We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Wonderful”
Review of Fiskekompaniet

Fiskekompaniet
Ranked #8 of 114 Restaurants in Tromso
Certificate of Excellence
Price range: US$26 - US$83
Cuisines: Seafood, Norwegian
Dining options: After-hours, Reservations
Restaurant details
Dining options: After-hours, Reservations
Peterborough, United Kingdom
1 review
“Wonderful”
Reviewed 28 November 2013

Treated ourself and it wasn't cheap, but it was worth it. We went with the chef's recommendation, and the soup was fantastic, as was the halibut and ox-cheeks main course (pictured). The staff were a young and enthusiastic group, all with very good English. Overall a thoroughly enjoyable night.

  • Visited November 2013
    • Value
    • Atmosphere
    • Service
    • Food
Helpful?
Thank JPBaker2013
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Write a Review

871 reviews from our community

Visitor rating
    453
    263
    98
    29
    28
Rating summary
    Food
    Service
    Value
    Atmosphere
Date | Rating
  • Chinese (Traditional) first
  • Chinese (Simplified) first
  • Danish first
  • Dutch first
  • English first
  • Finnish first
  • French first
  • German first
  • Italian first
  • Japanese first
  • Korean first
  • Norwegian first
  • Polish first
  • Portuguese first
  • Russian first
  • Spanish first
  • Swedish first
  • Turkish first
  • Any
English first
Melbourne
Level 4 Contributor
23 reviews
10 restaurant reviews
common_n_restaurant_reviews_1bd8 10 helpful votes
“Excellent. ”
Reviewed 25 November 2013 via mobile

Worthy of a Michelin star. Excellent food, service, atmosphere and views.
The chefs special is great value. Ask for a table by the window.

Helpful?
Thank MSLMPG
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Jerusalem, Israel
Level 4 Contributor
28 reviews
15 restaurant reviews
common_n_restaurant_reviews_1bd8 12 helpful votes
“Excellent”
Reviewed 23 October 2013

We went to the restaurant without a reservation. They can be a bit snobbish (very snobbish) about such visits - but this time the received us very warmly and gave us the best seat in the house! We had a wonderful table overlooking the harbor. The meal was perfect start to finish - from the starter of scallops, through the incredible halibut with mussels and the snickers desserts. It was incredible and we are seriously considering going there again next week to do it all over! Recommended! Go, go, go!

  • Visited October 2013
    • Value
    • Atmosphere
    • Service
    • Food
Helpful?
Thank yael_levin
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
London, United Kingdom
Level 3 Contributor
7 reviews
3 restaurant reviews
common_n_restaurant_reviews_1bd8 1 helpful vote
“Smart restaurant”
Reviewed 23 October 2013

Nicely presented food, predominantly seafood. Not cheap, but what is in Norway? Led by the fresh ingredients rather than the skill of the chef. We shared a starter and pudding, and delicious halibut for a main course.

Visited October 2013
Helpful?
Thank Chris R
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
SF
Level 3 Contributor
22 reviews
3 restaurant reviews
common_n_restaurant_reviews_1bd8 20 helpful votes
“Not bad but nothing special”
Reviewed 3 October 2013

The glowing reviews made me try this. Maybe I just ordered the wrong things. I order the chef 3 course special. Course #1 was crab cakes with some kind of beet like vegetable. Course #2 was monkfish with ????? artichokes (looked like a root to me) and red potatoes in a balsamic and olive oil dressing. Both were okay but for me not something I would order again. Dessert was creme brulee which was just creme brulee like any creme brulee.

There's nothing wrong with any of it except (a) the expectations set by the reviews here and (b) it being 730kr ($120). I don't mind expensive meals they just need to live up to the price.

  • Visited October 2013
    • Value
    • Atmosphere
    • Service
    • Food
Helpful?
Thank greggman
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC

Travellers who viewed Fiskekompaniet also viewed

 

Been to Fiskekompaniet? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Owners: What's your side of the story?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing