We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Excellent view but still rooms too small”
Review of Hotel St-Elisabeth

Best prices for -
Check In dd/mm/yyyy Check Out dd/mm/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 6 more sites!
Hotel St-Elisabeth
Bucharest
Level 4 Contributor
25 reviews
14 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 14 helpful votes
“Excellent view but still rooms too small”
Reviewed 1 June 2014

We stayed at St.Elisabeth for only one night and the overall impression was that it was a good accommodation. The rooms are small, but apparently that's a sort of a standard in Tromso, as we stayed in another hotel for the rest of our trip and it was the same there as well.
We would call the staff was friendly but in a cold sort of way. They verified again and again how we managed to get such a good discount, which was quite frustrating. Also, they had a way of speaking to a Chinese couple that didn't know English too well, that would have made us very angry.
All in all, despite the small incident, we appreciated the excellent view from our room and the overall quality of our stay. What's even better is the view from the restaurant and we recommend that you don't miss breakfast for the food but mainly for the view (we loved the traditional Norwegian cheese served there)

  • Stayed February 2014, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank tatarbo
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Write a Review

71 reviews from our community

Traveller rating
    10
    32
    21
    7
    1
See reviews for
6
26
18
5
Rating summary
  • Sleep Quality
  • Location
  • Rooms
  • Service
  • Value
  • Cleanliness
Traveller tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (11)
Date | Rating
  • Dutch first
  • English first
  • Finnish first
  • French first
  • German first
  • Italian first
  • Norwegian first
  • Portuguese first
  • Spanish first
  • Swedish first
  • Any
English first
Cheshire
Level 3 Contributor
24 reviews
8 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 12 helpful votes
Reviewed 10 February 2014

We stayed 6 nights here and enjoyed it . We read the mixed reviews before we left the UK so we were open minded. The plus points are the very comfortable beds, quiet rooms, good breakfast with very yummy bread and splendid views from the breakfast/dining room. The receptionists we met were friendly and helpful.
However where this hotel does fail is in two areas . Firstly there doesn't appear to be an overall Manager or person in charge and it seems to be run with a number of part time staff who are very pleasant but there is a lack of continuity. Secondly the standard of house keeping is only average with a need for greater attention in the bedrooms. Having said this we would return to this hotel

  • Stayed January 2014, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank aallison
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Oslo, Norway
Level 4 Contributor
33 reviews
29 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 24 helpful votes
Reviewed 1 February 2014 via mobile

Stayed at the hotel for a conference. The location is only a few minutes from the city center.

The room was small and basic. Cleaning could be better - I found trash in a corner.

Breakfast was basic - no hot food, and the staff was more interesting in talking to each other than greeting the guests.

Stayed January 2014, travelled on business
Helpful?
Thank TeoandTea
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Katrineholm, Sweden
Level 3 Contributor
20 reviews
9 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 29 helpful votes
Reviewed 16 December 2013

This Hotell is very clean and the reception staff were so helpful and friendly advising me on day trips i could take in the troms area. A very quiet area but also central. The breakfast was delicious with a fantastic view of the Ice cathedral. The rooms don't have tea making faculties but there is a tea room with a kettle and tea bags on each floor. Very comfortable and relaxing.

  • Stayed January 2013, travelled solo
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
2 Thank neil t
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Manchester, United Kingdom
Level 4 Contributor
37 reviews
12 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 43 helpful votes
Reviewed 14 November 2013

Stayed at this hotel a couple of times now and disagree with some of the comments below. Found the rooms clean, the staff were great/informative (and had a sense of humour!)

You have to pay to park your car (as mentioned in other reviews the hotel seems to share a car park) but the hotel staff can assist with free parking if you ask.

The breakfast bar has beautiful views of the surrounding mountains (if you look past the Arctic brewery) and wide range of offerings to satisfy any appetite.

The best way of seeing the aurora is to forget the expensive bus trips from the TIC and hire a car from Tromso airport. Head on the "Northern light route" to the Finnish border - done it successfully a few times now.

  • Stayed February 2013, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
3 Thank iannai1
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
manchester
Level 4 Contributor
28 reviews
14 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 64 helpful votes
Reviewed 13 February 2013

Stayed here for a week to watch for northern lights. I recommend this very highly to anyone mobile enough not to be based in the immediate city centre. Breakfast excellent. Cereals, fresh baked artisan bread, sliced meats and cheeses, fishy bits, boiled eggs, Cracker breads, gluten free options, cole slaw, yoghurt, fruit. The views from the windows of the dining room are probably the best in Oslo 270 degree panorama with no immediately adjacent buildings any taller.

As others have said this is a former maternity hospital, with rooms now set up as hotel accommodation. The beds are supremely comfortable and because there were only 24 rooms the place was quiet and peaceful. I have honestly never slept so well in a hotel and I have stayed in some highly rated hotels. Limited public space and restaurant facilities. But this does have the advantage of no one breathing down your neck if you are self catering. There a small kitchen point with fridge, kettle washing up facilities, but sadly no microwave.

The pool is used by the public as well as guests but staff were happy to open up early so we could have a swim before the public got in.

It has the advantage of being out the direct lights of town so NL were visible from the hotel at times (but display was better still if at Sidspissen). Spar supermarket close by. Close to 42 bus route and 37 stopped at the end of the drive.

Loved the art works around the place.

T

Room Tip: Some rooms overlook the harbour and are better placed to see NL
See more room tips
  • Stayed February 2013, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
1 Thank sevif
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Tromso, Norway
Level 4 Contributor
32 reviews
13 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 17 helpful votes
Reviewed 23 March 2012

I stayed here on a weekend price deal. This made it just acceptable. The hotel shares with offices for Public Health Services...it used to be a Womens Hospital. Lomg corridors, and not enough lifts. BUT !!! the basseng for swimming is 8 out of 10...so bring badetøy.
And the buffet restaurant on the top floor is also 7 out of 10. If you want to be half way between the football stadion and the eldste Pub (Ølhallen) in the city at Macks Brewery...
(opens in the am) , there is nowhere else...! It is a little eccentric in that the front doors are locked from 9pm, but the reception is "manned" until 11pm. A fine walk in the summer, but an unpleasant 20 minutes (for a pensioner) in winter slush and ice and puddles.

  • Stayed March 2012, travelled solo
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
2 Thank mike d
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Hotels you might also like...
Travellers also viewed these Tromso hotels
0.4 mi away
Viking Hotell Tromso
Viking Hotell Tromso
#13 of 18 in Tromso
448 reviews
0.4 mi away
Comfort Hotel Xpress Tromso
0.4 mi away
ABC Hotell
ABC Hotell
#17 of 18 in Tromso
177 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
0.7 mi away
Clarion Collection Hotel With
0.6 mi away
Radisson Blu Hotel, Tromso
0.6 mi away
Amalie Hotel
Amalie Hotel
#12 of 18 in Tromso
226 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to Hotel St-Elisabeth? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Hotel St-Elisabeth

Property: Hotel St-Elisabeth
Address: Mellomvegen 50, Tromso 9007, Norway
Region: Norway > Northern Norway > Troms > Tromso
Amenities:
Business Centre with Internet Access Fitness Centre with Gym / Workout Room Free Breakfast Free High Speed Internet ( WiFi ) Children Activities (Kid / Family Friendly) Kitchenette Restaurant Swimming Pool Wheelchair access
Hotel Style:
Ranked #2 of 7 Speciality Lodging in Tromso
Price Range (Based on Average Rates): £
Hotel Class:3 star — Hotel St-Elisabeth 3*
Number of rooms: 24
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
Hotel St-Elisabeth offers accommodation in quiet and peaceful surroundings. We follow the house's tradition of providing warmth and care through personalized service and tailored services that meet your needs. ... more   less 
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Expedia, Agoda, Booking.com, Priceline, Hotels.com and Evoline ltd so you can book your Hotel St-Elisabeth reservations with confidence. We help millions of travellers each month to find the perfect hotel for both holiday and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing