We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.
The latest reviews. The lowest prices. The perfect place to shop for hotels.

“Good place to stay, great breakfast”

Best prices for -
Check In dd/mm/yyyy Check Out dd/mm/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 9 more sites!
Clarion Collection Hotel Aurora
Ranked #5 of 18 Hotels in Tromso
Certificate of Excellence
Finland
Level Contributor
25 reviews
16 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 19 helpful votes
“Good place to stay, great breakfast”
Reviewed 30 July 2013

Keeping in mind hotels in Norway are expensive, this is pretty good value for the money. The room was spacious and clean, a bit noisy in the night though but it's in the middle of the city. Location is perfect except that you have to pay for parking and arriving late might mean that you have to look for a parking space somewhere else in the city.
The jacuzzi on the top deck is lovely and the view from the sauna as well!

The breakfast is one of the best!

  • Stayed June 2013
    • Value
    • Location
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank Mirv4
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Write a Review

850 reviews from our community

Traveller rating
    356
    309
    108
    54
    23
See reviews for
113
415
41
149
Rating summary
  • Location
  • Sleep Quality
  • Rooms
  • Service
  • Value
  • Cleanliness
Traveller tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (97)
Date | Rating
  • Chinese (Simplified) first
  • Danish first
  • English first
  • French first
  • German first
  • Italian first
  • Japanese first
  • Korean first
  • Norwegian first
  • Polish first
  • Portuguese first
  • Russian first
  • Spanish first
  • Swedish first
  • Turkish first
  • Any
English first
Ostend, Belgium
Level Contributor
20 reviews
11 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 11 helpful votes
Reviewed 22 July 2013

On the internet , they offer free bikes : this is no longer so. They have a central position in Tromso, but: no view offered at all from their rooms. You look on parking spots or worse.. Rooms are clean, but beds are much too soft . Food is regular. Nice wirhlpool on 5th floor, as is the sauna.

  • Stayed July 2013, travelled solo
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank leen C
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Oslo, Norway
Level Contributor
34 reviews
11 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 13 helpful votes
Reviewed 30 June 2013

Stayed there with 9 colleagues for a weekend. It was in general good, as you might expect. They have conference rooms, and even a nice pool outside on the roof. The service at the reception was at time a bit slow (in every way), but it did not ruin our experience. The rooms where clean, it's central and the gym was good.

Room Tip: Choose a room with a view, it's right next to the ocean.
See more room tips
  • Stayed June 2013, travelled on business
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank thomasmoen
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
London, United Kingdom
Level Contributor
12 reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 4 helpful votes
Reviewed 28 June 2013

We ended up in this hotel after an earlier reservation was canceled. The staff was very friendly, the rooms were nice and clean and the breakfast was superb. There was also a laptop in the lobby with internet access we could use.

  • Stayed June 2013, travelled with friends
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
1 Thank Wardv2
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Froideville
Level Contributor
64 reviews
18 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 48 helpful votes
Reviewed 8 April 2013

A very nice and friendly hotel with a jacuzzi on the top of the building with some fresh snow to cool down after the sauna. Relaxing, for sure.
Nice clean and large rooms.
Superb breakfast with a lot of fish dishes.

  • Stayed April 2013, travelled with friends
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank kromega
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Rome, Italy
Level Contributor
58 reviews
41 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 50 helpful votes
Reviewed 5 April 2013

stayed one night and wish I could have stayed more!

Beautiful hotel in a fascinating part of Norway. Great location on the docks facing the bay and mountains overlooking Tromso. Just a min stroll from city center, main strip and restaurants.

Hotel is clean with spacious rooms and quality service.

Beautiful jacuzzi in the top floor if you want to try the experience of bathing at -12'C!

  • Stayed March 2013, travelled on business
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank Alessandro B
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Greensboro, North Carolina
2 reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 1 helpful vote
Reviewed 31 March 2013

My friends and I stayed in this hotel about a month ago. We lost a full day due to delays in flights on the way there, and then our luggage was lost by the airline and finally we got notified that there were issues with our flight back. Because of this, we needed to spend a lot of time on the front desk phone.
The staff could not have been any more understanding or patient. They helped us in any way they possibly could. I know that I would have been annoyed by our constant needs and requests, and they were always so nice to us. They even helped us out finding restaurants and making reservations, hooked us up with taxis, and loaned us an outlet adapter when ours wasn't working!
There was a particular front desk clerk- I believe she had blond hair, that dealt with us the most and was just so wonderful- I wish I remembered her name. But she was there every day.
The roof hot tub was amazing. The rooms were great..The free breakfast was to die for...The location even better. everything was fabulous!
A trip that started out horrible turned out to be amazing and I definitely think the hotel/staff contributed to the turn-around!
Thank you all so much for your services!

  • Stayed March 2013, travelled with friends
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank BrittV4321
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Hotels you might also like...
Travellers also viewed these Tromso hotels
0.0 mi away
Clarion Collection Hotel With
0.1 mi away
Scandic Ishavshotel
Scandic Ishavshotel
#3 of 18 in Tromso
4.0 of 5 bubbles 724 reviews
0.2 mi away
Clarion Hotel The Edge
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
0.1 mi away
Radisson Blu Hotel, Tromso
0.2 mi away
Comfort Hotel Xpress Tromso
0.1 mi away
Amalie Hotel
Amalie Hotel
#11 of 18 in Tromso
4.5 of 5 bubbles 220 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to Clarion Collection Hotel Aurora? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Clarion Collection Hotel Aurora

Property: Clarion Collection Hotel Aurora
Address: Sjoegata 19-21, Tromso 9008, Norway (Formerly Clarion Hotel Bryggen)
Phone Number:
Region: Norway > Northern Norway > Troms > Tromso
Amenities:
Bar / Lounge Business Centre with Internet Access Fitness Centre with Gym / Workout Room Free Breakfast Free High Speed Internet ( WiFi ) Pets Allowed ( Dog / Pet Friendly ) Shuttle Bus service Suites Wheelchair access
Hotel Style:
#2 Business Hotel in Tromso
#2 Luxury Hotel in Tromso
#4 Romantic Hotel in Tromso
Price Range (Based on Average Rates): ££
Hotel Class:4 star — Clarion Collection Hotel Aurora 4*
Number of rooms: 121
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
Modern design on the pier! Feel the snow in your hair while resting in our outdoor jacuzzi under the Northern lights or during the summer while sun is shining all day and all night. Our excellent staff will be more than happy to serve you at all times whether it is regarding adventure bookings, restaurant recommendations or other enquiries you might have. We offer coffee/tea and a selection of fruits all day, homemade pasteries or wafles in the afternoon and an evening buffet with salads, soup, hot dish and dessert - all of this FREE OF CHARGE!Fantastic sea view from the diningroom, the outdoor jacuzzi and some of our superior rooms. All common areas were renovated in 2012 an all rooms got new floors, new easy chairs and new fabrics. All bathrooms have heated floors. The hotel is very close to all main attractions in Tromso and only a short walk from the Hurtigruten pier, the airport bus and all other buses that will take you around where ever you would like to go. ... more   less 
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Booking.com, Odigeo, Ebookers, Expedia, Hotels.com, Priceline, TripOnline SA, Traveltool, S.L.U., Evoline ltd, Cancelon, getaroom.com and HotelQuickly so you can book your Clarion Collection Hotel Aurora reservations with confidence. We help millions of travellers each month to find the perfect hotel for both holiday and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
Clarion Hotel Tromsø
Clarion Tromso
Tromsø Clarion

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing