We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.
The latest reviews. The lowest prices. The perfect place to shop for hotels.

“Fantastic hotel in a perfect location for exploring Tromso and beyond” 4 of 5 bubbles
Review of Clarion Collection Hotel With

Best prices for -
Check In dd/mm/yyyy Check Out dd/mm/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 3 more sites!
Clarion Collection Hotel With
Ranked #1 of 18 Hotels in Tromso
Certificate of Excellence
GreenLeadersPlatinum level
London, UK
Level Contributor
6 reviews
6 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 33 helpful votes
“Fantastic hotel in a perfect location for exploring Tromso and beyond”
4 of 5 bubbles Reviewed 26 February 2008

We choose this hotel on the strength of the Trip Advisor reviews, as did a number of others we met, and were not disappointed. A prefect location in the centre of Tromso with amazing views over the harbour to the famous Ice Cathedral. The rooms are clean and a good size with under floor heating in the bathroom which was very welcome. Towels are in abundance which makes a chance from some hotels we've stayedin previously. The staff are very friendly and most speak perfect english so are only too happy to help. Another plus point is that the housekeeping staff do not start cleaning room until after 10.30 so there is no chance of being woken at some ridiculous time like in some other hotels! Finally, the sauna and steam facilities on the 6th Floor (take the lift to the 5th floor and go up the wooden steps) are a must for the views and the free beer even if it is only 2.5%!!

Some tips:

Tromo - a University town where there is not a huge amount to do in the winter. Polaria is worth a visit for the seal show alone but you can only spin it out to an hour or so at the very most. The walk across the bridge is a must for some great pictures of the harbour and the Ice Cathedral. The Mack brewery tour is also, apparently, worth a visit but beware that it is only done Monday-Thursday and starts at 13.30. The cable car is closed in the winter.

Walking conditions - make sure, in the winter, you have sturdy footwear as some of the pavements and roads are impacted ice and impossible to walk in normal shoes/boots.

Food - restaurants in Tromso are very expensive and it's almost impossible to get a table at a good restaurant unless you book ahead (we asked the receptionists to do this for us). The Biff Hauset was very good and we would recommend the Reindeer for those brave enough to try it. In terms of the hotel offerings, the breakfast was adequate but what stood out for us was the extras such as the afternoon waffles, the tea/coffee/hot chocolate and the evening "light meal". Unfortunately dinner started at 6pm and as most evening trip pick ups were at this time we didn't get to try it but it looked good.

Trips - don't worry about booking trips before you get there as the Tourist Information are extremely helpful and happy to do this on your behalf. However, I think they are closed at weekends or have very restricted hours on Saturday so don't leave booking your weekend trips until Saturday. The one trip we did book before leaving the UK was dog sledging with Artic Pathfinders, a company who doesn't advertise through the Tourist Information office, which was fantastic and well worth it. We were the only two on the trip and our guide Marco couldn't have been anymore helpful allowing us to drive the huskies and taking us on a 12km ride through the snow! The other trip we did was with Kjetil Skloli called "chasing the northern lights" (booked through the Tourist Info). He is a photographer and has been known to drive to the Finnish border, 2 hours drive, to catch the Lights so we were advised that this was our best chance of seeing them. He's not the most talkative person in the world, it would have been nice to have an introductory discussion about what the Lights actually are, but the experience of seeing the Lights more than makes up for it. A good camera is a must!!! A word of warning for this trip is that you do stay outside for about 6/8 hours, it was -4 when we were there, and although Kjetil has thermal suits in the van he doesn't offer them until you are on the point of frost bite. Ask for them as soon as you get to the location as it doesn't matter how many layers you have on. Also, make sure he lights the fire as he kept talking about it to us but never quite did it! We met some fab people on this trip (hello to everyone from London) so it's well worth it.

Sundays - Tromso lterally shuts down on a Sunday (all shops and attractions are closed) so make sure you book a day time trip if you feel the need to be active.

Overall we had a fantastic time in both Tromso and the Clarion Collection With. The location in the centre of town was perfect and the hotel had good sized rooms, amazing views and friendly staff.

  • Liked — Friendly staff, amazing views, good sized clean rooms, the sauna facilities, afternoon waffles (a must) & the light dinner
  • Disliked — Rooms could sometimes be too warm
  • Stayed February 2008, travelled as a couple
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Value
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Location
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Check-in / front desk
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Rooms
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Cleanliness
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Service
Helpful?
2 Thank BagpussLondon
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Write a Review

1,456 reviews from our community

Traveller rating
    883
    460
    87
    17
    9
See reviews for
190
773
102
116
Rating summary
  • Location
    5 of 5 bubbles
  • Sleep Quality
    4.5 of 5 bubbles
  • Rooms
    4.5 of 5 bubbles
  • Service
    4.5 of 5 bubbles
  • Value
    4.5 of 5 bubbles
  • Cleanliness
    4.5 of 5 bubbles
Traveller tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (392)
Date | Rating
  • Chinese (Traditional) first
  • Chinese (Simplified) first
  • Czech first
  • Danish first
  • Dutch first
  • English first
  • French first
  • German first
  • Hebrew first
  • Italian first
  • Japanese first
  • Korean first
  • Norwegian first
  • Polish first
  • Portuguese first
  • Russian first
  • Spanish first
  • Swedish first
  • Any
English first
Chapel Hill
Level Contributor
87 reviews
73 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 39 helpful votes
5 of 5 bubbles Reviewed 28 December 2007

While the overall hotel and accommodations were clean and pleasant, they were nothing out of the ordinary. It was the view from our room that was awesome, but this is very room dependent. The staff was nice enough to switch us once a room was available that had a better view. We could see the harbor area, the cathedral, and the mountains. The location is also very convenient, for walking around the main shopping and dinning area of Tromso, and for catching the bus for ship tours of glaciers and mountains. The afternoon snacks, with enough to make a dinner out of, was a great bonus, since Norway is so very, very expensive. The breakfast was also excellent, you could squeeze your own fresh orange juice and make your own eggs and bacon. The staff was generally very friendly and helpful. Finally, the free wireless was nice to have, to keep in touch with family and friends back home.

  • Liked — The views from the room.
  • Disliked — No complaints, everything was excellent.
  • Stayed September 2007, travelled on business
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Value
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Location
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Check-in / front desk
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Rooms
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Service
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Business service (e.g., internet access)
Helpful?
5 Thank Heels23
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Bergen, Norway
Level Contributor
7 reviews
7 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 40 helpful votes
4 of 5 bubbles Reviewed 31 March 2007

Hotel With is located right on the quay in Tromsø - a two-minute walk from Storgata which is *the* centre of Tromsø. Everything in the town centre is within easy walking distance of the hotel, and the airport bus stops near the hotel.

Our standard twin room was quite large, and had two very comfy beds, two armchairs and a small table, and a decent-sized work desk. The bathroom was a bit small (shower only, no bathtub). Amenities included a mini-bar, trouser press, hair dryer, and a TV with a rather limited selection of channels. Free WiFi is available throughout the hotel.

It is quite essential to ask for a room with a view - from our room we had excellent views of the Arctic cathedral, the bridge and the harbour.

A quite average buffet breakfast is included - breads and breadrolls, crispbread and crackers, cereals, yoghurt and fruit, and a somewhat limited selection of cheese, cold meats, jam... plus boiled eggs, scrambled eggs and sausages. Not the best hotel breakfast I've had, but not exactly bad either.

An evening meal is also included at Clarion Collection Hotel With - a buffet which, when we were there, consisted of one hot dish (looked like lasagna), various salads, bread / breadrolls, cheese, cold meats and fruits.

Room rates at Clarion Collection Hotel With usually start at ca 1000 NOK for a double room - and I'd say that's a very good deal!

  • Stayed March 2007
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Value
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Location
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Check-in / front desk
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Rooms
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Business service (e.g., internet access)
Helpful?
11 Thank MetteS
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Sufflok UK
Level Contributor
3 reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 18 helpful votes
5 of 5 bubbles Reviewed 9 March 2007

No complaints at all..Chose due to previous review...Superb location, close to all major amenties. Get bus from airport, all other local trips on foot/bus. Food fine, views from sea view rooms excellent. Room comfortable, warm and welcoming.
Can see Northern Lights from room/outside HOWEVER a trip out of town (destination Tromso website, Holmslett farm) is an absolute must. 3 days in town, two superb night displays. We will be back. Get sea view room...603 if possible!!!!! costs a bit more but absolutely worth it.

Stayed February 2007
Helpful?
14 Thank SufflokUKFred
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
north lincolnshire
Level Contributor
25 reviews
23 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 44 helpful votes
4 of 5 bubbles Reviewed 28 February 2007

Stayed for a week in February 2007. Room was large, clean and warm with great views of Tromso habour, the Ice Cathedral and the mountains beyond. Excellent position for bars and restaurants, although if you want to eat out make sure you book in advance. We couldn't get into a restaurant on a snowy thurs night. Staff very helpful and polite. Breakfast good, both hot and cold choices. Free waffles in the afternoon. Didn't use the spa but had a look at it and would have liked to use it if we had time.

Go to the Tourist Information Centre to book trips as they give a better deal to the guides. Went out with Kjetil Skloli to photo the Northern Lights. He was brill. Went to his house before for Reindeer Stew and red wine. He then took us into the wilderness and helped me get some great photos. His email is foto@kskogli.no. Also booked through Tourist information dog sledding, snow mobiling and cross country skiing. Can recommend them all with very patient and interesting guides, who were as interested in us as we were in them.

One of the best holidays we've ever had, and we've been around!

Stayed February 2007
Helpful?
16 Thank debbsp
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Dublin
Level Contributor
4 reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 15 helpful votes
5 of 5 bubbles Reviewed 5 November 2006

Excellent value (for Norway); effectively full board: breakfast, free afternoon waffles that you cook yourself and evening buffet with hot and cold dishes. Staff friendly and helpful. Room was spacious and bathroom had heated floor, though strangely no bath. Ask for room with a view of the harbour. Free wifi. Excellent central location.

Stayed October 2006
Helpful?
14 Thank Fran&Olwyn
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Norway
Level Contributor
29 reviews
29 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 74 helpful votes
4 of 5 bubbles Reviewed 13 October 2006

Stayed in a single room from 9.-12. oct 2006. A lot of space for a standard single room, was very lucky to get a room with a seaview - could see the harbour, mountains and the cathedral.
Bathroom ok, heated floor, shower, but no bathtub. Great bed, 25 inch tv, no newschannels though. Minibar and the usual stuff.
The rest of the hotel: relax area on the top floor, free beer! (2,5 % though), fruits and Norwegian newspapers, sauna and steamsauna (which was out of order during my whole stay), tv etc, no jacuzzi or swimmingpool though.
Food: ok breakfast, the usual stuff, but less choice here than in comparable hotels of this prize, plus: free evening buffet with one hot meal, "vaffler" and coffee for free during the day
Staff: Very serviceminded and efficient.
Atmosphere: Very relaxing and cozy. Not the typical hectic hotel, less suits here compared to the other Clarion (same owner) hotel across the street.

  • Liked — Free of stress
  • Disliked — Too crowded dining area, dirty dishes were not removed for 10-20 minutes
  • Tips/Secrets — Try out the "vafler" with the norwegian speciality - brown cheese.
  • Stayed October 2006, travelled on business
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Value
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Location
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Check-in / front desk
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Rooms
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Service
    • 3 of 5 bubbles
      Business service (e.g., internet access)
Helpful?
17 Thank DocHeitmann
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Hotels you might also like...
Travellers also viewed these Tromso hotels
0.2 mi away
Clarion Hotel The Edge
0.1 mi away
Scandic Ishavshotel
Scandic Ishavshotel
#4 of 18 in Tromso
4.0 of 5 bubbles 693 reviews
0.0 mi away
Clarion Collection Hotel Aurora
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
0.3 mi away
Comfort Hotel Xpress Tromso
0.1 mi away
Radisson Blu Hotel, Tromso
0.2 mi away
City Living Hotel & Apartments
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to Clarion Collection Hotel With? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Clarion Collection Hotel With

Property: Clarion Collection Hotel With
Address: Sjogata 35-37, Tromso 9291, Norway
Region: Norway > Northern Norway > Troms > Tromso
Amenities:
Bar / Lounge Beverage Selection Fitness Centre with Gym / Workout Room Free Breakfast Free High Speed Internet ( WiFi ) Restaurant Suites Wheelchair access
Hotel Style:
#1 Green Hotel in Tromso
#1 Family Hotel in Tromso
#1 Romantic Hotel in Tromso
#3 Business Hotel in Tromso
Price Range (Based on Average Rates): ££
Hotel Class:3.5 star — Clarion Collection Hotel With 3.5*
Number of rooms: 76
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
Clarion Collection Hotel With is perfectly located in the harbor of the city center. Here you are only 50 meters away from the main street of Tromso, close to restaurants and shopping. At all Clarion Collection Hotels the guests have included breakfast, coffee/tea all day, waffles from 15:00(3pm)to 18:00(6pm) and light evening buffet from 18:00(6pm) to 21:00(9pm). The light evening buffet consists of one hot soup, one hot dish and bread. Not a big dinner buffet, but for most of our guests a really satisfying dinner. This makes Clarion Collection Hotel With a really cheap alternative for tourists visiting Tromso. We also offer a relax room with sauna and a steam room at the top of the hotel. Welcome to a warm and friendly hotel where you can feel at home. ... more   less 
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Nordic Choice Hotels, Booking.com, Agoda, Expedia, Odigeo and Hotels.com so you can book your Clarion Collection Hotel With reservations with confidence. We help millions of travellers each month to find the perfect hotel for both holiday and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
Clarion Collection With Hotel
Clarion Collection Tromsø
Clarion Tromso
Tromsø Clarion

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing