We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Great Hotel”
Review of Scandic Narvik

Best prices for -
Check In dd/mm/yyyy Check Out dd/mm/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 9 more sites!
Scandic Narvik
Ranked #1 of 9 Hotels in Narvik
Certificate of Excellence
Bradford, United Kingdom
Level 6 Contributor
188 reviews
88 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 118 helpful votes
“Great Hotel”
Reviewed 24 November 2013

I stayed at the Rica hotel in Narvik as a base to chase the Northern Lights for 5 days. The hotel was fabulous and everything was to a high standard. Great breakfast, room, wifi, tv, staff etc... The airport bus literally drops off at the door and collects to take you back to the airport.
It is a good place to be based, just on the edge of the main stretch in Narvik. Parking is free after 6pm and before 9am opposite the hotel or just 100NOK for the car park behind the hotel for 24 hrs.
I really enjoyed my stay here and would highly recommend this hotel.

Room Tip: I asked for a room on a higher floor for the view. I was given a room on the 13th floor which was st...
See more room tips
  • Stayed November 2013, travelled solo
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank oleadam
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Write a Review

566 reviews from our community

Traveller rating
    233
    227
    63
    31
    12
See reviews for
86
208
56
119
Rating summary
  • Location
  • Sleep Quality
  • Rooms
  • Service
  • Value
  • Cleanliness
Traveller tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (64)
Date | Rating
  • Chinese (Traditional) first
  • Chinese (Simplified) first
  • Danish first
  • Dutch first
  • English first
  • Finnish first
  • French first
  • German first
  • Italian first
  • Japanese first
  • Korean first
  • Norwegian first
  • Polish first
  • Portuguese first
  • Russian first
  • Spanish first
  • Swedish first
  • Any
English first
Nottingham, United Kingdom
Level 5 Contributor
72 reviews
65 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 30 helpful votes
Reviewed 10 November 2013

We stayed at this hotel for one night only during a driving trip up the coast. We had a problem with the hotel car park - it did not work with our UK issued credit cards and so we had to resort to onstreet parking which wasn't our preference.
That said, we still enjoyed our stay here and had a good room and enjoyed a very good breakfast. Dinner was not available on the day of our stay, but we received a good recommendation from the staff for a nearby restaurant. The same staff helpfully directed us to take a trip up the cable car.
Finally, we enjoyed the rooftop views from the bar.

  • Stayed July 2013, travelled with friends
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank Cathy_Bob
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Bengaluru, India
Level 5 Contributor
64 reviews
51 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 36 helpful votes
Reviewed 8 November 2013

This hotel is a fantastic choice in Narvik.It's a very clean and comfortable hotel. Breakfast was awesome and the front desk staff were very helpful . The bathroom was spacious and clean . Stayed here for 2nights..wish we had stayed longer.

  • Stayed October 2013, travelled with friends
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank NOMAD070
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Bengaluru, India
Level 4 Contributor
40 reviews
27 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 9 helpful votes
Reviewed 6 November 2013

Loved the modern decor, nice colors. Both the days we were in Narvik, it was rainy and gloomy, so it was nice to be in a bright, cheerful hotel. Breakfast was really good, staff was friendly and helpful, location close to the city centre, what more do you need?

  • Stayed October 2013, travelled with friends
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank TwoBootsBLR
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Amsterdam
Level 6 Contributor
234 reviews
76 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 63 helpful votes
Reviewed 28 October 2013 via mobile

the superiour rooms are very nice and have a beatifull view on the town.
Breakfast is more than excellent (except for the less than average quality of the coffee). The restaurant is very good and service very friendly. This is certainly a 4* hotel.

Stayed October 2013, travelled as a couple
Helpful?
Thank HSLB1
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
anywhere
Level 5 Contributor
65 reviews
43 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 37 helpful votes
Reviewed 1 September 2013 via mobile

Superb hotel, extremely comfortable and clean, location great in the middle of Narvik, staff fabulous, parking 100 nk a night (attached to hotel), good to stay with a dog, breakfast spread excellent - one of the best Rica's i have stayed at - would def stay here again!

Stayed August 2013
Helpful?
Thank yukondelly
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Atlanta
Level 5 Contributor
72 reviews
12 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 15 helpful votes
Reviewed 19 August 2013

Very nice. Very contemporary. Close to everything, but then again so is most everywhere in this town. Nice breakfast. Staff was efficient and friendly by Norway standards. The coal and iron business must be great in Narvik to support such a hotel.

  • Stayed August 2013, travelled on business
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank Peter T
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Hotels you might also like...
Also consider these accommodations in or near Narvik
0.3 mi away
Quality Hotel Grand Royal
0.2 mi away
Breidablikk Gjestehus
Breidablikk Gjestehus
#3 of 9 in Narvik
82 reviews
0.5 mi away
Best Western Narvik Hotell
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
0.2 mi away
Narvik Hotel
Narvik Hotel
#6 of 9 in Narvik
14 reviews
8.5 mi away
Bjerkvik Hotell
Bjerkvik Hotell
#1 of 1 in Bjerkvik
33 reviews
24.9 mi away
Tjeldsundbrua Kro & Hotell
Tjeldsundbrua Kro & Hotell
#1 of 1 in Evenskjer
42 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to Scandic Narvik? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Scandic Narvik

Property: Scandic Narvik
Address: Kongens gate 33, Narvik 8514, Norway (Formerly Rica Hotel Narvik)
Region: Norway > Northern Norway > Nordland > Narvik Municipality > Narvik
Amenities:
Bar / Lounge Business Centre with Internet Access Fitness Centre with Gym / Workout Room Free Breakfast Free High Speed Internet ( WiFi ) Pets Allowed ( Dog / Pet Friendly ) Restaurant Room Service Wheelchair access
Hotel Style:
Ranked #1 of 9 Hotels in Narvik
Price Range (Based on Average Rates): ££
Hotel Class:4 star — Scandic Narvik 4*
Number of rooms: 148
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
Scandic Narvik is the city's most modern hotel. The hotel is one of the tallest buildings in northern Norway and has an exciting exterior of sloping glass supported by two towers. Our sky bar, Totta Bar on the 16th floor has a panoramic view over Narvik and Ofotfjorden and our Tind restaurant, which is one of the top restaurant in Narvik, serves breakfast and an exclusive dinner menu. With 8 meeting rooms, the largest of which can accommodate up to 175 participants, our hotel is great for business travelers. Parking is available just next door for guests arriving by car. As a guest you have access to free WiFi in your room and public areas. ... more   less 
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Hotels.com, Booking.com, Priceline, Scandic Hotels, Expedia, TripOnline SA, 5viajes2012 S.L., Evoline ltd and getaroom.com so you can book your Scandic Narvik reservations with confidence. We help millions of travellers each month to find the perfect hotel for both holiday and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing