We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Best choice”
Review of Enter City Hotel

Best prices for -
Check In dd/mm/yyyy Check Out dd/mm/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 5 more sites!
Enter City Hotel
Ranked #6 of 18 Hotels in Tromso
Certificate of Excellence
Reviewed 25 June 2014

hotel staff very friendly, helpful and competent ; excellent appartments ; ideal location in center of city ( most sights in walking distance ); also very useful for trips to surrounding landscapes;
I can fully recommend City Living Hotel Tromsö !

  • Stayed: June 2014, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank Ortwin H
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Madelene S, Manager at Enter City Hotel, responded to this reviewResponded 2 July 2014

Dear traveller from Austria. Thank you for the kind feedback! We are happy you liked it here. Welcome back if returning to Tromsø :-) Best regards, City Living Hotel Tromsø

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Write a Review
Reviews (574)
Traveller rating
Traveller type
Time of year
Language
  • More languages

197 - 203 of 574 reviews

Reviewed 25 June 2014 via mobile

Stayed 4 nights in February for northern lights chasing holiday! Much cheaper than a hotel- this is basically a rented apartment - decorated fairly basically but all very clean and warm. Kitchen more than adequate and due to the high prices in Norway we ate in all the time and saved hundreds of pounds. Very quiet- although a busy time of year- we did not hear or see other guests. We had a street view, on 2nd floor and could see the mountains.
Pavements in tromso can be very slippery - they don't seem to clear them often or grit !
Reception helpful- it is in a separate building to the apartment next door- very friendly when I emailed ahead. They eve. let us use their front desk pc to print our boarding tickets to come home!
We were very lucky in our search for the lights- we saw them for 5 hours solid on our night chasing trip and the best of the winter so far!

Stayed: February 2014, travelled as a couple
1  Thank cazdax
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Madelene S, Manager at Enter City Hotel, responded to this reviewResponded 2 July 2014

Dear guest. Thank you for the long and informative feedback! We are very happy to hear that you enjoyed your stay, and at least that you saw the northern lights. Wishing you a great summer, and welcome back if returning to Tromsø :-) Best regards, City Living Hotel Tromsø

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 23 June 2014

Now, this seemed like to be a budget hotel, it turned out to be the best choice ever! Perfect location, massive spaces in the apartment, clean- spotless clean - modern, you've got a kitchenette, very effective heating - not to mention the floor heating :-) What else... car rental: just behind the hotel, airport bus stop 2 minutes away. Underground car park (and parking in Tromso can be a hassle), and last but not forgotten: the most friendly and helpful front office team ever! Did I forget? This was the best offer in city that time...

  • Stayed: October 2013, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank HoZso
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Madelene S, Manager at Enter City Hotel, responded to this reviewResponded 24 June 2014

Dear traveller from Coventry. Thank you for such great feedback on your stay! We are very happy to read that you were positively surprised of the concept and that you got everything you needed! We hope you will return someday to Tromsø and City Living Hotel - thank you again! Best regards, City Living Tromsø

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 22 June 2014

This hotel is fantastic!!!! Robert at the front desk was especially helpful and friendly. Loved the sleek, modern rooms--and they offer PLENTY of space! Very clean and in a fantastic location--right in the downtown area. I also loved that the entrance to the elevator smelled like a shoe store (in a really good way, I promise..smelled like leather or something delicious?) and that the bathroom soap smelled like men's cologne (also in a good way). Probably weird to point those things out, but yummm. Can't recommend this hotel highly enough. I'll miss you, Tromso!

Room Tip: ^Accidentally clicked a rating for 'Swimming pool' and 'Restaurant', but the hotel d...
See more room tips
  • Stayed: June 2014, travelled solo
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank Erin T
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Madelene S, Manager at Enter City Hotel, responded to this reviewResponded 24 June 2014

Dear guest from Boston. Thank you so much for great feedback - it made us very happy to read that you have had a good stay! Robert says hello and welcome back :-) Best regards, City Living Hotel Tromsø

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 21 June 2014

City Living's location was central to centre of town and transport. Our apartment was spacious, clean and had everything we needed. Heating was good, we needed that even in June! Kitchen was ideal for cooking in, seeing that prices to eat out are outrageous - double that compared to Germany, France etc. Front desk staff were very friendly and helpful.

Room Tip: Our room was over top of street corner. It gave a nice view of mountains.
See more room tips
  • Stayed: June 2014, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank KymJen
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Madelene S, Manager at Enter City Hotel, responded to this reviewResponded 24 June 2014

Dear traveller from Australia. Thank you so much for kind and informative feedback :-) We really appreciate that you share your experience on the web - thank you. Have a great summer and welcome back if returning to Tromsø and City Living by a later occasion! Best regards, City Living Hotel Tromsø

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 20 June 2014

City Living hotel was our first stop on a tour of Norway and although one of the cheapest places we had booked it was also the best. We were lucky to be upgraded to an apartment as the hotel was quiet and having that extra space with the kitchen and living room really made a difference. Great location, free wifi, very clean, friendly reception staff and less than a minute walk from the Flybussen (airport bus) stop.

Stayed: May 2014, travelled as a couple
Thank Mr J
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Madelene S, Manager at Enter City Hotel, responded to this reviewResponded 24 June 2014

Dear traveller from London. Thank you so much for kind and informative feedback - we appreciate hearing you opinion!! Wishing you a great summer and hoping you will return to Tromsø and City Living :-) Best regards, City Living Hotel Tromsø

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 18 June 2014

If you're looking for a central place to stay, with cooking facilities, then this is the place. Friendly and helpful front desk staff.
However, space was really tight for the three of us in the apartment. There was hardly any room to put our large bags. The bed in the bedroom took up the entire space. And more hangers please. But value for money, esp. since you can use the washer/dryer in the basement.
My advice: If you're planning to book a room here, try to ask for a higher floor. We were on the 2nd floor and our room faced the traffic junction. Anyone on the street looking up could see straight into our room -- no privacy.

  • Stayed: June 2014, travelled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank Norhaida A
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Madelene S, Manager at Enter City Hotel, responded to this reviewResponded 24 June 2014

Dear guest from Singapore. Thank you for your kind and informative feedback! We are sorry that you were given one of our smallest apartments. We do our best to give the largest apartments to guests travelling three or more people together, in this case we were fully booked. We are grateful for your opinion and hope you will return to us, if concidering Tromsø worth a second visit ;-) Best regards, City Living Tromsø

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Hotels you might also like...
Travellers also viewed these Tromso hotels
0.2 mi away
Scandic Ishavshotel
Scandic Ishavshotel
#2 of 18 in Tromso
342 reviews
0.2 mi away
Clarion Collection Hotel With
0.1 mi away
Comfort Hotel Xpress Tromso
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
0.1 mi away
Enter Viking Hotel
Enter Viking Hotel
#13 of 18 in Tromso
472 reviews
0 mi away
Scandic Grand Tromso
Scandic Grand Tromso
#8 of 18 in Tromso
529 reviews
0.2 mi away
Radisson Blu Hotel, Tromso
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to Enter City Hotel? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Enter City Hotel

Address: Groennegata 48, Tromso 9008, Norway
Phone Number:
Region: Norway > Northern Norway > Troms > Tromso
Amenities:
Free High Speed Internet ( WiFi ) Kitchenette Suites Wheelchair access
Hotel Style:
Ranked #6 of 18 Hotels in Tromso
Price Range: £77 - £159 (Based on Average Rates for a Standard Room)
Hotel Class:3 star — Enter City Hotel 3*
Number of rooms: 46
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
Right in the heart of Tromsø. Enter City Hotel is located in Grønnegata approximately 80 m from Strandtorget. Facilities include 46 high standard rooms and apartments, ranging in size from 14.5 sqm to 52 sqm. All rooms have en suite bathrooms, kitchen facilities, fridge, TV and free internet access. The larger rooms also have dishwashers. There is a guest laundry with a washing machine and clothes dryer. Service: Through limited service, we are able to offer low room rates. Opening hours for reception are 8am-8 pm Monday to Friday. Breakfast is not included. All rooms having cooking facilities. Breakfast may be purchased from our collaboration partner. ... more   less 
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Hotels.com, Expedia, Booking.com, Odigeo, TripOnline SA, Ebookers, Evoline ltd and 5viajes2012 S.L. so you can book your Enter City Hotel reservations with confidence. We help millions of travellers each month to find the perfect hotel for both holiday and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing