We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Great value for money”

Best prices for -
Check In dd/mm/yyyy Check Out dd/mm/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 12 more sites!
Clarion Collection Hotel With
Ranked #1 of 18 Hotels in Tromso
Certificate of Excellence
GreenLeadersPlatinum level
Reviewed 10 December 2013

The Clarion Collection is great value for money in a very beautiful but very expesive city.
The breakfasts were great and you could really fill up on a variety of foods. Afternoon waffles are a nice addition and the evening meal had plenty to choose from. The hot food was simple but there's plenty of buffet food to go with it.
Rooms are a decent size and comfortable and the spa is a very nice addition, after a cold day out exploring a sauna is a lovely way to relax.

  • Stayed: December 2013, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Review collected in partnership with NordicChoiceHotels.com
1  Thank MantaEngland
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Oyvind V, General Manager at Clarion Collection Hotel With, responded to this reviewResponded 18 December 2013

Dear MantaEngland.

Thank you for your nice review.

Wish you a lovely Christmas and new year to come.

Best regards

Øyvind Vassbotn
General Manager

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Write a Review
Reviews (1,560)
Traveller rating
Traveller type
Time of year
Language
  • More languages

847 - 853 of 1,560 reviews

Reviewed 9 December 2013

The hotel is perfectly located to enjoy the highlights of Tromso. Upgrading to a harbour room is really worth the money, it's probably noisier but you get the sights and sounds of daily life. The staff here are lovely and while the food is not the best it's certainly adequate and there are loads of places nearby to drink coffee, or have a meal.

  • Stayed: December 2013, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Review collected in partnership with NordicChoiceHotels.com
Thank Clive F
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Oyvind V, General Manager at Clarion Collection Hotel With, responded to this reviewResponded 18 December 2013

Dear Clive.

Thank you took the time for reviewing us!

We wish you a lovely christmas and new year.

Best regards

Øyvind Vassbotn
General Manager

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 9 December 2013

Had a very enjoyable stay at the Hotel With. Rooms were clean and comfortable and the evening buffet which was included in the room price was excellent. They called it a light evening buffet but there was always a delicious soup with crusty bread, a salad bar with cold meats, then one main course which was OK ish then a desert. Considering the restaurant prices in Tromso this was great value. Staff were also very helpful and friendly, would highly recommend this hotel.

  • Stayed: December 2013, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank Woktraveller
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Oyvind V, General Manager at Clarion Collection Hotel With, responded to this reviewResponded 18 December 2013

Dear Woktraveller.

Thank you for your warm review and recommendation.

Wish you a great winter, christmas and all the best for the next year.

Best regards

Øyvind Vassbotn
General Manager

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 9 December 2013

Greeted like old friends! Comfortable and warm rooms with good facilities. Excellent short holiday. Local Restaraunts were outstanding, fish dishes were outstanding and some out of this world! an absolute must for the foodie! We were in luck throughout our short break, we experienced Northern Lights in full dancing mode, Humpbacked Whales leaping, Dog Sledding and blizards! Our landing at Tromso was delayed for about half an hour due to heavy snow and our take off to UK was an adventure in the blizzard. I think that the only issue was the transport to and from the airport. Our trip relied upon the 'Fly Bus' (Airport specific Bus to and from the towns) Weather can disrupt this and the weekday / weekend timetable disconnect! proberbly best to taxi! Anyway, we are planning to do it again next winter. Outstanding.

Room Tip: Transfers to hotel and airport are touch and go! (see main review) Our rooms overlooked the harbour...
See more room tips
  • Stayed: November 2013, travelled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
1  Thank Mike E
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Oyvind V, General Manager at Clarion Collection Hotel With, responded to this reviewResponded 18 December 2013

Dear Mike.

Thank you for your kind review and visit.

We look forward to welcome you back next winter.

Have a lovely winter and holidays to come.

Best regards

Øyvind Vassbotn
General Manager

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 4 December 2013

Really enjoyed our stay at the Hotel With. The location is great, tucked away with no passing traffic but right on the harbourside with views of the bridge and across to the Ice Cathedral.

Its not 5 star but isn't pretending to be - its a very good 3/4 star place. Reasonably basic but very comfortable with a top floor sauna with those same great views. The food is decent and plentiful (big bonus in an expensive town) and the staff are very very helpful - we'd checked out and went dog-sledding on our last day and the staff still let us use the fitness suite to get showered and changed.

Thoroughly recommend this as a place to stay in Tromso

Room Tip: Try to get harbourside if you can
See more room tips
  • Stayed: November 2013, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
1  Thank Peachy74
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Oyvind V, General Manager at Clarion Collection Hotel With, responded to this reviewResponded 5 December 2013

Dear Peachy74

Thank you for your lovely review and stay with us.

We all wish you a very nice winter and holidays to come.

Best regards

Øyvind Vassbotn
General Manager

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 2 December 2013

Stayed here for 2 nights for a Northern Lights trip. Great location on harbour front which our room faced. We had asked for this and no charge for upgrade.

The staff are all friendly and helpful.

The room was a bit small with a lack of storage space (Ok for 2 days, perhaps not for longer, especially with all the cold weather gear needed) although it has a comfy chair squeezed in. Bathroom was good with a walk in shower which had great pressure and warmed you up lovely. Room was warm without being too hot at night. There is a hair drier and a kettle with coffee etc. Mini bar if required.

The added bonus was the inclusive coffee on tap, waffles in the afternoon and a good hot and cold buffet from 6pm. Shame that we had to miss one night as our trip left at 530pm. Given the price of food in Norway, it really helps keep costs down. The breakfast was also good, lots of it and hot.

i managed to leave my hat and when I rang them up, they had found it and were happy to send it home to me which was really appreciated.

Only the relatively small room and lack of storage has stopped my review being top marks which i know is maybe being picky!

For the money it is great value and I would stay again without hestitation. No wonder it is number one!

Room Tip: Harbour view is good to have
See more room tips
  • Stayed: November 2013, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank AlfaMaleYorkshire
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Oyvind V, General Manager at Clarion Collection Hotel With, responded to this reviewResponded 5 December 2013

Dear AlfaMale.

Thank you for your generous and extensive review.

We are glad you enjoyed the stay with us and your stay in Tromsø, and wish you very welcome when you want to return to us.

Have a great winter and christmas holidays.

PS: We do have upgraded more spacious rooms available at a small additional cost per night. They are high in demand in this period and not always available.

Best regards

Øyvind vassbotn
General Manager

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 30 November 2013

Excellent hotel in good location, staff first rate could not be more helpful. Food very good, with benefit of waffles and evening buffet. Try and get a room over looking the harbour if you can great view.

  • Stayed: November 2013, travelled with friends
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Review collected in partnership with NordicChoiceHotels.com
Thank Ruddles26
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Oyvind V, General Manager at Clarion Collection Hotel With, responded to this reviewResponded 5 December 2013

Dear Ruddles26.

Thank you for the review and wish you a lovely winter and christmas holidays to come.

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Hotels you might also like...
Travellers also viewed these Tromso hotels
0.1 mi away
Scandic Ishavshotel
Scandic Ishavshotel
#3 of 18 in Tromso
310 reviews
0.2 mi away
Clarion Hotel The Edge
0.1 mi away
Radisson Blu Hotel, Tromso
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
0.3 mi away
Comfort Hotel Xpress Tromso
0.0 mi away
Clarion Collection Hotel Aurora
0.2 mi away
Scandic Grand Tromso
Scandic Grand Tromso
#8 of 18 in Tromso
501 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to Clarion Collection Hotel With? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Clarion Collection Hotel With

Address: Sjogata 35-37, Tromso 9291, Norway
Region: Norway > Northern Norway > Troms > Tromso
Amenities:
Bar / Lounge Beverage Selection Fitness Centre with Gym / Workout Room Free Breakfast Free High Speed Internet ( WiFi ) Restaurant Suites Wheelchair access
Hotel Style:
#1 Family Hotel in Tromso
#1 Green Hotel in Tromso
#1 Romantic Hotel in Tromso
#3 Business Hotel in Tromso
Price Range: £104 - £218 (Based on Average Rates for a Standard Room)
Hotel Class:3.5 star — Clarion Collection Hotel With 3.5*
Number of rooms: 76
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
Clarion Collection Hotel With is perfectly located in the harbor of the city center. Here you are only 50 meters away from the main street of Tromso, close to restaurants and shopping. At all Clarion Collection Hotels the guests have included breakfast, coffee/tea all day, waffles from 15:00(3pm)to 18:00(6pm) and light evening buffet from 18:00(6pm) to 21:00(9pm). The light evening buffet consists of one hot soup, one hot dish and bread. Not a big dinner buffet, but for most of our guests a really satisfying dinner. This makes Clarion Collection Hotel With a really cheap alternative for tourists visiting Tromso. We also offer a relax room with sauna and a steam room at the top of the hotel. Welcome to a warm and friendly hotel where you can feel at home. ... more   less 
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Booking.com, Odigeo, Expedia, TripOnline SA, Hotels.com, Cancelon, HotelsClick, Ebookers, Evoline ltd, getaroom.com, 5viajes2012 S.L. and HotelQuickly so you can book your Clarion Collection Hotel With reservations with confidence. We help millions of travellers each month to find the perfect hotel for both holiday and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
Clarion Collection With Hotel
Clarion Collection Tromsø
Clarion Tromso
Tromsø Clarion

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing