We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.
The latest reviews. The lowest prices. The perfect place to shop for hotels.

“Very convenient hotel!” 4 of 5 bubbles
Review of City Living Hotel & Apartments

Lowest prices for {0} - {1}
Enter dates for lowest prices
Check In dd/mm/yyyy Check Out dd/mm/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
We check up to 200+ sites for the lowest hotel prices
City Living Hotel & Apartments
Ranked #5 of 18 Hotels in Tromso
Certificate of Excellence
Zutphen, The Netherlands
1 review
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 1 helpful vote
“Very convenient hotel!”
4 of 5 bubbles Reviewed 25 January 2014

The staff was very friendly and helpful. Our apartment was extremely spacious with a fully equipped kitchen. Although there was no restaurant, we were allowed to wait for the departure of our Hurtigruten ship in the small lobby, and were kindly offered coffee and fruit.

  • Stayed December 2013, travelled with family
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Value
    • 3 of 5 bubbles
      Location
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Sleep Quality
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Rooms
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Service
Helpful?
1 Thank sietske55
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Madelene S, Manager at City Living Hotel & Apartments, responded to this review, 26 January 2014
Dear guests from the Netherlands. Thank you so much for kind feedback, we are so happy that you had a good time at City Living in Tromsø. We hope the trip with Hurtigruten also was a nice experience, and that you will visit Tromsø again :-) Best regards, City Living Hotel Tromsø
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Write a Review

527 reviews from our community

Traveller rating
    276
    205
    34
    8
    4
See reviews for
80
216
69
24
Rating summary
  • Location
    5 of 5 bubbles
  • Sleep Quality
    4.5 of 5 bubbles
  • Rooms
    4.5 of 5 bubbles
  • Service
    4.5 of 5 bubbles
  • Value
    4.5 of 5 bubbles
  • Cleanliness
    4.5 of 5 bubbles
Traveller tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (78)
Date | Rating
  • Chinese (Traditional) first
  • Chinese (Simplified) first
  • Danish first
  • Dutch first
  • English first
  • French first
  • German first
  • Italian first
  • Japanese first
  • Norwegian first
  • Portuguese first
  • Russian first
  • Spanish first
  • Swedish first
  • Any
English first
Johannesburg, South Africa
Level Contributor
2 reviews
5 of 5 bubbles Reviewed 20 January 2014

Robert welcomed us and really went out of his way to make our stay pleasant. He even phoned for a taxi to take us to the airport the next day and gave a lot of additional information. The suites were spacious, spotless and really well equipped - having the kitchenette was great. The hotel is centrally located and we were able to walk around the city.

  • Stayed January 2014, travelled with family
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Value
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Location
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Rooms
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Service
Helpful?
Thank Kleine D
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Madelene S, Manager at City Living Hotel & Apartments, responded to this review, 26 January 2014
Dear guests from South Africa. Thank you so much for kind feedback, we are so happy to hear that you had a good stay here with us! Welcome back if returning to Tromsø and City Living :-) Best regards, City Living Hotel Tromsø (PS! Robert says hello!)
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Lyminge, England, United Kingdom
Level Contributor
19 reviews
10 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 7 helpful votes
5 of 5 bubbles Reviewed 12 January 2014

We spent four January nights in this apartment-hotel and were delighted with it! The location was ideal, just a few minutes' walk from most of Tromso's attractions, and 50 metres from the airport bus stop (Flybussen). Eating out is extremely expensive to the Sterling traveller, so having a kitchen was ideal for self-catering - supermarkets just around the corner. The apartment was warm, very clean and comfortable - and reasonably priced. In addition, the reception desk staff were very helpful, friendly and welcoming. There is no restaurant, but the hotel has a deal with a bar/restaurant opposite where you can enjoy a substantial buffet breakfast for 8 NOK - this is a great deal! If you need to stay in Tromso, City Living Hotel is well worth it.

  • Stayed January 2014, travelled as a couple
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Value
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Location
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Rooms
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Service
Helpful?
Thank Mike C
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Madelene S, Manager at City Living Hotel & Apartments, responded to this review, 26 January 2014
Dear guest from England, UK. Thank you very much for your kind review and feedback. We are very happy that you enjoyed your stay here at City Living. Welcome back if returning to Norway and Tromsø! :-) Best regards, City Living Hotel Tromsø
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Otterlo, The Netherlands
Level Contributor
114 reviews
90 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 93 helpful votes
5 of 5 bubbles Reviewed 11 January 2014

One of the hotels with best value in Tromso! Convenient location (although Tromso is not that big), spotless, comfy and modern bedroom/ bathroom/ kitchenette facilities. Room heater is powerful so it's always warm enough in the room. Very pleased with the room with a good view of the fjord!

Receptionists were extremely efficient, helpful and friendly, and can be contacted easily via the room phone.

  • Stayed December 2013, travelled with friends
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Value
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Location
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Rooms
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Service
Helpful?
Thank wallflower69
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Madelene S, Manager at City Living Hotel & Apartments, responded to this review, 26 January 2014
Dear guest from the Netherlands. Thank you so much for your kind feedback and informative review! We are very happy that you enjoyed your stay, we hope you will return to Tromsø and City Living :-) Best regards, City Living Hotel Tromsø
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
London, United Kingdom
Level Contributor
8 reviews
3 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 6 helpful votes
4 of 5 bubbles Reviewed 5 January 2014

We booked this apartment in Tromso for a winter break to seek the northern lights.

Tromso is generally quite an expensive destination (although definitely worth the visit), so being able to cook meals in the apartment helped save some money compared to eating out all the time. There are several supermarkets nearby. Rimi is the closest, and Eurospar is also very close by; which seemed the biggest of those nearby. There's a little fishmongers in the centre too. The kitchen in the apartment had all the basics needed to cook full meals in the evening.

The apartment was fairly compact, but well laid out to make the most of the space. As such, there was plenty enough room for the two of us.

We had no cause to contact the staff during our stay, but they were helpful at check in and check out.

The location is great, it's very close to the airport bus stop and conveniently located near the centre of Tromso; most city centre restaurants and attractions were within walking distance. The location was generally fairly quiet at night.

A general observation in Tromso is that the weather seems to be very changeable; for those visiting to seek the northern lights it seemed best to stay flexible and make bookings for excursions at fairly short notice once it was reasonable clear what the weather was doing.

  • Stayed December 2013, travelled as a couple
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Value
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Location
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Sleep Quality
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Rooms
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Cleanliness
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Service
Helpful?
3 Thank JohnSpanton
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Madelene S, Manager at City Living Hotel & Apartments, responded to this review, 9 January 2014
Dear guests from London. Thank you very much for kind and informative feedback! We are very happy that you enjoyed staying at City Living when visiting Tromsø :-) Welcome back! Best regards, City Living Hotel Tromsø
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Aix-les-Bains, France
Level Contributor
61 reviews
20 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 42 helpful votes
5 of 5 bubbles Reviewed 3 January 2014

Location in the heart of town makes it easy to walk.
The kitchen meant that we could have our own breakfast, in our own time. It was actually very well equipped!
The bathroom was small, clean and practical.
The beds were firm but comfortable.
As we were staying for a longer period, the larger room gave us space to breath.
The office staff were friendly and helpful.

Room Tip: We stayed looking inwards, away from the road. Our room was quiet but stay away from the stairs (th...
See more room tips
  • Stayed December 2013, travelled with family
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Value
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Location
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Rooms
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Service
Helpful?
1 Thank MellieMelbourne
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Madelene S, Manager at City Living Hotel & Apartments, responded to this review, 9 January 2014
Dear guests from France. Thank you very much for kind review and feedback, we are very happy that you enjoyed staying with us at City Living Hotel. Welcome back :-) Best regards, City Living Hotel Tromsø
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
brighton
Level Contributor
8 reviews
7 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 6 helpful votes
5 of 5 bubbles Reviewed 30 December 2013

I never usually write reviews whilst still on holiday but the hotel staff have been so unbelievably helpful with arranging tours and just about everything you need to know. She goes beyond the call of duty. Well done Frida.

  • Stayed December 2013, travelled with family
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Value
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Location
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Sleep Quality
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Rooms
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Service
Helpful?
Thank rossBrightonBrighton
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Madelene S, Manager at City Living Hotel & Apartments, responded to this review, 9 January 2014
Dear guest from Brighton. Thank you so very much for the kind review and feedback on our dear Frida. She is a star to us and we are very happy you were satisfied with the service and assistance. Welcome back if returning to Tromsø :-) Best regards, City Living Hotel Tromsø
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Hotels you might also like...
Travellers also viewed these Tromso hotels
0.1 mi away
Comfort Hotel Xpress Tromso
0.2 mi away
Clarion Collection Hotel With
0.1 mi away
Clarion Hotel The Edge
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
0.2 mi away
Scandic Ishavshotel
Scandic Ishavshotel
#4 of 18 in Tromso
4.0 of 5 bubbles 700 reviews
0.1 mi away
Viking Hotell Tromso
Viking Hotell Tromso
#14 of 18 in Tromso
4.0 of 5 bubbles 433 reviews
0.2 mi away
Radisson Blu Hotel, Tromso
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to City Living Hotel & Apartments? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about City Living Hotel & Apartments

Property: City Living Hotel & Apartments
Address: Groennegata 48, Tromso 9008, Norway
Phone Number:
Region: Norway > Northern Norway > Troms > Tromso
Amenities:
Free High Speed Internet ( WiFi ) Kitchenette Suites Wheelchair access
Hotel Style:
Ranked #5 of 18 Hotels in Tromso
Price Range (Based on Average Rates): £
Hotel Class:3 star — City Living Hotel & Apartments 3*
Number of rooms: 46
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
Right in the heart of Tromsø. City Living is located in Grønnegata approximately 80 m from Strandtorget. Facilities include 46 high standard rooms and apartments, ranging in size from 14.5 sqm to 52 sqm. All rooms have en suite bathrooms, kitchen facilities, fridge, TV and free internet access. The larger rooms also have dishwashers. There is a guest laundry with a washing machine and clothes dryer. Service: Through limited service, we are able to offer low room rates. Opening hours for reception are 8am-8 pm Monday to Friday. Breakfast is not included. All rooms having cooking facilities. Breakfast may be purchased from our collaboration partner. ... more   less 
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Booking.com so you can book your City Living Hotel & Apartments reservations with confidence. We help millions of travellers each month to find the perfect hotel for both holiday and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing