We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Annoyed”
Review of Thon Hotel Tromso

Best prices for -
Check In dd/mm/yyyy Check Out dd/mm/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 10 more sites!
Thon Hotel Tromso
Ranked #7 of 18 Hotels in Tromso
London, United Kingdom
Level 6 Contributor
209 reviews
70 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 89 helpful votes
“Annoyed”
Reviewed 3 March 2014

We arrived at this hotel around 1030pm, we had to wait a little while to check in as there was only one person at the front desk and he seemed to be a trainee.

In the reception area there is a good coffee machine but no milk, strange. The wiiffi is really strong and we didn’t have a problem with it.

Once, we check in we made our way to our rooms which were on the 5th floor. I’d booked 1 x double and 1 x twin (there was four of us). Well, we ended up with 2 x twin rooms. On arrival to our twin room, which was meant to be a double, the roof was leaking and it wasn’t a little leak! It was a big leak over the middle of a bed. We quickly went back down to reception to sort it out, then had a long wait again as someone was checking in. The receptionist told us there were no double rooms left for the night, which I found hard to believe and then I said I’d like some money back he said talk to my manager in the morning. Needless to say we were pissed off. On top of this, the twin room faced some sort of construction site, and as you can’t control and temperate we had to leave the window open a bit. It was so noisy. Ask for a room facing the road, it will probably be quieter.

We spoke to the manager the next morning, who changed us to a double WITHOUT any apology. Nothing. This is why I’m giving the hotel a 2 star, there are plenty of hotels to choose from in Tromso so, shop around.

The double rooms in my option are REALLY small you can barely get around one side of the bed which is situated at a strange angle. You don’t get any of those cute little toilettes you expect from this standard of a hotel either. There is mini bar in each room, but no price list so stay away!

Breakfast is really good, a great selection of all types of food… fresh bread, nuts, waffles, meats and cheeses. You can take away lunch for around £7-8. We took our own snap lock bags and made our own lunch free of charge, it was great.

  • Stayed February 2014, travelled with friends
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
1 Thank NZKirst
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
AidSchei, General Manager at Thon Hotel Tromso, responded to this review, 7 March 2014
We appreciate you have taken the time to let us know how your stay at Thon Hotel Tromsø was, but we are sorry to hear that we were unable to meet your expectations.
Your comment is taken to the General manager.
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Write a Review

445 reviews from our community

Traveller rating
    122
    215
    90
    9
    9
See reviews for
49
156
47
79
Rating summary
  • Location
  • Sleep Quality
  • Rooms
  • Service
  • Value
  • Cleanliness
Traveller tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (39)
Date | Rating
  • Chinese (Traditional) first
  • Danish first
  • Dutch first
  • English first
  • French first
  • German first
  • Italian first
  • Japanese first
  • Korean first
  • Norwegian first
  • Portuguese first
  • Russian first
  • Spanish first
  • Swedish first
  • Turkish first
  • Any
English first
London, United Kingdom
Level 5 Contributor
46 reviews
18 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 14 helpful votes
Reviewed 28 February 2014

We stayed there 4 nights. Hotel is in good location, we had a small room for 2 luggages and winter clothing but very clean, comfortable beds, free wifi, very good breakfast. Coffee/tea available at the reception. Nice staff. There is a good restaurant just opposite the hotel - Egon restaurant.

  • Stayed February 2014, travelled with friends
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank Joanna1313
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
AidSchei, General Manager at Thon Hotel Tromso, responded to this review, 3 March 2014
Dear traveler,
We thank you for your positive evaluation of your stay with us at the Thon Hotel Tromsø.
We are pleased to see you had an enjoyable stay and that you value our location, our infrastructure and especially the service which your received from our staff. We will definitely share your feedback with them.
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Dublin
Level 2 Contributor
7 reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 6 helpful votes
Reviewed 27 February 2014

A modern, very clean, practical hotel in good location and for a competitive price. We enjoyed our stay there and would definitely choose the same hotel again. Great breakfast with a wide selection of cold food and also some hot food. The rooms are small, but not tiny. The bathrooms are nice with a big shower. Very comfortable beds. Very friendly staff. 150m from the airport bus stop. 50m from a food supermarket and 3 min walk to the city centre.

  • Stayed February 2014, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank DublinEventGuide
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
AidSchei, General Manager at Thon Hotel Tromso, responded to this review, 3 March 2014
Thank you for choosing Thon Hotel Tromsø during your recent visit to Tromsø.
We are so pleased to hear that you enjoyed your stay and that our staff, service and location met your expectations.

We hope to see you back again in the near future
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Newark-on-Trent, United Kingdom
2 reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 1 helpful vote
Reviewed 24 February 2014

My sister and I visited 19th-23rd February 2014 and were very impressed with the hotel.
Hotel bargain deal was very good for Norway. The room was a good size and the bathroom was lovely. Breakfast was provided within the room price and there was an extensive range of food to choose from. The hotel is very clean and service is good. I would recommend this hotel and would definitely stay again if visiting Tromso.

  • Stayed February 2014, travelled with friends
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank Louisa M
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
AidSchei, General Manager at Thon Hotel Tromso, responded to this review, 3 March 2014
Dear traveler,
We thank you for your positive evaluation of your stay with us at the Thon Hotel Tromsø.
We are pleased to see you had an enjoyable stay.
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Amsterdam, The Netherlands
Level 6 Contributor
530 reviews
156 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 334 helpful votes
Reviewed 22 February 2014

Our standard room booked via the Internet had the lowest room rate and upon arrival realised you get what you pay for. Our room was small, more suitable for single occupancy, as it was 10 m2 with a 4 m2 bathroom (with shower) and had very little room for 2 suitcases. We needed to use the 2.5 m2 corridor space for dressing. However, the room itself was immaculately clean and quite new with a modern interior design. The hotel only offers a Standard Room, either with a double or twin bed. However, the hotel has two different room sizes and the lower rate apparently was linked to the smaller rooms; no indication on the website. Some rooms have a bath, but definitely this could not be squeezed into our size room. The double bed was very good and so was the illumination. Free coffee-tea bar next to entrance in the lobby. 5 star breakfast - excellent. It is about two blocks walk from the fly-bus stop and information services. We would definitely recommend this hotel but when booking it might be wise to take up contact with the hotel directly to ask for a large room.

Room Tip: Find out the roomsize, the hotel has two types.
See more room tips
  • Stayed January 2014, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank huys25
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
AidSchei, General Manager at Thon Hotel Tromso, responded to this review, 3 March 2014
Dear traveler,
We appreciate you took the time to evaluate your stay with us at the Thon Hotel Tromsø
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
North Yorkshire, United Kingdom
Level 6 Contributor
486 reviews
38 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 182 helpful votes
Reviewed 19 February 2014

This is a lovely hotel, conveniently close to the town centre and underground parking. Decent size room - not huge, but not too tiny either. There's a huge choice at the excellent hot 'n' cold buffet breakfast. Tip: if you look on the hotel's own website, you might find a special offer at a much reduced price when compared to booking.com. We did.

  • Stayed February 2014, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank L3K
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
AidSchei, General Manager at Thon Hotel Tromso, responded to this review, 3 March 2014
Dear traveler,
We appreciate you took the time to evaluate your stay with us at the Thon Hotel Tromsø
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Whitehaven, United Kingdom
Level 5 Contributor
82 reviews
17 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 53 helpful votes
Reviewed 19 February 2014 via mobile

My wife and I stayed at this hotel for four nights in mid-February. It was very simple to get to from the airport- we took the flybussen which dropped us off about 50m from the front door. Check-in was very friendly and there is free coffee and tea in the reception 24 hours a day (note there is none available in rooms but you simply go to reception for it). Breakfast was excellent with a huge choice of cereals, pastries, breads, cheeses, meats, smoked salmon, herring and cooked products. The room was quite small but typical of a city hotel. Free view was available in the rooms on tv and the showers were excellent.

A nice hotel with friendly staff and all,of the amenities you really need for a city break.

Stayed February 2014, travelled as a couple
Helpful?
Thank alanhomer
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
AidSchei, General Manager at Thon Hotel Tromso, responded to this review, 3 March 2014
Dear traveler,
We appreciate you took the time to evaluate your stay with us at the Thon Hotel Tromsø
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Hotels you might also like...
Travellers also viewed these Tromso hotels
0.2 mi away
Clarion Collection Hotel With
0.1 mi away
Clarion Hotel The Edge
0.2 mi away
Scandic Ishavshotel
Scandic Ishavshotel
#3 of 18 in Tromso
260 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
0.1 mi away
Comfort Hotel Xpress Tromso
0.2 mi away
Radisson Blu Hotel, Tromso
0.0 mi away
Thon Hotel Polar
Thon Hotel Polar
#14 of 18 in Tromso
172 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to Thon Hotel Tromso? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Thon Hotel Tromso

Property: Thon Hotel Tromso
Address: Groennegata 50, Tromso 9008, Norway
Region: Norway > Northern Norway > Troms > Tromso
Amenities:
Free High Speed Internet ( WiFi )
Hotel Style:
Ranked #7 of 18 Hotels in Tromso
Price Range (Based on Average Rates): ££
Hotel Class:3 star — Thon Hotel Tromso 3*
Number of rooms: 152
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Expedia, Booking.com, Hotels.com, Odigeo, Ebookers, Ctrip TA, TripOnline SA, Priceline, Agoda, 5viajes2012 S.L., Evoline ltd, HotelQuickly, getaroom.com and Cancelon so you can book your Thon Hotel Tromso reservations with confidence. We help millions of travellers each month to find the perfect hotel for both holiday and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing