We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.
The latest reviews. The lowest prices. The perfect place to shop for hotels.

“Clean and peaceful”

Best prices for -
Check In dd/mm/yyyy Check Out dd/mm/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 8 more sites!
Clarion Collection Hotel Arcticus
Ranked #1 of 5 Hotels in Harstad
Certificate of Excellence
Finland
Level Contributor
62 reviews
19 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 22 helpful votes
“Clean and peaceful”
3 of 5 bubbles Reviewed 18 August 2014

Room was nice but I hated there were no proper view from the vindow. You could see only some kind of inside area from your vindow. Breakfast and dinner were ok. The staff was ok and helpful. No air conditioning.

  • Stayed August 2014, travelled solo
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank lochte
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
BJ1974, General Manager at Clarion Collection Hotel Arcticus, responded to this review, 27 August 2014
Dear guest,

Thank you for taking time to write a review.
Unfortunatlly all our rooms do not have seaview. Advantage of these rooms is that they are really quiet.
Please ask for seaview on your next stay.


Benny Jakobsen
Hotelldirektør/General Manager
Clarion Collection Hotel Arcticus
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Write a Review

337 reviews from our community

Traveller rating
    166
    114
    39
    13
    5
See reviews for
65
94
23
108
Rating summary
  • Location
    4.5 of 5 bubbles
  • Sleep Quality
    4.5 of 5 bubbles
  • Rooms
    4.5 of 5 bubbles
  • Service
    4.5 of 5 bubbles
  • Value
    4.5 of 5 bubbles
  • Cleanliness
    4.5 of 5 bubbles
Traveller tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (23)
Date | Rating
  • Czech first
  • Dutch first
  • English first
  • French first
  • German first
  • Italian first
  • Norwegian first
  • Polish first
  • Russian first
  • Spanish first
  • Swedish first
  • Any
English first
Pittsburgh PA
Level Contributor
46 reviews
8 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 25 helpful votes
4 of 5 bubbles Reviewed 13 August 2014

The room was clean and comfortable, the buffet breakfast and dinner were very good and plentiful. The wait staff friendly and helpful. We enjoyed our nightly walks along the boardwalk watching some of the antique boats at anchor. The only negative was a long walk to the open garage with luggage. Remember if you go there in a hot summer, that there are very few air conditioned rooms in Scandinavia and no screens on the windows. so bring your bug spray in case you need it.

Room Tip: There are only a few rooms facing the water, so most rooms are okay.
See more room tips
  • Stayed July 2014, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank reen715
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
BJ1974, General Manager at Clarion Collection Hotel Arcticus, responded to this review, 27 August 2014
Dear guest,

Thank you for kind words. Good to hear that you had a nice stay with us

Benny Jakobsen
Hotelldirektør/General Manager
Clarion Collection Hotel Arcticus
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
geneva
Level Contributor
95 reviews
42 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 61 helpful votes
4 of 5 bubbles Reviewed 19 July 2014

We spend a night in this new hotel in town and we found the place quite good. Firstly, the location on the sea shore is very good and on a walking distance from the pier to take the hutigraben to Tromso. The sevice is efficent and friendly and for the travelers on tight budget you can get free breakfast and dinner!. The rooms are small but very clean and functional.they are also serving frair trade coffee and ,in a nice norwegian tradition, quite attentive to the ecology

  • Stayed July 2014, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank spitfirex
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Stavanger
Level Contributor
175 reviews
51 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 69 helpful votes
2 of 5 bubbles Reviewed 12 July 2014

This place was a huge disappointment, and you can see from my previous reviews that I rarely give 2 out of 5. Service was at its minimum, and cared only to upgrade our room against an additional fee. No questions about where we came from, what we were doing in Harstad... No suggestions on what to do in this ghost town either.
Evening dinner (included, not free) was the best of what the hotel could offer, together with the breakfast. However the dining area lacked space and comfort.
Rooms are very dark, and fail to bring the comfort feeling that you expect from such hotel.
Now what really annoys us is that the maintnance at the hotel is poor. I think we counted more defaulted lamps/lights than the number of working ones, making the hallways dark and uninviting. The hotel is in need of a refurbishment, especially in the hallways leading to the rooms. Large stains in the carpets (I do not like carpets at all, even worse when they appear dirty), outdated elevator, worn out walls etc.
2 out of 5 is strict compared to hostels and other hotels that are old and lack several amneties, but I rate this against both my pre-expectations and post-feeling after the stay. Therefore I ring the wake-up bell and expect reactions (although I highly doubt I will return). Other hotels actually looked better from the outside.

  • Stayed July 2014, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank wgjedrem
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
BJ1974, General Manager at Clarion Collection Hotel Arcticus, responded to this review, 27 August 2014
Dear guests,

We are sorry to hear that your stay with us was a disappointment. Thank you for being so specific in your review. Makes it possible to do something that makes our product better.

Hope you will give us a new chance to makes things right next time you are in Harstad.

Benny Jakobsen
Hotelldirektør/General Manager
Clarion Collection Hotel Arcticus
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Malden, NL
Level Contributor
361 reviews
263 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 363 helpful votes
3 of 5 bubbles Reviewed 10 July 2014

We booked a superior room as this room is bigger than the usual quite small rooms in Norway. It promised see view, but that you see only when looking from an angle. Free wifi worked well. Very friendly and helpful front desk manager.

Evening dinner buffet is included in the room rate. The hotel could improve here on the logistics: the floor in the dining room was really dirty, used plates were taken away from the guest tables only occasionally. Only one waitress had to do the job, all alone. Here clothes were very dirty. Please, change clothes when they are so stained, this spoils the appetite.

  • Stayed May 2014, travelled on business
    • Rooms
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank Mianel
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Groningen, The Netherlands
1 review
5 of 5 bubbles Reviewed 10 July 2014

nice friendly hotel in great location. we were lucky weather was absolutely excellent so enjoyed dinner and breakfast sitting outside on the waterfront. Parking is not straight forward however. Too bad not all rooms have any view.

  • Stayed July 2014, travelled with friends
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Review collected in partnership with NordicChoiceHotels.com

Helpful?
Thank ETOLS
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Stockholm, Sweden
Level Contributor
709 reviews
123 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 173 helpful votes
3 of 5 bubbles Reviewed 7 July 2014

Located 15 min from airport down by the water i Harstad. Rather dull hotel , standard room nothing special. We got a room with extra bed located towards the backside. The extrabed/sofa was not very comfortable. A lot of noise in the morning. Breakfast was very good! A lot of local things and a lot of fruit.

Room Tip: Get a room towards the sea.
See more room tips
  • Stayed July 2014, travelled with friends
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank R_Sweden
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Hotels you might also like...
Also consider these accommodations in or near Harstad
0.2 mi away
Thon Hotel Harstad
Thon Hotel Harstad
#2 of 5 in Harstad
4.0 of 5 bubbles 265 reviews
0.3 mi away
Scandic Harstad
Scandic Harstad
#3 of 5 in Harstad
3.5 of 5 bubbles 142 reviews
12.4 mi away
Tjeldsundbrua Kro & Hotell
Tjeldsundbrua Kro & Hotell
#1 of 1 in Evenskjer
3.5 of 5 bubbles 35 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
22.3 mi away
Evenes Fjordhotell
Evenes Fjordhotell
#2 of 2 in Bogen i Ofoten
3.5 of 5 bubbles 248 reviews
23.2 mi away
Bogen Hostel
Bogen Hostel
#1 of 2 in Bogen i Ofoten
4.5 of 5 bubbles 50 reviews
16.3 mi away
Sandtorgholmen Hotel
Sandtorgholmen Hotel
#2 of 3 in Harstad
4.0 of 5 bubbles 40 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to Clarion Collection Hotel Arcticus? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Clarion Collection Hotel Arcticus

Property: Clarion Collection Hotel Arcticus
Address: Havnegata 3, Harstad 9404, Norway (Formerly Quality Hotel)
Region: Norway > Northern Norway > Troms > Harstad
Amenities:
Bar / Lounge Fitness Centre with Gym / Workout Room Free Breakfast Free High Speed Internet ( WiFi ) Pets Allowed ( Dog / Pet Friendly ) Restaurant Suites Wheelchair access
Hotel Style:
Ranked #1 of 5 Hotels in Harstad
Price Range (Based on Average Rates): ££
Hotel Class:4 star — Clarion Collection Hotel Arcticus 4*
Number of rooms: 75
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
See you soon at this unique hotel gem in central Harstad. Clarion Collection Hotel Arcticus is located by the old harbour, with sea and mountain views. And if you're hungry, we serve a complimentary mid-afternoon snack and evening meal. Our treat! (Limited # of rooms for pets available, please contact the hotel) ... more   less 
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Booking.com, Expedia, Hotels.com, Odigeo, Nordic Choice Hotels, Ebookers, TripOnline SA, Traveltool, S.L.U., Evoline ltd and HotelQuickly so you can book your Clarion Collection Hotel Arcticus reservations with confidence. We help millions of travellers each month to find the perfect hotel for both holiday and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
Clarion Harstad
Harstad Clarion

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing