We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Great place to set up camp”

Best prices for -
Check In dd/mm/yyyy Check Out dd/mm/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 5 more sites!
City Living Hotel & Apartments
Ranked #6 of 18 Hotels in Tromso
Certificate of Excellence
Reviewed 5 August 2014

No fuss, easy-in, easy-out place to stay in Tromso.
We had been debating staying at a hotel down by the water or this apartment-style accommodation and were so glad we chose City Living. Clean, well-appointed apartment. Wi-fi worked fine for us. The front desk was super helpful and helped us book a tour after doing the legwork and really trying to give us the best experience possible.
There's 3 different grocery stores near the hotel, so stocking the fridge and cooking our meals was a cinch. And also helped us stay on budget. And also was handy because we were so messed up with jet lag and the winter darkness. And also because many places were closed for winter holidays or had very limited hours. Bottom line: yay for the kitchen!
The hotel is just a short walk around the corner and a block away from where the airport bus drops off. Tromso is so compact that things aren't that really that far away on foot, but fyi, the location is more up the sloping hill the town sits on v. down by the water, if that matters to you. The hotel was full and even with that, it was quiet. We were in an inner room v. street side, so perhaps that makes the difference?
Would stay here again were we to do the coastal cruise. Which we want to now do!

Stayed: December 2013, travelled as a couple
Thank KayClifton
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Madelene S, Manager at City Living Hotel & Apartments, responded to this reviewResponded 25 August 2014

Dear guest from San Diego. Thank you very much for kind and informative feedback - we appreciate that! Welcome back :-) Best regards, City Living Hotel Tromsø

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Write a Review
Reviews (560)
There are newer reviews for City Living Hotel & Apartments
See the most recent reviews
Traveller rating
Traveller type
Time of year
Language
  • More languages

175 - 181 of 560 reviews

Reviewed 2 August 2014

It's hard to give an overall rating. We had a great corner fourth floor apartment. A bedroom and a living room with kitchen. Immaculately clean. Price was right The furniture and bed very comfortable. We didn't cook but the kitchen was quite adequately outfitted for those who want to do so. The bathroom was up to date, clean and not cramped. The people on the front desk were particularly nice and helpful. All of that would lead to a 5+ rating. The downside was the noise from the street. We were in Tromso during a heat wave. We had to leave the windows open at night. The noise was pretty constant; thus, my 4 rating. The moral of the story: if you don't have to leave the windows open or you are comfortable with ear plugs as I am (it was my wife whom the noise disturbed), City Living is an excellent choice. If not, you may want to give it a second thought...but then you will also have to stay outside the city center which was very convenient. A final note-when I say heat wave, I mean the temp was one of the highest ever recorded in Tromso so I suppose it is unlikely you would experience the same.

  • Stayed: July 2014, travelled as a couple
    • Location
    • Rooms
    • Service
Thank Groveland
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Madelene S, Manager at City Living Hotel & Apartments, responded to this reviewResponded 4 August 2014

Dear guests from Maryland. Thank you so much for sharing your experience, we are happy to read that you had a good stay, and we are glad to receive your feedback about the minuses. If we shall have another heat wave like we did this summer, we will definately offer fans for all rooms, so the windows can be closed at night. Thank you again and welcome back! Best, City Living Hotel Tromsø

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 26 July 2014

All was fine, Kitchen could be better equipped. There should be a coffee maker and a toaster as standard inclusions in every room.
Very helpful and pleasant staff.
Free laundry facilities were very welcome.

Room Tip: Get an inside room or at least not on the main street
  • Stayed: July 2014, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Sleep Quality
    • Service
1  Thank FoodieEurope
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Madelene S, Manager at City Living Hotel & Apartments, responded to this reviewResponded 4 August 2014

Dear traveller. Thank you for kind feedback! We have got toasters and coffee machines for rooms to borrow, we are sorry you did not get this info. We hope you will return someday! Welcome back :-) Best regards, City Living Hotel Tromsø

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 25 July 2014 via mobile

We enjoyed staying in this hotel for 3 nights in July 2014 catching the last of the constant sun days of this summer. The place is affordable and the room is nice.

Affordable but they provide no breakfast or clean and tidy your room so not optimal. Otherwise, we were arriving late so the receptionist stayed and waited for us 90 minutes beyond the reception 22h00 closing time.

Stayed: July 2014
Thank Tammam A
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Madelene S, Manager at City Living Hotel & Apartments, responded to this reviewResponded 4 August 2014

Dear traveller. Thank you for your feedback, we appreciate that! City Living offers rooms with low prices on behalf of reduced service, this means that the reception is closed at night and the rooms are cleaned once a week if staying 7 days or more. Towels etc is free of charge and guest can get these whenever they want. We hope you will return to City Living and Tromsø by later occasion :) Best regards, City Living Tromsø

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 24 July 2014

Had pleasent and very comfortable stay at city living.
Co-operative staff.
Our stay was during FIFA world cup
They had asked to predict for winning teams with exact no.s of goal scores.
We got refund of the said amount ,after coming back from vacation,as my son's prediction was perfect!!

  • Stayed: July 2014, travelled with family
    • Value
    • Sleep Quality
    • Service
Thank Nehamehta299
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Madelene S, Manager at City Living Hotel & Apartments, responded to this reviewResponded 4 August 2014

Dear guest from India. Thank you so much for positive feedback! We are very happy to read that you enjoyed your stay. Welcome back :-) Best regards, City Living

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 13 July 2014

Helpful staff, great room and amenities, service, and location. Supermarket one block away.

But ridiculously slow WiFi. Complete all critical time-sensitive online tasks before arriving. I was also unable to darken room in July which affected my sleep cycle. I was told better blackout blinds/drapes are coming. Otherwise, except for the WiFi and daylight in the room all 'night' long, I really like this hotel.

Room Tip: Room 509 was excellent, except for my reservations noted above.
  • Stayed: July 2014, travelled solo
    • Location
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
1  Thank James S
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Madelene S, Manager at City Living Hotel & Apartments, responded to this reviewResponded 4 August 2014

Dear traveller. Thank you for informative feedback, we appreciate your opinion. We have not experienced slow wifi before so we are very sorry you had to experience this during your stay. We will make sure this does not happen again, the wifi shall be stabile and fast. Welcome back if returning to Tromsø! Best regards, City Living

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 9 July 2014

Value for money:
- exellent location,
- good service and cleanliness,
- free WI-FI in all area,
- complete set of kitchen implements,
- nice rooms,
- friendly staff.
I would like to recommend this hotel for Tripadvisor visitors.

  • Stayed: June 2014, travelled with family
    • Value
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank SGG_Russia
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Madelene S, Manager at City Living Hotel & Apartments, responded to this reviewResponded 4 August 2014

Dear traveller from Russia. Thank you very much for positive feedback - we appreciate that! Best regards, City Living Hotel Tromsø

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Hotels you might also like...
Travellers also viewed these Tromso hotels
0.1 mi away
Comfort Hotel Xpress Tromso
0.2 mi away
Clarion Collection Hotel With
0.2 mi away
Scandic Ishavshotel
Scandic Ishavshotel
#3 of 18 in Tromso
295 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
0.1 mi away
Viking Hotell Tromso
Viking Hotell Tromso
#12 of 18 in Tromso
462 reviews
0.2 mi away
Radisson Blu Hotel, Tromso
0.1 mi away
Clarion Hotel The Edge
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to City Living Hotel & Apartments? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about City Living Hotel & Apartments

Address: Groennegata 48, Tromso 9008, Norway
Phone Number:
Region: Norway > Northern Norway > Troms > Tromso
Amenities:
Free High Speed Internet ( WiFi ) Kitchenette Suites Wheelchair access
Hotel Style:
Ranked #6 of 18 Hotels in Tromso
Price Range: £92 - £158 (Based on Average Rates for a Standard Room)
Hotel Class:3 star — City Living Hotel & Apartments 3*
Number of rooms: 46
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
Right in the heart of Tromsø. City Living is located in Grønnegata approximately 80 m from Strandtorget. Facilities include 46 high standard rooms and apartments, ranging in size from 14.5 sqm to 52 sqm. All rooms have en suite bathrooms, kitchen facilities, fridge, TV and free internet access. The larger rooms also have dishwashers. There is a guest laundry with a washing machine and clothes dryer. Service: Through limited service, we are able to offer low room rates. Opening hours for reception are 8am-8 pm Monday to Friday. Breakfast is not included. All rooms having cooking facilities. Breakfast may be purchased from our collaboration partner. ... more   less 
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Expedia, Hotels.com, Agoda, TripOnline SA, Evoline ltd and 5viajes2012 S.L. so you can book your City Living Hotel & Apartments reservations with confidence. We help millions of travellers each month to find the perfect hotel for both holiday and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing