We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“New and comfortable”
Review of Thon Hotel Tromso

Best prices for -
Check In dd/mm/yyyy Check Out dd/mm/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 10 more sites!
Thon Hotel Tromso
Ranked #10 of 18 Hotels in Tromso
Oslo, Norway
Level Contributor
33 reviews
10 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 5 helpful votes
“New and comfortable”
Reviewed 6 April 2014

Thon Hotel Tromsø is centrally located, the rooms are new and nicely furnished and it is clean and comfortable. Unfortunately it does not have the fabulous view that some hotels by the sea have, and the rooms are quite small. However it is fine for spending the night and exploring Tromsø by day. The bathroom and shower were quite nice with enough space, and the breakfast was good as usual for a Thon hotel.

  • Stayed April 2014, travelled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Review collected in partnership with ThonHotels.no

Helpful?
Thank Erling M
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
AidSchei, General Manager at Thon Hotel Tromso, responded to this review, 9 April 2014
Dear traveler, We appreciate you took the time to evaluate your stay with us at the Thon Hotel Tromsø
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Write a Review

435 reviews from our community

Traveller rating
    118
    210
    89
    9
    9
See reviews for
47
153
47
79
Rating summary
  • Location
  • Sleep Quality
  • Rooms
  • Service
  • Value
  • Cleanliness
Traveller tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (36)
Date | Rating
  • Chinese (Traditional) first
  • Danish first
  • Dutch first
  • English first
  • French first
  • German first
  • Italian first
  • Japanese first
  • Korean first
  • Norwegian first
  • Portuguese first
  • Russian first
  • Spanish first
  • Swedish first
  • Turkish first
  • Any
English first
Subang Jaya, Malaysia
Level Contributor
4 reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 4 helpful votes
Reviewed 6 April 2014

My wife and stayed here from 3/4/14 to 5/4/14. The hotel is very central and getting to and from the airport is a breeze.
Reception is very friendly. There is no concierge and switchboard. The receptionist handles everything.
There is no dining facility this time of year except breakfast. Breakfast starts at 7am. If you have an early flight to catch you have to ask for packed breakfast a day before. We were not told of this when we checked in even when we told the receptionist about our early flight.
No one answered the phone when we called from our room. We had to come to reception to tell them what we wanted.
Room comfortably heated but timber floor was dusty. The maids may not have cleaned the floor before we checked in.
No coffee making facilities in the room.
Very little tourist information from receptionist that checked us in. There was not even a map. Asked us to get it from another hotel.

  • Stayed April 2014, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Review collected in partnership with ThonHotels.no

Helpful?
1 Thank CKFong
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
AidSchei, General Manager at Thon Hotel Tromso, responded to this review, 9 April 2014
Dear traveler, We appreciate you took the time to evaluate your stay with us at the Thon Hotel Tromsø
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Johannesburg, South Africa
Level Contributor
14 reviews
8 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 16 helpful votes
Reviewed 3 April 2014

We received a warm welcome from the staff at the front counter both times that we checked in (once was just before midnight). The guys are also very willing to help with directions and information on what to see in town - whipping out maps and giving us easy to understand directions. It was great that they spoke English too. There is also a safe place to store luggage - a facility that we were very thankful for.
The hotel is central and easy to find - one block from the bus that goes to the airport and a 5 minute walk down to the quay (if you're going out on the ships).
We made good use of the free tea & coffee in the lobby in between our visits into town.
The breakfast offered up by Pekka (apologies if the spelling is incorrect) is legendary. You will not go hungry - no matter how fussy you are. I can't remember ever seeing a breakfast spread that good. He also spends time chatting to the guests at breakfast, so there was a nice personal touch and not the impersonal feel of a big hotel.
The room was neat and spotless. The only thing we would have wanted to have in our room, would be a kettle.
Highly recommended.

  • Stayed March 2014, travelled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank Brenda_R_Jhb
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
AidSchei, General Manager at Thon Hotel Tromso, responded to this review, 4 April 2014
Dear traveler,
We thank you for your positive evaluation of your stay with us at the Thon Hotel Tromsø.
We are pleased to see you had an enjoyable stay and that you value our location, our infrastructure and especially the service which your received from our staff.

PS! Your spelling is correct:)
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Norfolk, England
Level Contributor
83 reviews
51 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 71 helpful votes
Reviewed 28 March 2014

The Thon Hotel is very central and easy to find when arriving by Airport Bus (get off at the second stop, cross the road, go up the hill & turn right). The Hotel was very clean and the buffet breakfast very good and varied. Free tea & coffee is available in the foyer. Our room was well equipped but the bathroom was basic. This Hotel is reasonably priced for Tromso.

  • Stayed March 2014, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank P'line
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
AidSchei, General Manager at Thon Hotel Tromso, responded to this review, 1 April 2014
Thank you for your positive review. We are delighted to hear that your stay was such a success, and hope to see you back again in the near future!
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Guernsey
Level Contributor
115 reviews
29 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 45 helpful votes
Reviewed 22 March 2014

Stayed at this Hotel as a base for a 4 night stop in Tromso, very clean and basic, just what is need for a active holiday.
Breakfast is very good everything you would want and more.
The town is said to be the Paris of the North, but did not quite agree with that but then everyone has there own view.

  • Stayed March 2014, travelled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank Guern54
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
AidSchei, General Manager at Thon Hotel Tromso, responded to this review, 25 March 2014
We thank you for your positive evaluation of your stay with us at the Thon Hotel Tromsø.
We are pleased to see you had an enjoyable stay.
We hope to see you back again in the near future
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Utrecht, Utrecht, Netherlands
Level Contributor
18 reviews
5 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 10 helpful votes
Reviewed 16 March 2014

We have spend 5 nights in Tromsø in the Thon hotel. Staff is extremely friendly, happy to make you stay as comfortable as possible. Prices for hotels in Tromsø are high but this hotel is perfect match. Breakfast is buffet but with fresh and biological products.

Rooms are ok, comfotable bathroom facilities. Bed are a bit small (I am 1.85).

Would definitely recommend this hotel.

  • Stayed March 2014, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank gluyendijk
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
AidSchei, General Manager at Thon Hotel Tromso, responded to this review, 19 March 2014
Thank you for choosing Thon Hotel Tromsø during your recent visit to Tromsø.
We are so pleased to hear that you enjoyed your stay and that our staff, service and location met your expectations.
We hope to see you back again in the near future.
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Epsom
Level Contributor
47 reviews
16 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 22 helpful votes
Reviewed 7 March 2014

Stayed at this hotel during a long weekend break. Minimalist but adequate for a business overnight stay. Good location, friendly and helpful staff . Shame they couldn't supply tea and coffee making facilities in the room. Had to go to the foyer for a cup.

  • Stayed February 2014, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank Whizepsom
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
AidSchei, General Manager at Thon Hotel Tromso, responded to this review, 11 March 2014
Thank you for choosing Thon Hotel Tromsø during your recent visit to Tromsø.
We are so pleased to hear that you enjoyed your stay.

We hope to see you back again in the near future.
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Hotels you might also like...
Travellers also viewed these Tromso hotels
0.2 mi away
Clarion Collection Hotel With
0.2 mi away
Scandic Ishavshotel
Scandic Ishavshotel
#3 of 18 in Tromso
4.0 of 5 bubbles 723 reviews
0.1 mi away
Comfort Hotel Xpress Tromso
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
0.1 mi away
Clarion Hotel The Edge
0.2 mi away
Radisson Blu Hotel, Tromso
0.0 mi away
Thon Hotel Polar
Thon Hotel Polar
#12 of 18 in Tromso
4.0 of 5 bubbles 564 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to Thon Hotel Tromso? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Thon Hotel Tromso

Property: Thon Hotel Tromso
Address: Groennegata 50, Tromso 9008, Norway
Region: Norway > Northern Norway > Troms > Tromso
Amenities:
Free High Speed Internet ( WiFi )
Hotel Style:
Ranked #10 of 18 Hotels in Tromso
Price Range (Based on Average Rates): ££
Hotel Class:3 star — Thon Hotel Tromso 3*
Number of rooms: 152
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Booking.com, Expedia, Hotels.com, TripOnline SA, Ebookers, Priceline, TravelUp, Agoda, Odigeo, Travel Republic (UK), Traveltool, S.L.U., Evoline ltd, Cancelon and HotelQuickly so you can book your Thon Hotel Tromso reservations with confidence. We help millions of travellers each month to find the perfect hotel for both holiday and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing