We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.
The latest reviews. The lowest prices. The perfect place to shop for hotels.

“business trip” 5 of 5 bubbles
Review of Quality Hotel Saga

Best prices for -
Check In dd/mm/yyyy Check Out dd/mm/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 2 more sites!
Quality Hotel Saga
Ranked #13 of 18 Hotels in Tromso
Bergen, Norway
Level Contributor
9 reviews
9 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 6 helpful votes
“business trip”
5 of 5 bubbles Reviewed 19 November 2013

Exellent hotel with superb service exellent food very quiet in the rooms , waking up to -2 deg below 0 snow and clear weather could it be more perfect try it. Very friendly people in the city it could not be more perfect

Room Tip: room with sea view
See more room tips
  • Stayed November 2013, travelled on business
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Value
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Location
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Rooms
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Service
Helpful?
Thank Tage E
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Write a Review

271 reviews from our community

Traveller rating
    61
    136
    52
    13
    9
See reviews for
37
90
18
69
Rating summary
  • Location
    4.5 of 5 bubbles
  • Sleep Quality
    4 of 5 bubbles
  • Rooms
    3.5 of 5 bubbles
  • Service
    4 of 5 bubbles
  • Value
    4 of 5 bubbles
  • Cleanliness
    4 of 5 bubbles
Traveller tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (42)
Date | Rating
  • Danish first
  • Dutch first
  • English first
  • Finnish first
  • French first
  • German first
  • Italian first
  • Japanese first
  • Norwegian first
  • Polish first
  • Portuguese first
  • Russian first
  • Spanish first
  • Swedish first
  • Any
English first
Bergen
Level Contributor
82 reviews
63 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 36 helpful votes
4 of 5 bubbles Reviewed 31 October 2013

The hotel isn't very fancy, but it is nice and has a central location. I have stayed there twice, and always been taken well care of. The breakfast is not great, but quite sufficient - a nice touch is the 'waffle making hour' - make your own delicious Norwegian waffles every day and have some coffee. I have had a wonderful view both times I have stayed.

  • Stayed October 2013, travelled on business
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Value
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Location
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Sleep Quality
    • 3 of 5 bubbles
      Rooms
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Service
Helpful?
Thank CygnusBergen
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Oslo, Norway
Level Contributor
3 reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 2 helpful votes
4 of 5 bubbles Reviewed 16 April 2013

Nice hotel, good location. Serviceminded staff.Quiet at nights. One could be lucky and get a seaview room (ask for it in the reception). Quality Hotel Saga is located in the centre of Tromsø and offers fullservice conference solutions. Communications is nearby and they have 7 meeting rooms with a capacity of 200 persons in their largest room.

  • Stayed March 2013, travelled on business
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Value
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Location
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Sleep Quality
    • 3 of 5 bubbles
      Rooms
    • 3 of 5 bubbles
      Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Service
Helpful?
1 Thank 19roy42
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Norfolk, UK
Level Contributor
33 reviews
27 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 17 helpful votes
4 of 5 bubbles Reviewed 28 March 2013

Stayed here during my trip to try and see northern lights-1st-4th March ( can now say I've seen them). The hotel had mixed reviews on trip advisor so I was a little wary. But travel agent requested a room in the renovated part which was honoured and I was very pleased. It was small but everything I needed and layout meant I did not feel cramped. As I usually find in Scandinavian countries beds excellent and I love the pillows-so soft! Very grateful for underfloor heating in the bathroom! Clean lines, good decor and lovely view overlooking Tromso cathedral. Pleasant public areas and good breakfast.
It has a rather understated feel and I enjoyed its informality.
Staff helpful when I had a question or two.
My only annoyance is with having too spend so much money on a single room supplement as I was in a single room with a single bed. I was not taking up a double room so this always feels like a rip off.

  • Stayed March 2013, travelled solo
    • 3 of 5 bubbles
      Value
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Location
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Sleep Quality
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Rooms
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Cleanliness
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Service
Helpful?
2 Thank birdwatcher25
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Lake Tahoe
Level Contributor
59 reviews
38 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 24 helpful votes
3 of 5 bubbles Reviewed 18 March 2013

Stayed here for one night when other hotels were sold out and my ship returned to harbor early. So as the last room in tromso, I was given a delux room for 1695 nok for the night. Room was large with a dining table for six and a nice view of the old church across the street. Room/bed was worn and the tele was an old. But considering the lack of a shower for a week I was stoked to be there. Breakfast was crowded and not as nice as the clarion offerings. This is a great location if you book early and want to save some nok from the others nearby hotels with better water views.

  • Stayed March 2013, travelled as a couple
    • 3 of 5 bubbles
      Value
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Location
    • 3 of 5 bubbles
      Sleep Quality
    • 3 of 5 bubbles
      Rooms
    • 3 of 5 bubbles
      Cleanliness
    • 3 of 5 bubbles
      Service
Helpful?
Thank SPGwanderlust
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
London, UK
Level Contributor
26 reviews
6 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 40 helpful votes
4 of 5 bubbles Reviewed 16 March 2013

I stayed here for 5 nights in March 2013, in a twin room. The location is superb in the centre of town, and it's so easy to get around from here. The room wasn't overly huge but there was enough room for the two of us and all our winter luggage. Had a room overlooking the Domkirke, which was quite nice. I initially hoped for a view out the other side, but it's a 2 minute walk around the corner to the waterfront, so it didn't really matter. Room had a mini fridge which was handy for keeping milk. The coffee supplies were not topped up after they ran out (ie one night!) but with free coffee available all day in the lobby area, we quickly learned to grab one on the way into our rooms. Would have been nice for the coffee to be replenished but it didn't worry us enough to complain. Room had plenty of power sockets, which is important when you have cameras, phones and laptops to keep fully charged. Heated bathroom floor was lovely and the shower was quite strong. Bathroom is small, but functional.

Spending our nights out chasing lights meant we did not return to the hotel until 4-5am, and sleeping late. They respected the Do Not Disturb signs and we never heard any noise from cleaners in the hallway - it was very quiet. Really appreciated this.

Breakfast was good enough, and well stocked whenever we ate. Sundays are great with breakfast lasting until 1300. We took advantage of the make your own waffles in the afternoon - a nice treat after coming in from the cold.

WIFI is free - grab the code at reception. The code lasts for 24 hours and seemed to expire before 7am every day. This meant yesterdays code had expired when you woke up each day and you needed to go to reception to get the new code before using the WIFI.

We generally kept to ourselves, but the times we did speak to reception they were friendly and helpful. I absolutely loved Tromso and would have no hesitation staying at Quality Saga again. Great location and a good value hotel.

  • Stayed March 2013, travelled with friends
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Value
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Location
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Sleep Quality
    • 3 of 5 bubbles
      Rooms
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Service
Helpful?
Thank Kimb0lene
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Bristol, United Kingdom
Level Contributor
13 reviews
9 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 8 helpful votes
5 of 5 bubbles Reviewed 14 March 2013

Four of us stayed 5 nights - our rooms were on the small side, with very comfortable beds and they were warm. The rooms well equipped with a kettle, tea/coffee.

The public areas are very pleasant. The buffet breakfast was very extensive. From this area tea and coffee (free) are available all the time and you can make your own waffles (free) every afternoon.

Excellent location in the centre of town - buses (airport transfers, tour trips, local buses) are nearby. Bus company office next door - the 'RundTur' is a great 8 hour trip by local bus, ferries and then a Hurtigruten ship back to Tromso.

There is free high speed WiFi throughout the hotel, as well as a computer for guest use near reception - ideal for flight check in - you can print boarding cards without charge.

All the staff were very friendly, helpful and made us feel very welcome.

We'd definitely come again and highly recommend the hotel.

Room Tip: Ask for a room with a view of the harbour and Arctic Cathedral.
See more room tips
  • Stayed March 2013, travelled with friends
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Value
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Location
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Sleep Quality
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Rooms
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Service
Helpful?
Thank CoastersUK
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Hotels you might also like...
Travellers also viewed these Tromso hotels
0.1 mi away
Comfort Hotel Xpress Tromso
0.2 mi away
Clarion Collection Hotel With
0.1 mi away
Scandic Ishavshotel
Scandic Ishavshotel
#4 of 18 in Tromso
4.0 of 5 bubbles 693 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
0.1 mi away
Clarion Collection Hotel Aurora
0.1 mi away
Radisson Blu Hotel, Tromso
0.1 mi away
Clarion Hotel The Edge
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to Quality Hotel Saga? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Quality Hotel Saga

Property: Quality Hotel Saga
Address: Richard Withs Plass 2, Tromso 9008, Norway
Region: Norway > Northern Norway > Troms > Tromso
Amenities:
Bar / Lounge Free Breakfast Free High Speed Internet ( WiFi ) Pets Allowed ( Dog / Pet Friendly ) Restaurant Wheelchair access
Hotel Style:
Ranked #13 of 18 Hotels in Tromso
Price Range (Based on Average Rates): ££
Hotel Class:3.5 star — Quality Hotel Saga 3.5*
Number of rooms: 66
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Booking.com, Nordic Choice Hotels, Hotels.com, Hotelopia, TravelUp and Odigeo so you can book your Quality Hotel Saga reservations with confidence. We help millions of travellers each month to find the perfect hotel for both holiday and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
Quality Inn Tromsø

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing