We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Nice hotel”
Review of Scandic Narvik

Best prices for -
Check In dd/mm/yyyy Check Out dd/mm/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 6 more sites!
Scandic Narvik
Ranked #1 of 10 Hotels in Narvik
Certificate of Excellence
Reviewed 15 August 2014

This is a nice hotel with a unique design - you can't miss it coming into town. A very modern decor, clean rooms, and a nice breakfast buffet that was included with the price of the room. We found this online and got a great price - especially given the prices in Norway. They had free wifi and free parking but the free parking was not convenient. Don't park behind the hotel as that is not the free area - the city lot is the parking and is free after 3PM. Check before you park anywhere.

  • Stayed: August 2014, travelled as a couple
    • Location
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank drsped
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Write a ReviewReviews (644)
Traveller rating
Traveller type
Time of year
Language
  • More languages

203 - 209 of 644 reviews

Reviewed 4 August 2014

Impressive building with more excavation and building work going on around it. fantastic modern design, with good access for all into the foyer. super modern fixtures, and decor, but comfortable.
tea coffee station just after the reception desk, free of charge., even free fruit on desk.
Modern bedroom with good free wifi, fixtures and very comfy beds. bathroom amenities , all that you would need, including hair dryer, good sized shower.
Brilliant views out across to the mountains and the harbour.
Sky bar expensive and dining in the evening is better out in town. cafe's bars etc short walk into town... with a choice to suit most.
Breakfast was great with many choices and plenty to eat.

Room Tip: the higher the floor the better the view...
See more room tips
  • Stayed: July 2014, travelled as a couple
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Service
Thank babe33
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 3 August 2014

The hotel is easily recognizable and nicely furnished. The hall is wide and it is nice to spend some time there sipping a nice cup of coffee.
The room was at the 11th floor, with a great view.
The bathroom was clean, spacious and modern, but we had to require a roll of hygenic paper, as there was no spare one.
We decided to eat in the inner restaurant. The service was good, though slow (but we learnt that it is quite common here). The fish was good, nicely presented and the price reasonable for the Norwegian standard.
The breakfast was abundant and various. The staff kind and attentive.

  • Stayed: July 2014, travelled with family
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank Alessandra P
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 30 July 2014 via mobile

The hotel is confortable, from the entrance to the rooms.
It is in a very good position and has a fantastic view.
But the restautant of the hotel is too much expensive. I lo e expensive restautant and excellent food, but in this hotel the restaurant is absolutely too much expensive.

T

Stayed: July 2014
Thank MARIA R
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 28 July 2014

This is an iconic building in the heart of town. The design is supurb. Enjoyed the sky bar on the top floor, the lavish breakfast and the view from the room was a great way to get hndle on the geography of Narvik.

  • Stayed: July 2014, travelled on business
    • Value
    • Location
    • Service
Thank ontherails
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 26 July 2014

The most impressive building in town with an amazing foyer and views from its 16th floor bar.

Bathroom with a huge shower and floor to ceiling windows and interesting artwork. but.

no shampoo in the shower, a kettle with a broken lid, no milk or creamer, a door that did not lock automatically when closed (and no-one told us this at check-in). Only cooling was to open the window and there is a huge building site next door.

Very very expensive food in the restaurant which we'd otherwise have enjoyed along with the view, though the breakfast next morning which was included in the room price was excellent.

Room Tip: Higher floors may be quieter and have a better view, but may also cost more.
See more room tips
  • Stayed: July 2014, travelled as a couple
    • Sleep Quality
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank Helen W
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 20 July 2014

The Rica hotel is a modern hotel, just a few minutes walk from the centre of Narvik and around 20 mins walk from the cable car.

The rooms were large and comfortable. Wifi was free and reliable and the air conditioning worked well.

There was a good selection of food for breakfast which was served in the hotel restaurant.

Check in was smooth and quick and the staff were very friendly.

Stayed: July 2014, travelled with family
1  Thank pmd76
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Hotels you might also like...
Also consider these accommodations in or near Narvik
0.3 mi away
Quality Hotel Grand Royal
0.2 mi away
Breidablikk Gjestehus
Breidablikk Gjestehus
#3 of 10 in Narvik
85 reviews
0.5 mi away
Thon Hotel Narvik
Thon Hotel Narvik
#4 of 10 in Narvik
128 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
0.1 mi away
Narvik Hotel
Narvik Hotel
#6 of 10 in Narvik
15 reviews
8.5 mi away
Bjerkvik Hotell
Bjerkvik Hotell
#1 of 1 in Bjerkvik
39 reviews
12.7 mi away
Evenes Fjordhotell
Evenes Fjordhotell
#2 of 2 in Bogen i Ofoten
270 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to Scandic Narvik? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Scandic Narvik

Address: Kongens gate 33, Narvik 8514, Norway (Formerly Rica Hotel Narvik)
Region: Norway > Northern Norway > Nordland > Narvik Municipality > Narvik
Amenities:
Bar / Lounge Business Centre with Internet Access Fitness Centre with Gym / Workout Room Free Breakfast Free High Speed Internet ( WiFi ) Pets Allowed ( Dog / Pet Friendly ) Restaurant Room Service Wheelchair access
Hotel Style:
Ranked #1 of 10 Hotels in Narvik
Price Range: £85 - £130 (Based on Average Rates for a Standard Room)
Hotel Class:4 star — Scandic Narvik 4*
Number of rooms: 148
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
Scandic Narvik is the city's most modern hotel. The hotel is one of the tallest buildings in northern Norway and has an exciting exterior of sloping glass supported by two towers. Our sky bar, Totta Bar on the 16th floor has a panoramic view over Narvik and Ofotfjorden and our Tind restaurant, which is one of the top restaurant in Narvik, serves breakfast and an exclusive dinner menu. With 8 meeting rooms, the largest of which can accommodate up to 175 participants, our hotel is great for business travelers. Parking is available just next door for guests arriving by car. As a guest you have access to free WiFi in your room and public areas. ... more   less 
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Hotels.com, Expedia, Scandic Hotels, TripOnline SA, Evoline ltd, Ebookers, HotelsClick, getaroom.com and 5viajes2012 S.L. so you can book your Scandic Narvik reservations with confidence. We help millions of travellers each month to find the perfect hotel for both holiday and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing