We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Highly Convenient Location”

Best prices for -
Check In dd/mm/yyyy Check Out dd/mm/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 10 more sites!
Clarion Collection Hotel Aurora
Ranked #5 of 18 Hotels in Tromso
Certificate of Excellence
Winchester, United Kingdom
Level Contributor
21 reviews
20 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 9 helpful votes
“Highly Convenient Location”
Reviewed 2 March 2012

Great hotel booked by the Mighty Fine Company as part of our Hurtigruten Northern Lights package. We enjoyed a nice, comfortable and peaceful room with a large bathroom (wet-room) with a powerful shower – which was not as hot in the morning as I would have liked. We stayed the one night and found the staff to be very helpful and informative. There was a very good breakfast with a wide range of options including a cooked breakfast – not just Continental.

The position of the hotel was superb, right on the waterfront in the heart of the town. We ate in a restaurant around the corner from the hotel because it provided a terrific view of the harbour and the Arctic Cathedral. I thought the restaurant was called Kaia, but it is listed as Il Mare in TripAdvisor. The food was good, but pricey which seems to be the case in Norway.

We did not really see the Northern Lights on the ship coming up, so as it was our last night, on the spur of the moment we hired a boat from the quay opposite the restaurant which took us out onto the fjord at midnight. This turned out to the most fortuitous and momentous decision because about 30 minutes out in the fjord, we were treated to the most spectacular view of the Northern Lights that lasted for over two hours. This was the best part of the whole trip and we cannot recommend Gulli Pedersen at www.havcruise.no highly enough. Gulli and her husband who drove the boat, exercised immense patience and placed us under no time pressure whatsoever and ensured that we had our “fill” of The Lights before we turned for home. Her coffee, tea, chocolate, waffles and “brown cheese” were very welcome as well!

  • Stayed February 2012, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
3 Thank Steve O
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Write a Review

872 reviews from our community

Traveller rating
    362
    316
    116
    55
    23
See reviews for
114
425
42
157
Rating summary
  • Location
  • Sleep Quality
  • Rooms
  • Service
  • Value
  • Cleanliness
Traveller tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (98)
Date | Rating
  • Chinese (Simplified) first
  • Danish first
  • English first
  • French first
  • German first
  • Italian first
  • Japanese first
  • Korean first
  • Norwegian first
  • Polish first
  • Portuguese first
  • Russian first
  • Spanish first
  • Swedish first
  • Turkish first
  • Any
English first
tewkesbury
Level Contributor
75 reviews
17 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 44 helpful votes
Reviewed 1 March 2012

Nice hotel booked by Hurtigruten as part of the Northern Lights package. Quiet and peaceful room of a good size with a bath ensuite as well as shower - bliss after 5 days on a boat with just a shower. Excellent breakfast with loads of choice in a nice light dining room overlooking the water.
The staff were fabulous - I discovered at the airport I had left my diamond ring in the room. The airport staff called for me and the hotel staff searched and found it and had it taxied to the airport withing 1/2 hour. Now that's what I call excellent, thoughtful service and I am extremely grateful to the airport and hotel staff for being so helpful

  • Stayed February 2012, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
3 Thank possumTewkesbury
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Cambridge
Level Contributor
30 reviews
20 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 19 helpful votes
Reviewed 29 February 2012

We stayed 3 nights towards the end of Feb 2012 for the Northern Lights (which we saw outside of Tromso every night with varying degrees of success). The hotel staff were friendly. Good location in town on the waterfront, close to all the necessary tourist stuff (trips bus stop, tourist office, bars etc). Loved the outdoor jacuzzi (but shut at 8pm on Fri & Sat). Breakfast was hearty and a good choice buffet, but very busy every day, meaning that tables were not cleared and no mugs but made lunch there too!. The rooms were small, no hanging space or even floor space. But at over £150 a night B&B it is expensive for what you get, but that is Norway, which is so expensive generally.

Room Tip: Jacuzzi on 5th floor.
See more room tips
  • Stayed February 2012, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank CambridgeJames
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Hjemvoll, General Manager at Clarion Collection Hotel Aurora, responded to this review, 13 March 2012
Thank you so much for rating us on TripAdvisor, this is very important to us beeing able to improve our services. We do work on the challange with lack of closets in the rooms. Concerning the rates I am afraid this is the price level in high season. Welcome back :-)
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Huddersfield, United Kingdom
Level Contributor
8 reviews
8 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 3 helpful votes
Reviewed 25 February 2012

We stayed at this hotel for 4 nights recently and had pre booked a waterfront room with a balcony. This had been based on the feedback from other travellers and their recommendations and it was certainly a good choice to have made. The room had a super glazed front looking out onto the habour , the mountains and over to the Arctic Cathedral and on the clear nights, the view was quite magical....despite not seeing the Northern Lights during our stay.
The hotel is well located in the centre of the town and close to some good restaurants and recommended coffee shops, featured in the Tromso guide.
Breakfast was a very hearty buffet which had choice I believe for any appetitie and taste and it certainly set one up for the day. The view from the restaurant over the habour was attractive too.
The constant supply of coffee and hot drinks in reception was a thoughtful addition to the customer experience, particularly given the price of drinks out and about in Tromso!
We found staff at Reception to be helpful with any questions we had and their English as you would expect was excellent.
Other travellers have commented on the lack of space in the rooms for clothes and luggage and we would agree that some additional drawer storage would have been welcomed but actually, we managed to find space for all our belongings and for the short time we were actually at the hotel , it wasnt really an issue in the end.

Room Tip: Choose your room based on what is important to you as a traveller and how much time you will spend i...
See more room tips
  • Stayed February 2012, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank Claire0905
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Sydney, Australia
Level Contributor
25 reviews
14 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 37 helpful votes
Reviewed 22 February 2012

We are currently at this hotel, which has received many favorouble reviews. However we are finding it very disappointing. They have recently refurbished the rooms, which look very nice. They are not comfortable, however. There is almost nowhere to put clothes, so we have to live out of our suitcases. The new bathroom looks lovely, but the shower screen is a slight arc of glass which does not reach the floor. Consequently the bathroom floor floods with every shower!

The room, even with the heating off and the window wide open, is so hot that sleep is nearly impossible, even when it is snowing outside. The very young staff don't really seem too worried....why should they be, with never ending floods of tourists filling the hotel to capacity?

Breakfast is adequate, but nothing special.

Room Tip: Not a clue - see if somewhere else is better.
See more room tips
  • Stayed February 2012, travelled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
1 Thank Clarendon
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Hjemvoll, General Manager at Clarion Collection Hotel Aurora, responded to this review, 13 March 2012
Thank you so much for rating us on TripAdvisor, this is important to us beeing able to improve our services. We are working on the issue with the lack of wardrobes. I am sorry if our employees did not meet your expectation regarding service, the hotel is actually known for our highly competent and service minded staff. We would be more than happy to welcome you back to Tromsø and Clarion Hotel Tromsø.
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Nottingham
Level Contributor
33 reviews
23 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 21 helpful votes
Reviewed 19 February 2012

Stayed 5 nights. Loved Tromso, but mixed views on the hotel:

pros: - central location, breakfast good, spa on roof, staff friendly

cons: - room quite dirty and lacked care, old furniture, noisy at times (soundproofing poor), refurbishments not told in advance ...

overall an average 3/4 star hotel

  • Stayed February 2012, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank jstNottingham
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Brecon, United Kingdom
Level Contributor
68 reviews
29 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 35 helpful votes
Reviewed 18 February 2012

This was a nice hotel apart from the alterations which were taking place. Also no hot water from the shower in the morning. It was reported to the staff but nothing was done.
Very good breakfast where staff were helpful with the special diet.

Room Tip: We stayed in a twin room which was very good apart from the lack of hot water in the morning. It was...
See more room tips
  • Stayed February 2012, travelled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank Anonymous409
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Hotels you might also like...
Travellers also viewed these Tromso hotels
0.0 mi away
Clarion Collection Hotel With
0.2 mi away
Clarion Hotel The Edge
0.1 mi away
Scandic Ishavshotel
Scandic Ishavshotel
#3 of 18 in Tromso
242 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
0.1 mi away
Radisson Blu Hotel, Tromso
0.2 mi away
Comfort Hotel Xpress Tromso
0.1 mi away
Amalie Hotel
Amalie Hotel
#11 of 18 in Tromso
224 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to Clarion Collection Hotel Aurora? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Clarion Collection Hotel Aurora

Property: Clarion Collection Hotel Aurora
Address: Sjoegata 19-21, Tromso 9008, Norway (Formerly Clarion Hotel Bryggen)
Phone Number:
Region: Norway > Northern Norway > Troms > Tromso
Amenities:
Bar / Lounge Business Centre with Internet Access Fitness Centre with Gym / Workout Room Free Breakfast Free High Speed Internet ( WiFi ) Pets Allowed ( Dog / Pet Friendly ) Shuttle Bus service Suites Wheelchair access
Hotel Style:
#2 Business Hotel in Tromso
#2 Luxury Hotel in Tromso
#4 Romantic Hotel in Tromso
Price Range (Based on Average Rates): ££
Hotel Class:4 star — Clarion Collection Hotel Aurora 4*
Number of rooms: 121
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
Modern design on the pier! Feel the snow in your hair while resting in our outdoor jacuzzi under the Northern lights or during the summer while sun is shining all day and all night. Our excellent staff will be more than happy to serve you at all times whether it is regarding adventure bookings, restaurant recommendations or other enquiries you might have. We offer coffee/tea and a selection of fruits all day, homemade pasteries or wafles in the afternoon and an evening buffet with salads, soup, hot dish and dessert - all of this FREE OF CHARGE!Fantastic sea view from the diningroom, the outdoor jacuzzi and some of our superior rooms. All common areas were renovated in 2012 an all rooms got new floors, new easy chairs and new fabrics. All bathrooms have heated floors. The hotel is very close to all main attractions in Tromso and only a short walk from the Hurtigruten pier, the airport bus and all other buses that will take you around where ever you would like to go. ... more   less 
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Booking.com, Odigeo, Hotels.com, Priceline, Expedia, Ebookers, TripOnline SA, Traveltool, S.L.U., Evoline ltd, HotelQuickly, getaroom.com and Cancelon so you can book your Clarion Collection Hotel Aurora reservations with confidence. We help millions of travellers each month to find the perfect hotel for both holiday and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
Clarion Hotel Tromsø
Clarion Tromso
Tromsø Clarion

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing