We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.
The latest reviews. The lowest prices. The perfect place to shop for hotels.

“RIB Safari Boat” 5 of 5 bubbles
Review of Saltstraumen

Saltstraumen
Ranked #1 of 56 things to do in Bodo
Certificate of Excellence
More attraction details
Attraction details
Recommended length of visit: 2-3 hours
San Gabriel, California
Level Contributor
272 reviews
109 attraction reviews
common_n_attraction_reviews_1bd8 112 helpful votes
“RIB Safari Boat”
5 of 5 bubbles Reviewed 2 November 2013

Four times each day the Saltstraumen tidal current forces water into and out of a narrow strait. Twice a day as the water rushes under the Saltstraumen bridge toward the sea, whirlpools form. This is an incredible sight to watch take place and is very exciting when experienced from a RIb boat "close and up front" in the water. I shared this experience with fellow passengers as I sailed with Hurtigruten from Bergen to Kirkenes and return. This is an experience I would recommend. All required equipment was furnished and I felt safe at all times. We had a marvelous driver.

Visited October 2013
Helpful?
4 Thank hmmbirdpat
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Write a Review

381 reviews from our community

Visitor rating
    199
    135
    42
    3
    2
Date | Rating
  • Czech first
  • Danish first
  • Dutch first
  • English first
  • Finnish first
  • French first
  • German first
  • Italian first
  • Korean first
  • Norwegian first
  • Polish first
  • Portuguese first
  • Russian first
  • Spanish first
  • Swedish first
  • Turkish first
  • Any
English first
Jeddah, Saudi Arabia
Level Contributor
163 reviews
28 attraction reviews
common_n_attraction_reviews_1bd8 78 helpful votes
“Salstraumen”
4 of 5 bubbles Reviewed 20 August 2013

Definitely worth seeing if you are up in this area, but I wouldn't go too far out of my way, especially if you have seen in BC, Canada similar attractions. We got there at the right time and first of all went under the bridge , and then drove 1 km down the side of inlet. The force of water and the surging whirlpools was pretty impressive. It was raining, cold and lunchtime so the café /restaurant on the northern side provided a good spot to watch the ever changing water and tourist boats and a reasonable lunch as well

Visited August 2013
Helpful?
1 Thank Craig N
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Bodø, Norway
Level Contributor
44 reviews
19 attraction reviews
common_n_attraction_reviews_1bd8 34 helpful votes
“A must see in Bodø!”
5 of 5 bubbles Reviewed 30 July 2013

I grew up by this fabulous attraction, fishing from my grandpa's boat in the middle of the stream. And it still amazes me whenever I go to see it or driving across the bridge over this troubled water. You can just watch or go rafting or fishing here. But you must go if you ever visit Bodø!

Visited July 2013
Helpful?
Thank mamta66no
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
London, United Kingdom
Level Contributor
403 reviews
281 attraction reviews
common_n_attraction_reviews_1bd8 252 helpful votes
“The world's largest maelstrom”
5 of 5 bubbles Reviewed 24 July 2013

Incredible to see the maelstrom develop as water rushed under Saltstraumen's bridge to join the sea. The phenomenon takes place for about an hour twice a day (check Bodo's tourist info for times) and can be viewed from the giddy heights of the bridge above (not for the fainthearted) or from under the bridge by the waterside. Go on a sunny day when the maelstrom puts on a good show and you'll be suitably awed by the sheer force of nature. Tourists are rushed up to experience it all at closer quarters by speedboat and we onlookers on the shore appreciated the contrast this afforded.

Visited July 2013
Helpful?
3 Thank lonewolf44
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Oslo, Norway
Level Contributor
70 reviews
7 attraction reviews
common_n_attraction_reviews_1bd8 70 helpful votes
“Incredible natural phenomenon!”
5 of 5 bubbles Reviewed 3 July 2013

It was really cool to see the current. I watched it from the bridge. I would recommend others to see it from the bridge and from "land"!

Visited June 2013
Helpful?
Thank MY30
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC

Travellers who viewed Saltstraumen also viewed

Bodo, Nordland
 

Been to Saltstraumen? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Owners: What's your side of the story?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing