We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Good option at keen price for a family stay”
Review of Tromso Camping

Best prices for -
Check In dd/mm/yyyy Check Out dd/mm/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 6 more sites!
Tromso Camping
Ranked #1 of 79 Speciality Lodging in Troms
Certificate of Excellence
Dublin, Ireland
1 review
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 3 helpful votes
“Good option at keen price for a family stay”
Reviewed 8 July 2010

Spent a week at Tromso camping in mid-June and found it to be ideal for us (family with 3 kids under 7).
Had booked one of the 2 bedroom, 5 person, river cabins and it had enough room for us all to fit with relative comfort.
Bunks for the kids were great though the double bed was a little on the small side.
As we were there during the time of the Midnight Sun (though it was overcast for full 7 days) we were a bit concerned that constant day light would keep kids awake but rooms had black-out blinds so wasn't a problem.
While it is a little bit out of town it fitted our needs with young kids as there was plenty of space for them to run around outside and football pitches and rivers and small playground close by to keep them amused.
Was only a 5 minute walk to bus stop into town and service was frequent.
Certainly was good value in what is a very expensive country!
As it is self catering there is a small kitchen area in cabin with a hob and microwave so enough for basic meals to be cooked. Few basic supplies can be bought in the shop/ restaurant on-site though better buying in one of the supermarkets in town.
Staff were very helpful and friendly

Couple of slightly annoying things:
Fridge in the cabin was broken so a little annoying
TV in cabin has 3 basic channels and you have to pay extra for a satellite card to get more channels. However, we couldn't get the satellite card to work and camp manager even had a couple of goes and gave up.
Also paid extra for internet connection but connection was so flakey that we gave it back (and got a refund).


If you are planning on traveling to Tromso with kids I'd certainly recommend here over a more cramped hotel in town that you will probably pay extra for

  • Stayed June 2010, travelled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
3 Thank snordlaw
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Write a Review

285 reviews from our community

Traveller rating
    129
    95
    32
    16
    13
See reviews for
72
72
14
3
Rating summary
  • Location
  • Sleep Quality
  • Rooms
  • Service
  • Value
  • Cleanliness
Traveller tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (9)
Date | Rating
  • Chinese (Traditional) first
  • Dutch first
  • English first
  • Finnish first
  • French first
  • German first
  • Italian first
  • Japanese first
  • Norwegian first
  • Polish first
  • Portuguese first
  • Russian first
  • Spanish first
  • Swedish first
  • Any
English first
UK
1 review
Reviewed 23 June 2010

We stayed at Tromsocamping for a week in December, in a comfort cabin. The cabin itself was very nice - recently built, all mod cons and very warm. A little on the small side for 4 people but for 2 it's fine. I'd like to give this a higher star rating but for me the location was a bit of a let down. It's a little out of town, which is why we chose it as we wanted to see the Northern lights from our cabin, but there was a permanently floodlit (but small) arena right next door, which totally scuppered that idea. It wouldn't have bothered me much at all if it wasn't for the fact that the aurora was the whole reason we were there!

Otherwise, it's set at the bottom of a steep wooded hill, which is pretty, and close to a bus route to town (or you can walk in about 40 mins). It's also not far from the fabulous Arctic Cathedral and the cable car up the hill - both worth a look.

Can't comment on service as we didn't require any apart from check-in, and price-wise it's one of the better options as Tromso is expensive!

  • Stayed December 2009, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank rockfox007
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
York UK
Level Contributor
3 reviews
3 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 4 helpful votes
Reviewed 16 June 2010

We stayed in one of the white 'Comfort' Cabins, We really liked our chalet it was clean and modern with all mod cons and a TV etc and really comfortable beds. The site is a way out of tromso but just a short walk down the road takes you to the bus stop where you can get into town. The staff have a bit of a laissez-faire attitude so don't ask anything big of them (i was having problems sorting a taxi out to get to the airport the next day and the girl on reception almost went out of her way NOT to help me out), the site has a very 'youth-hostally' feel to it which i imagine is nice in summer when there's lots of other young people, but it was our first time in Norway so we weren't exactly seasoned travellers and we felt a bit like no one wanted to give us advice about anything (which is not like Norwegians at all - everywhere else we went people went out of their way for us) and we felt we'd paid alot of money to stay there so they could have at least phoned me a taxi. I think i would reccomend the campsite in summer but it's a bit of a ghost town in winter so stay at one of the hotels in town.

  • Stayed January 2010, travelled with friends
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank au_contraire
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
tgschwind
Level Contributor
10 reviews
6 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 3 helpful votes
Reviewed 11 November 2009

We picked Tromso camping from forum advise on this site - and were very happy with it. We rented a cabin in October - and it was nice and warm, small but enough space for the 4 of us. We read that this is outside the main city so light polution isn't a problem - but in October clouds were so we drove 1-2 hours each night to find clear skies anyway. The kitchen is only a small fridge, stove, and microwave - no oven. The furniture is a little thread-bare, but the place is cute. The location is great. The price is not bad compared to other places in Tromso (meaning ok by Norwegian standards)
I will definitely stay here again.

  • Stayed October 2009, travelled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
1 Thank tgschwind
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Bath
Level Contributor
60 reviews
35 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 60 helpful votes
Reviewed 24 February 2009

We stayed in a comfort cabin in the middle of February. The cabins were very comfortable with all mod cons and were perfect for northern light spotting! Three of us stayed and this was fine. The sofa bed may be a lottle small for 2 people though. The cabins are extremely warm so no need to worry about the cold outside! In fact we had to turn thermo down as it was too hot! The site is about 3km from Tromso centre which is better if you are looking for lights and we tended to walk into the centre and then get the bus back (which are regular and cheap). If you arive on Sunday there are NO shops open at all so bring food if you intend to eat in. The kitchen facilities are fine although there is no cooker - only hob and microwave. Overall we had a very relaxing and comfortable week at Tromso camping.

  • Stayed February 2009, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
2 Thank holidaylover82Bath
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Hotels you might also like...
Travellers also viewed these Troms hotels
1.6 mi away
Viking Hotell Tromso
Viking Hotell Tromso
#13 of 18 in Tromso
444 reviews
1.5 mi away
Comfort Hotel Xpress Tromso
1.4 mi away
Clarion Collection Hotel With
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
1.6 mi away
ABC Hotell
ABC Hotell
#17 of 18 in Tromso
177 reviews
1.3 mi away
Scandic Ishavshotel
Scandic Ishavshotel
#3 of 18 in Tromso
240 reviews
1.4 mi away
Clarion Hotel The Edge
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to Tromso Camping? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Tromso Camping

Property: Tromso Camping
Address: Elvestrandvegen 10, 9020, Norway
Phone Number:
Region: Norway > Northern Norway > Troms
Amenities:
Bar / Lounge Business Centre with Internet Access Free Parking Kitchenette Pets Allowed ( Dog / Pet Friendly ) Ski-In / Ski-Out
Hotel Style:
Ranked #1 of 79 Speciality Lodging in Troms
Price Range (Based on Average Rates): £
Hotel Class:2 star — Tromso Camping 2*
Number of rooms: 64
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
Tromso Camping is located in the fabulous wilderness, right next to the city center. You can sleep to the sound of the river running outside your cabin, with the majestic mountains behind you. When you wake up, you can take a lovely morning walk in one of the many hiking tracks at site. The location is perfect for those who want to experience the northern nature, but also close to the urban city life. By car it is only a 5 minute drive, or by foot a 30 minute walk. We offer 64 cabins divided in seven different categories, where you can choose between high standard cabins with two bedrooms, to a small cabin with only two beds. We also offer space for tents, RV and Caravan, in addition to meeting and event facilities for up to 120 persons. Parking and WiFi is included in all of our cabins. ... more   less 
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Booking.com, Expedia, Ebookers, Hotels.com, Agoda, Priceline and Odigeo so you can book your Tromso Camping reservations with confidence. We help millions of travellers each month to find the perfect hotel for both holiday and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
Tromso Camping Hotel Troms

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing