We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Great views, great staff, great hotel”

Best prices for -
Check In dd/mm/yyyy Check Out dd/mm/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 11 more sites!
Clarion Collection Hotel With
Ranked #1 of 18 Hotels in Tromso
Certificate of Excellence
GreenLeadersPlatinum level
Norwich, United Kingdom
Level 6 Contributor
287 reviews
60 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 100 helpful votes
“Great views, great staff, great hotel”
Reviewed 2 March 2014

Stayed here for three nights in February in a superior room. The upgrade cost was not huge and the view it gave from the room across the harbour to the Arctic Cathedral, the mountains and the bridge were fantastic. Super-comfortable bed and a wonderfully powerful shower, strong Wi-Fi connection for free and unusually for continental Europe, tea and coffee making facilities. I loved the decor with antique bits of nautical bric-a-brac scattered around and the corridors and room doors that look like a ships corridor. Breakfast was buffet style with a great range of hot and cold food and we also took advantage of the evening buffet, which was surprisingly good and, given the eye-watering cost of eating out in Norway, very good value. Friendly and helpful staff in restaurant and on reception. My only minor gripe would be the lack of storage space- only there for three nights but some drawer space would be nice.

Room Tip: Do spend a little more and get a harbour view room - you won't regret it.
See more room tips
  • Stayed February 2014, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank NorwichCarrow
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Oyvind V, General Manager at Clarion Collection Hotel With, responded to this review, 3 March 2014
Hi NorwichCarrow.

Thank you for your wonderful review of us.

I hope you enjoyed your time in Tromsø and got to see the northern lights. We are looking into solutions to increase our storage space in the rooms without affecting the floorspace.

Hope to welcome you back to us another time.

Best regards.

Øyvind Vassbotn
GM
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Write a Review

1,519 reviews from our community

Traveller rating
    908
    489
    91
    22
    9
See reviews for
202
802
107
125
Rating summary
  • Location
  • Sleep Quality
  • Rooms
  • Service
  • Value
  • Cleanliness
Traveller tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (401)
Date | Rating
  • Chinese (Traditional) first
  • Chinese (Simplified) first
  • Czech first
  • Danish first
  • Dutch first
  • English first
  • French first
  • German first
  • Hebrew first
  • Italian first
  • Japanese first
  • Korean first
  • Norwegian first
  • Polish first
  • Portuguese first
  • Russian first
  • Spanish first
  • Swedish first
  • Any
English first
Pia60
Level 5 Contributor
69 reviews
13 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 24 helpful votes
Reviewed 2 March 2014

We arrived very late, just before midnight with the Hurtigruten ship. Within a 5 min. walk we arrived at the hotel. The reception desk clerk was polite as can be and after a quick check in, we opened the door to a wonderful room with a view of the harbor and the cathedral. A very good shower and an excellent breakfast with lots of fresh choices made it a great stay.

  • Stayed February 2014, travelled with friends
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Review collected in partnership with NordicChoiceHotels.com

Helpful?
Thank pia60
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Oyvind V, General Manager at Clarion Collection Hotel With, responded to this review, 3 March 2014
Dear Pia.

Thank you for your nice review stay stay with us in Tromsø.

I hope to welcome you back at another time.

Best regards
Øyvind Vassbotn
General Manager
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
London, United Kingdom
Level 4 Contributor
12 reviews
8 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 23 helpful votes
Reviewed 26 February 2014

We recently stayed here for 4 nights. Expensive (as is everything in Norway!) but cost effective and good value with food and 24 hour hot drinks.

Harbour room upgrade recommended if you can afford it. Lovely view. Location of hotel great. Few minutes walk from airport bus stop. Fly Bus from airport cost about £7 equivalent per person for 15 minutes or so and runs regularily.

Breakfast everything you could ask for (although hot food was not hot!), waffles great (fun to watch tourists fight each other when they think they are getting something free), evening meal very good. Daily soup, one hot dish, basic salad and fresh breads and cheese and hams. Have something for everyone. Starts at 6pm and only suggestion would be if this could be a little earlier as many tours leave around this time so either people are unable to make use of buffet or it turns into a mad dash.

Nice touch to have free hot drinks 24/7 and fruit. Especially with back door being left unlocked so that you were able to walk out to harbour outside to watch lights if you are lucky and pop back in to warm up! Very quaint undercover area with tables and chairs outside backdoor.

Room clean and adequate with large tv, desk, great shower. Wifi access good. All staff on reception helpful and polite and answered all questions. No wardrobes or drawers so need to live out of suitcase, but hardly a show stopper. The rooms were actually a lot quieter than expected and nice to be able to turn heating on and off.

There is also a small gym and sauna on top floor with a lovely room. Shame there isnt a little bar area up here for relaxing :-)

If we were to return to Tromso we would definately stay here. Not only do you get more for your money but you do not need to make any compromises on anything else and this hotel definately is the best for location.

This hotel was a good find and we had an enjoyable stay in a small, quaint hotel which ticked all the boxes.

Enjoy!

Room Tip: if you are very lucky, a harbour view room could save you cost of a northern lights tour!
See more room tips
  • Stayed February 2014, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank 1regal
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Oyvind V, General Manager at Clarion Collection Hotel With, responded to this review, 27 February 2014
Dear 1regal.

Thank you so much for the nice review and stay with us in Tromsø. We hope you had a lovely time and got to enjoy the northern lights.

We wish you and yours all the best!

Best regards
Øyvind Vassbotn
GM
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
London, United Kingdom
Level 2 Contributor
6 reviews
5 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 3 helpful votes
Reviewed 26 February 2014

We 5 (myself, husband, son, daughter & grand daughter) stayed here for 2 nights, 21st & 22nd February 2014. We arrived in Tromso on the Hurtigruten ship 'Vesteralen' at midnight & walked the few minutes to the hotel. We were greeted, given our keys & found our rooms on the 3rd floor at the side of the hotel. We had a double for the men & a triple for the ladies just as we had reserved. We enjoyed our breakfast the next morning, plenty of food to choose from, we then went out & returned for a coffee later, then had a cable car trip (recommended!) & returned to the hotel once more for waffles, we made these ourselves & added sour cream & strawberry conserve, really yummy!! We later enjoyed a light meal in the evening, a good choice of salads, cheeses & cold meat with potatoes, breads & crackers. We were a little disappointed to find that the dessert was depleted & not replaced. The next morning was a Sunday & we were to leave early before breakfast began at 8am but Anett in reception arranged for breakfast to be served earlier so that we could eat before our taxi arrived to take us to the airport, this was very much appreciated. All in all our stay was very satisfactory, we were looked after well, the room was spotlessly clean & comfortable & the extra 3rd bed fitted in fine for the couple of nights that we stayed. Having the waffles & a complimentary evening meal as well as a good breakfast was very welcome in a country with eye-wateringly expensive prices! That aside, we all love Norway & would be very happy to return to the Clarion Collection Hotel With. Thank you! :o)

  • Stayed February 2014, travelled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank Angela R
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Oyvind V, General Manager at Clarion Collection Hotel With, responded to this review, 27 February 2014
Dear Draebrook.

Thank you for the stay and your nice and generous review of us. We are pleased you had a nice weekend in Tromsø with your family and I will bring your nice words to our staff.

We wish you all the best for the future and hope to welcome you back soon.

Best regards
Øyvind Vassbotn
GM
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Westerham, United Kingdom
1 review
Reviewed 25 February 2014

Ask for a front of hotel room view & not over the main door at the rear. The staff are all excellent. Perfect location in the town. Breakfast & supper are very good, better than expected. Bit of a Que for the waffles & lots of toppings available.


  • Stayed February 2014, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Review collected in partnership with NordicChoiceHotels.com

Helpful?
Thank Peter/Linda D
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Oyvind V, General Manager at Clarion Collection Hotel With, responded to this review, 26 February 2014
Dear Peter and Linda.

Thank you for the nice review and stay with us.

I wish you a lovely spring to come!

Best regards
Øyvind Vassbotn
GM
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
London, United Kingdom
Level 5 Contributor
85 reviews
40 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 43 helpful votes
Reviewed 25 February 2014

Arrived at hotel to find our superior room was not ready; a bit odd as the couple in front of us had just upgraded to a superior room and were given their keys!! In the end it took 24 hours for our room to be ready and we had to settle for a very small room on the first night. Having booked our room some 5 months before not a great start!!
Our end room was comfortable with good views across the harbour. Room was clean and equipped with all the necessary items.
Breakfast was a good choice however the downside is that the fried eggs each day were served cold, even when just delivered from the kitchen. Tea and coffee throughout the day is a great add on coupled with hot waffles at 3pm. The light evening meal is very good with all the food being very fresh.
If the effort was made to iron out the small errors then this would be a fantastic hotel.

Room Tip: If you can get a superior room the view is well worth it.
See more room tips
  • Stayed February 2014, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank AFL63
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Oyvind V, General Manager at Clarion Collection Hotel With, responded to this review, 26 February 2014
Hi AFL63.

Thank you for the nice review and see your mailbox for a PM from me. It is important for us to clear up in any wrong doings and hope you can assist me in that.

Hope you enjoyed your stay in Tromsø and with us after a bit unfortunate start.

Wish you and yours a lovely spring soon to come.

Best regards

Øyvind Vassbotn
GM
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Level 3 Contributor
11 reviews
4 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 18 helpful votes
Reviewed 24 February 2014 via mobile

Nothing to complain about this hotel. Very good food, good atmosphere, nice staff, clean and perfect location.
Its right next to the harbor, one night we could even see the northern light from our hotel. I highly recommend this place. Oh and perfect wifi connection!

Stayed February 2014, travelled with friends
Helpful?
Thank Lisa-mari8
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Oyvind V, General Manager at Clarion Collection Hotel With, responded to this review, 26 February 2014
Hei Lisa-Mari.

Thank you for the feedback and stay with us. How great isn't it to see the northern light while enjoying hot drinks from the room or restaurant? Really glad you get to do it.

Hope to welcome you back another time.

Best regards
Øyvind Vassbotn
General Manager
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Hotels you might also like...
Travellers also viewed these Tromso hotels
0.2 mi away
Clarion Hotel The Edge
0.1 mi away
Scandic Ishavshotel
Scandic Ishavshotel
#3 of 18 in Tromso
264 reviews
0.1 mi away
Radisson Blu Hotel, Tromso
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
0.3 mi away
Comfort Hotel Xpress Tromso
0.0 mi away
Clarion Collection Hotel Aurora
0.2 mi away
City Living Hotel & Apartments
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to Clarion Collection Hotel With? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Clarion Collection Hotel With

Property: Clarion Collection Hotel With
Address: Sjogata 35-37, Tromso 9291, Norway
Region: Norway > Northern Norway > Troms > Tromso
Amenities:
Bar / Lounge Beverage Selection Fitness Centre with Gym / Workout Room Free Breakfast Free High Speed Internet ( WiFi ) Restaurant Suites Wheelchair access
Hotel Style:
#1 Romantic Hotel in Tromso
#1 Family Hotel in Tromso
#1 Green Hotel in Tromso
#3 Business Hotel in Tromso
Price Range (Based on Average Rates): ££
Hotel Class:3.5 star — Clarion Collection Hotel With 3.5*
Number of rooms: 76
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
Clarion Collection Hotel With is perfectly located in the harbor of the city center. Here you are only 50 meters away from the main street of Tromso, close to restaurants and shopping. At all Clarion Collection Hotels the guests have included breakfast, coffee/tea all day, waffles from 15:00(3pm)to 18:00(6pm) and light evening buffet from 18:00(6pm) to 21:00(9pm). The light evening buffet consists of one hot soup, one hot dish and bread. Not a big dinner buffet, but for most of our guests a really satisfying dinner. This makes Clarion Collection Hotel With a really cheap alternative for tourists visiting Tromso. We also offer a relax room with sauna and a steam room at the top of the hotel. Welcome to a warm and friendly hotel where you can feel at home. ... more   less 
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Booking.com, Hotels.com, Ebookers, Priceline, Expedia, Ctrip TA, TripOnline SA, Evoline ltd, HotelQuickly, getaroom.com and Cancelon so you can book your Clarion Collection Hotel With reservations with confidence. We help millions of travellers each month to find the perfect hotel for both holiday and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
Clarion Collection With Hotel
Clarion Collection Tromsø
Clarion Tromso
Tromsø Clarion

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing