We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Excellent Value”

Best prices for -
Check In dd/mm/yyyy Check Out dd/mm/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 12 more sites!
Clarion Collection Hotel With
Ranked #1 of 18 Hotels in Tromso
Certificate of Excellence
GreenLeadersPlatinum level
Merthyr Tydfil, United Kingdom
Level Contributor
7 reviews
4 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 2 helpful votes
“Excellent Value”
Reviewed 25 November 2013

Beautiful hotel on the harbour, an impressive service given that it is not at the top end of expense and food IS included in the price. We stayed for 3 nights and were able to manage without having to pay to eat out on top, which helped the budget so much.

I would definately stay at this hotel again and recommend it. There is a gymn/sauna facility for no extra charge, and if you are going on a trip, the hotel will arrange soup/rolls if you are missing the buffet. The view from the harbour side rooms was very pretty.

We had a 'superior' room. This had a mini bar which we left alone due to prices but at least it was a fridge. The bathroom was large, and clean, there was shampoo etc, and a hairdryer, plus stacks of tea and coffee including fruit tea, but no decaff coffee. The rooms were very warm but it wasn't necessary to keep the window open, it was perfectly comfortable. The beds were comfy too not too hard and extra pillows were brought promptly when requested.

All in all, the quality of this hotel made our trip perfect, so a big thank you to the staff who keep it so nice and long may this service continue. Hope to see you again soon.

Room Tip: Rooms not on the harbour side may possibly be quieter, but we only heard one ship being loaded and t...
See more room tips
  • Stayed November 2013, travelled with friends
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
1 Thank Sarah C
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Oyvind V, General Manager at Clarion Collection Hotel With, responded to this review, 28 November 2013
Dear Sarah.

Thank you for your generous review of us!

I am glad you enjoyed your stay and got to use all our facilities. We hope to see you back again as well, and wish you a great winter and holiday to come!

Best regards

Øyvind Vassbotn
General Manager
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Write a Review

1,499 reviews from our community

Traveller rating
    903
    478
    90
    19
    9
See reviews for
197
793
106
123
Rating summary
  • Location
  • Sleep Quality
  • Rooms
  • Service
  • Value
  • Cleanliness
Traveller tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (399)
Date | Rating
  • Chinese (Traditional) first
  • Chinese (Simplified) first
  • Czech first
  • Danish first
  • Dutch first
  • English first
  • French first
  • German first
  • Hebrew first
  • Italian first
  • Japanese first
  • Korean first
  • Norwegian first
  • Polish first
  • Portuguese first
  • Russian first
  • Spanish first
  • Swedish first
  • Any
English first
Edinburgh, United Kingdom
Level Contributor
44 reviews
15 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 23 helpful votes
Reviewed 24 November 2013

We had only one night at the Hotel With. We were made very welcome at the reception, and a lovely room found, despite having booked in for the wrong night! The rooms come with bed, breakfast and an evening meal, which we much enjoyed. Indeed, after a week chasing the Northern Lights, we had our second best views right outside the hotel. We and other residents took it in turns to pop out and check when best to view. Service was excellent, the staff friendly and helpful, and Tromso a great little city with easy access to the airport.

Room Tip: Go for a room on the fjord - if you can.
See more room tips
  • Stayed November 2013, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
1 Thank DJWebb0
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Oyvind V, General Manager at Clarion Collection Hotel With, responded to this review, 28 November 2013
Dear DJ Webb.

Thank you for the review and your friendly words.

I am glad you enjoyed your stay with us and in Tromsø. Have a lovely winter and holidays to come.

Best regards.

Øyvind Vassbotn
General Manager
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
London, United Kingdom
Level Contributor
3 reviews
3 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 2 helpful votes
Reviewed 21 November 2013

My stay at this hotel was very pleasant. Our room was clean and comfortable. The staff was genuinely friendly and helpful - often going out of their way to be helpful. There was a lot of choice for breakfast and the evening meal and the quality was very good. Also liked the fact that the temperature in the hotel was just right - it was cold outside but not too hot or stuffy indoors.

  • Stayed November 2013, travelled with friends
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Review collected in partnership with NordicChoiceHotels.com

Helpful?
Thank Karlene K
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Oyvind V, General Manager at Clarion Collection Hotel With, responded to this review, 28 November 2013
Dear Karlene.

Thank you for your nice review of us.

Wish you all the best for the winter and the holidays.

Best regards

Øyvind vassbotn
General Manager
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
London, United Kingdom
Level Contributor
165 reviews
23 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 104 helpful votes
Reviewed 20 November 2013

My husband and I, frequent and discerning travellers stayed at the Clarion With last week. The location is brilliant; view is great, check in staff was very friendly and helpful. There is free Wifi (as you’d expect).
However the rooms were fairly small - we had paid NOK 100 for an upgrade to get a harbour view, and whilst the view was certainly worth it, the room was quite small (hard to walk between the bed and the desk to get to the window to enjoy the view).
We did not see any other staff then the receptionist and there was no staff on hand at waffle buffet or breakfast buffet meant messy buffets, tables full of dirty crockery etc and no ability to order anything special or ask for help. The room in which breakfast and the waffle buffet was laid out was very dark and despite being on the harbour side, the view was limited unless you sat next to the window. Breakfast buffet was ok and fairly varied but by no means fantastic. The complementary waffle buffet was a great little treat however unfortunately there was no staff on hand to ask how to operate the juice machines or get a glass of water, or how to obtain hot water for tea. We decided against the complementary (buffet?) dinner mainly for this reason.
There is no car parking for hotel guests although the girl at check in did kindly call to their nearby sister hotel (Clarion Bryggen) to ask whether we could use one of their (limited) spaces. The nearest car park is in the tunnel and this is by no means far, but definitely too far to walk with suitcases so it is an inconvenience and of course it costs money. I forgot my world plug / plug converter and was surprised to find a hotel of this standing was unable to lend me one so I could use my English chargers (Norway has European two prong sockets).

All in all the hotel was ok but I’d hate to think it is the best one in Tromsø (according to TripAdvisor).

Room Tip: Paying for the upgrade to a better view is definitley worth it.
See more room tips
  • Stayed November 2013, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
1 Thank EIDH
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Oyvind V, General Manager at Clarion Collection Hotel With, responded to this review, 28 November 2013
Dear EIDH.

Thank you for your thorough review.

I have taken your feedback about our restaurant with our food and beverage manager to make sure that our staff is more visible in the restaurant area.

We do have some converters for power in the front desk. As we are in the high season with a lot of tourists from the UK, the converters are in high demand. We will however acquire some more to meet the demand.

Hope you had a nice stay in Tromsø, and wish you a great winter!
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Russell, New Zealand
Level Contributor
37 reviews
17 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 18 helpful votes
Reviewed 19 November 2013

Excellent hotel overlooking the interesting harbour of Tromsø. It is a short walk to the bus stop for transfers to and from the airport. Two minutes walk to board Hurtigruten to sail to other Norwegian ports, as well as just a short walk to the town centre. There are opportunities to go dog-sledding, harbour cruises to see the Aurora Borealis, if you are lucky, and many other tourist activities.

The hotel is spotlessly clean, stylish, with helpful and friendly reception staff. Very comfortable bed. The room was quiet too. We enjoyed the use of the sauna on the 5th floor. Breakfast is included in the price as well as waffel snacks from 3pm and a buffet dinner. This can be much appreciated an expensive country like Norway.

Following the advice of another writer on Tripadvisor we upgraded to a harbour view room which was well worth the extra paid. We had a marvellous stay here and would come back.

Room Tip: Pay extra and upgrade to Harbour View
See more room tips
  • Stayed November 2013, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
2 Thank Rozlyn W
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Oyvind V, General Manager at Clarion Collection Hotel With, responded to this review, 20 November 2013
Dear Rozlyn.

Thank you for your nice review and stay with us.

I hope you had a good time in Tromsø and hope you find your way back.

Have a lovely winter.

Best regards

Øyvind Vassbotn
General Manager
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Blaustein, Germany
1 review
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 2 helpful votes
Reviewed 18 November 2013

Very nice hotel with very friendly staff. The mattress are very soft.
Big selection of breakfast and dinner. Fitness room, sauna is working from 3pm. No free parking anywhere in the city, no parking option from the hotel.

  • Stayed November 2013, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Review collected in partnership with NordicChoiceHotels.com

Helpful?
2 Thank Martina M
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Oyvind V, General Manager at Clarion Collection Hotel With, responded to this review, 20 November 2013
Dear Martina.

Thank you for your review and have a lovely winter!

Best regards

Øyvind Vassbotn
General Manager
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
London
1 review
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 2 helpful votes
Reviewed 18 November 2013

The clarion collection was a pleasure to stay in. The food wad lovely with a substantial breakfast and evening buffet. Free hot drinks all day in restaurant and also in rooms. The superior room had great view of bridge and mountains and we could see aurora from window. My daughters were in standard room which was lovely too just a bit smaller with view towards main street. The location was perfect with short walk to polar museum and shops. Visited polaria and observatory which were all well worth it. Went on expensive northern lights tour and lights did not show, was still fun though. Saw the lights better in Tromso even poking through clouds. You have to be patient though.

  • Stayed November 2013, travelled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Review collected in partnership with NordicChoiceHotels.com

Helpful?
2 Thank Alison B
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Oyvind V, General Manager at Clarion Collection Hotel With, responded to this review, 20 November 2013
Dear Alison.

Thank you for reviewing us!

It seems you had a great time in Tromsø and glad you enjoyed your stay at our hotel.

Have a great winter and welcome back at next occation.

Best regards

Øyvind Vassbotn
General Manager
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Hotels you might also like...
Travellers also viewed these Tromso hotels
0.2 mi away
Clarion Hotel The Edge
0.1 mi away
Scandic Ishavshotel
Scandic Ishavshotel
#3 of 18 in Tromso
242 reviews
0.3 mi away
Comfort Hotel Xpress Tromso
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
0.1 mi away
Radisson Blu Hotel, Tromso
0.0 mi away
Clarion Collection Hotel Aurora
0.3 mi away
Viking Hotell Tromso
Viking Hotell Tromso
#13 of 18 in Tromso
444 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to Clarion Collection Hotel With? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Clarion Collection Hotel With

Property: Clarion Collection Hotel With
Address: Sjogata 35-37, Tromso 9291, Norway
Region: Norway > Northern Norway > Troms > Tromso
Amenities:
Bar / Lounge Beverage Selection Fitness Centre with Gym / Workout Room Free Breakfast Free High Speed Internet ( WiFi ) Restaurant Suites Wheelchair access
Hotel Style:
#1 Green Hotel in Tromso
#1 Family Hotel in Tromso
#1 Romantic Hotel in Tromso
#3 Business Hotel in Tromso
Price Range (Based on Average Rates): ££
Hotel Class:3.5 star — Clarion Collection Hotel With 3.5*
Number of rooms: 76
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
Clarion Collection Hotel With is perfectly located in the harbor of the city center. Here you are only 50 meters away from the main street of Tromso, close to restaurants and shopping. At all Clarion Collection Hotels the guests have included breakfast, coffee/tea all day, waffles from 15:00(3pm)to 18:00(6pm) and light evening buffet from 18:00(6pm) to 21:00(9pm). The light evening buffet consists of one hot soup, one hot dish and bread. Not a big dinner buffet, but for most of our guests a really satisfying dinner. This makes Clarion Collection Hotel With a really cheap alternative for tourists visiting Tromso. We also offer a relax room with sauna and a steam room at the top of the hotel. Welcome to a warm and friendly hotel where you can feel at home. ... more   less 
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Nordic Choice Hotels, Booking.com, Priceline, Ctrip TA, Expedia, Ebookers, Odigeo, Hotels.com, TripOnline SA, Traveltool, S.L.U., Evoline ltd, HotelQuickly, getaroom.com and Cancelon so you can book your Clarion Collection Hotel With reservations with confidence. We help millions of travellers each month to find the perfect hotel for both holiday and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
Clarion Collection With Hotel
Clarion Collection Tromsø
Clarion Tromso
Tromsø Clarion

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing