We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“a nice place to stay in Tromso”

Best prices for -
Check In dd/mm/yyyy Check Out dd/mm/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 12 more sites!
Clarion Collection Hotel With
Ranked #1 of 18 Hotels in Tromso
Certificate of Excellence
GreenLeadersPlatinum level
Reviewed 28 September 2012

We enjoyed our one-night stay and wish we could have extended it. Got a warm welcome from a very friendly reception staff with a bowl of chocolate chip cookies on the counter! Our room had a sea view and was clean and comfortable, though my husband kept banging his head on the very sloped ceiling! The food at breakfast and dinner was good. Not gourmet, but tasty and generous. We were surprised though to see that the highly-recommended waffles in the afteroon were self-service on one waffle iron so there was a long wait. A friendly place in a sweet picturesque town.

  • Stayed: July 2012, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
2  Thank sarahtg
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Write a Review
Reviews (1,570)
Traveller rating
Traveller type
Time of year
Language
  • More languages

1,023 - 1,029 of 1,570 reviews

Reviewed 24 September 2012

The wonderful views and locale are what made this stay very special. Hotel rooms are nice, ask for view of harbor- worth it! Deluxe rooms are spacious and lux. fourth floor is nice. Staff were super, very helpful and friendly on all levels. Loved the decor- yes, like being on a ship! Sauna upstairs was a life saver.....ask for entry ===amazing view of the harbor area and mountains!!! while taking a sauna. Clean, safe, near all the shops and clubs- good hot meals morning and night- waffles in the afternoon- what a treat. Take a cab from the airport overland (not through the long tunnel) for another treat, the views are great and same price as the airbus limo services.
We ended up extending our stay, a few days- loved the town and the hotel made it very easy to stay on, relaxed and generous. Thanks for a magical experience of Northern Norway Clarion!

Room Tip: Get a room facing the harbor, for longer stay get the larger room- very spacious and lux.
See more room tips
  • Stayed: August 2012, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
2  Thank CinnamonGirl007
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 21 September 2012

Various factors prompted me to reserve this hotel for my daughter for two days as she arrived from the USA to attend University of Tromos. What good luck. it was fine in all respects - clean, helpful staff, great location. But best of all is the inclusion of breakfast, afternoon waffles and light buffet in the evening. The sticker shock at restaurants in Norway is significant. Having this food included in the price makes this hotel a true bargain.

  • Stayed: August 2012, travelled solo
    • Value
    • Service
3  Thank CSPCarmel_CA
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 21 September 2012

I looooved this little hotel since I came into the door by midnight on Friday. Johan the guy on the desk knew my name and brought us sandwiches and yoghurt in the middle of the night hence our hunger. By the morning we enjoyed the sight and hit the buffet downstairs which had a large selection of sandwich toppings, from fried eggs to herring, you can make your own orange juice in here! It features a spa/workout room, free waffles in the afternoons, oh well, what else could have we asked for a better weekend? We are definitely staying here whenever coming back to Tromso.

Room Tip: They will ask you for 100 kroner extra a night for ocean view but its completely worth it.
See more room tips
  • Stayed: September 2012, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
2  Thank BiancaCinelli
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 18 September 2012

Small single rooms and hard to black out the light from the window. The outside view was construction work and some seaview if you leaned and looked carefully. Very good breakfast with most items you expect from a Scandinavian hotel. In the evning they serve waffles and later on a free light dinner, which is sufficient so you do not have to find an expensive restaurant in the city.

Stayed: September 2012, travelled on business
1  Thank ResenarSverige
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 12 September 2012

The hotel is in a great location. All major attractions of Tromso could be reached on foot. Room was idyllic, with a fantastic harbour view and distant view of the Arctic Cathedral. Since we were there in August, and at this time of year , in Tromso, it doesn't get dark; the blackout curtains were greatly appreciated :-) Staff were very friendly and helpfull. The included buffet dinner, was a very nice surprise, it was very well co-ordinated and food was varied (myself being a vegetarian) and tasty. One also gets waffles at 4pm, which are a great treat after a day spent walking around Tromso. I totally recommend this hotel, and should my path cross Tromso again, I would surely return!!

  • Stayed: August 2012, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
1  Thank c0r80
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 7 September 2012

Great location in the heart of Tromso.
Included breakfast and supper were surprisingly good, and the included make your own waffles also appreciated.

Don't expect to get a room with a view, unless you want to pay a surcharge, but you can see the water from the dining room, and walk straight form the dining room on to the promenade, so not a big deal.

Definitely recommended.

  • Stayed: August 2012, travelled with friends
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
1  Thank DR99_01
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Hotels you might also like...
Travellers also viewed these Tromso hotels
0.1 mi away
Scandic Ishavshotel
Scandic Ishavshotel
#2 of 18 in Tromso
332 reviews
0.2 mi away
Clarion Hotel The Edge
0.1 mi away
Radisson Blu Hotel, Tromso
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
0.3 mi away
Comfort Hotel Xpress Tromso
0.0 mi away
Clarion Collection Hotel Aurora
0.2 mi away
Scandic Grand Tromso
Scandic Grand Tromso
#9 of 18 in Tromso
514 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to Clarion Collection Hotel With? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Clarion Collection Hotel With

Address: Sjogata 35-37, Tromso 9291, Norway
Region: Norway > Northern Norway > Troms > Tromso
Amenities:
Bar / Lounge Beverage Selection Fitness Centre with Gym / Workout Room Free Breakfast Free High Speed Internet ( WiFi ) Restaurant Suites Wheelchair access
Hotel Style:
#1 Family Hotel in Tromso
#1 Romantic Hotel in Tromso
#1 Green Hotel in Tromso
#3 Business Hotel in Tromso
Price Range: £104 - £224 (Based on Average Rates for a Standard Room)
Hotel Class:3.5 star — Clarion Collection Hotel With 3.5*
Number of rooms: 76
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
Clarion Collection Hotel With is perfectly located in the harbor of the city center. Here you are only 50 meters away from the main street of Tromso, close to restaurants and shopping. At all Clarion Collection Hotels the guests have included breakfast, coffee/tea all day, waffles from 15:00(3pm)to 18:00(6pm) and light evening buffet from 18:00(6pm) to 21:00(9pm). The light evening buffet consists of one hot soup, one hot dish and bread. Not a big dinner buffet, but for most of our guests a really satisfying dinner. This makes Clarion Collection Hotel With a really cheap alternative for tourists visiting Tromso. We also offer a relax room with sauna and a steam room at the top of the hotel. Welcome to a warm and friendly hotel where you can feel at home. ... more   less 
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Booking.com, Odigeo, Expedia, Hotels.com, TripOnline SA, Evoline ltd, HotelsClick, Ebookers, getaroom.com, Cancelon, HotelQuickly and 5viajes2012 S.L. so you can book your Clarion Collection Hotel With reservations with confidence. We help millions of travellers each month to find the perfect hotel for both holiday and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
Clarion Collection With Hotel
Clarion Collection Tromsø
Clarion Tromso
Tromsø Clarion

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing