We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Everything We Expected And More”

Best prices for -
Check In dd/mm/yyyy Check Out dd/mm/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 10 more sites!
Clarion Collection Hotel With
Ranked #1 of 18 Hotels in Tromso
Certificate of Excellence
GreenLeadersPlatinum level
Bath, United Kingdom
Level Contributor
25 reviews
15 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 13 helpful votes
“Everything We Expected And More”
5 of 5 bubbles Reviewed 1 December 2012

We stayed in Tromso for six nights and choose to stay at the Clarion With due to good reviews on Trip Advisor and we were not disappointed!

The hotel staff were friendly and helpful and the hotel was comfortable and clean. We did ask for a harbour view but on arrival we had an upgraded room but without the harbor view. The room was large and spacious and we were very happy to stay in the room (even though the hotel offered to change are room to a harbour view) because we saw an amazing Northern Lights display from our Juliet balcany which faced north west!

The food was good and included breakfast, afternoon waffles and a light supper. Overall we were very happy and would highly recommend the Clarion With.

  • Stayed November 2012, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
1 Thank ClaireP1
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Write a Review

1,477 reviews from our community

Traveller rating
    896
    467
    87
    18
    9
See reviews for
193
783
103
120
Rating summary
  • Location
    5 of 5 bubbles
  • Sleep Quality
    4.5 of 5 bubbles
  • Rooms
    4.5 of 5 bubbles
  • Service
    4.5 of 5 bubbles
  • Value
    4.5 of 5 bubbles
  • Cleanliness
    4.5 of 5 bubbles
Traveller tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (396)
Date | Rating
  • Chinese (Traditional) first
  • Chinese (Simplified) first
  • Czech first
  • Danish first
  • Dutch first
  • English first
  • French first
  • German first
  • Hebrew first
  • Italian first
  • Japanese first
  • Korean first
  • Norwegian first
  • Polish first
  • Portuguese first
  • Russian first
  • Spanish first
  • Swedish first
  • Any
English first
Manchester, United Kingdom
Level Contributor
103 reviews
64 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 49 helpful votes
5 of 5 bubbles Reviewed 1 December 2012

Stayed one night before getting on the Hurtigruten Ferry. Staff were all very friendly, helpful, and relaxed! They seemed like a group of friends working together which was great. They are used to people going out and coming back from all sorts of trips night and day, and were always happy to help. The food offer here is good, as you get breakfast, waffles in the afternoon, and an evening meal, the price of food in Norway is incredibly expensive so this is a real bonus. We were very lucky to see the northern lights right outside the hotels front door, and the setting looking across the Fjord to the Arctic Cathedral is amazing. Rooms were spacious and clean and the spa facilities with panoramic views on the top floor were a great place to get warm after the arctic weather.

Room Tip: A room on the front of the Hotel is great for Chasing the lights!
See more room tips
  • Stayed November 2012, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
1 Thank Lobodoh
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Hereford, United Kingdom
Level Contributor
13 reviews
5 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 8 helpful votes
5 of 5 bubbles Reviewed 26 November 2012

My wife and I spent 6 nights here, chasing the northern lights, great central location and right on the waterfront, tea and coffee available all day at no extra cost, DIY waffles at 3pm where a welcome addition as it can be a little pricey eating out, the evening light (Hot & Cold) buffet will satisfy all your hunger needs.
Try using the Flybussen to get from the airport, it is only a 1 minute simple flat walk from the Bus Stop at the Rica Ishavshotel.
Good Luck

Rob & Penny Buchanan
Hereford

Room Tip: Room 215, lovely views but a little on the small size
See more room tips
  • Stayed November 2012, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank Dieselbob
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
North West England
Level Contributor
57 reviews
34 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 132 helpful votes
5 of 5 bubbles Reviewed 25 November 2012

I stayed 4 nights in November 2012 and upgraded to a seaview room - well worth the small fee 100NOk per night. I had a lovely cosy room and especially liked the leather easy chair - perfect for reading my book whilst overlooking the water. The room had a kettle and tea/coffee which was great although you could have drinks anytime from the breakfast restaurant. The bathroom was spacious and very clean although could have done with a shower cap, a floor mat and some body lotion as the water was hard and quite drying. The room was lacking some drawers as someone else said a swell. I liked the marine theme throughout the hotel. Breakfast was OK and the "hot" food was luke warm as usual in these places. Free DIY waffles were lovely in the afternoon - although watching some people make a complete mess of the process was entertaining - you only need ONE ladle of mix! The evening meal was good considering the prices in Norway and if you want to eat the food HOT then go at 6pm as the warmers don't do a very good job. The soup was always hot and delicious though. I loved that my room was always made up by the time I got back from breakfast leaving me free to enjoy the facilities all day. The free in room Wifi was a God send - you get an access code daily from reception. Tromso was too cold to spend much time out and about and the prices for activities were for me prohibitive I just paid for one northern lights trip and saw the lights albeit a very weak display - if I had not been with a guide I'd have missed it. A bit disappointed with the lights really as they are nothing like you see in photographs and activity was low anyway. The Norwegian Navy arrived on Day 2 so that was interesting and I had 3 Missile Patrol Boats right outside my window, 2 Mine Hunters to the left and 2 Frigates around the corner - I felt very safe! I liked the Museum of Northern Norwegian Art they have fab permanent collection - well worth a (free)visit. The Hotel With staff were all friendly and helpful.
Transport to /from the hotel with Flybussen was very good from Tromso Airport. If you are arriving via Oslo first be aware that you need to collect your baggage and go through Customs and check the bags in again - what a faff! That really annoyed me. Going home it is not necessary and bags are checked straight through.
I would definitely recommend Hotel With.

Room Tip: Upgrade to a sea view.
See more room tips
  • Stayed November 2012, travelled solo
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
1 Thank the_crafty_traveller
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Gibraltar
Level Contributor
56 reviews
29 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 32 helpful votes
4 of 5 bubbles Reviewed 19 November 2012

We went to this little gem of a hotel on 13th November 2012 in search of the northern lights. We arrived a little earlier than normal and checked in after the receptionist checked that the room was ready.

The room was absolutely gorgeous set on the Tromso harbour with a fantastic view. Couldn't really ask for anything better. The shower and bathroom are excellent and hot water is 24 hours especially needed in the freezing climate outside! Tv channels are standard Norwegian channels and a mix of American sit coms and Hotel scheduled latest movies.

Sun rises at 9.30ish and goes down at 13.30ish when we stayed and gets shorter by 20 minutes per day until 24 hours total darkness! So do not expect long sunny days this time of year.

They serve breakfast from 7am-10am which is small selection of Norwegian meats and cheeses along with a small cooked breakfast if you wish also. Tea and coffee is standard as is orange/apple juice etc.

They serve Norwegian waffles between 15.00- 18.00 hrs which is also a nice touch and dinner between 18.00-21.00 hrs. The dinners are different every evening and the soup each evening I can highly recommend. In fact the Fish soup I had on the first evening was the best I have ever tasted!

The hotel can organise you trips and transport and we found them very helpful when we asked questions about the local bus services and tours that were available when we wanted.

We only saw 30 seconds of the Northern Lights as it was too cloudy and it was always raining and snowing. The 30 seconds was pure chance while sitting outside on the first night with clear skies and the green light shot out over the top and flickered around for a bit and died out :(

All in all an excellent trip and very friendly hotel. Would stay again if in the area.

And one last thing which I found constantly frustrating was they ALWAYS ran out of milk for the Coffee and Hot Chocolate and we always had to ask reception if there was any milk.

Room Tip: Ask for harbour facing room, although there may be a 200 krona per night extra charge, but worth it.
See more room tips
  • Stayed November 2012, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
1 Thank andy7070
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Bucks
Level Contributor
34 reviews
7 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 20 helpful votes
5 of 5 bubbles Reviewed 15 November 2012

The hotel is clean and smart. The corridors full of ocean style memorabilia, everything from a captains coat and a search light, to a stuffed polar bear. Our room faced the the arctic cathedral, and although small was perfect (maybe missing some drawers). There was a TV , wifi, a trouser press, two comfy arm chairs, a desk and chair also. The shower in the bathroom was great, spacious and easy to control. There are no tea/coffee facilities in the room, but the dinning area is available 24/7 with a supply of hot drink making items. We were surprised like other visitors to find that an evening meal was included in the price, and that they have waffles available between 3-6pm. The meal choice included soup, a daily hot choice such as saugage & mash, or BBQ chicken. However there were also cheeses and hams, olives, salad, bread & crackers. The hotel is close to the centre, and right next to the harbour. The flybussen connection to the airport is only a 2 minute walk away. The reception staff were friendly and helpful, we enjoyed our weeks stay very much, and have no hesitation in recommending it.

Room Tip: our room on the 5th floor with a sea view was lovely, although close to the lift we were not bothere...
See more room tips
  • Stayed November 2012, travelled with friends
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
1 Thank hannafp
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Manc
Level Contributor
20 reviews
4 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 15 helpful votes
5 of 5 bubbles Reviewed 13 November 2012

Fantastic place to stay...upgrade to a sea view & enjoy sumptuous views across sea to Arctic Cathedral... & if your lucky Northern Lights...and lots of interesting harbour activity. Easy to get to from airport...airport bus stops a few mins away... Rooms clean, breakfast, waffles & evening meal included so really this is an excellent value deal overall and the fitness room, gym wi gorgeous views, massage chair steam room & sauna were all appreciated...

Room Tip: Upgrade to sea view
See more room tips
  • Stayed November 2012, travelled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank NixManc
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Hotels you might also like...
Travellers also viewed these Tromso hotels
0.2 mi away
Clarion Hotel The Edge
0.1 mi away
Scandic Ishavshotel
Scandic Ishavshotel
#3 of 18 in Tromso
4.0 of 5 bubbles 712 reviews
0.0 mi away
Clarion Collection Hotel Aurora
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
0.3 mi away
Comfort Hotel Xpress Tromso
0.1 mi away
Radisson Blu Hotel, Tromso
0.2 mi away
City Living Hotel & Apartments
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to Clarion Collection Hotel With? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Clarion Collection Hotel With

Property: Clarion Collection Hotel With
Address: Sjogata 35-37, Tromso 9291, Norway
Region: Norway > Northern Norway > Troms > Tromso
Amenities:
Bar / Lounge Beverage Selection Fitness Centre with Gym / Workout Room Free Breakfast Free High Speed Internet ( WiFi ) Restaurant Suites Wheelchair access
Hotel Style:
#1 Romantic Hotel in Tromso
#1 Green Hotel in Tromso
#1 Family Hotel in Tromso
#3 Business Hotel in Tromso
Price Range (Based on Average Rates): ££
Hotel Class:3.5 star — Clarion Collection Hotel With 3.5*
Number of rooms: 76
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
Clarion Collection Hotel With is perfectly located in the harbor of the city center. Here you are only 50 meters away from the main street of Tromso, close to restaurants and shopping. At all Clarion Collection Hotels the guests have included breakfast, coffee/tea all day, waffles from 15:00(3pm)to 18:00(6pm) and light evening buffet from 18:00(6pm) to 21:00(9pm). The light evening buffet consists of one hot soup, one hot dish and bread. Not a big dinner buffet, but for most of our guests a really satisfying dinner. This makes Clarion Collection Hotel With a really cheap alternative for tourists visiting Tromso. We also offer a relax room with sauna and a steam room at the top of the hotel. Welcome to a warm and friendly hotel where you can feel at home. ... more   less 
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Nordic Choice Hotels, Booking.com, Expedia, Hotels.com, Ebookers, Odigeo, TripOnline SA, Traveltool, S.L.U., Evoline ltd, HotelQuickly and Cancelon so you can book your Clarion Collection Hotel With reservations with confidence. We help millions of travellers each month to find the perfect hotel for both holiday and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
Clarion Collection With Hotel
Clarion Collection Tromsø
Clarion Tromso
Tromsø Clarion

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing