We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“best location and harbour view”

Best prices for -
Check In dd/mm/yyyy Check Out dd/mm/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 9 more sites!
Clarion Collection Hotel With
Ranked #1 of 18 Hotels in Tromso
Certificate of Excellence
GreenLeadersPlatinum level
Istanbul, Turkey
1 review
“best location and harbour view”
Reviewed 20 March 2014

Comfortable stay with great staff. Breakfast and dinner were great. Our room was a superior room but still just enough space to fit the baby crib. I suspect regular rooms are a little small. We used the parking space of the hotel across the street as the hotel does not have its own parking space.


  • Stayed March 2014, travelled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Review collected in partnership with NordicChoiceHotels.com

Helpful?
Thank Huseyin K
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Oyvind V, General Manager at Clarion Collection Hotel With, responded to this review, 25 March 2014
Hi Huseyin K.

Thank you for the nice review and your stay with us. It is quite rare with turkish guests here, normally norwegians go the other way. So a nice surprise! :) We are glad you enjoyed your stay with us.

Best regards
Øyvind Vassbotn
GM
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Write a Review

1,517 reviews from our community

Traveller rating
    908
    487
    91
    22
    9
See reviews for
201
802
106
125
Rating summary
  • Location
  • Sleep Quality
  • Rooms
  • Service
  • Value
  • Cleanliness
Traveller tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (401)
Date | Rating
  • Chinese (Traditional) first
  • Chinese (Simplified) first
  • Czech first
  • Danish first
  • Dutch first
  • English first
  • French first
  • German first
  • Hebrew first
  • Italian first
  • Japanese first
  • Korean first
  • Norwegian first
  • Polish first
  • Portuguese first
  • Russian first
  • Spanish first
  • Swedish first
  • Any
English first
London, United Kingdom
Level 3 Contributor
7 reviews
5 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 8 helpful votes
Reviewed 19 March 2014

Just come back from a long weekend in Tromso. Hotel was excellent, really good location. Always a good choice at breakfast and at the weekends it was served till 11, which was great as we didn't get in one morning until four .The waffles in the afternoon, were a really nice touch. We found this very useful as most of the tours that we took for the Northern lights or Dog Sledding etc. started at 5 or 6 before the evening meal was laid out. The room we had was at the back of the hotel, it was quiet but could have done with either net curtains or some kind of blinds, so the curtains could be opened without the building opposite being able to see in.

Sauna and Steam room was very welcome after a day out in the cold, all in all I'd definitely recommend this hotel

  • Stayed March 2014, travelled with friends
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank wendy68lea
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Oyvind V, General Manager at Clarion Collection Hotel With, responded to this review, 25 March 2014
Dear Wendy.

Thank you for such a nice review and for your recent stay with us. Glad you had a great time and I hope you got to see the lights on your excursions.

We hope to welcome you back soon.

Best regards
Øyvind Vassbotn
GM
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
London, United Kingdom
Level 4 Contributor
24 reviews
7 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 5 helpful votes
Reviewed 19 March 2014

If I was going to Tromso again I would definitely stay at this hotel:

- Central location
- Free waffles
- Free tea and coffee all day
- Sauna and steam room
- Evening meal included in price
- Clean rooms with comfortable beds
- Generally friendly staff, especially cleaners
- Stuffed polar bear in the lobby

A couple of minor points:
- Before check-in and after check-out there isn't enough room in the storage room or behind reception for everyone's luggage, so we just had to leave our bags in the middle of reception. This was not very secure and we had skis so they were in the way a bit.
- Only one person on reception at a time when they must know a flight has just landed so it will be busy. That person not very happy - perhaps understandably but a shame really as everyone else so friendly...

  • Stayed March 2014, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank Agadou67
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Oyvind V, General Manager at Clarion Collection Hotel With, responded to this review, 25 March 2014
Dear Agadou67

Thank you for the nice review and you stay with us. Hope you had a great time. We are aware of the high traffic which has recently started on saturdays and tuesday due to the Norwegian flight to London. We are looking to address it in a different way next season, as the flight times change some. It is however overwhelming and a bit surprising that so many of our guests, is using just these flights. It create challenges for us as a small hotel to make good logistic solutions for luggage up to 80 people at a time. We have made good experiences this year, which will improve our efforts for next northern light season.

Wish you a lovely spring and welcome back to us soon.

Best regards
Øyvind Vassbotn
GM
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
saffron walden
Level 4 Contributor
44 reviews
17 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 25 helpful votes
Reviewed 19 March 2014

We have just returned from Tromso and our stay at The Clarion Collection Hotel With made the whole trip fantastic. The welcome on arrival was warm and friendly, the rooms are really good - we upgraded to a harbour view for our final 2 nights. Well worth it. The sauna and gym look out over the harbour - wonderfully relaxing. The hotel is right in the centre, easy access to the museums, Tourist Info office and shops. The highlight of this hotel has to be the afternoon waffles! Not only a tasty and warming snack but an opportunity to meet others and to share stories of trips. Evening meals as part of the booking makes this hotel absolutely perfect. Prices in Norway are high and the meal as well as being very good, saves money and time. It's a three course menu served as a buffet at 6 pm - giving time to eat early and set off for the Northern Lights hunt! I cannot fault this hotel - welcome, cleanliness, food, location, price …it has it all!

Room Tip: Pay the extra 150 for a harbour view - a higher floor is really lovely.
See more room tips
  • Stayed March 2014, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank inspire08
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Oyvind V, General Manager at Clarion Collection Hotel With, responded to this review, 25 March 2014
Hi inspire08.

Thank you for such a great review and that you had such a nice time with us in Tromsø.

I hope to welcome you back another time to us :)

Wish you all a lovely spring.

Best regards
Øyvind Vassbotn
GM
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Dover, Vermont
Level 1 Contributor
3 reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 2 helpful votes
Reviewed 16 March 2014

would go back - excellent location, great view with superior room facing harbor, quiet etc. What should be emphasized is the value. Besides a good breakfast, they offered a lunch snack (waffles) and an evening meal. While they don't really call it dinner, a soup, salad bar and main course (which can be adjusted to vegetarian) is quite good by my standards, avoids the really high expense of a dinner in town and importantly gets you out by 6:30 to 7:30 if you are going to view the Northern Lights.

  • Stayed February 2014, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank stevethetraveler1
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Oyvind V, General Manager at Clarion Collection Hotel With, responded to this review, 19 March 2014
Dear stevethetraveler1.

We are grateful that we receive your first review and we are glad you enjoyed your stay. Hope you also got to see the northern lights while you were in Tromsø.

Let's hope we can welcome you back to us another time!

Best regards
Øyvind Vassbotn
GM
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Taiwan
Level 2 Contributor
4 reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 6 helpful votes
Reviewed 16 March 2014

Stayed for a week as part of Northern Light Chase. The room is clean and well take care.
They have standard English breakfast. As for dinner .. the hotel will change their special main course everyday (P.S during my winter stay). Staff is friendly.

  • Stayed December 2013, travelled with friends
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
1 Thank JCHUA23
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Oyvind V, General Manager at Clarion Collection Hotel With, responded to this review, 18 March 2014
Hi JCHUA23!

Thank you for the review and that you stayed with us in December. Hope you had a wonderful time and that you got to see the northern lights while you were here. '

Wish you a lovely spring time.

Best regards
Øyvind Vassbotn
GM
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Copenhagen, Denmark
Level 4 Contributor
29 reviews
10 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 16 helpful votes
Reviewed 15 March 2014

The hotel location can't get better - in the city center and overlooking the harbour. We got an upper room with a fabulous view on Tromsø harbour, mountains and the bridge. The room was ok - not spectacular but fine. Breakfast buffet was good - again nothing fantastic, but they served organic greens and rye bread so I was very satisfied. A small, but irritating detail - on a Sunday butter was lacking. I don't eat margarine and I think for a pretty expensive hotel it should be possible to cater butter if they run out of their supplies? It also seemed that on Sunday the bread was from a day before. Again, I'm sure there are open bakeries in Tromsø even in the weekend? Complimentary afternoon waffles and dinner buffet. In terms of waffles they could invest in 2 more waffle machines as the line is always long. The dinner was very fine - enough greens, warm and cold dishes. All-day access to tea and coffee which is highly appreciable as it is Norway and a cup of coffee is not the cheapest.
The staff was ok in terms of helpfulness. Cleaning staff has by mistake taken my earrings that I stored in a wineglass. I got them back after asking in the reception, but I think they could pay more attention to what the grab :-)
I regret I haven't try the sauna - they have a nice relax zone on the top floor.
It also brought us luck to stay there as straight after arrival the staff called us outside to see the Northern Lights and we saw a short show :-) The day after the weather got bad and we didn't see anymore lights.

  • Stayed March 2014, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank SonjaAP
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Oyvind V, General Manager at Clarion Collection Hotel With, responded to this review, 18 March 2014
Dear SonjaAP.

Thank you for the nice review and stay with us while in Tromsø. I appreciate the good tips from your. We should have butter all days, so I appologize that we ran out of this. As most stores aer closed on sundays, then there is not a quick fix to solve this once we are aware of it.

Maybe next time you get to try the relax? We hope you return to us one day.

Best regards
Øyvind Vassbotn
GM
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Hotels you might also like...
Travellers also viewed these Tromso hotels
0.2 mi away
Clarion Hotel The Edge
0.1 mi away
Scandic Ishavshotel
Scandic Ishavshotel
#3 of 18 in Tromso
264 reviews
0.1 mi away
Radisson Blu Hotel, Tromso
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
0.3 mi away
Comfort Hotel Xpress Tromso
0.0 mi away
Clarion Collection Hotel Aurora
0.2 mi away
City Living Hotel & Apartments
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to Clarion Collection Hotel With? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Clarion Collection Hotel With

Property: Clarion Collection Hotel With
Address: Sjogata 35-37, Tromso 9291, Norway
Region: Norway > Northern Norway > Troms > Tromso
Amenities:
Bar / Lounge Beverage Selection Fitness Centre with Gym / Workout Room Free Breakfast Free High Speed Internet ( WiFi ) Restaurant Suites Wheelchair access
Hotel Style:
#1 Family Hotel in Tromso
#1 Green Hotel in Tromso
#1 Romantic Hotel in Tromso
#3 Business Hotel in Tromso
Price Range (Based on Average Rates): ££
Hotel Class:3.5 star — Clarion Collection Hotel With 3.5*
Number of rooms: 76
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
Clarion Collection Hotel With is perfectly located in the harbor of the city center. Here you are only 50 meters away from the main street of Tromso, close to restaurants and shopping. At all Clarion Collection Hotels the guests have included breakfast, coffee/tea all day, waffles from 15:00(3pm)to 18:00(6pm) and light evening buffet from 18:00(6pm) to 21:00(9pm). The light evening buffet consists of one hot soup, one hot dish and bread. Not a big dinner buffet, but for most of our guests a really satisfying dinner. This makes Clarion Collection Hotel With a really cheap alternative for tourists visiting Tromso. We also offer a relax room with sauna and a steam room at the top of the hotel. Welcome to a warm and friendly hotel where you can feel at home. ... more   less 
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Priceline, Booking.com, Ctrip TA, Expedia, Hotels.com, Ebookers, HotelQuickly and getaroom.com so you can book your Clarion Collection Hotel With reservations with confidence. We help millions of travellers each month to find the perfect hotel for both holiday and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
Clarion Collection With Hotel
Clarion Collection Tromsø
Clarion Tromso
Tromsø Clarion

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing