We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Good choise for visiting Tromsø”

Best prices for -
Check In dd/mm/yyyy Check Out dd/mm/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 12 more sites!
Clarion Collection Hotel With
Ranked #1 of 18 Hotels in Tromso
Certificate of Excellence
GreenLeadersPlatinum level
Harstad, Norway
Level 3 Contributor
11 reviews
9 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 1 helpful vote
“Good choise for visiting Tromsø”
Reviewed 13 March 2014

Very nice Hotel for both business and for families, friendly and service minded staff, located at the quay in the center of the city with only a few minutes walk from everything. Did not try the Hotel resteurant, but there are many good restaurants in the area.

  • Stayed March 2014, travelled on business
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Review collected in partnership with NordicChoiceHotels.com

Helpful?
Thank Arnt Vidar E
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Oyvind V, General Manager at Clarion Collection Hotel With, responded to this review, 17 March 2014
Hei Arnt Vidar.

Thank you for the review and stay with us. Glad you enjoyed your stay with us and hope you choose us next time in Tromsø also.

Wish you a lovely spring.

Best regards
Øyvind Vassbotn
GM
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Write a Review

1,517 reviews from our community

Traveller rating
    908
    487
    91
    22
    9
See reviews for
201
802
106
125
Rating summary
  • Location
  • Sleep Quality
  • Rooms
  • Service
  • Value
  • Cleanliness
Traveller tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (401)
Date | Rating
  • Chinese (Traditional) first
  • Chinese (Simplified) first
  • Czech first
  • Danish first
  • Dutch first
  • English first
  • French first
  • German first
  • Hebrew first
  • Italian first
  • Japanese first
  • Korean first
  • Norwegian first
  • Polish first
  • Portuguese first
  • Russian first
  • Spanish first
  • Swedish first
  • Any
English first
Boston, Massachusetts
Level 1 Contributor
3 reviews
3 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 1 helpful vote
Reviewed 12 March 2014

Stayed here for 2 nights in Tromso, and we loved it. Rooms are pretty small, but the service was lovely. While it doesn't look like much from the outside, rooms are appointed well -- make sure to upgrade for a few bucks and get one with a water view! The hotel also features complimentary breakfast and light supper in the evening (we had fish soup, salad and fresh breads), which is great if you're heading out for Northern Lights chasing -- and reeling from the price for a meal in Norway!

We stayed one night in the other Clarion hotel next door and much preferred this one.

  • Stayed March 2014, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank jkaty
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Oyvind V, General Manager at Clarion Collection Hotel With, responded to this review, 17 March 2014
Dear jkaty.

Thank you for the review and your stay with us. Glad you took the long way over the Atlantic and chose us for your destination! Hope you got to enjoy the northern lights while you were here and liked our town.

Best regards
Øyvind Vassbotn
Gm
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Somerset
Level 2 Contributor
9 reviews
7 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 2 helpful votes
Reviewed 12 March 2014

In a perfect position by the water.Stayed for three nights recently.Rooms adequate,food very good with afternoon waffles a real treat !Staff all very friendly and helpfull,A great base to see Tromso and The Northern Lights which we did see and were amazing..

Room Tip: If available choose a view of the harbour.
See more room tips
  • Stayed March 2014, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank TownEndFarm
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Oyvind V, General Manager at Clarion Collection Hotel With, responded to this review, 17 March 2014
Hi TownEndFarm.

Thank you for reviewing us and your stay with us in Tromsø. Really glad you got to enjoy the northern lights. The weather in March has been quite unstable.

We hope to welcome you back to us another time.

Best regards
Øyvind Vassbotn
GM
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
London, United Kingdom
1 review
Reviewed 12 March 2014

Positive: location
Negative: staff isn't very friendly, lacking attention to detail and cleanliness, food is low key and buffet needs to be attented and cleaned more often, room wasn'tcleaned properly

  • Stayed March 2014, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Review collected in partnership with NordicChoiceHotels.com

Helpful?
Thank Dirk E
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Oyvind V, General Manager at Clarion Collection Hotel With, responded to this review, 17 March 2014
Dear Dirk.

Thank you for your feedback to us. I am sorry your stay with us was not up to your expectations. We live out of good feedback and I take your comments with my staff so we can try and prevent this in the future.

We hope you return to us another time so we can be able to make a better impression on you.

Best regards
Øyvind Vassbotn
GM
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
London, United Kingdom
Level 5 Contributor
49 reviews
20 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 16 helpful votes
Reviewed 11 March 2014

Fellow tripadvisors were right. Not the most showy or luxurious of hotels, but the all-in package of room, breakfast, afternoon waffles and evening meal for the Northern Light chasers and winter sports novices was good value for this part of Norway.

Very helpful staff - even found us an English speaking dentist.

  • Stayed March 2014, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank BriefnCrisp
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Oyvind V, General Manager at Clarion Collection Hotel With, responded to this review, 12 March 2014
Hi BriefnCrisp.

Thank you so much for the review and your stay. Glad you had a good time with us and hope you return back to us one day.

Best regards
Øyvind Vassbotn
GM
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Singapore, Singapore
Level 6 Contributor
116 reviews
100 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 101 helpful votes
Reviewed 11 March 2014 via mobile

We stayed 4 nights at Clarion With. The weather was mostly rainy, snowy and windy during our stay and the hotel was always a welcoming place to hang around and return to.

Best part about Clarion With is the all-inclusive meals of breakfast, afternoon waffles, light dinner buffet, all-day coffee/tea and apples. Other than the dining room, it has a cosy adjoining room of sofa and lounge chairs, where we spent our time hiding from the wet cold weather to read and use it's very good wifi.

Wifi was a little weak in the room and occasionally, the connection could drop. Room was cosy, loved to curl up in the big leather chair to read or surf. The bed and pillow were a little soft. Duvet was warm and comfortable. Bathroom functional, hot water came quickly with good pressure. Get a waterfront room, worth the extra cost.

Stayed March 2014, travelled with friends
Helpful?
Thank chezkelly
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Oyvind V, General Manager at Clarion Collection Hotel With, responded to this review, 18 March 2014
Dear chezkelly.

Thank you for choosing us after your long journey and also for reviewing us. We are glad you enjoyed your stay and shared your pictures, even though the weather did not present it self from the best side this time.

I will check up with the Wifi. It should have full coverage, so I might adjust the senders around the hotel. Thank you for the tip.

Best regards
Øyvind Vassbotn
GM
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
London
Level 3 Contributor
18 reviews
11 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 1 helpful vote
Reviewed 11 March 2014

We stayed in Tromso for 4 nights in March 2014 to catch the Northern Lights. We had read the online rviews and had prebooked a harbour view room, and had the view over the bridge to the Arctic Cathedral & mountains.
I would agree with the previous reviews that the room was basic but comfortable and in particular that there is not a lot of hanging space and practically no drawers (we had taken lots of fleeces, thermal underwear and thick socks etc) which we mostly left in the cases. But its managable for a short holiday.
We didn't use the bar in the hotel, having stocked up at the airport because of the prices in Norway. We loved the breakfasts which were excellent, it was really nice to have access to tea & coffee all day and the waffles which are available from 3-6 pm were fabulous.The evening buffet was less inspiring (for those who still had room after a couple of waffles), but it was very helpful that supper is available early for those who were going out early for northern lights hunting or other excursions.

The staff were excellent: friendly, helpful, efficient & polite.The hotel is well located right on the harbour and a few minutes walk away from everything: the tourist information office, the boats to other islands/ round the fjords,the cathedral and the shops.

We liked Tromso as a town, and found everything we needed for seeing the Northern Lights and other excursions. I'm afraid we didn't make it this time to the cathedral, to any museums/galleries etc. We went twice on Northern Lights hunts with Arctic Guide Service Day Tours and had very good experiences with them. Highly recommend going with DAN if you can.

Room Tip: Recommend booking a harbour view room.
See more room tips
  • Stayed March 2014, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank jsmw10
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Oyvind V, General Manager at Clarion Collection Hotel With, responded to this review, 12 March 2014
Dear jsmw10.

Thank you for the generous review of us and your recent stay here. Hope you had success with your NL hunt. Maybe come back one summer and experience the rest of Tromsø and maybe to experience the midnight sun?

Best regards
Øyvind Vassbotn
GM
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Hotels you might also like...
Travellers also viewed these Tromso hotels
0.2 mi away
Clarion Hotel The Edge
0.1 mi away
Scandic Ishavshotel
Scandic Ishavshotel
#3 of 18 in Tromso
264 reviews
0.1 mi away
Radisson Blu Hotel, Tromso
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
0.3 mi away
Comfort Hotel Xpress Tromso
0.0 mi away
Clarion Collection Hotel Aurora
0.2 mi away
City Living Hotel & Apartments
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to Clarion Collection Hotel With? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Clarion Collection Hotel With

Property: Clarion Collection Hotel With
Address: Sjogata 35-37, Tromso 9291, Norway
Region: Norway > Northern Norway > Troms > Tromso
Amenities:
Bar / Lounge Beverage Selection Fitness Centre with Gym / Workout Room Free Breakfast Free High Speed Internet ( WiFi ) Restaurant Suites Wheelchair access
Hotel Style:
#1 Green Hotel in Tromso
#1 Family Hotel in Tromso
#1 Romantic Hotel in Tromso
#3 Business Hotel in Tromso
Price Range (Based on Average Rates): ££
Hotel Class:3.5 star — Clarion Collection Hotel With 3.5*
Number of rooms: 76
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
Clarion Collection Hotel With is perfectly located in the harbor of the city center. Here you are only 50 meters away from the main street of Tromso, close to restaurants and shopping. At all Clarion Collection Hotels the guests have included breakfast, coffee/tea all day, waffles from 15:00(3pm)to 18:00(6pm) and light evening buffet from 18:00(6pm) to 21:00(9pm). The light evening buffet consists of one hot soup, one hot dish and bread. Not a big dinner buffet, but for most of our guests a really satisfying dinner. This makes Clarion Collection Hotel With a really cheap alternative for tourists visiting Tromso. We also offer a relax room with sauna and a steam room at the top of the hotel. Welcome to a warm and friendly hotel where you can feel at home. ... more   less 
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Priceline, Ctrip TA, Booking.com, Expedia, Hotels.com, Ebookers, TripOnline SA, Evoline ltd, HotelQuickly, getaroom.com and Cancelon so you can book your Clarion Collection Hotel With reservations with confidence. We help millions of travellers each month to find the perfect hotel for both holiday and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
Clarion Collection With Hotel
Clarion Collection Tromsø
Clarion Tromso
Tromsø Clarion

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing