We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.
The latest reviews. The lowest prices. The perfect place to shop for hotels.

“Narvik - a place you never will forget” 4 of 5 bubbles
Review of Quality Hotel Grand Royal

Best prices for -
Check In dd/mm/yyyy Check Out dd/mm/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 1 more site!
Quality Hotel Grand Royal
Ranked #2 of 7 Hotels in Narvik
Bergen, Norway
Level Contributor
125 reviews
36 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 65 helpful votes
“Narvik - a place you never will forget”
4 of 5 bubbles Reviewed 5 July 2013 via mobile

Spent one night at this hotel while visiting the war museum and cementary.
The city's history and the surroundings are uniqe. If you are french, british, polish, norwegian or german with some interest in history and the events that occured spring 1940 I recomend a visit to this city. And if you do I recommend a stay at this hotel. Rooms and service are the best. And-try the lunch buffet. Splendid!
Restaurant and bar are "toppings" to be experienced.

  • Stayed June 2013
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Value
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Location
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Rooms
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Cleanliness
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Service
Helpful?
2 Thank Mizzentopman
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Write a Review

238 reviews from our community

Traveller rating
    45
    85
    64
    37
    7
See reviews for
23
68
23
94
Rating summary
  • Location
    4 of 5 bubbles
  • Sleep Quality
    3.5 of 5 bubbles
  • Rooms
    3.5 of 5 bubbles
  • Service
    4 of 5 bubbles
  • Value
    3.5 of 5 bubbles
  • Cleanliness
    4 of 5 bubbles
Traveller tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (22)
Date | Rating
  • Danish first
  • Dutch first
  • English first
  • French first
  • German first
  • Italian first
  • Japanese first
  • Norwegian first
  • Polish first
  • Russian first
  • Spanish first
  • Swedish first
  • Turkish first
  • Any
English first
Toensberg
Level Contributor
13 reviews
6 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 7 helpful votes
3 of 5 bubbles Reviewed 24 June 2013

The hotel is centrally located along E6 trough Narvik and has good parking facilities in the "parkinghouse" next to the hotel.
I got what I believe must be the only single room with a 90 cm bed that is left in Norway. I did not know that those still existed. Other than the small size of the room it was clean and the bed was comfortable.

My issue with the room is that during summer with the midnight sun in full effect the room can get warm (even with the insulated drapes that manage to make the room dark enough for sleep)
My room was facing the street (E6) and since the hotel is right next to some traffic lights at the top of a small incline/hill it means that every truck or car that stop at the light need to step on the gas to accelerate out of the lights. When you need to have the window open the noise was noticeable.Especially since E6 has some heavy traffic at times.

The staff was very friendly and polite. Both at the restaurants and at the front desk.

The hotel has two restaurants with ala cart. Rallaren just off the lobby is a pub that serves a small selections of fish and meat dishes. The top restaurant Linken has excellent view of the surrounding area, and a more gourmand style dining.

The breakfast conisted of the usual Norwegian fare. A good selection of spread (cold cuts, jams, cheese) with bread, and eggs sausages and beans. (No bacon, this is a peeve of mine when hotels don't give you bacon) The staff could be a bit more diligent with restocking the milk and juice, but during my stay the breakfast was quite busy (big group of army officers) so it emptied out fast.

Room Tip: Might be some street noise from the rooms facing the street. These rooms also face the sun during su...
See more room tips
  • Stayed June 2013, travelled on business
    • 3 of 5 bubbles
      Value
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Location
    • 3 of 5 bubbles
      Sleep Quality
    • 3 of 5 bubbles
      Rooms
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Cleanliness
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Service
Helpful?
1 Thank Peter F
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Lethbridge, Canada
Level Contributor
126 reviews
57 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 62 helpful votes
4 of 5 bubbles Reviewed 1 June 2013

Stayed in the new wing, so my view may not be consistent with the older parts of the hotel. Although a little smaller than I am used to, the rooms were clean and tidy, the bed was clean and comfortable and the window furnishings were sufficient to block most of the midnight sun. Service was friendly and welcoming. Visited, but didn't linger, at the Linken restaurant, but it had some fantastic views of the harbour. Would be a great place for a quiet drink or a meal, perhaps.
The adjoining pub/restaurant has a street-side patio and a good menu selection which we sampled during the evening. Great service, no complaints.
Would definitely recommend, and would return for longer if i got the chance.

  • Stayed May 2013, travelled on business
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Value
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Location
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Rooms
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Cleanliness
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Service
Helpful?
1 Thank Peter_Cain
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Level Contributor
15 reviews
6 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 1 helpful vote
4 of 5 bubbles Reviewed 9 February 2013 via mobile

Having read previous reviews I was a bit concerned about staying here. However, there was absolutely nothing wrong with it. Reception staff were welcoming, room was modern and very clean. Upstairs bar had beautiful views, and staff (again) were very friendly. The only thing that let it down slightly was the breakfast. Whilst there was a lot to choose from, the cooked breakfast was not that warm (and husband was not keen on the choice of music being played). Would recommend this hotel and stay again - if ever back in the area.

  • Stayed February 2013
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Value
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Location
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Rooms
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Cleanliness
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Service
Helpful?
Thank Charlotte243
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Bodø, Nordland, Norway
1 review
5 of 5 bubbles Reviewed 27 October 2012

Next time we are visiting Narvik we are going to check in at this hotel. Our expectations were fully met, especially when we reserved a table at the Linken restaurant. A new restaurant on the top floor with a fantastic view and a warm atmosphere, where a professional chef and his team of waiters delivered an unforgettable four course dinner (fun dining)
We will be back very soon!

  • Stayed October 2012, travelled as a couple
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Value
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Location
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Sleep Quality
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Rooms
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Service
Helpful?
Thank Musqueter
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Zürich
Level Contributor
7 reviews
5 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 8 helpful votes
3 of 5 bubbles Reviewed 8 October 2012

The whole hotel, except the rooms is really tidy and modern from the inside. The bathroom was looking as uninviting as my student home in a mass-accomodation quarter. Also the sleeping rooms are a bit worn-out and would be about to refurbish. Sure they are not what you should get for the high price. For the rest of the hotel i can just say good, the restaurant is very nicely decorated and provides tasty local food. The breakfast buffet offers a huge variety of all you can think of.

  • Stayed August 2012, travelled with friends
    • 3 of 5 bubbles
      Value
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Location
    • 3 of 5 bubbles
      Sleep Quality
    • 3 of 5 bubbles
      Rooms
    • 3 of 5 bubbles
      Cleanliness
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Service
Helpful?
Thank RisuCh
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
yeovil
Level Contributor
60 reviews
52 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 106 helpful votes
3 of 5 bubbles Reviewed 7 September 2012

This hotel is in the centre of Narvik. Close to the shops and museum and railway station. As a single traveler I had a single bed in my room. Quite a good room overlooking the sea I think! there are a few scupltures around the town and a large. srard. It was day light untill 11pm and light around 3am.

  • Stayed September 2012, travelled solo
    • 3 of 5 bubbles
      Value
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Location
    • 3 of 5 bubbles
      Sleep Quality
    • 2 of 5 bubbles
      Rooms
    • 2 of 5 bubbles
      Cleanliness
    • 3 of 5 bubbles
      Service
Helpful?
Thank dipsygreencat
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Hotels you might also like...
Also consider these accommodations in or near Narvik
0.3 mi away
Scandic Narvik
Scandic Narvik
#1 of 7 in Narvik
4.0 of 5 bubbles 515 reviews
0.2 mi away
Breidablikk Gjestehus
Breidablikk Gjestehus
#3 of 7 in Narvik
4.0 of 5 bubbles 77 reviews
0.4 mi away
BEST WESTERN Narvik Hotell
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
0.3 mi away
Narvik Hotel
Narvik Hotel
#6 of 7 in Narvik
3.0 of 5 bubbles 11 reviews
8.2 mi away
Bjerkvik Hotell
Bjerkvik Hotell
#1 of 1 in Bjerkvik
3.0 of 5 bubbles 32 reviews
18.6 mi away
Katterjokk
Katterjokk
#1 of 3 in Riksgransen
4.0 of 5 bubbles 30 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to Quality Hotel Grand Royal? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Quality Hotel Grand Royal

Property: Quality Hotel Grand Royal
Address: Kongens gate 64 | PO Box 304, Narvik 8514, Norway
Region: Norway > Northern Norway > Nordland > Narvik Municipality > Narvik
Amenities:
Bar / Lounge Free Breakfast Free High Speed Internet ( WiFi ) Free Parking Pets Allowed ( Dog / Pet Friendly ) Restaurant Suites Wheelchair access
Hotel Style:
Ranked #2 of 7 Hotels in Narvik
Price Range (Based on Average Rates): ££
Hotel Class:3.5 star — Quality Hotel Grand Royal 3.5*
Number of rooms: 162
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
Quality Hotel Grand Royal er en av Nord-Norges største kurs- og konferansehotell beliggende nord i Narvik. Kun ett minutt fra togstasjonen og tre minutter fra Narvikfjellet alpinanlegg. Hotellets fleksible konferanseavdeling har kapasitet på inntil 600 personer fordelt på 11 møtelokaler med kongresshallen "Royal Hall" som den største. Hotellet har to restauranter. Ved siden av resepsjonen finner du Rallar'n Pub og Kro. En utmerket restaurant hvor du kan nyte enkle og gode retter. Vårt nyeste tilskudd til hotellet er Linken Restaurant & Bar. Linken er plassert på taket av hotellet og omtales som vår skybar. I restauranten vil du få eksklusive matretter i tillegg til byens beste utsikt. ... more   less 
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Booking.com, Nordic Choice Hotels, Hotels.com, Odigeo and Hotelopia so you can book your Quality Hotel Grand Royal reservations with confidence. We help millions of travellers each month to find the perfect hotel for both holiday and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
Quality Inn Narvik

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing