We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.
The latest reviews. The lowest prices. The perfect place to shop for hotels.

“spot on!” 5 of 5 bubbles
Review of Clarion Collection Hotel With

Best prices for -
Check In dd/mm/yyyy Check Out dd/mm/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 3 more sites!
Clarion Collection Hotel With
Ranked #1 of 18 Hotels in Tromso
Certificate of Excellence
GreenLeadersPlatinum level
Gloucester
Level Contributor
12 reviews
6 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 10 helpful votes
“spot on!”
5 of 5 bubbles Reviewed 3 February 2014

Central located by the water. Rooms clean and comfy.
Food - limited choice but adequate which saved us a fortune. (£45 just for 1 large pizza and 2 drinks).
Free supply of drinks all day which again saved us alot of money as we could come back to the hotel.

we had good views of the lights too on our trip :)

Easy walking distance to centre shops, tourist info, buses etc

would recommend

  • Stayed February 2014, travelled with friends
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Value
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Location
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Rooms
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Service
Helpful?
Thank Huskylover1
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Oyvind V, General Manager at Clarion Collection Hotel With, responded to this review, 6 February 2014
Dear Huskylover.

Thank you for the review and stay with us. We hope you had an excellent time in Tromsø!

With you all the best and welcome back :)

Best regards
Øyvind Vassbotn
GM
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Write a Review

1,454 reviews from our community

Traveller rating
    883
    458
    87
    17
    9
See reviews for
190
771
102
116
Rating summary
  • Location
    5 of 5 bubbles
  • Sleep Quality
    4.5 of 5 bubbles
  • Rooms
    4.5 of 5 bubbles
  • Service
    4.5 of 5 bubbles
  • Value
    4.5 of 5 bubbles
  • Cleanliness
    4.5 of 5 bubbles
Traveller tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (391)
Date | Rating
  • Chinese (Traditional) first
  • Chinese (Simplified) first
  • Czech first
  • Danish first
  • Dutch first
  • English first
  • French first
  • German first
  • Hebrew first
  • Italian first
  • Japanese first
  • Korean first
  • Norwegian first
  • Polish first
  • Portuguese first
  • Russian first
  • Spanish first
  • Swedish first
  • Any
English first
London, United Kingdom
Level Contributor
5 reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 6 helpful votes
5 of 5 bubbles Reviewed 2 February 2014

The reviews are right - we booked this hotel on the basis of all the reviews and were not disappointed. The whole place is very well kept, rooms are cosy and having dinner included is a real bonus in Norway where prices are high! We saved enough money for a few rounds of drinks.
Also, the view from the 5th floor sauna area is brilliant.

Room Tip: We shared a room between three of us - I was worried we wouldn't have enough space but the room...
See more room tips
  • Stayed January 2014, travelled with family
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Value
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Location
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Rooms
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Cleanliness
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Service
Helpful?
1 Thank Emily S
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Oyvind V, General Manager at Clarion Collection Hotel With, responded to this review, 3 February 2014
Dear Emily.

Thank you for the review and nice words. Nice to see you had a good time with us and in Tromsø.

We hope to welcome you back an other time.

Best regards
Øyvind Vassbotn
GM
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Manchester, United Kingdom
Level Contributor
16 reviews
6 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 15 helpful votes
5 of 5 bubbles Reviewed 2 February 2014

My partner & I stayed for 3 nights at the end of January - our first trip to Norway. The rooms are clean and well equipped (inc coffee/tea making) and tha bathroom spotless with a great shower. The quality of the food was excellent and the fact that the evening meal is included is in the price a real bonus - Scandinavia is expensive and it is a way of keeping the price down on the visit. The facilities are all there - a sauna is lovely after being out in -7C all day - and the views from the harbour-front rooms are fantastic. Staff are terrific. I think it could do with separating off the bar area from the reception though - perhaps develop the sitting room. I was waiting at reception for some time late one evening as people were being served (by the same staff member) at the bar. Move it into the sitting room and employ a barperson, probably make more money. A small grip though - a very good hotel with very good staff.

Room Tip: Make sure you get a view of the harbour.
See more room tips
  • Stayed January 2014, travelled as a couple
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Value
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Location
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Rooms
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Service
Helpful?
2 Thank GeoffH2013
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Oyvind V, General Manager at Clarion Collection Hotel With, responded to this review, 3 February 2014
Dear Geoff.

Thank you for your nice review and good tips.

We have been looking at a solution like that, and we will see which actions we will take towards this in the future.

We hope you have a lovely 2014.

Best regards
Øyvind Vassbotn
GM
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
portsmouth
Level Contributor
7 reviews
4 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 7 helpful votes
5 of 5 bubbles Reviewed 1 February 2014

We found this hotel suited our needs very well indeed for our stay from 25.1.14 to 28.1.14. We had a harbour view room which is well worth asking for.
We had a superior room on the 3rd floor. The rooms were quite small but comfortably appointed.
As mentioned in other reviews there is little storage space so had to use our suitcase as our drawers, but as we were only there for 3 nights we did not find this a problem. Nice size bathroom with lovely walk in shower.
1 of our 3 rooms was not ready until around 5 o'clock, but we took the opportunity to have a walk into town.
We found all staff extremely helpful, particularly when we had a problem with a missed trip. The receptionist rang the tour company and was able to get us fitted in the next day- many thanks.
The food was of a very good standard- we found the breakfast very good, and the evening buffet great.Yes there was only 1 main dish, but you could fall back on a good selection of meats, cheeses etc, if needed. This helped to keep costs down, as eating out is very expensive. I would have no hesitation in recommending this hotel to anyone, and would definitely stay here again if we return.
Very conveniently situated for bus stops, tour pick ups and the town.

Room Tip: Rooms with a harbour room are worth asking for
See more room tips
  • Stayed January 2014, travelled with family
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Value
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Location
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Sleep Quality
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Rooms
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Service
Helpful?
Thank PortsmouthStevieboy
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Oyvind V, General Manager at Clarion Collection Hotel With, responded to this review, 3 February 2014
Dear Stevie.

Thank you for your lovely review. Arrival on saturday can some times be a challenge when everyone is checking out late, and everyone is arriving with the "early" flight. Still pleased that it worked out alright.

We hope you return back to us another time.

Have a lovely 2014.

Best regards
Øyvind Vassbotn
GM
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Charlotte, North Carolina
Level Contributor
109 reviews
63 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 47 helpful votes
5 of 5 bubbles Reviewed 1 February 2014

The hotel is less than 10 minutes’ walk from cruise ship terminal. It is clean and quite. Room is big. The price is not cheap, however, it included a nice evening meal and full breakfast as well as waffle in the afternoon. The evening meal has full selection of cold dishes , one hot soup and 1-2 main entrees. I think it is sufficient for most of the people. Your purpose in Troms is northern light, not eating.

Room Tip: If you have kids. Ask the top floor family room facing the bridge. It has more space and a good view...
See more room tips
  • Stayed January 2014, travelled with family
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Value
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Location
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Rooms
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Service
Helpful?
1 Thank Weijie T
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Oyvind V, General Manager at Clarion Collection Hotel With, responded to this review, 3 February 2014
Dear Weijietang.

Thank you for the review. It is so nice to have visitors from over the Atlantic, and I hope you enjoyed your time with us.

All the best for 2014.

Best regards
Øyvind Vassbotn
GM
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Wiltshire, UK
Level Contributor
96 reviews
65 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 76 helpful votes
5 of 5 bubbles Reviewed 31 January 2014

This was a very friendly efficient and relaxed hotel in a great position on the harbourside and near the main street. It lives up to the reviews. We had a harbour view which is lovely and looks over the water to the Cathedral - worththe extra cost. Breakfast is good, the waffles a nice touch and the evening meal is ok, if quite basic - a large snack really. As we were out northern light spotting for 2 nights we could not avail of this anyway, so it is not quite such a benefit as you might think, at least in winter. Only downside is the cost which is high. But then everything is twice the price you'd expect in Norway!

Room Tip: if you can afford go for the view
See more room tips
  • Stayed January 2014, travelled as a couple
    • 3 of 5 bubbles
      Value
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Location
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Rooms
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Service
Helpful?
1 Thank Richard D
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Oyvind V, General Manager at Clarion Collection Hotel With, responded to this review, 3 February 2014
Dear Richard.

Thank you for your kind review and stay with us. Hope you succeeded in your chase to catch the Northern lights.

We hope to welcome you back.

Best regards
Øyvind Vassbotn
GM
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Northampton, United Kingdom
Level Contributor
23 reviews
7 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 9 helpful votes
4 of 5 bubbles Reviewed 29 January 2014

Just returned from a 3 night trip to Tromso with my parents and stayed at the Clarion With. Perfect location overlooking the harbour and just metres from the Flybussen stop from the airport. Just around the corner are restaurants, bars and shops and also bus stops and taxi ranks. Very polite and efficient check in and even swapped our room for us as they had given us a room on the 2nd floor that was a little too small for 3 adults. Reception immediately changed us to the top floor which was much bigger. The room itself has a pleasant décor, there are one or two "tired" areas in the room and housekeeping could really do with cleaning floor under the beds but other than that no complaints. The restaurant provides a buffet style breakfast which has something for everyone and is kept well stocked. Tea, coffee and water are available all day. Self-service waffles are available from 3 till 6 and then a hot evening meal (generally fish or chicken) along with potato, veg, pasta and salad. It can be a little of a free for all and where certain people aren't tidy, it can look a little messy but the staff are soon on hand to tidy up and replenish. There is a dining area as well as a lounge area with TV and soft chairs. The bar is rather small with very little choice but as alcohol is so expensive in Norway, this is not a big issue and for those that want to drink, there are plenty of bars around nearby. There is a lovely atmosphere at the hotel and this rubs off on the travellers who are all happy to chat and share their experiences. I am planning a return visit to Tromso next year and would not hesitate to re-book at this hotel.

  • Stayed January 2014, travelled with family
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Value
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Location
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Sleep Quality
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Rooms
    • 3 of 5 bubbles
      Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Service
Helpful?
1 Thank MandaPanda2011
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Oyvind V, General Manager at Clarion Collection Hotel With, responded to this review, 31 January 2014
Dear Manda.

Thank you for the kind review. We are glad you had a nice time with us and hope to welcome you back at an other occation. All the best for 2014.

Best regards
Øyvind Vassbotn
GM
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Hotels you might also like...
Travellers also viewed these Tromso hotels
0.2 mi away
Clarion Hotel The Edge
0.1 mi away
Scandic Ishavshotel
Scandic Ishavshotel
#4 of 18 in Tromso
4.0 of 5 bubbles 693 reviews
0.0 mi away
Clarion Collection Hotel Aurora
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
0.3 mi away
Comfort Hotel Xpress Tromso
0.1 mi away
Radisson Blu Hotel, Tromso
0.2 mi away
City Living Hotel & Apartments
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to Clarion Collection Hotel With? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Clarion Collection Hotel With

Property: Clarion Collection Hotel With
Address: Sjogata 35-37, Tromso 9291, Norway
Region: Norway > Northern Norway > Troms > Tromso
Amenities:
Bar / Lounge Beverage Selection Fitness Centre with Gym / Workout Room Free Breakfast Free High Speed Internet ( WiFi ) Restaurant Suites Wheelchair access
Hotel Style:
#1 Family Hotel in Tromso
#1 Green Hotel in Tromso
#1 Romantic Hotel in Tromso
#3 Business Hotel in Tromso
Price Range (Based on Average Rates): ££
Hotel Class:3.5 star — Clarion Collection Hotel With 3.5*
Number of rooms: 76
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
Clarion Collection Hotel With is perfectly located in the harbor of the city center. Here you are only 50 meters away from the main street of Tromso, close to restaurants and shopping. At all Clarion Collection Hotels the guests have included breakfast, coffee/tea all day, waffles from 15:00(3pm)to 18:00(6pm) and light evening buffet from 18:00(6pm) to 21:00(9pm). The light evening buffet consists of one hot soup, one hot dish and bread. Not a big dinner buffet, but for most of our guests a really satisfying dinner. This makes Clarion Collection Hotel With a really cheap alternative for tourists visiting Tromso. We also offer a relax room with sauna and a steam room at the top of the hotel. Welcome to a warm and friendly hotel where you can feel at home. ... more   less 
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Booking.com, Nordic Choice Hotels, Expedia, Odigeo, Hotels.com and Agoda so you can book your Clarion Collection Hotel With reservations with confidence. We help millions of travellers each month to find the perfect hotel for both holiday and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
Clarion Collection With Hotel
Clarion Collection Tromsø
Clarion Tromso
Tromsø Clarion

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing