We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Not as good as expected”

Best prices for -
Check In dd/mm/yyyy Check Out dd/mm/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 10 more sites!
Clarion Collection Hotel Aurora
Ranked #5 of 18 Hotels in Tromso
Certificate of Excellence
Amsterdam, The Netherlands
Level 5 Contributor
57 reviews
49 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 62 helpful votes
“Not as good as expected”
Reviewed 19 February 2014

The good:
- 5min walk from the Flybus stop at Rica Ivhavshotel
- located right at the harbor, with a great view from the breakfast restaurant
- awesome breakfast buffet, refilled constantly. Organic yoghurt was served at request
- the sauna and hot tub area was clean and inviting, with a great view over the harbor. Stack of towels in the shower area, so no need to bring one from your room.
The hot tub was busy every time we checked, but I guess if you don't mind company you could always share the tub with other guests
- free and strong wifi
- fridge in the room
- friendly and helpful hotel staff

Now the not so good:
- to start with our biggest gripe: you cannot regulate the room temperature yourself, since its central heating. The room was SO warm, we actually felt lightheaded when we awoke sweating. We opened the window as wide as possible, but since we had a room at the back, facing an office building, there was no draft to cool the room. Very, very uncomfortable.
- in general, the rooms are very basic for the price paid ( €220 and €150 for 2 different nights). No closet nor shelves for storage, just 4 clothes hangers, and no safe for your valuables.
- the bathroom gets flooded every time you take a shower, since there's no tub to stand in, and the floor wasn't properly tilted towards the drain.

Since the good outweigh the not so good, we would still consider going back, but now we know what we're getting and I I would definitely compare prices with other hotels in Tromso.

  • Stayed February 2014, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank Pocketdiver97
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Hjemvoll, General Manager at Clarion Collection Hotel Aurora, responded to this review, 13 March 2014
Thank you so much for your review. This is very important to us as we always work to improve our services.

Considering the heating in the rooms and the flooded bathroom we are working on this together with the owners of the building, We will receive new steering systems for the heating during March and we do look forward to this :-) The bathrooms are a major job to the owners, but we are still in a dialogue with them to find solutions regarding this problem.

I am pleased to see that you enjoyed our services in the hotel!
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Write a Review

883 reviews from our community

Traveller rating
    367
    320
    118
    55
    23
See reviews for
116
432
44
157
Rating summary
  • Location
  • Sleep Quality
  • Rooms
  • Service
  • Value
  • Cleanliness
Traveller tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (98)
Date | Rating
  • Chinese (Simplified) first
  • Danish first
  • English first
  • French first
  • German first
  • Italian first
  • Japanese first
  • Korean first
  • Norwegian first
  • Polish first
  • Portuguese first
  • Russian first
  • Spanish first
  • Swedish first
  • Turkish first
  • Any
English first
WDC
Level 3 Contributor
24 reviews
10 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 14 helpful votes
Reviewed 18 February 2014

Our experience with this hotel was pretty mixed. We arrived pretty early in the day, and the hotel understandably could not check us in given that check in time was not until 3PM. We dropped our bags with the reception and went out to explore the city for a few hours. Unfortunately, one of our party was feeling under the weather, so we returned at 3PM hoping to get into our room. No such luck, as we were then waiting until after 5PM, 2 hours after check-in, to get our room. Supposedly, the hotel was completely booked and housekeeping was behind in cleaning. We saw other guests also having to wait for their rooms as well. The guy at the desk was very understanding and apologetic, which was appreciated, but this still left a very bad taste in our mouth for the beginning of our trip.

We booked a superior double room, with a sofa bed, for the three of us -- unfortunately, the sofa bed was nonexistent, which left one of our group sleeping on a rollaway bed we were convinced would fold up on them at any moment. Otherwise, the room, while basic, was more than spacious for three of us, and included a large bathroom (which, like other reviewers noted, had an open shower that easily flooded the bathroom if you were not careful). There were not any toiletries in the room, aside from an "all over" shampoo. Breakfast was decent, with both hot and cold selections -- the layout of the food area given the number of guests the hotel caters to made it somewhat of a war zone when trying to get food, though. There is an area in the lobby offering free coffee/tea/water, which was quite nice. However, it seemed neglected from time to time, and would have an accumulation of dirty cups/glasses, and no new glasses out for guests.

The location of the hotel really cannot be beat and that's the main selling point for its rooms. The hotel could be a great option, but management should consider hiring more staff to accommodate being a fully booked hotel.

  • Stayed February 2014, travelled with friends
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank BeakerTravel
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Hjemvoll, General Manager at Clarion Collection Hotel Aurora, responded to this review, 13 March 2014
Thank you so much for your review. I am sorry you had to wait for your room until 5PM, standard check-in is at 3PM so I apologise for any inconvenience this day!

I also do thank you for those other points of view and bring them to our staff to improve our services at all points.

Your opinion is important to us, giving the opportunity to improve our services so again thank you very much.

Best regards Inger-Helen Hjemvoll / General manager
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
east yorks
Level 3 Contributor
23 reviews
20 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 18 helpful votes
Reviewed 17 February 2014

When we first arrived, booked into room 230, the noise on a friday night was really bad from outside, thought of the reviews I'd read. Went to reception, changed rooms, still on the first floor, even though this is floor 2. From then on for the rest of the stay superb. Breakfast is a sort of Continental/English buffet affair, eat all you can. The hot tub on the roof was a great experience, we had no problem with litter or towels. The staff, I found helpful and friendly, altough could be a little slow as they dealt thoroughly with each guest. The room was cleaned each of the five days we were there, on one day it was late but still. There was free tea/coffee on offer near the bar. The beds were very comfortable and we had no problems sleeping after the first night. For the price a great place to stay in the centre of Tromso, very close ( 2 or 3 minutes walk to the airport bus (last stop). Storage space is limited, but this was mentioned in most other reports so was expected.

  • Stayed February 2014, travelled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
1 Thank EastYorksTeach
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Hjemvoll, General Manager at Clarion Collection Hotel Aurora, responded to this review, 18 February 2014
Thank you so much for your review. This is highly appreciated.

I am pleased to see you enjoyed your stay with us. We do look forward to welcome you back :-)

Best regards Inger-Helen Hjemvoll / General manager
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Cardiff, United Kingdom
Level 2 Contributor
9 reviews
6 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 2 helpful votes
Reviewed 3 February 2014

We stayed there as part of a Tour Group. All of us had to stand in a queue at check-in (some for 35+ minutes) as rooms weren't ready and were being allocated as they were cleaned. We were given a "Superior twin"; to be honest, it wasn't as good as a typical Premier Inn room and they don't claim to be 4-star. Two lights weren't working - as we were only there 2 nights we didn't bother to report them, but in a 4-star hotel you could expect housekeeping to do the reporting. The room, however, wasn't cleaned while we were there. We went out before 11.00am, leaving a "clean my room" notice on the door, but nothing had been done by 3.30pm on our return. By that time, we didn't want any disturbance, so put up the appropriate sign. We used the hot-tub on the top floor on one evening. Both the gym area and the changing rooms had used towels strewn around, with empty soft drink cans and food packaging scattered about as well. Although this reflects on the clientele (there were baskets for the used towels), it was obvious no one had checked the area for some time - also, there were hardly any clean towels available. On the positive side, the beds were very comfortable and breakfast was good, with plenty of choices. The staff were pleasant.
Perhaps the hotel has difficulty in finding sufficient housekeeping staff.

  • Stayed January 2014, travelled as a couple
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
Helpful?
Thank ACardiffian
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Hjemvoll, General Manager at Clarion Collection Hotel Aurora, responded to this review, 5 February 2014
Thank you so much for your review. This is very important to us as we always work to improve our routines and services.
I am so sorry we did not live up to your expectations. I want you to know that we are alvays greatful if you let us know during your visit if you are not happy about our services, the room or something else that we would be able to solve for you.
If you ever return to Tromsø, please let me know and I will do whatever I can to make sure you get a pleasant stay.

Best regards Inger-Helen Hjemvoll/ General Manager
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
East Horsley, United Kingdom
Level 5 Contributor
50 reviews
23 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 55 helpful votes
Reviewed 2 February 2014 via mobile

This hotel is average at best. We booked a superior room although were struggling to understand why it was superior. It was small, poorly furnished with a very basic bathroom. We were also located on the 4th floor over a late night bar and despite closing the windows could hear music until the early hours. Some of the reception staff were very helpful, some were unhelpful. At busy times, expect to wait. Breakfast was pretty good. Would I go back or recommend others stay here? In a word, no! It is basically average ski resort standard accommodation. There must be better places to stay in Tromso than this!

Stayed January 2014
Helpful?
1 Thank KGHLLH
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Hjemvoll, General Manager at Clarion Collection Hotel Aurora, responded to this review, 5 February 2014
Thank you so much for yor review. This is important to us as it helps us improve our routines and services.

I am sorry you were not pleased with the room you had. All our superior rooms has the equipment defined in our chain manual. Considering the rooms I am happy to inform you that these will be renovated during April this year so if you ever come back to Tromsø I would appreciate if we could accomodate you again.

Best regards Inger-Helen Hjemvoll/General manager
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Beaumaris, United Kingdom
Level 4 Contributor
44 reviews
42 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 40 helpful votes
Reviewed 2 February 2014 via mobile

We recently stayed at this hotel as part of a Tour group. Despite our expectations the hotel was far from being the promised 4 star experience. The rooms were barely adequate and the food was ok but what really let the hotel down was the completely disorganised management and lack of attention to detail. The inexperienced staff tried their best but were quite overwhelmed by 19 guests arriving at once! Housekeeping was haphazard and responses to guest requests were very slow. We have stayed in many hotels all over the world and can confidently state that this is by no means a 4 star hotel.

Stayed January 2014, travelled with friends
Helpful?
1 Thank PAH810
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
London, United Kingdom
Level 4 Contributor
40 reviews
15 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 58 helpful votes
Reviewed 2 February 2014

We stayed here for three nights at the end of January. We paid extra for a room with a balcony and asked to be on the highest floor available, so we got our wish & got the 4th floor. The room was lovely, amazing view. the breakfast was great and the staff are all really amazingly nice and helpful. It's a shame their manager couldn't be more like them. Our stay was ruined by the continuos loud droning hum from the hot tub which was above our room. We were told it would be turned off at 11pm on our 1st night & 9pm on the next 2 nights. For the first two nights, it wasn't turned off properly but after complaining the staff kindly sorted it out. On the third night when it wasn't turned off and I complained again, the staff member said the manager told them all not to turn it off as it was too expensive to turn completely off. We were offered a different room instead which wasn't as nice. Overall the noise ruined out holiday. Tromso is so very cold that you spend more time in your hotel room between exploring & activities than you normally would. Because of the torturous noise in the room we had to hang out in coffee shops & the lounge during the day as we couldn't spend any more than a few minutes in the room. I would really have considered staying again here, in a different room, on a lower floor away from the hot tub. However as the manager was so inconsiderate, putting profit before customers, I wouldn't personally stay here, but overall would still say to other travellers, it's a nice hotel, with nice reception staff. Just make sure your room is far from the hottub.

Stayed January 2014, travelled as a couple
Helpful?
1 Thank Marayd
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Hjemvoll, General Manager at Clarion Collection Hotel Aurora, responded to this review, 18 February 2014
Thank you for your review. I am sorry your stay was ruined by the noise from the hot tub. This might be a problem to some guests. This room is occupied every night during the year and for 2013 we had 5-6 complaints about noise from our jacuzzi. I am concerned about one of our managers beeing selfish and rude, this is not by any chance acceptable. I always appreciate getting information about dissatisfaction as early as possible to be able to correct any problem our guests may experience.
When it comes to the receptionists not beeing qualified to turn off the jacuzzi, this is due to the fact that parts of the cleaning system may be damaged (at a very high cost).
As you probably noticed we have 2 additional rooms equal tho the one you had on lower floors, if by any chance you get back to Tromsø I hope we may be able to offer you one of these. Again thank you so much for your review, this helps us improve our services and routines.

Best regards Inger-Helen Hjemvoll/General manager
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Hotels you might also like...
Travellers also viewed these Tromso hotels
0.0 mi away
Clarion Collection Hotel With
0.2 mi away
Clarion Hotel The Edge
0.1 mi away
Scandic Ishavshotel
Scandic Ishavshotel
#3 of 18 in Tromso
258 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
0.1 mi away
Radisson Blu Hotel, Tromso
0.2 mi away
Comfort Hotel Xpress Tromso
0.1 mi away
Amalie Hotel
Amalie Hotel
#12 of 18 in Tromso
226 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to Clarion Collection Hotel Aurora? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Clarion Collection Hotel Aurora

Property: Clarion Collection Hotel Aurora
Address: Sjoegata 19-21, Tromso 9008, Norway (Formerly Clarion Hotel Bryggen)
Phone Number:
Region: Norway > Northern Norway > Troms > Tromso
Amenities:
Bar / Lounge Business Centre with Internet Access Fitness Centre with Gym / Workout Room Free Breakfast Free High Speed Internet ( WiFi ) Pets Allowed ( Dog / Pet Friendly ) Shuttle Bus service Suites Wheelchair access
Hotel Style:
#2 Luxury Hotel in Tromso
#2 Business Hotel in Tromso
#4 Romantic Hotel in Tromso
Price Range (Based on Average Rates): ££
Hotel Class:4 star — Clarion Collection Hotel Aurora 4*
Number of rooms: 121
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
Modern design on the pier! Feel the snow in your hair while resting in our outdoor jacuzzi under the Northern lights or during the summer while sun is shining all day and all night. Our excellent staff will be more than happy to serve you at all times whether it is regarding adventure bookings, restaurant recommendations or other enquiries you might have. We offer coffee/tea and a selection of fruits all day, homemade pasteries or wafles in the afternoon and an evening buffet with salads, soup, hot dish and dessert - all of this FREE OF CHARGE!Fantastic sea view from the diningroom, the outdoor jacuzzi and some of our superior rooms. All common areas were renovated in 2012 an all rooms got new floors, new easy chairs and new fabrics. All bathrooms have heated floors. The hotel is very close to all main attractions in Tromso and only a short walk from the Hurtigruten pier, the airport bus and all other buses that will take you around where ever you would like to go. ... more   less 
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Booking.com, Priceline, Odigeo, Hotels.com, Expedia, Ebookers, TripOnline SA, 5viajes2012 S.L., Evoline ltd, HotelQuickly, getaroom.com and Cancelon so you can book your Clarion Collection Hotel Aurora reservations with confidence. We help millions of travellers each month to find the perfect hotel for both holiday and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
Clarion Hotel Tromsø
Clarion Tromso
Tromsø Clarion

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing