We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.
The latest reviews. The lowest prices. The perfect place to shop for hotels.

“Worth the money” 5 of 5 bubbles
Review of Restaurant Smak

Restaurant Smak
Ranked #13 of 60 Restaurants in Bodo
Price range: US$71 - US$108
Cuisines: European, International, Mediterranean, Norwegian
More restaurant details
Restaurant details
Good for: Local cuisine, Business meetings
Dining options: After-hours, Dinner, Accepts Mastercard, Accepts Visa, Free Wifi, Highchairs Available, Reservations, Seating, Serves Alcohol, Waitstaff, Wheelchair Accessible
Bodø
Level Contributor
9 reviews
7 restaurant reviews
common_n_restaurant_reviews_1bd8 2 helpful votes
“Worth the money”
5 of 5 bubbles Reviewed 18 May 2013

White tablecloths, and excellent service, and still a relaxed atmosphere. The food is usually awesome, have just minor disappointments at this place. Recommend taking a wine package so you get well-matched and great wines complementing the food.

Book ahead on weekends. Closed on Sundays.

  • Visited April 2013
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Value
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Atmosphere
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Service
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Food
Helpful?
1 Thank Norwegianess
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Write a Review

74 reviews from our community

Visitor rating
    65
    6
    3
    0
    0
Rating summary
    Food
    Service
    Value
    Atmosphere
Date | Rating
  • English first
  • French first
  • Japanese first
  • Norwegian first
  • Russian first
  • Swedish first
  • Any
English first
London, United Kingdom
Level Contributor
6 reviews
5 restaurant reviews
common_n_restaurant_reviews_1bd8 1 helpful vote
“Stunning gastronomic experience”
5 of 5 bubbles Reviewed 5 April 2013

Our dinner at this restaurant was really memorable. We had the gastronomic menu and the suggested wines to complement each course. The food was excellent (cannot be faulted) and the wines suited each course perfectly. The main course was duck breast which was beautifully cooked - pink in the middle to ensure the ideal taste - and the wine was a red from Brazil. The choice of wine surprised me as I had never tried a Brazilian wine previously but it was a wonderful match !
Service was superb and contributed to a special evening that I shall never forget. How good is this restaurant ? I would put in on a par with Raymond Blanc's Le Manoir aux Quat'Saisons and Le Normandie at the Mandarin Oriental in Bangkok. These are the three great meals that I have experienced. Hopefully there will be more to come !

  • Visited February 2013
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Value
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Atmosphere
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Service
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Food
Helpful?
1 Thank HarryFine
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
1 review
common_n_restaurant_reviews_1bd8 1 helpful vote
“Top, top restaurant”
5 of 5 bubbles Reviewed 22 December 2012 via mobile

A great restaurant is not just about great food, although obviously that it a pe-requisite. It's also about the service, the ambience, etc. In every one of these domains, Restaurant Smak has it down to perfection.

We were lucky enough to get a table for two as a walk in, but book in advance to avoid disappointment as they are packed out every night. A diferent menu is avaolable each week, which has around 6 dishes with an option to choose anywhere between 4 and all of them (the price changes accordingly).

Every dish we had was top notch, full of different flavours, and beautifully put together. If you've eaten in top London restaurants, the experience is equal in quality but at a very affordable price.

The service was truly outstanding (we only worked out the 'waitress' serving us was the wife of the chef and the co-owner half way through the meal - and she was almost single handedly serving every other table at the same time!) and the lack of any pretension was refreshing. You could turn up smartly dressed if you wanted to, but they wouldn't even bat an eyelid if you didn't. As Eva told us "We want anyone to be able to come and enjoy great food in a place where they feel at home and relaxed." A mission that has been more than accomplished :)

Helpful?
1 Thank Jon H
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Oslo
Level Contributor
35 reviews
17 restaurant reviews
common_n_restaurant_reviews_1bd8 21 helpful votes
“Superb!”
5 of 5 bubbles Reviewed 3 December 2012

A superb meal! You will probably not get a better food experience in Northern Norway! Chef Espen and his wife Eva-Linda delivers a service and food quality that is very rare to find in Norway. The wine list is well composed and the food - there is a lot of seafood - is just perfect cooked and presented. It is a bit strange - dining at "Smak" was almost as a flashback to a delicious meal at Gordon Ramsay in Hospital Road (Chelsea, London) a year ago. "Exceptional cuisine, worth a special journey."

  • Visited December 2012
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Value
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Atmosphere
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Service
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Food
Helpful?
3 Thank Explorist
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Drammen Municipality, Norway
Level Contributor
20 reviews
13 restaurant reviews
common_n_restaurant_reviews_1bd8 12 helpful votes
“Best of the best”
5 of 5 bubbles Reviewed 25 September 2012

Everything....
OK, too short. - My wife and I took daughter and son-in-law out to celebrate the arrival of their first little girl. "Smak" (in Englisk "Taste") was relatively new in town and with a good reputation, so we went. It was not difficult to find appetizing suggetions on the menue. So we selected food and suggested wines.
The food was excellent (I have no other word) and the wine match perfect. The service was lightning quick, the attention from the waiters first rate - quiet, polite and always with a little smile. We felt really cared for.
This might sound simple, but may be the simplicity and crispness of service and food quality made it all.
This is international class. Gordon Ramsay, come and learn something.

Visited August 2012
Helpful?
2 Thank C19T
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC

Travellers who viewed Restaurant Smak also viewed

 

Been to Restaurant Smak? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Owners: What's your side of the story?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing