We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“the best choice”

Best prices for -
Check In dd/mm/yyyy Check Out dd/mm/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 12 more sites!
Clarion Collection Hotel With
Ranked #1 of 18 Hotels in Tromso
Certificate of Excellence
GreenLeadersPlatinum level
Carmel, CA
1 review
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 3 helpful votes
“the best choice”
Reviewed 21 September 2012

Various factors prompted me to reserve this hotel for my daughter for two days as she arrived from the USA to attend University of Tromos. What good luck. it was fine in all respects - clean, helpful staff, great location. But best of all is the inclusion of breakfast, afternoon waffles and light buffet in the evening. The sticker shock at restaurants in Norway is significant. Having this food included in the price makes this hotel a true bargain.

  • Stayed August 2012, travelled solo
    • Value
    • Service
Helpful?
3 Thank CSPCarmel_CA
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Write a Review

1,514 reviews from our community

Traveller rating
    906
    487
    91
    21
    9
See reviews for
200
801
106
125
Rating summary
  • Location
  • Sleep Quality
  • Rooms
  • Service
  • Value
  • Cleanliness
Traveller tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (400)
Date | Rating
  • Chinese (Traditional) first
  • Chinese (Simplified) first
  • Czech first
  • Danish first
  • Dutch first
  • English first
  • French first
  • German first
  • Hebrew first
  • Italian first
  • Japanese first
  • Korean first
  • Norwegian first
  • Polish first
  • Portuguese first
  • Russian first
  • Spanish first
  • Swedish first
  • Any
English first
Ensenada, Mexico
Level 5 Contributor
56 reviews
11 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 21 helpful votes
Reviewed 21 September 2012

I looooved this little hotel since I came into the door by midnight on Friday. Johan the guy on the desk knew my name and brought us sandwiches and yoghurt in the middle of the night hence our hunger. By the morning we enjoyed the sight and hit the buffet downstairs which had a large selection of sandwich toppings, from fried eggs to herring, you can make your own orange juice in here! It features a spa/workout room, free waffles in the afternoons, oh well, what else could have we asked for a better weekend? We are definitely staying here whenever coming back to Tromso.

Room Tip: They will ask you for 100 kroner extra a night for ocean view but its completely worth it.
See more room tips
  • Stayed September 2012, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
2 Thank BiancaCinelli
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Sverige
Level 6 Contributor
375 reviews
140 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 111 helpful votes
Reviewed 18 September 2012 via mobile

Small single rooms and hard to black out the light from the window. The outside view was construction work and some seaview if you leaned and looked carefully. Very good breakfast with most items you expect from a Scandinavian hotel. In the evning they serve waffles and later on a free light dinner, which is sufficient so you do not have to find an expensive restaurant in the city.

Stayed September 2012, travelled on business
Helpful?
1 Thank ResenarSverige
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Malta
Level 1 Contributor
3 reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 1 helpful vote
Reviewed 12 September 2012

The hotel is in a great location. All major attractions of Tromso could be reached on foot. Room was idyllic, with a fantastic harbour view and distant view of the Arctic Cathedral. Since we were there in August, and at this time of year , in Tromso, it doesn't get dark; the blackout curtains were greatly appreciated :-) Staff were very friendly and helpfull. The included buffet dinner, was a very nice surprise, it was very well co-ordinated and food was varied (myself being a vegetarian) and tasty. One also gets waffles at 4pm, which are a great treat after a day spent walking around Tromso. I totally recommend this hotel, and should my path cross Tromso again, I would surely return!!

  • Stayed August 2012, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
1 Thank c0r80
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Sydney, Australia
Level 3 Contributor
19 reviews
6 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 31 helpful votes
Reviewed 7 September 2012

Great location in the heart of Tromso.
Included breakfast and supper were surprisingly good, and the included make your own waffles also appreciated.

Don't expect to get a room with a view, unless you want to pay a surcharge, but you can see the water from the dining room, and walk straight form the dining room on to the promenade, so not a big deal.

Definitely recommended.

  • Stayed August 2012, travelled with friends
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
1 Thank DR99_01
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Ottawa, Canada
Level 3 Contributor
17 reviews
3 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 4 helpful votes
Reviewed 30 August 2012

Great location, perfect accommodations 300km above the Arctic Circle, exceptional service. We had such a great time in the summer - but only 36 hours in Tromso - that we are planning to go back in the winter, with more time in Tromso, and at this hotel.

Room Tip: Ask for a room with a view
See more room tips
  • Stayed July 2012, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
2 Thank Caroline W
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Level 2 Contributor
7 reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 5 helpful votes
Reviewed 26 August 2012

We spent four nights in this lovely hotel. We were in room 515 which is light and airy with two windows overlooking the waterfront. The staff were friendly, helpful and courteous. The free meals were of good quality with plenty of choice. We particularly liked the DIY meusli and fresh oranges to juice for breakfast. We didn't need to eat again until the evening when we could have had a five course dinner, starting with soup and ending with cheese and crackers, if we'd wanted.

We had been warned that "Tromso parties" so we weren't surprised by the noise levels, both in and around the hotel, but that has affected the overall rating given.

Room Tip: Rooms overlooking the waterfront have a beautiful view. You can sit and watch the world float by!
See more room tips
  • Stayed August 2012, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
1 Thank Orkney2009
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Hotels you might also like...
Travellers also viewed these Tromso hotels
0.2 mi away
Clarion Hotel The Edge
0.1 mi away
Scandic Ishavshotel
Scandic Ishavshotel
#3 of 18 in Tromso
260 reviews
0.1 mi away
Radisson Blu Hotel, Tromso
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
0.3 mi away
Comfort Hotel Xpress Tromso
0.0 mi away
Clarion Collection Hotel Aurora
0.3 mi away
Viking Hotell Tromso
Viking Hotell Tromso
#13 of 18 in Tromso
448 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to Clarion Collection Hotel With? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Clarion Collection Hotel With

Property: Clarion Collection Hotel With
Address: Sjogata 35-37, Tromso 9291, Norway
Region: Norway > Northern Norway > Troms > Tromso
Amenities:
Bar / Lounge Beverage Selection Fitness Centre with Gym / Workout Room Free Breakfast Free High Speed Internet ( WiFi ) Restaurant Suites Wheelchair access
Hotel Style:
#1 Romantic Hotel in Tromso
#1 Family Hotel in Tromso
#1 Green Hotel in Tromso
#3 Business Hotel in Tromso
Price Range (Based on Average Rates): ££
Hotel Class:3.5 star — Clarion Collection Hotel With 3.5*
Number of rooms: 76
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
Clarion Collection Hotel With is perfectly located in the harbor of the city center. Here you are only 50 meters away from the main street of Tromso, close to restaurants and shopping. At all Clarion Collection Hotels the guests have included breakfast, coffee/tea all day, waffles from 15:00(3pm)to 18:00(6pm) and light evening buffet from 18:00(6pm) to 21:00(9pm). The light evening buffet consists of one hot soup, one hot dish and bread. Not a big dinner buffet, but for most of our guests a really satisfying dinner. This makes Clarion Collection Hotel With a really cheap alternative for tourists visiting Tromso. We also offer a relax room with sauna and a steam room at the top of the hotel. Welcome to a warm and friendly hotel where you can feel at home. ... more   less 
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Nordic Choice Hotels, Priceline, Booking.com, Ctrip TA, Hotels.com, Ebookers, Expedia, TripOnline SA, 5viajes2012 S.L., Evoline ltd, HotelQuickly, getaroom.com and Cancelon so you can book your Clarion Collection Hotel With reservations with confidence. We help millions of travellers each month to find the perfect hotel for both holiday and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
Clarion Collection With Hotel
Clarion Collection Tromsø
Clarion Tromso
Tromsø Clarion

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing