We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Well worth the stay”
Review of Enter City Hotel

Best prices for -
Check In dd/mm/yyyy Check Out dd/mm/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 5 more sites!
Enter City Hotel
Ranked #7 of 18 Hotels in Tromso
Certificate of Excellence
Reviewed 12 January 2014

We spent four January nights in this apartment-hotel and were delighted with it! The location was ideal, just a few minutes' walk from most of Tromso's attractions, and 50 metres from the airport bus stop (Flybussen). Eating out is extremely expensive to the Sterling traveller, so having a kitchen was ideal for self-catering - supermarkets just around the corner. The apartment was warm, very clean and comfortable - and reasonably priced. In addition, the reception desk staff were very helpful, friendly and welcoming. There is no restaurant, but the hotel has a deal with a bar/restaurant opposite where you can enjoy a substantial buffet breakfast for 8 NOK - this is a great deal! If you need to stay in Tromso, City Living Hotel is well worth it.

  • Stayed: January 2014, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank Mike C
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Madelene S, Manager at Enter City Hotel, responded to this reviewResponded 26 January 2014

Dear guest from England, UK. Thank you very much for your kind review and feedback. We are very happy that you enjoyed your stay here at City Living. Welcome back if returning to Norway and Tromsø! :-) Best regards, City Living Hotel Tromsø

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Write a ReviewReviews (588)
Traveller rating
Traveller type
Time of year
Language
  • More languages

247 - 253 of 588 reviews

Reviewed 11 January 2014

One of the hotels with best value in Tromso! Convenient location (although Tromso is not that big), spotless, comfy and modern bedroom/ bathroom/ kitchenette facilities. Room heater is powerful so it's always warm enough in the room. Very pleased with the room with a good view of the fjord!

Receptionists were extremely efficient, helpful and friendly, and can be contacted easily via the room phone.

  • Stayed: December 2013, travelled with friends
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank wallflower69
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Madelene S, Manager at Enter City Hotel, responded to this reviewResponded 26 January 2014

Dear guest from the Netherlands. Thank you so much for your kind feedback and informative review! We are very happy that you enjoyed your stay, we hope you will return to Tromsø and City Living :-) Best regards, City Living Hotel Tromsø

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 5 January 2014

We booked this apartment in Tromso for a winter break to seek the northern lights.

Tromso is generally quite an expensive destination (although definitely worth the visit), so being able to cook meals in the apartment helped save some money compared to eating out all the time. There are several supermarkets nearby. Rimi is the closest, and Eurospar is also very close by; which seemed the biggest of those nearby. There's a little fishmongers in the centre too. The kitchen in the apartment had all the basics needed to cook full meals in the evening.

The apartment was fairly compact, but well laid out to make the most of the space. As such, there was plenty enough room for the two of us.

We had no cause to contact the staff during our stay, but they were helpful at check in and check out.

The location is great, it's very close to the airport bus stop and conveniently located near the centre of Tromso; most city centre restaurants and attractions were within walking distance. The location was generally fairly quiet at night.

A general observation in Tromso is that the weather seems to be very changeable; for those visiting to seek the northern lights it seemed best to stay flexible and make bookings for excursions at fairly short notice once it was reasonable clear what the weather was doing.

  • Stayed: December 2013, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
3  Thank John S
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Madelene S, Manager at Enter City Hotel, responded to this reviewResponded 9 January 2014

Dear guests from London. Thank you very much for kind and informative feedback! We are very happy that you enjoyed staying at City Living when visiting Tromsø :-) Welcome back! Best regards, City Living Hotel Tromsø

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 3 January 2014

Location in the heart of town makes it easy to walk.
The kitchen meant that we could have our own breakfast, in our own time. It was actually very well equipped!
The bathroom was small, clean and practical.
The beds were firm but comfortable.
As we were staying for a longer period, the larger room gave us space to breath.
The office staff were friendly and helpful.

Room Tip: We stayed looking inwards, away from the road. Our room was quiet but stay away from the stairs (th...
See more room tips
  • Stayed: December 2013, travelled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
1  Thank MellieMelbourne
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Madelene S, Manager at Enter City Hotel, responded to this reviewResponded 9 January 2014

Dear guests from France. Thank you very much for kind review and feedback, we are very happy that you enjoyed staying with us at City Living Hotel. Welcome back :-) Best regards, City Living Hotel Tromsø

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 30 December 2013

I never usually write reviews whilst still on holiday but the hotel staff have been so unbelievably helpful with arranging tours and just about everything you need to know. She goes beyond the call of duty. Well done Frida.

  • Stayed: December 2013, travelled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank rossBrightonBrighton
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Madelene S, Manager at Enter City Hotel, responded to this reviewResponded 9 January 2014

Dear guest from Brighton. Thank you so very much for the kind review and feedback on our dear Frida. She is a star to us and we are very happy you were satisfied with the service and assistance. Welcome back if returning to Tromsø :-) Best regards, City Living Hotel Tromsø

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 29 December 2013

The location is perfect, it has kitchen in the room with appliances which is really great. The staff is very friendly. The price doesn't include breakfast, but with the kitchen you can prepare yourself within a couple of minutes.

  • Stayed: December 2013, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
2  Thank rmladenov2013
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Madelene S, Manager at Enter City Hotel, responded to this reviewResponded 9 January 2014

Dear guests from Varna. Thank you very much for your kind review, we are very happy to read that you enjoyed staying in City Living! Welcome back :-) Best regards, City Living Hotel Tromsø

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 28 December 2013

We were there for 5 days last week & had a great stay
Location was perfect for everything required as a tourist, restuarents, shopping, pick up points for almost all guided tours, taxi & bus stand....was within 5 mins walk
Everybody who works there are very helpful
The rooms have a small kitchen with required utensils & that's a huge advantage!!
We did a last minute booking this time & we are very happy about our choice.
I would love to stay there again!!
Cheers

  • Stayed: December 2013, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank shilpi14in
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Madelene S, Manager at Enter City Hotel, responded to this reviewResponded 9 January 2014

Dear guests from Bern. Thank you for your kind review! We are very happy that you enjoyed staying at City Living Hotel :-) Welcome back! Best regards, City Living Hotel Tromsø

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Hotels you might also like...
Travellers also viewed these Tromso hotels
0.2 mi away
Scandic Ishavshotel
Scandic Ishavshotel
#2 of 18 in Tromso
403 reviews
0.1 mi away
Comfort Hotel Xpress Tromso
0.2 mi away
Clarion Collection Hotel With
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
0 mi away
Scandic Grand Tromso
Scandic Grand Tromso
#6 of 18 in Tromso
571 reviews
0.1 mi away
Enter Viking Hotel
Enter Viking Hotel
#13 of 18 in Tromso
478 reviews
0.2 mi away
Radisson Blu Hotel, Tromso
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to Enter City Hotel? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Enter City Hotel

Address: Groennegata 48, Tromso 9008, Norway
Phone Number:
Region: Norway > Northern Norway > Troms > Tromso
Amenities:
Free High Speed Internet ( WiFi ) Kitchenette Suites Wheelchair access
Hotel Style:
Ranked #7 of 18 Hotels in Tromso
Price Range: £79 - £190 (Based on Average Rates for a Standard Room)
Hotel Class:3 star — Enter City Hotel 3*
Number of rooms: 46
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
Right in the heart of Tromsø. Enter City Hotel is located in Grønnegata approximately 80 m from Strandtorget. Facilities include 46 high standard rooms and apartments, ranging in size from 14.5 sqm to 52 sqm. All rooms have en suite bathrooms, kitchen facilities, fridge, TV and free internet access. The larger rooms also have dishwashers. There is a guest laundry with a washing machine and clothes dryer. Service: Through limited service, we are able to offer low room rates. Opening hours for reception are 8am-8 pm Monday to Friday. Breakfast is not included. All rooms having cooking facilities. Breakfast may be purchased from our collaboration partner. ... more   less 
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Expedia, Hotels.com, Booking.com, Agoda, TripOnline SA, Ebookers, Evoline ltd and 5viajes2012 S.L. so you can book your Enter City Hotel reservations with confidence. We help millions of travellers each month to find the perfect hotel for both holiday and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing