We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Great hotel!”

Best prices for -
Check In dd/mm/yyyy Check Out dd/mm/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 9 more sites!
Clarion Collection Hotel With
Ranked #1 of 18 Hotels in Tromso
Certificate of Excellence
GreenLeadersPlatinum level
Reviewed 9 October 2011

This hotel is in a cluster of three around the harbour - so you will get the exact same views as the other (more expensive) two. We stayed here for the last few nights of our honeymoon and it was great. Tromso is pretty small so everything you could need is within walking distance.

Staff were very helpful and friendly. The food was good - only one main course and one soup option each night (plus salad options etc) but it is a 'light' buffet so for that it was very good. Tea and coffee machine is open all day so we would pop in after breakfast and get a takeaway cup each for when we went out which was very welcome.

We loved the 'relax' room on the top floor - it has amazing views with huge skylight windows and a massage chair - bliss.

Our room was on the sixth floor with lovely views over the bay; we had emailed and requested a room with a view. It would have been nice to have a double bed rather than two singles pushed together - as they were wooden frames on a smooth wooden floor we woke to find ourselves about 2ft apart after a night's sleep!

One night the Northern Lights were out brightly so we grabbed some coffees and sat on the seats outside the restaurant room looking out over the harbour. Wonderful!

Room Tip: Rooms at the front have a lovely view, but can have noise from the boat engines outside as you are a...
See more room tips
  • Stayed: October 2011, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
1  Thank suzewearsshoes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Write a ReviewReviews (1,619)
Traveller rating
Traveller type
Time of year
Language
  • More languages

1,154 - 1,160 of 1,619 reviews

Reviewed 5 October 2011

Great Location, Great value for the Free Breakfast, Afternoon Waffle, Easy light Dinner.
Good Value for my 4 nights of Stay, although I did not get a room with a seaview...

  • Stayed: October 2011, travelled with friends
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
1  Thank CustomerSP
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 2 October 2011

I stay almost 100 nights at hotel in Norway every year and know where to stay :-)

Hotel With is my favorite number one. I usually go by car, so the first I have to do is to find a place to park the car. Ask in the reseption if they or the neibour hotell have a place. Kost 120 norwegian kr. each day.

The breakfast is exelent, the same with the evening meal.

In the evening you can walk in the harbor and visit the restaurant Skarven who is famous all over Norway. The people here is frienly and easy to keep in contact with. Early in the evening you also can visit the boat Hurtigruten near by the hotel.

Room Tip: Sea view room have great view.
See more room tips
  • Stayed: September 2011, travelled on business
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Review collected in partnership with NordicChoiceHotels.com
1  Thank Johnsen_PDA
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 30 September 2011

Stayed here in January 2011, 2 rooms for our family for 4 nights. Found the rooms clean with warm cosy feel, certainly not a 5 star standard, but as good a hotel at the 3 to 4 star rating as I've been in. Great view, we had waterfront facing rooms, bathroom was fairly small, but adequate. Breakfast and snacks in the dining area had a good selection, Waffles in afternoon were also popular after day trips/activitiies. Reception was helpful when we needed them, checked in at 2.30am after a delayed flight from London, with no problems. Booked room direct with Hotel by email and everything was as described. Convenient to everything in town, and near a few good restaurants. Would recommend and stay again if we get to Tromso.

Room Tip: Try and get a waterfront view room
See more room tips
  • Stayed: January 2011, travelled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
2  Thank byrontraveler
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 7 September 2011

I am tired of reading politically correct reviews of this dump... let's be honest now instead of trying to paint a pretty picture of something that is not pretty. We stayed at eight hotels or cabins in Norway and two of them were Clarion Collection hotels -- both were real dumps and among the worst four places we stayed while there, but did have the best breakfasts we had in Norway. Now, let me qualify that statement by saying that I really thought Norway was the worst country out of the 48 countries that I have visited because even now that I am home I am still choking over the lack of value in visiting this country -- don't go to Norway unless you like to throw hundred dollar bills on a bonfire for the excitement of watching something burn in a few seconds... although it probably won't burn because it rains constantly in Norway. Come to Colorado instead, where the scenery is almost as beautiful, the weather is spectacular, and the value is much better.

Regarding this hotel in particular, I was expecting so much from the reviews and was so incredibly disappointed that I canceled our second night there, and we moved on. We arrived to find that we had to park in the rain about a block or two away from the hotel... there is apparently no parking at the hotel itself -- there are a few spaces that seemed to be marked for the hotel, but the reception told us that those spots were for security. The parking was about $4.00 per hour. We asked if there was free parking anywhere, and we were told that nothing is free in Norway. We were sent packing off to our room to find a tiny room in a hotel that tries to be so green that it is ridiculous.... at night if you go to the toilet, you have to kick around because the light goes off immediately if you sit still, and there you are in the black. I forgot to turn off the light because it was already black, and went back to bed, and at 3:00 am the light popped on and woke us up. I had asked for a harbor-view room on a high floor, but we were given a room with a trashy alley view on the second floor, so I went down to reception to inquire if we could get a better room, and the person at reception told us that we had gotten some kind of great deal on our room ($170), so I guess that is why it was where it was.... so I guess if you pay for a standard room, you get a really substandard room. The breakfast was good, although you have to cook your own eggs and bacon and juice your own oranges (with an electric juicer) -- I certainly don't mind making my breakfast, but just to let you know, in case you prefer having it already made -- there are other items ready to pick up that don't need to be prepared.

I cannot emphasize enough how ridiculous Norway is for its lack of value... and how much trying to be "green" has enabled these horrible hotels to limit rooms to a tiny size, with little or no a/c, paper-towel thin towels, a squeeze bottle on the wall with solution that is supposed to wash hands, hair and everything... when you pay prices that buy you a deluxe room at many places in the US, you just don't expect a room from the 1950s in the US.

I can say that we went to the Lofoten Islands and rented fishermen's cabins and thought they were very nice and worth the cost, as well as a camping type cabin in the Hardangerfjord area (outside of Bergen), but hotels are horrible in this country -- the other Clarion Collection hotel where we stayed (in Trondheim) cost us $350 for one night, and the room was about the same size and quality as this one, and there were about 20 laundry carts parked around in the hall outside of our room, with both clean and dirty laundry, which were there for the entire time that we were there. As long as people continue to go to Norway and stay at these dumps, I guess they will remain the same, so maybe if we don't give them business they will start trying to make themselves a little more palatable.

  • Stayed: August 2011, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Sleep Quality
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
10  Thank lovetoexploreplaces
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
MrManagerMan, General Manager at Clarion Collection Hotel With, responded to this reviewResponded 12 September 2011

Hi! We are really sorry that you did not like Norway as a country and the hotel standard here. We respect your opinion and we really see that your stay in our country was not satisfying. I can only comment our hotel and your review on us.
Being top 3 hotel in Tromsø on TripAdvisor.com is not about how much luxary you can expect. It's about what you feel when you check out. With our 76 rooms we focus on atmosphere and giving our guests a feeling of "home". Here you can enjoy breakfast, waffles and a light evening buffet for free. Actually we do not charge anything for this. The price of our rooms are based on what other hotels in Tromsø charge. And yes, Norway is expensive! And thats why we are a very good alternative to hotels where you only get breakfast.

Half of our rooms have sea view, the other half not. Depending on what your purpose of your stay is you can either choose the more expensive sea view or the cheaper alternative with no view. Regardless of your choice, you are still perfectly located in the city center and close to the sea.

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 6 September 2011

Stayed here whilst waiting for Hurtigen late departure cruise. Arrived early and Management allowed me to put things in room immediately. He was so helpful and lovely. Confusion with Credit machine on check-out and charged after we left at different rate to that quoted, but an email to Management brought prompt response that credit would be issued.
Will stay here next trip to beautiful Tromso.

  • Stayed: August 2011, travelled with family
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
1  Thank rarnett
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 3 September 2011

Stayed one night at this hotel.

Pro: Great waterfront view. New bathroom. Clean. Free wifi
Con: Small room, no restaurant / pub in the evening

Room Tip: Ask for seaside-view
See more room tips
  • Stayed: September 2011, travelled on business
    • Value
    • Sleep Quality
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank Oslo13
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
MrManagerMan, General Manager at Clarion Collection Hotel With, responded to this reviewResponded 5 September 2011

Hi! We are really sorry that you didn't get convinced. We try to give every customer a perfect stay and we feel that we very often succeed. In your case we did not live up to the expectations. We are really sorry for this.

Just some remarks to your review:
- we do have rooms in different sizes/categories
- we do serve alcohol and many of our guests likes to enjoy a Mack beer (Mack is the northes brewery in the world) in our restaurant or library. Many of our guests also likes to enjoy the pubs, cafes and night clubs that are located close to the hotel. We are close, but do not get all the noise from them.
- our concept is that all guests have included a light evening buffet in the room price. From 6 to 9pm every day our guests can eat todays warm soup and todays warm dinner. And because of this we do not have a restaurant. When our guests wants to try something else than our light evening buffet they can choose from many good restaurants in the city center.

If you are coming back to Tromsø, let us know. We want to give you a better experience:-)

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Hotels you might also like...
Travellers also viewed these Tromso hotels
0.1 mi away
Scandic Ishavshotel
Scandic Ishavshotel
#2 of 18 in Tromso
403 reviews
0.2 mi away
Clarion Hotel The Edge
0.1 mi away
Radisson Blu Hotel, Tromso
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
0.3 mi away
Comfort Hotel Xpress Tromso
0 mi away
Clarion Collection Hotel Aurora
0.2 mi away
Scandic Grand Tromso
Scandic Grand Tromso
#7 of 18 in Tromso
571 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to Clarion Collection Hotel With? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Clarion Collection Hotel With

Address: Sjogata 35-37, Tromso 9291, Norway
Phone Number:
Region: Norway > Northern Norway > Troms > Tromso
Amenities:
Bar / Lounge Beverage Selection Fitness Centre with Gym / Workout Room Free Breakfast Free High Speed Internet ( WiFi ) Restaurant Suites Wheelchair access
Hotel Style:
#1 Green Hotel in Tromso
#1 Romantic Hotel in Tromso
#3 Business Hotel in Tromso
Price Range: £93 - £215 (Based on Average Rates for a Standard Room)
Hotel Class:3.5 star — Clarion Collection Hotel With 3.5*
Number of rooms: 76
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
Clarion Collection Hotel With is perfectly located in the harbor of the city center. Here you are only 50 meters away from the main street of Tromso, close to restaurants and shopping. At all Clarion Collection Hotels the guests have included breakfast, coffee/tea all day, waffles from 15:00(3pm)to 18:00(6pm) and light evening buffet from 18:00(6pm) to 21:00(9pm). The light evening buffet consists of one hot soup, one hot dish and bread. Not a big dinner buffet, but for most of our guests a really satisfying dinner. This makes Clarion Collection Hotel With a really cheap alternative for tourists visiting Tromso. We also offer a relax room with sauna and a steam room at the top of the hotel. Welcome to a warm and friendly hotel where you can feel at home. ... more   less 
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Nordic Choice Hotels, Expedia, Hotels.com, TripOnline SA, Ebookers, HotelsClick, getaroom.com, HotelQuickly, 5viajes2012 S.L. and Cancelon so you can book your Clarion Collection Hotel With reservations with confidence. We help millions of travellers each month to find the perfect hotel for both holiday and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
Clarion Collection With Hotel
Clarion Collection Tromsø
Clarion Tromso
Tromsø Clarion

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing