyway :) When we arrived, the girl in the reseption was on the phone, she didn`t notice us at all, but was still on the phone in a discution With someone, that was not good at all.
I have been working at a diferent hotell for many years, and i have learn that the most important is to notice the gusest as they arrive, to give them a warm welcome. This you can do better at Clarion Collection Grand Hotel Bodø.
Food was ok, but the waiter at the breakfast didn`t clean the table , thats not good. It is very important to clean the tables so that it looks more kozy for the guests.
The hotel is ok, near to shopping and in the middle of Bodø, that `s Nice.
I think we will try another hotel next time we will visit Bodø.

Room Tip: This i s a Nice hotel for People who prefer a average hotel, near shopping and near the city. And a...
See more room tips
  • Stayed October 2013, travelled as a couple
    • 3 of 5 bubbles
      Value
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Location
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Sleep Quality
    • 3 of 5 bubbles
      Rooms
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Cleanliness
    • 3 of 5 bubbles
      Service
Helpful?
Thank Merethe P
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Travelwoman23, General Manager at Clarion Collection Hotel Grand, responded to this review, 21 November 2013
Dear Merethe P, I am so sorry that our hotel and service didn't meet your expectations.. We are happy that you took the time to let us know, so we can improve our perfomance. I hope you visit us another time, and then have a better experience. Thank you for your review.
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Kerzers, Switzerland
Level Contributor
43 reviews
17 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 11 helpful votes
5 of 5 bubbles Reviewed 26 September 2013

located in city Center. good Breakfast and in the Afternoon Coffee/Tea and Waffeln. a small Buffet for dinner is included. nice big Room with double bed and sofa. Friendly Reception. a quite noisy outside when you have a Room of the main Street

  • Stayed September 2013, travelled as a couple
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Value
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Location
    • 3 of 5 bubbles
      Sleep Quality
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Rooms
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Cleanliness
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Service
Helpful?
Thank flucki00
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Travelwoman23, General Manager at Clarion Collection Hotel Grand, responded to this review, 3 October 2013
Thank you so much, we really apreciated your great feedback. We are so proud:-) We all hope to see you again soon!
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Netherlands
Level Contributor
18 reviews
14 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 12 helpful votes
4 of 5 bubbles Reviewed 9 September 2013 via mobile

The hotel is located in the city centre of Bodo. Coffee/tea and waffles in the afternoon were great, as well as the dinner buffet and breakfast. Very friendly staff. Nice bars near by as well as shopping centre. Only thing we experienced was that is was quite noisy outside with people going out until late at night.

  • Stayed August 2013
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Value
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Location
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Rooms
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Cleanliness
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Service
Helpful?
Thank Machapuchare01
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Travelwoman23, General Manager at Clarion Collection Hotel Grand, responded to this review, 3 October 2013
We are so happy that you enjoyed our service, and felt that your stay gave a great value for money. Thank you so much, hope to see you soon again.
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Hotels you might also like...
Travellers also viewed these Bodo hotels
0.1 mi away
Scandic Havet
Scandic Havet
#2 of 11 in Bodo
4.5 of 5 bubbles 511 reviews
0.1 mi away
Radisson Blu Hotel Bodo
0.3 mi away
Thon Hotel Nordlys
Thon Hotel Nordlys
#4 of 11 in Bodo
4.5 of 5 bubbles 93 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
0.2 mi away
Scandic Bodo
Scandic Bodo
#7 of 11 in Bodo
3.5 of 5 bubbles 254 reviews
0.1 mi away
Bodo Hotell
Bodo Hotell
#6 of 11 in Bodo
4.0 of 5 bubbles 53 reviews
0.4 mi away
City Hotell
City Hotell
#9 of 11 in Bodo
3.0 of 5 bubbles 55 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to Clarion Collection Hotel Grand? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Clarion Collection Hotel Grand

Property: Clarion Collection Hotel Grand
Address: Storgata 3, Bodo 8006, Norway
Region: Norway > Northern Norway > Nordland > Bodo
Amenities:
Bar / Lounge Business Centre with Internet Access Fitness Centre with Gym / Workout Room Free Breakfast Free High Speed Internet ( WiFi ) Pets Allowed ( Dog / Pet Friendly ) Restaurant Wheelchair access
Hotel Style:
Ranked #1 of 11 Hotels in Bodo
Price Range (Based on Average Rates): ££
Hotel Class:3.5 star — Clarion Collection Hotel Grand 3.5*
Number of rooms: 97
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Booking.com, Hotels.com, Expedia, Nordic Choice Hotels, Odigeo, HotelsClick, TripOnline SA, Evoline ltd and HotelQuickly so you can book your Clarion Collection Hotel Grand reservations with confidence. We help millions of travellers each month to find the perfect hotel for both holiday and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
Clarion Bodo
Clarion Collection Grand Bodo
Bodø Clarion

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing