We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Recent Northern Lights trip”

Best prices for -
Check In dd/mm/yyyy Check Out dd/mm/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 12 more sites!
Clarion Collection Hotel With
Ranked #1 of 18 Hotels in Tromso
Certificate of Excellence
GreenLeadersPlatinum level
Worcester, United Kingdom
Level Contributor
9 reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 2 helpful votes
“Recent Northern Lights trip”
Reviewed 22 December 2013

Great location and excellent service and hospitality. Prices in Tromso are so expensive it was ideal to have a base where we wouldn't have to worry about meals / coffees. Warm and comfortable. Really enjoyed the 3pm waffles!

Room Tip: Recommend a view across the Fjord - great views and always interesting
See more room tips
  • Stayed December 2013, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank PeterNewtonLewis2013
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Oyvind V, General Manager at Clarion Collection Hotel With, responded to this review, 2 January 2014
Dear Peter.

Thank you for your review and stay with us.

Have a happy new year and all the best. We hope you see you back at an other occation.

Best regards

Øyvind Vassbotn
General Manager
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Write a Review

1,494 reviews from our community

Traveller rating
    901
    477
    89
    18
    9
See reviews for
195
791
106
122
Rating summary
  • Location
  • Sleep Quality
  • Rooms
  • Service
  • Value
  • Cleanliness
Traveller tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (398)
Date | Rating
  • Chinese (Traditional) first
  • Chinese (Simplified) first
  • Czech first
  • Danish first
  • Dutch first
  • English first
  • French first
  • German first
  • Hebrew first
  • Italian first
  • Japanese first
  • Korean first
  • Norwegian first
  • Polish first
  • Portuguese first
  • Russian first
  • Spanish first
  • Swedish first
  • Any
English first
Singapore, Singapore
2 reviews
Reviewed 21 December 2013

Beautiful hotel situated conveniently along the harbour and accessible to town. Stay also came with complimentary breakfast, tea with waffles as well as dinner. Value for money and saved us the hassle of having to go out for meals in the bitter cold.

  • Stayed December 2013, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Review collected in partnership with NordicChoiceHotels.com

Helpful?
Thank Kelli C
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Oyvind V, General Manager at Clarion Collection Hotel With, responded to this review, 2 January 2014
Dear Kelli.

Thank you for the review.

Happy new year, and we wish you all the best for the year to come!

Best regards

Øyvind Vassbotn
General Manager
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Adelaide, Australia
Level Contributor
48 reviews
41 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 28 helpful votes
Reviewed 21 December 2013

The hotel is situated on the wharf which gave us a great view from our 5th floor window. Our room was a standard size and was quite comfortable. The hotel is located within walking distance of the tour departure points, shopping street and Tourist office. Nothing in Tromso is very far away. Included in the rate was a good variety of breakfast goods, waffles from 3.00pm to 6.00pm and then a 'light' dinner at 6.00pm although the light dinner was sufficient as a main meal. Tea & coffee available around the clock. Overall a very comfortable hotel with friendly and helpful staff that I would recommend to others visiting Tromso.

Room Tip: Ask for a room overlooking the harbour.
See more room tips
  • Stayed December 2013, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank DeanMcoz
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Oyvind V, General Manager at Clarion Collection Hotel With, responded to this review, 2 January 2014
Dear Dean.

Thank you for reviewing us.

We hope you had a lovely time with us and in Tromsø and wish you a happy new year. We hope you have a great 2014.

Best regards

Øyvind Vassbotn
General Manager
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Nuneaton, United Kingdom
Level Contributor
15 reviews
3 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 3 helpful votes
Reviewed 20 December 2013

We had booked through a tour operator and not researched the hotel much in advance. Once we were installed we realised how lucky we were. In a prime location, well laid out and with friendly and helpful staff. The afternoon waffles and free coffee pretty much all day were an unexpected bonus and delight. The bedroom was warm and comfortable (important when it's snowing hard outside) once we'd worked out the heating which was less than intuitive. Some clutter in the corridors, but many interesting pictures and stories on the walls too. The lounge was a restful haven with great views out over the harbour to the Arctic Cathedral; lit by a full moon as it happened. For a quiet middle-aged couple, it was ideal.

Room Tip: We didn't get a room facing the harbour, but I'd recommend it if you can.
See more room tips
  • Stayed December 2013, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank Paul D
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Oyvind V, General Manager at Clarion Collection Hotel With, responded to this review, 2 January 2014
Dear Paul.

Thank you for your review and time with us!

We wish you a happy new year and all the best for 2014.

Best regards

Øyvind Vassbotn
General Manager
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
St Helens, United Kingdom
Level Contributor
155 reviews
26 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 70 helpful votes
Reviewed 18 December 2013 via mobile

We booked this hotel after reading the trip advisor reviews. The occasion was a special birthday and we wanted something nice. On arrival the receptionist was polite and accommodating. We were allocated a room on the fifth floor at the back of the hotel but were told if we wanted to upgrade for 300 kroner per night we could have a bigger room overlooking the harbour. When we got to our allocated room it was small and cramped, clean and well decorated but very small, overlooking and overlooked by buildings to the rear. I immediately returned to the reception and upgraded to a better room on the fourth floor, which was spacious with nice views of the harbour and mountains. The room was tastefully appointed with tea and coffee making facilities. Thee are a number of things included in the price that make it specifically appealing, breakfast is good, there is a waffle/pancake session in the afternoon and an ample light buffet between 6pm and 9pm each evening. This stops you having to fork out for the ridiculous prices that food and drink costs in Norway. The staff are very courteous and nothing is too much trouble for them, rooms are attended daily and kept clean. There is a fridge in the room and the usual high priced things in it. We made use of the sauna and steam room and there is a small gym attached. One word of advice the staff ask that you let them know when you want to use the steam/sauna rooms. It takes about twenty minutes or so to warm up so do it first. All in all we had a very good stay in a very good hotel.

Stayed December 2013, travelled as a couple
Helpful?
Thank Valo2207
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Oyvind V, General Manager at Clarion Collection Hotel With, responded to this review, 2 January 2014
Dear Valo.

Thank you for your nice review.

We hope you had a nice time here on that special occation and got to experience all lovely things Tromsø has to offer during the winter. Specially the Northern Lights.

We wish you a wonderful 2014.

Best regards

Øyvind Vassbotn
General Manager
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Bishops Stortford, United Kingdom
2 reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 4 helpful votes
Reviewed 15 December 2013

Fantastic hotel which is excellent value for money. Staff are very friendly and helpful. We stayed in a room overlooking the harbour which was great and had superb views. Included in the price were afternoon waffles which proved to be very popular with guests as well as an evening meal which was very good.
It proved to be a good base for exploring Tromso and beyond when we went out to chase the Northern Lights which we were fortunate enough to see.

  • Stayed December 2013, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
2 Thank Keith S
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Oyvind V, General Manager at Clarion Collection Hotel With, responded to this review, 18 December 2013
Dear Keith.

Thank you for reviewing us!

Great that you got to experience the Northern Lights. It is just wonderful when it opens up and you get to see it play over the sky.

We wish you a lovely Christmas and all the best for the new year.

Best regards

Øyvind Vassbotn
General Manager
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Hotels you might also like...
Travellers also viewed these Tromso hotels
0.2 mi away
Clarion Hotel The Edge
0.1 mi away
Scandic Ishavshotel
Scandic Ishavshotel
#3 of 18 in Tromso
239 reviews
0.3 mi away
Comfort Hotel Xpress Tromso
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
0.1 mi away
Radisson Blu Hotel, Tromso
0.0 mi away
Clarion Collection Hotel Aurora
0.3 mi away
Viking Hotell Tromso
Viking Hotell Tromso
#13 of 18 in Tromso
444 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to Clarion Collection Hotel With? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Clarion Collection Hotel With

Property: Clarion Collection Hotel With
Address: Sjogata 35-37, Tromso 9291, Norway
Region: Norway > Northern Norway > Troms > Tromso
Amenities:
Bar / Lounge Beverage Selection Fitness Centre with Gym / Workout Room Free Breakfast Free High Speed Internet ( WiFi ) Restaurant Suites Wheelchair access
Hotel Style:
#1 Family Hotel in Tromso
#1 Green Hotel in Tromso
#1 Romantic Hotel in Tromso
#3 Business Hotel in Tromso
Price Range (Based on Average Rates): ££
Hotel Class:3.5 star — Clarion Collection Hotel With 3.5*
Number of rooms: 76
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
Clarion Collection Hotel With is perfectly located in the harbor of the city center. Here you are only 50 meters away from the main street of Tromso, close to restaurants and shopping. At all Clarion Collection Hotels the guests have included breakfast, coffee/tea all day, waffles from 15:00(3pm)to 18:00(6pm) and light evening buffet from 18:00(6pm) to 21:00(9pm). The light evening buffet consists of one hot soup, one hot dish and bread. Not a big dinner buffet, but for most of our guests a really satisfying dinner. This makes Clarion Collection Hotel With a really cheap alternative for tourists visiting Tromso. We also offer a relax room with sauna and a steam room at the top of the hotel. Welcome to a warm and friendly hotel where you can feel at home. ... more   less 
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Nordic Choice Hotels, Booking.com, Priceline, Ctrip TA, Expedia, Odigeo, Hotels.com, Ebookers, TripOnline SA, Traveltool, S.L.U., Evoline ltd, HotelQuickly, getaroom.com and Cancelon so you can book your Clarion Collection Hotel With reservations with confidence. We help millions of travellers each month to find the perfect hotel for both holiday and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
Clarion Collection With Hotel
Clarion Collection Tromsø
Clarion Tromso
Tromsø Clarion

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing