We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.
Clarion Collection Hotel Aurora
Nearby Hotels
US$165
US$152
Hotels.com
View Deal
  • Free Wifi
  • Breakfast included
US$153
Hotels.com
View Deal
  • Free Wifi
  • Breakfast included
US$145
Booking.com
View Deal
  • Free Wifi
  • Breakfast included
US$155
US$123
Booking.com
View Deal
  • Free Wifi
  • Breakfast included
US$185
US$163
ClarionCollection
View Deal
Certificate of Excellence
  • Free Wifi
  • Breakfast included
Enter City Hotel(Tromso)(Great Value!)
US$115
Booking.com
View Deal
Certificate of Excellence
  • Free Wifi
US$132
Booking.com
View Deal
  • Free Wifi
  • Breakfast included
Comfort Hotel Xpress Tromso(Tromso)(Great Value!)
US$94
US$87
Booking.com
View Deal
Certificate of Excellence
  • Free Wifi
  • Bar/Lounge
US$150
US$141
Agoda.com
View Deal
Certificate of Excellence
  • Free Wifi
  • Breakfast included
Enter Amalie Hotel(Tromso)(Great Value!)
US$86
Booking.com
View Deal
Certificate of Excellence
  • Free Wifi
Reviews (1,033)
Filter reviews
1,033 results
Traveller rating
417
373
145
71
27
Traveller type
Time of year
LanguageAll languages
More languages
417
373
145
71
27
Show reviews that mention
All reviewshot tubrooftop jacuzzievening mealwafflesnorthern lightscomplimentary dinnernice hotelincluded in the pricesaladfitness roomtwo night staytea and coffeeharbour frontbreakfast buffet was goodwaffle makersmall gymfifth floor
FilterAll languages
Updating list...
442 - 447 of 1,033 reviews
Reviewed 17 February 2014

When we first arrived, booked into room 230, the noise on a friday night was really bad from outside, thought of the reviews I'd read. Went to reception, changed rooms, still on the first floor, even though this is floor 2. From then on for the rest of the stay superb. Breakfast is a sort of Continental/English buffet affair, eat all you can. The hot tub on the roof was a great experience, we had no problem with litter or towels. The staff, I found helpful and friendly, altough could be a little slow as they dealt thoroughly with each guest. The room was cleaned each of the five days we were there, on one day it was late but still. There was free tea/coffee on offer near the bar. The beds were very comfortable and we had no problems sleeping after the first night. For the price a great place to stay in the centre of Tromso, very close ( 2 or 3 minutes walk to the airport bus (last stop). Storage space is limited, but this was mentioned in most other reports so was expected.

  • Stayed: February 2014, travelled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
1  Thank EastYorksTeach
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Hjemvoll, General Manager at Clarion Collection Hotel Aurora, responded to this reviewResponded 18 February 2014

Thank you so much for your review. This is highly appreciated.

I am pleased to see you enjoyed your stay with us. We do look forward to welcome you back :-)

Best regards Inger-Helen Hjemvoll / General manager

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 3 February 2014

We stayed there as part of a Tour Group. All of us had to stand in a queue at check-in (some for 35+ minutes) as rooms weren't ready and were being allocated as they were cleaned. We were given a "Superior twin"; to be honest, it wasn't as good as a typical Premier Inn room and they don't claim to be 4-star. Two lights weren't working - as we were only there 2 nights we didn't bother to report them, but in a 4-star hotel you could expect housekeeping to do the reporting. The room, however, wasn't cleaned while we were there. We went out before 11.00am, leaving a "clean my room" notice on the door, but nothing had been done by 3.30pm on our return. By that time, we didn't want any disturbance, so put up the appropriate sign. We used the hot-tub on the top floor on one evening. Both the gym area and the changing rooms had used towels strewn around, with empty soft drink cans and food packaging scattered about as well. Although this reflects on the clientele (there were baskets for the used towels), it was obvious no one had checked the area for some time - also, there were hardly any clean towels available. On the positive side, the beds were very comfortable and breakfast was good, with plenty of choices. The staff were pleasant.
Perhaps the hotel has difficulty in finding sufficient housekeeping staff.

  • Stayed: January 2014, travelled as a couple
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
Thank ACardiffian
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Hjemvoll, General Manager at Clarion Collection Hotel Aurora, responded to this reviewResponded 5 February 2014

Thank you so much for your review. This is very important to us as we always work to improve our routines and services.
I am so sorry we did not live up to your expectations. I want you to know that we are alvays greatful if you let us know during your visit if you are not happy about our services, the room or something else that we would be able to solve for you.
If you ever return to Tromsø, please let me know and I will do whatever I can to make sure you get a pleasant stay.

Best regards Inger-Helen Hjemvoll/ General Manager

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 2 February 2014

This hotel is average at best. We booked a superior room although were struggling to understand why it was superior. It was small, poorly furnished with a very basic bathroom. We were also located on the 4th floor over a late night bar and despite closing the windows could hear music until the early hours. Some of the reception staff were very helpful, some were unhelpful. At busy times, expect to wait. Breakfast was pretty good. Would I go back or recommend others stay here? In a word, no! It is basically average ski resort standard accommodation. There must be better places to stay in Tromso than this!

Stayed: January 2014
1  Thank KGHLLH
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Hjemvoll, General Manager at Clarion Collection Hotel Aurora, responded to this reviewResponded 5 February 2014

Thank you so much for yor review. This is important to us as it helps us improve our routines and services.

I am sorry you were not pleased with the room you had. All our superior rooms has the equipment defined in our chain manual. Considering the rooms I am happy to inform you that these will be renovated during April this year so if you ever come back to Tromsø I would appreciate if we could accomodate you again.

Best regards Inger-Helen Hjemvoll/General manager

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 2 February 2014

We recently stayed at this hotel as part of a Tour group. Despite our expectations the hotel was far from being the promised 4 star experience. The rooms were barely adequate and the food was ok but what really let the hotel down was the completely disorganised management and lack of attention to detail. The inexperienced staff tried their best but were quite overwhelmed by 19 guests arriving at once! Housekeeping was haphazard and responses to guest requests were very slow. We have stayed in many hotels all over the world and can confidently state that this is by no means a 4 star hotel.

Stayed: January 2014, travelled with friends
1  Thank PAH810
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 2 February 2014

We stayed here for three nights at the end of January. We paid extra for a room with a balcony and asked to be on the highest floor available, so we got our wish & got the 4th floor. The room was lovely, amazing view. the breakfast was great and the staff are all really amazingly nice and helpful. It's a shame their manager couldn't be more like them. Our stay was ruined by the continuos loud droning hum from the hot tub which was above our room. We were told it would be turned off at 11pm on our 1st night & 9pm on the next 2 nights. For the first two nights, it wasn't turned off properly but after complaining the staff kindly sorted it out. On the third night when it wasn't turned off and I complained again, the staff member said the manager told them all not to turn it off as it was too expensive to turn completely off. We were offered a different room instead which wasn't as nice. Overall the noise ruined out holiday. Tromso is so very cold that you spend more time in your hotel room between exploring & activities than you normally would. Because of the torturous noise in the room we had to hang out in coffee shops & the lounge during the day as we couldn't spend any more than a few minutes in the room. I would really have considered staying again here, in a different room, on a lower floor away from the hot tub. However as the manager was so inconsiderate, putting profit before customers, I wouldn't personally stay here, but overall would still say to other travellers, it's a nice hotel, with nice reception staff. Just make sure your room is far from the hottub.

Stayed: January 2014, travelled as a couple
1  Thank Marayd
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Hjemvoll, General Manager at Clarion Collection Hotel Aurora, responded to this reviewResponded 18 February 2014

Thank you for your review. I am sorry your stay was ruined by the noise from the hot tub. This might be a problem to some guests. This room is occupied every night during the year and for 2013 we had 5-6 complaints about noise from our jacuzzi. I am concerned about one of our managers beeing selfish and rude, this is not by any chance acceptable. I always appreciate getting information about dissatisfaction as early as possible to be able to correct any problem our guests may experience.
When it comes to the receptionists not beeing qualified to turn off the jacuzzi, this is due to the fact that parts of the cleaning system may be damaged (at a very high cost).
As you probably noticed we have 2 additional rooms equal tho the one you had on lower floors, if by any chance you get back to Tromsø I hope we may be able to offer you one of these. Again thank you so much for your review, this helps us improve our services and routines.

Best regards Inger-Helen Hjemvoll/General manager

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
View more reviews