We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.
The latest reviews. The lowest prices. The perfect place to shop for hotels.

“Ideal spot if northern lights appear”
4 of 5 bubbles Review of Sydspissen Hotel

Best prices for -
Check In dd/mm/yyyy Check Out dd/mm/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 3 more sites!
Sydspissen Hotel
Ranked #22 of 37 Hotels in Troms
Certificate of Excellence
Brighton & Hove
Level Contributor
58 reviews
27 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 55 helpful votes
“Ideal spot if northern lights appear”
4 of 5 bubbles Reviewed 10 April 2014

We chose this hotel because it had a beach and was away from the lights of Tromso, when we arrived it was well kept, tidy, efficient and clean. The room was fine with 3 single beds, a shower room, fridge and TV. There was enough space to store clothes etc. and we had a view of the bay, which was ideal at night if the Northern lights appeared. The restaurant was open all day till 11pm where you could get free tea and coffee, they also had a toaster & microwave which came in handy for a couple of ready meals and plates etc. could be used. The breakfast was included in our trip and consisted of cereals, fruit juices, bread, rolls, meats, jams but no hot food to speak of. We went to the tourist office when we first arrived to find out places of interest and then opposite to the bus office to buy a 4 day pass (1800 kroner = £18) well worth the money as it also meant we could use the bus to get back to the airport on our return home, best bit of advice i can give. Tromso is nice, though there tends to be a lot more concrete buildings going up in town which is a shame, but the polar museum & northern lights museum are worth a look. all in all the trip was good just a shame those dam northern lights never appeared...!

Room Tip: buy a 4 day pass (1800 kroner = £18)
See more room tips
  • Stayed March 2014, travelled with friends
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank Snarlup
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Write a Review

166 reviews from our community

Traveller rating
    50
    80
    30
    3
    3
See reviews for
33
56
17
9
Rating summary
  • Location
    4 of 5 bubbles
  • Sleep Quality
    4 of 5 bubbles
  • Rooms
    3.5 of 5 bubbles
  • Service
    4 of 5 bubbles
  • Value
    4.5 of 5 bubbles
  • Cleanliness
    4 of 5 bubbles
Traveller tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (30)
Date | Rating
  • Chinese (Traditional) first
  • Chinese (Simplified) first
  • Danish first
  • Dutch first
  • English first
  • French first
  • German first
  • Italian first
  • Japanese first
  • Norwegian first
  • Portuguese first
  • Russian first
  • Spanish first
  • Swedish first
  • Any
English first
Adelaide, Australia
Level Contributor
37 reviews
15 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 31 helpful votes
4 of 5 bubbles Reviewed 7 April 2014

We spent a few nights in the Sydspissen Hotel and were very pleased with our stay.
To be brutally frank accommodation in northern Norway is brutally expensive. For that matter so is everything else.
I chose the Sydspissen based on budget constraints, it was the cheapest we could find!
No complaints however, the staff were very helpful, the breakfast expansive and tasty. The location is a little out of town, but only a little, and a regular bus stops maybe 100metres away, more or less every half hour. Honestly, from what I saw of Tromso centre, there really isn't any reason to stay in the middle of all the action, such as it is. Five minutes out of town is fine. Of course if it's nice weather you can make it a pleasant stroll as there are some walking trails, and ski trails, nearby that will take you all over the city.
Plus as an added bonus you are situated on the waterfront, we had a pleasant morning watching the snow drift in over the water while savouring breakfast, before venturing out to make snowmen. (Snow virgins you see.)
I'd stay again the fact it's cheap is just a bonus.

  • Stayed March 2014, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank driver x
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Barcelona, Spain
Level Contributor
4 reviews
3 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 2 helpful votes
4 of 5 bubbles Reviewed 3 April 2014

We had a great 5 day stay in this hotel. It is true it is not in the city centre, but the buses are good and reliable (bus stop is at a two-minute walking, buses passes very 20 minutes until midnight and it is a 15 min ride to city center).
The location of the hotel, beside the lake, is incredible. Walking by the side of the beach was mavellous. Plus, the hotel has free coffe and tea for guests, and though the do not serve lunch or dinner, we could use the dinning room for having sandwiches and even ordering pizzas.
there is a huge supermarket really close where to buy things to eat.

Room Tip: Ask for a room with views to the lake
See more room tips
  • Stayed April 2014, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank Patty C
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
South Africa
Level Contributor
28 reviews
13 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 22 helpful votes
5 of 5 bubbles Reviewed 31 March 2014

This hotel is situated just outside of the town. It is clean and comfortable with lovely warm rooms and an excellent breakfast buffet included in the price. The dining room is open throughout the day for tea and coffee and to warm up food purchased in the town. The staff are friendly and helpful no matter the time of day.

Despite heavy rain and cloud during the time we stayed here, we saw the aurora from the grounds of the hotel.

It was a home away fro home.

  • Stayed March 2014, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank SouthAfricaTraveller
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Taipei, Taiwan
Level Contributor
51 reviews
42 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 37 helpful votes
5 of 5 bubbles Reviewed 29 March 2014

We visited Tromso in mid-March. We had stayed in a downtown hotel for a night after we arrived by a Hurtigruten ship. Then we moved to Sydspissen mainly because we heard that it's possible to see the Northern Lights from the hotel room. We asked for a room facing the fjord, and did see a weak display in the second night, a nice addition to our beautiful memory from a light chasing tour in the previous night.

This hotel is clean and quiet. It is not new or luxury, but all facilities are conveniently set for tourists like us, and the restaurant has a great view. The location is indeed not in downtown, but that's exactly what we wanted. With a bus day-pass (70 NOK per person), we moved around the town without a problem. The bus needed like 10~15 minutes wait each time. When we left it snowed and we took a taxi for 220 NOK to the airport. One last point I wish to emphasize is that the staffs are helpful and friendly, really friendly, not "professionally friendly".

  • Stayed March 2014, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
1 Thank RobusTraveler
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
derby
Level Contributor
108 reviews
35 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 82 helpful votes
5 of 5 bubbles Reviewed 8 March 2014

We stayed at this hotel 25/2/14 - 1/3 /14 myself husband and 12 yo daughter. The hotel was exactly as we expected , its not luxury , but its clean and warm and for Norway prices is quite a bargain. 3 single beds, small table and 3 chairs , TV ,some storage space ( not loads) shower room - powerful and hot shower. Breakfast was cereal , breads, jam , meats , salads and boiled eggs, fresh fruit juices , teas /coffees etc. You have access to the hot drinks machine all day till 11pm ish and there is also a microwave and toaster - we did make use of this on one day before an aurora trip. The co op is about a 10 min walk - they have ready meals etc and crampons ! We took our own duty free as alcohol is at a premium. We saw the lights from the small beach area on our second night. Hotel staff helpful , cleaning of the room was more of a tidy than a thorough clean but it didn't cleaning as such a a short trip. Ladies you can borrow a hairdryer. Wouldn't hesitate to stay here , we did have a hire car which I think would be useful if staying here.

  • Stayed February 2014, travelled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank spadge
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
London, United Kingdom
Level Contributor
71 reviews
30 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 30 helpful votes
3 of 5 bubbles Reviewed 4 March 2014

We stayed overnight at the Sydspissen Hotel hoping for the Northern Lights. The hotel is located on the outskirts of town and requires one to catch a bus to get to it.

The room itself is a little rundown and basic but has an amazing view of the seafront.
The breakfast buffet is continental style and has a good choice, try the freshly baked bread.
Request a hairdryer from the reception.

Room Tip: Ask for a room round the back of the hotel... you'll be amazed when the sunrises :)
See more room tips
  • Stayed January 2014, travelled with friends
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank icequeenling
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Hotels you might also like...
Travellers also viewed these Troms hotels
1.7 mi away
Amalie Hotel
Amalie Hotel
#11 of 18 in Tromso
4.5 of 5 bubbles 218 reviews
4.0 mi away
Pingvinhotellet UNN Tromso
1.6 mi away
ABC Hotell
ABC Hotell
#17 of 18 in Tromso
3.5 of 5 bubbles 177 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
1.6 mi away
Comfort Hotel Xpress Tromso
1.7 mi away
AMI Hotel Tromso
AMI Hotel Tromso
#15 of 18 in Tromso
4.0 of 5 bubbles 221 reviews
1.5 mi away
Viking Hotell Tromso
Viking Hotell Tromso
#14 of 18 in Tromso
4.0 of 5 bubbles 438 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to Sydspissen Hotel? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Sydspissen Hotel

Property: Sydspissen Hotel
Address: Strandvegen 166, 9006, Norway
Region: Norway > Northern Norway > Troms
Amenities:
Hotel Style:
Ranked #22 of 37 Hotels in Troms
Price Range (Based on Average Rates): ££
Hotel Class:3 star — Sydspissen Hotel 3*
Number of rooms: 48
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Booking.com, HostelWorld, Traveltool, S.L.U. and Evoline ltd so you can book your Sydspissen Hotel reservations with confidence. We help millions of travellers each month to find the perfect hotel for both holiday and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing