We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Good all round hotel in a good central location”
Review of Thon Hotel Tromso

Best prices for -
Check In dd/mm/yyyy Check Out dd/mm/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 9 more sites!
Thon Hotel Tromso
Ranked #10 of 18 Hotels in Tromso
Reviewed 20 February 2013

Second visit to the Thon and please to say the standards are being kept up from my last visit. Location is good, no more than 10 minutes walk from the main attractions in the town centre. Staff are friendly and helpful. Had to change my room and this was done with no fuss. The breakfasts are superb if a little busy at peak times. Would stay here again in future.

Room Tip: Upgrade if you can afford it.
See more room tips
  • Stayed: February 2013, travelled solo
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank Markymoke
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
AidSchei, General Manager at Thon Hotel Tromso, responded to this reviewResponded 21 February 2013

Dear Guest, Thank you for your positive review. We are pleased to hear that you enjoyed so many aspects of your stay with us. Your comments have been shared with everyone here and we hope you will find time to return to us in the near future.

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Write a ReviewReviews (491)
Traveller rating
Traveller type
Time of year
Language
  • More languages

199 - 205 of 491 reviews

Reviewed 17 February 2013

Not to be confused with Thon hotel Polar- which is just opposite. That might be the "budget" one? But we booked through the visitnorway website and they worked out to be the same price.
Stayed here end of January for 2 nights. Would have happily stayed for more!
Everything was impressive:
- The rooms are well appointed, plenty of space and tastefully decorated
- Bathroom a good size, very clean and new looking
- Breakfast spread was quite big, food was very good and the staff helpful
- Receptionists were always happy to help, also free coffee at the entrance, perfect for the weather
- Location was pretty central, though Tromso city centre is very small- you can walk from one end to the other in like 30 mins

Overall a lovely place to stay at- highly recommended!

  • Stayed: January 2013, travelled with friends
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank genhoho
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
AidSchei, General Manager at Thon Hotel Tromso, responded to this reviewResponded 21 February 2013

Dear Guest, Thank you for your positive review. We are pleased to hear that you enjoyed so many aspects of your stay with us. Your comments have been shared with everyone here and we hope you will find time to return to us in the near future.

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 16 February 2013 via mobile

We stayed here for 3 nights as part of the Discover the world Tromso / Abisko / Icehotel package. The Thon Hotel is ideally situated to explore Tromso and only a short coach trip from the airport.
The hotel is clean, the rooms although a little on the smaller size are still adequate. We were on a pre wedding trip (got married at the Icehotel) so were booked in under different surnames and were initially given twin beds. After going back to reception and politely asking for a room with a double bed the staff were happy to oblige. The room was clean, bed was comfortable and we particularly liked the free hot drinks and wi-fi access in the seating area by reception.
The breakfast buffet was great, plenty of choice and even on the day we had to get up early to leave for Abisko they allowed us to have some cereal.
If you're like us and see a hotel room as a base to sleep and shower whilst exploring the local area then the Thon hotel is perfect for that, if you're looking for 5 star luxury with massive hotel suites then look elsewhere - you get what you pay for!
A walk over the bridge to see the Artic Cathedral all lit up at dark is a must. We also enjoyed a drink in the oldest pub in Tromso, chatting to locals. Our best day was when we went Reindeer sledding in an artic blizzard - so much fun and our Sami guide was very interesting.
We ate in various restaurants in Tromso - all were very good, food and drink is expensive compared to the UK but you just have to budget for it - we paid £11 for a glass of house wine!! Our last night in Tromso we ate at the Norges Rafisklag restaurant down on the harbour, there were 4 of us, we had a 3 course meal plus wine / beer and it was about £60 a head - food was excellent and so was the view!
We hope to return to Tromso in the future and wouldn't hesitate to stay at the Thon hotel again.

  • Stayed: January 2013
    • Value
    • Location
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank RacheyB
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
AidSchei, General Manager at Thon Hotel Tromso, responded to this reviewResponded 18 February 2013

Thank You for Your positive feedback.
We are pleased to hear that You enjoyed so many aspects of Your stay, and hope
You will return to us in the future.

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 14 February 2013

On the basis of many positive reviews I booked Thon Polar Hotel for a four night stay in Tromso.When we arrived we had to move across the road to the Thon Hotel as there had been a problem with a water leak affecting the room we had booked. This hotel is designated a "City" hotel , a grade above the Thon Polar which is designated as a"Budget" hotel.
The check in person was very friendly(we found during our stay that everyone we met was very friendly(.motorists stopped in city streets to allow us to cross!!!)and professional.I dont know if all the rooms in this hotel are as small as ours was but it certainly was the smallest room I have ever stayed in.Having said that it was spotless and the bathroom was more than big enough for the two of us.In fact the bathroom was nearly as big as the sleeping area.The bed was very comfortable.It was not possible for the two of us to pass each other in the area around the bed. It brought back memories of stays in mobile homes!!
Over all we were very happy with the hotel. As we did not spend a lot of time in the room the size was an inconvenience rather than a major problem.The breakfast was a brilliant hot and cold buffet with a great variety of food.The staff were very helpful and pleasant.
We did find everything in Norway very expensive.Eating and drinking out particularly so.The Egon restaurant across the road from the hotel was comparatively inexpensive and the food there is very good.Compared to other restaurants in Tromso anyway.
If you stay at the Polar as part of a search for the Northern Lights ask for directions to the lake above the town. It it is about 25 mins walk.On the clear night we went up there and got a great show and it cost us nothing but a nice walk.
If you want a hotel in a great location and can live with limited space this is a good choice.

Room Tip: Our room was beside lift.No noise but could this explain the size of our room?Check when booking.
See more room tips
  • Stayed: February 2013, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank conirish
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
AidSchei, General Manager at Thon Hotel Tromso, responded to this reviewResponded 18 February 2013

Thank you for your feedback. We are pleased to hear that You enjoyed so many aspects of Your stay in Tromsø
We are sorry to hear that we were unable to meet Your expectations at our hotel.

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 12 February 2013

I did have concerns about this hotel as many reviewers comment on the size of the rooms but to my delight this was not an issue at all. It was by no means huge but was certainly adequate for our needs with an enormous bathroom/wetroom. The room had the most comfortable bed, bedding and pillows ever. There was a desk, phone, fridge, hairdryer, soap over the washbasin and in the shower but no further toiletries.

Breakfast was extensive and I have to say a huge thank you to the Chef as he was most helpful with my requests.

All the staff at this hotel are fabulous and could not be more pleasant or helpful. The lady who looked after our room did so with a smile on her face and was so lovely and she kept the room immaculate. Infact the whole hotel is pristine.

The hotel is no more than 10 minutes from the airport right in the town centre. Free parking from 1700 - 0800 in the next street along, alternatively you can park in the tunnel (a real car park!) which is NOK 130 for 24 hours or part thereof.

A pleasant reception area which also comprises of a sitting area where you can get tea/coffee 24 hours a day and free internet with a printer!

I am so pleased that we chose this hotel and would recommend it 100% to anyone considering visiting Tromso.

  • Stayed: February 2013, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank Worldglobetrotters
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
AidSchei, General Manager at Thon Hotel Tromso, responded to this reviewResponded 14 February 2013

Dear Guest, Thank you for your positive review. We are pleased to hear that you enjoyed so many aspects of your stay with us. Your comments have been shared with everyone here and we hope you will find time to return to us in the near future.

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 11 February 2013 via mobile

Stayed for 4 nights in Sami week (2 of us) at a cost of around £500 and I don't think we had to walk more than 10mins to get to anything with the exception of the polar cathedral which is about 20mins away but crossing the long bridge is an attraction in its own right.

It should be mentioned that the hotel seems to be split into two halves one on each side of the road. We stayed in the “budget” half of the hotel and on the other side of the road was the “city” half of the hotel which I believe is supposed to be a bit nicer.

Our room was quite small but we didn't need any more room. The beds were soft and actually very comfortable. The bathroom was clean and had a very good shower. Only downside was using it for more than 10 mins or so tended to flood the whole bathroom.

Breakfast was served in the restaurant adjacent to the hotel and was included for hotel guests or could be paid for by non-guests. It was a continental buffet with a wide range of foods and the bread was especially nice.

In summary, comfy beds, good breakfast, very friendly and helpful staff and an extremely good location.

  • Stayed: February 2013
    • Value
    • Location
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank Themikeinator
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
AidSchei, General Manager at Thon Hotel Tromso, responded to this reviewResponded 12 February 2013

Dear Guest, Thank you for your positive review. We are pleased to hear that you enjoyed so many aspects of your stay with us. We hope you will find time to return to us in the near future.

To explain a bit: Thon Hotels has two hotels in Tromso. Thon Hotel Polar is in Budget-Concept and Thon Hotel Tromsø is in the City Concept. Hope that explains our two hotels.
Your comment that you have provided for Thon Hotel Tromsø on TripAdvisor apply for Thon Hotel Polar.

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 11 February 2013

We stayed 3 nights here, organised through Discover the World and I was very impressed by the quality of the hotel for the price paid. Our room was gorgeous, although a bit small. The bed was the most comfortable I have ever slept in: better than my one at home! Breakfast was very nice with a huge choice. Tromso is quite small and so most hotels are well within walking distance of all the major sights. The staff were very helpful, letting us know details of the bus to the airport and helping us decide where to eat whilst out. I can't imagine any reason not to stay here, it was certainly perfect for us.

  • Stayed: January 2013, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank KClode
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
AidSchei, General Manager at Thon Hotel Tromso, responded to this reviewResponded 12 February 2013

Thank you for you feedback and high rating! We appreciate you have taken the time to let us know how your stay at Thon Hotel Tromsø was, and it is great to hear you had a nice time. We hope you will find time to return to us in the near future.

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Hotels you might also like...
Travellers also viewed these Tromso hotels
0.2 mi away
Scandic Ishavshotel
Scandic Ishavshotel
#2 of 18 in Tromso
403 reviews
0.2 mi away
Clarion Collection Hotel With
0 mi away
Thon Hotel Polar
Thon Hotel Polar
#12 of 18 in Tromso
163 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
0.2 mi away
Radisson Blu Hotel, Tromso
0 mi away
Scandic Grand Tromso
Scandic Grand Tromso
#6 of 18 in Tromso
571 reviews
0.1 mi away
Comfort Hotel Xpress Tromso
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to Thon Hotel Tromso? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Thon Hotel Tromso

Address: Groennegata 50, Tromso 9008, Norway
Region: Norway > Northern Norway > Troms > Tromso
Amenities:
Free Breakfast Free High Speed Internet ( WiFi )
Hotel Style:
Ranked #10 of 18 Hotels in Tromso
Price Range: £86 - £201 (Based on Average Rates for a Standard Room)
Hotel Class:3 star — Thon Hotel Tromso 3*
Number of rooms: 152
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Expedia, Booking.com, Hotels.com, TripOnline SA, Odigeo, Ctrip TA, Ebookers, HotelsClick, Evoline ltd, getaroom.com, HotelQuickly, 5viajes2012 S.L. and Cancelon so you can book your Thon Hotel Tromso reservations with confidence. We help millions of travellers each month to find the perfect hotel for both holiday and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing