We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Great value great location really good room”

Best prices for -
Check In dd/mm/yyyy Check Out dd/mm/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 7 more sites!
City Living Hotel & Apartments
Ranked #6 of 18 Hotels in Tromso
Certificate of Excellence
Dublin
Level 5 Contributor
61 reviews
14 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 40 helpful votes
“Great value great location really good room”
Reviewed 27 May 2011

Booked in here for 7 nights in December 2010 with my wife.We like to be able to do our own thing when away so having the small kitechenette was excellent.Onl;y thing missing was a microwave oven which would have been great.All in all room was excellent,price excellent for Tromso and city centre location was so central to everything.This was our second trip to Tromso and first time in city living but are already planning our third trip and will stay here again

  • Stayed December 2010, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
2 Thank DublinFrank_01
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Write a Review

552 reviews from our community

Traveller rating
    284
    216
    37
    9
    6
See reviews for
82
228
73
28
Rating summary
  • Location
  • Sleep Quality
  • Rooms
  • Service
  • Value
  • Cleanliness
Traveller tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (83)
Date | Rating
  • Chinese (Traditional) first
  • Chinese (Simplified) first
  • Danish first
  • Dutch first
  • English first
  • French first
  • German first
  • Italian first
  • Japanese first
  • Norwegian first
  • Portuguese first
  • Russian first
  • Spanish first
  • Swedish first
  • Any
English first
Stavanger, Norway
Level 2 Contributor
7 reviews
3 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 2 helpful votes
Reviewed 26 May 2011

We stayed in a standard double room which came with a full oven & hob, kettle, dishwasher and crockery, cutlery & cooking utensils. The room was a good size and having cooking facilities in the room saved a little money, considering how expensive it can be to eat out in Norway. The hotel is very central, metres from the airport shuttle bus (flybussen) and within walking distance of all the shops and restaurants.
The only hotel staff we met were at check in and check out, but they were friendly and efficient. Only downsides were that the shower door didn't close in our room so the bathroom floor got a bit wet and there is no cleaning / linen & towel change unless you stay for 7 days or more.
All in all I'd recommend.

  • Stayed May 2011
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank Godders1210
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Rickmansworth, United Kingdom
Level 6 Contributor
26 reviews
16 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 139 helpful votes
Reviewed 24 April 2011

I am a wholly deaf solo traveller. During April 2011, I rented a studio apartment on the 4th floor at City Living Hotel and Apartments, Tromso for 4 nights. The room size was reasonable for a single person like myself. It has a nice modern décor with a great view of Tromso and the snowy mountains (see some pics). The kitchenette with a kettle, 2 cooking hobs and a fridge were useful for me to cook my breakfast and evening meal to save my money. The restaurants in Tromso were too expensive except one evening for my birthday meal out! Unfortunately, I missed having a toaster for my breakfast, but I managed to eat the bread roll slices instead. There are several useful supermarkets nearby – I found there were some tinned Norwegian stews with various pictures of the food covering the tins. I could not understand any Norwegian language! It was fun!

The City Living Hotel and Apartments are in a good location – you can walk to the Polaria Museum, Polar Museum, and the other attractions in Tromso centre. You can get a bus number 26 to the Cable Cars - they have a panoramic view of Tromso and the snowy mountains – it was worth it! You can also walk to Radisson Blu Hotel for getting a mini bus to Tromso Villmarkssenter if you would book the dog sledding. There are buses especially Flybussen that running from/to the airport to/from the city centre. Flybussen can drop you off outside the Grand Nordic Hotel, Tromso where you can walk up to the next block and across the road to City Living Hotel and Apartments. Cheaper than taxis!

Room Tip: Best location in Tromso!
See more room tips
  • Stayed April 2011, travelled solo
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
5 Thank Deaf-Debo
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Tooting, London
Level 6 Contributor
154 reviews
58 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 117 helpful votes
Reviewed 6 April 2011

The Apartment was modern, clean and an easy walk to everything (main shopping street, Polar Museum, Polaria etc.). We had a superior double room and, although was all "open plan", it was split into 3 separate sections (bedroom, living and kitchen area) which was just perfect. We saved a lot of money by eating all our meals in the apartment and I took out a few supplies to avoid buying everything in Tromso (tea/coffee/sugar, salt/pepper, pasta/rice etc). The supermarket is only a few minutes walk from the apartment and it always seemed to be open!
Would highly recommend City Living for self-catering.

Room Tip: Save money & take food, wine & duty free
See more room tips
  • Stayed February 2011, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
2 Thank Chutey
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
London, United Kingdom
Level 6 Contributor
109 reviews
76 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 84 helpful votes
Reviewed 25 March 2011

The accommodation was excellent. The cooking facilities were adequate, although it was surprising that there was no microwave. The hotel was in an excellent location, close to shops, transport, etc. There was no noise at night although I do not think that Tromso would be noisy at night with all that snow and ice! Checkout was at 12noon which was good. Would definitely recommend this hotel to others and would gladly stay there again.

  • Stayed March 2011
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
1 Thank 186338travel
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
2 reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 3 helpful votes
Reviewed 8 March 2011

City Living apartments are very central and offer very practical accomodation for your stay in tromso. £20 taxi transfer to/ from airport. The room had a small kitchen so we were able to do a bit of self catering, essential in managing the astronomical cost of food and drink locally! I wholeheartedly recomend this hotel :)

  • Stayed March 2011
    • Value
    • Location
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank SwinLiff
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Melbourne
Level 2 Contributor
4 reviews
4 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 2 helpful votes
Reviewed 27 February 2011

I stayed here for 9 nights in February with a friend. I had originally booked the room just for myself, but at the last minute, a friend decided to come. When I informed the hotel, I was told it was no extra charge. All we had to do was separate the bed (It was a double made up of two beds pushed together). Yay!

The hotel was very clean, and quite spacious. We booked a room with a kitchenette, as Norway is so expensive! There is a supermarket only a 2 minute walk from the hotel which made life easy. The bathroom was clean, and had a heated floor. We were able to change the temp of the floor and the rooms on our own which was great. Room was quiet and the bed was really comfortable. The staff cleaned our room once during our stay which was good as I prefer to not have cleaning staff inside the room every day. There is no breakfast available, as the room was self-contained. They do offer breakfast at a restaurant across the street, but we never went there as we had our own stuff. The hotel is located in the middle of the town, so it was super easy to get to anywhere we wanted. The only minor issue we had was the internet connection was via cable, and there was only one outlet. This meant we had to split our computer time. But really, when on holiday, who cares!? We came to see the northern lights, and on our very last night, we saw them! They were wonderful.

I would definitely recommend this hotel to friends and family. Tromso was wonderful, and i'll be back for sure!

(The photos I uploaded were on our last day, so the room is a bit messy because of us!)

  • Stayed February 2011, travelled with friends
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
1 Thank AsparagusMelbourne
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Hotels you might also like...
Travellers also viewed these Tromso hotels
0.1 mi away
Comfort Hotel Xpress Tromso
0.2 mi away
Clarion Collection Hotel With
0.1 mi away
Viking Hotell Tromso
Viking Hotell Tromso
#13 of 18 in Tromso
454 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
0.1 mi away
Clarion Hotel The Edge
0.2 mi away
Radisson Blu Hotel, Tromso
0.2 mi away
Scandic Ishavshotel
Scandic Ishavshotel
#3 of 18 in Tromso
281 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to City Living Hotel & Apartments? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about City Living Hotel & Apartments

Property: City Living Hotel & Apartments
Address: Groennegata 48, Tromso 9008, Norway
Phone Number:
Region: Norway > Northern Norway > Troms > Tromso
Amenities:
Free High Speed Internet ( WiFi ) Kitchenette Suites Wheelchair access
Hotel Style:
Ranked #6 of 18 Hotels in Tromso
Price Range (Based on Average Rates): £
Hotel Class:3 star — City Living Hotel & Apartments 3*
Number of rooms: 46
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
Right in the heart of Tromsø. City Living is located in Grønnegata approximately 80 m from Strandtorget. Facilities include 46 high standard rooms and apartments, ranging in size from 14.5 sqm to 52 sqm. All rooms have en suite bathrooms, kitchen facilities, fridge, TV and free internet access. The larger rooms also have dishwashers. There is a guest laundry with a washing machine and clothes dryer. Service: Through limited service, we are able to offer low room rates. Opening hours for reception are 8am-8 pm Monday to Friday. Breakfast is not included. All rooms having cooking facilities. Breakfast may be purchased from our collaboration partner. ... more   less 
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Expedia, Hotels.com, Agoda, Booking.com, TripOnline SA and Evoline ltd so you can book your City Living Hotel & Apartments reservations with confidence. We help millions of travellers each month to find the perfect hotel for both holiday and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing