We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.
Tromso Lodge & Camping
Show Prices
Like saving money? We search up to 200 sites for the lowest prices
Nearby Hotels
View Hotel
Certificate of Excellence
  • Free Wifi
  • Breakfast included
View Hotel
  • Free Wifi
  • Breakfast included
View Hotel
Certificate of Excellence
  • Free Wifi
View Hotel
Certificate of Excellence
  • Free Wifi
  • Breakfast included
View Hotel
Certificate of Excellence
  • Free Wifi
  • Breakfast included
View Hotel
  • Free Wifi
  • Breakfast included
View Hotel
Certificate of Excellence
  • Free Wifi
  • Breakfast included
View Hotel
  • Free Wifi
  • Breakfast included
View Hotel
  • Free Wifi
  • Breakfast included
View Hotel
  • Free Wifi
  • Breakfast included
Reviews (355)
Filter reviews
355 results
Traveller rating
163
115
42
21
14
Traveller type
Time of year
LanguageAll languages
More languages
163
115
42
21
14
Show reviews that mention
All reviewsthe kitchenthe rivernorthern lightsgroup of friendseconomy cabinnice placecity centrenearest supermarkettake carecross country skiingexcellent stayarctic cathedraltent areathe busmain buildingnice cabinsuperior cabin
FilterAll languages
Updating list...
185 - 190 of 355 reviews
Reviewed 9 February 2013

My husband and I stayed here for 4 nights.
At first we had issues with running water, however were informed that cabins 55 & 56 have been having issues. The staff quite happily moved us to another cabin with the same facilities but a little older.
We were given complimentary Wi-Fi and were told that it covers the whole camp ground, which I found a little surprising, we had no problems with the connection.
Our rooms were comfortable and warm.
The cooking facilities we had were OK, stovetop, microwave, small fridge, and kettle. Cutlery was provided but some was missing.
We found that the location was good, but we didn't mind to travel into town every day.
It is about a 5-10min walk to the bus stop, then a 5 min bus trip into town. It costs 40NOK per person one way. It would be possible to walk into town, but being winter we decided not to.
They don't appear to have a booking service for any extra activities, so we did that in town at the tourist info centre.
With the self contained cabins, you can opt to clean them yourself or there is a charge of 450NOK to have them cleaned when you leave. They provide all the cleaning gear.
Overall it was good for us.

  • Stayed: February 2013, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank CestLeVie
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 5 December 2012

We have stayed there under a tent in August. It is a lovely place. They have all you need: showers, kitchen and a wonderful location. Fantastic small forest, a small river....just couldn't be better! The person who checked us in was really nice and welcoming.

  • Stayed: August 2012, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
3  Thank SebastianSim
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 25 September 2012

We visited Tromso camping 12-14 september with caravan. Place was nice and clear staff was helpful. Location is very good, near city. Sea and beautyful nature is near. Next autumn we return on same place and will stay longer.
I will recommend this place to my friends.

  • Stayed: September 2012, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank Ivi231
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 23 July 2012

When we arrived with our camper van the camping was booked full. But somehow they found us a parking space by the reseption hut. The girl by the desk was really nice, she help us with the electricity (we needed an extension cord and a ladder) and gave us advise about the city (busses etc.). Service buildings were clean and altough the place was packed it was peaceful.

  • Stayed: June 2012, travelled with friends
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank HMGFin
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 22 July 2012

170Kr for camping is expensive even by Norwegian standards. Any other campsite would have a lawned area for tents to camp on, but here all you have for tents are some clearings in the woods on the other side of the river. Each clearing is nothing but bare earth, twigs and roots. When it rains, it gets muddy - and big puddles will build up in many tent clearings.

Toilet & shower facilities were limited (2 showers & 4 toilets counted), and rather poor quality ( loose taps etc..). Laundry facilities must be reserved in advance, and costs 50kr. Reception includes a small restaurant area.

I'd say that anyone who camps here, does so because there's no other practical choice for them. If you're on foot or a tight budget, alternatives in Tromso are not practicable. Most people seem to stay one night and then move on.

Access to city is easy. A 5 minute walk to the bus stop and then catch bus 20/24 to the city centre (normally every 30 minutes per route).

Stayed: July 2012, travelled solo
3  Thank scot_travel14
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Bjorn B, Receptionist at Tromso Lodge & Camping, responded to this reviewResponded 28 May 2014

Hi, thank you for your comment and for your honesty. I'm sorry that you had a bad experience. We are aware of the challanges in the tent area when it's raining, and as we are upgrading the camp site (new cabins and new service building) we will consider what to do with the tent area. In the meanwhile we have to make the best out of the situation, focusing in good service. Also, the shower and toilet facilities will be upgraded, and the plan is that the new building will be finished during 2015.
Best wishes, Lone, Tromsø Camping.

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
View more reviews