We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.
The latest reviews. The lowest prices. The perfect place to shop for hotels.

“Lovely hotel” 5 of 5 bubbles
Review of Clarion Collection Hotel With

Best prices for -
Check In dd/mm/yyyy Check Out dd/mm/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 3 more sites!
Clarion Collection Hotel With
Ranked #1 of 18 Hotels in Tromso
Certificate of Excellence
GreenLeadersPlatinum level
Kent, England
Level Contributor
32 reviews
18 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 29 helpful votes
“Lovely hotel”
5 of 5 bubbles Reviewed 27 March 2014

I had originally booked to stay in the Rica Ishav but having read lots of reviews beforehand about the building work, I switched and booked a room at the Clarion Collection Hotel With and I'm so pleased I did.
It's a lovely hotel with very friendly and helpful staff. We had a lovely room overlooking the harbour (there is hardly any storage in the rooms so we lived out of our cases for 3 days).
The breakfast was excellent with a great selection of hot and cold foods, and I was impressed that there were some gluten free items and also soya milk for those of us with food intolerances.
It was lovely to be able to have hot drinks throughout the day and we always seemed to make it back from our day trips just in time for waffles and fruit!
The evening meal was a real bonus, there was always hot food or a great selection of salad and cold items.
The hotel is well located near the harbour and the centre of Tromso.
If we go back to Tromso then we will definitely stay here again.

Room Tip: Ask for a harbour view
See more room tips
  • Stayed March 2014, travelled as a couple
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Value
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Location
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Sleep Quality
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Rooms
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Service
Helpful?
Thank PJS100
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Oyvind V, General Manager at Clarion Collection Hotel With, responded to this review, 28 March 2014
Hi PJS100.

Thank you for the nice and generous review of us. Really glad you decided to go for us, and I hope to welcome you back to us for your next visit in Tromsø.

We thank you for your visit and wish you a lovely spring.

Best regards
Øyvind Vassbotn
GM
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Write a Review

1,454 reviews from our community

Traveller rating
    883
    458
    87
    17
    9
See reviews for
190
771
102
116
Rating summary
  • Location
    5 of 5 bubbles
  • Sleep Quality
    4.5 of 5 bubbles
  • Rooms
    4.5 of 5 bubbles
  • Service
    4.5 of 5 bubbles
  • Value
    4.5 of 5 bubbles
  • Cleanliness
    4.5 of 5 bubbles
Traveller tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (391)
Date | Rating
  • Chinese (Traditional) first
  • Chinese (Simplified) first
  • Czech first
  • Danish first
  • Dutch first
  • English first
  • French first
  • German first
  • Hebrew first
  • Italian first
  • Japanese first
  • Korean first
  • Norwegian first
  • Polish first
  • Portuguese first
  • Russian first
  • Spanish first
  • Swedish first
  • Any
English first
Oslo
Level Contributor
83 reviews
17 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 25 helpful votes
4 of 5 bubbles Reviewed 27 March 2014

We did spend a weekend here in March. It is a small and nice hotel with friendly staff. Big plus for waffles and a complementer evening meal (even if we did not try the evening meal). The only thing we did not really enjoy was the breakfast which was average at the best (but the coffee was good). The rooms could also have been a bit cleaner.

  • Stayed March 2014, travelled as a couple
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Value
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Location
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Sleep Quality
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Rooms
    • 3 of 5 bubbles
      Cleanliness
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Service
Helpful?
Thank Lars A
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Oyvind V, General Manager at Clarion Collection Hotel With, responded to this review, 28 March 2014
Dear Lars.

Thank you for the review to us. I will take your comments with our staff. Good feedback gives us a chance to get better and live up to everyones expectations. Hope you will choose us also next time in Tromsø to let us make up the impression.

Best regards
Øyvind Vassbotn
GM
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
West Midlands
Level Contributor
38 reviews
16 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 10 helpful votes
5 of 5 bubbles Reviewed 27 March 2014

A grand little hotel on the harbour front yet easy to walk to the shopping area, museums and Arctic Cathedral.
We found the staff to be very friendly and helpful, the hotel was clean and comfortable.
On the advise of a review on this site we upgraded our room to a sea view and it was well worth it.
The beds were very comfortable, shower was powerful, plenty of room in the the accommodation.
Our room had a kettle, hairdryer and fridge in it as well as room temperature controls and a separate heater by the window, the minor down side was a lack of wardrobe space which consisted of 5 hangers and no drawers.
The little extras you get withthis hotel were good value too. Breakfast was plentiful and varied (try the bread with carrot in, it's wonderful), dinner was more substantial than I thought & I ate fine despite being veggie as there was plentiful salad and breads & sometimes a hot vegetarian option.
Don't underestimate the fun of making your own waffles in the afternoon!
The hotel provides 24 hour tea/coffee (loved the lattes) and fresh fruit for guests.
The tap water is good to drink, tastes fresh and clear & great in a glass with a bit of ice from the drinks station.
We had a very relaxing peaceful weekend & were lucky enough to see the Aurora.
We'll definitely book in there again.

Room Tip: Upgrade to a sea view, it's worth it. First floor rooms look like they may get noise from the o...
See more room tips
  • Stayed March 2014, travelled with family
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Value
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Location
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Rooms
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Service
Helpful?
Thank blossomdaisi
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Oyvind V, General Manager at Clarion Collection Hotel With, responded to this review, 28 March 2014
Hi blossomdaisi.

Thank you for such a generous and nice review and your stay with us. Really glad you enjoyed your stay and great that you got to see the lights. It is amazing when the conditions open up to a spectacular view of them.

I hope to welcome you back personallynext time.

Best regards
Øyvind Vassbotn
Gm
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
London, United Kingdom
Level Contributor
46 reviews
14 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 30 helpful votes
5 of 5 bubbles Reviewed 26 March 2014

My wife and I fell in love with this hotel ! Great location , super staff and a hotel which oozes character and warmth .
Loved the views of the harbour as the working boats came and went .clean rooms and plentiful breakfast.

would recommend for anyone visiting this lovely part of the world

  • Stayed March 2014, travelled as a couple
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Value
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Location
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Sleep Quality
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Rooms
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Service
Helpful?
Thank paul s
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Oyvind V, General Manager at Clarion Collection Hotel With, responded to this review, 28 March 2014
Hi Paul.

Thank you for such a generous review and your stay with us. Glad you enjoyed your time in Tromsø and also hope you got to experience the northern lights. We have had a bit of unstable weather lately, but hope it did not affect your stay.

Wish you a lovely spring.

Best regards
Øyvind Vassbotn
GM
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
hong kong
Level Contributor
28 reviews
11 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 84 helpful votes
5 of 5 bubbles Reviewed 23 March 2014 via mobile

The hotel is quite new, not sure if it is renovated recently. It's conveniently located by the bay which is quiet and has an excellent view of the harbour. Although the room rates may be a bit high, once you factor in the savings from the free waffles and evening meals, the overall package is quite a good value.

Stayed March 2014, travelled with friends
Helpful?
Thank caion
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Oyvind V, General Manager at Clarion Collection Hotel With, responded to this review, 25 March 2014
Dear Caion.

Thank you for the nice review and staying with us from such a distant location. We really hope you enjoyed your time in Tromsø and with us, and hope to see you back on another occasion.

Best regards
Øyvind Vassbotn
GM
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Level Contributor
4 reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 3 helpful votes
5 of 5 bubbles Reviewed 20 March 2014

Excellent location and great character. Would definitely recommend to anyone visiting Tromso.
The evening meal was definitely undersold as we were expecting a bowl of something and some bread but it was much more than that.

  • Stayed March 2014, travelled as a couple
    • 3 of 5 bubbles
      Value
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Location
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Sleep Quality
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Rooms
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Service
Review collected in partnership with NordicChoiceHotels.com

Helpful?
Thank Dirk F
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Oyvind V, General Manager at Clarion Collection Hotel With, responded to this review, 25 March 2014
Dear Dirk F.

Thank you for the nice review and your stay with us on the harbor. I hope you enjoyed your stay and got to enjoy the lights during your stay in Tromsø.

Wish you a lovely spring.

Best regards
Øyvind Vassbotn
GM
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Istanbul, Turkey
1 review
5 of 5 bubbles Reviewed 20 March 2014

Comfortable stay with great staff. Breakfast and dinner were great. Our room was a superior room but still just enough space to fit the baby crib. I suspect regular rooms are a little small. We used the parking space of the hotel across the street as the hotel does not have its own parking space.


  • Stayed March 2014, travelled with family
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Value
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Location
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Rooms
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Service
Review collected in partnership with NordicChoiceHotels.com

Helpful?
Thank Huseyin K
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Oyvind V, General Manager at Clarion Collection Hotel With, responded to this review, 25 March 2014
Hi Huseyin K.

Thank you for the nice review and your stay with us. It is quite rare with turkish guests here, normally norwegians go the other way. So a nice surprise! :) We are glad you enjoyed your stay with us.

Best regards
Øyvind Vassbotn
GM
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Hotels you might also like...
Travellers also viewed these Tromso hotels
0.2 mi away
Clarion Hotel The Edge
0.1 mi away
Scandic Ishavshotel
Scandic Ishavshotel
#4 of 18 in Tromso
4.0 of 5 bubbles 693 reviews
0.0 mi away
Clarion Collection Hotel Aurora
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
0.3 mi away
Comfort Hotel Xpress Tromso
0.1 mi away
Radisson Blu Hotel, Tromso
0.2 mi away
City Living Hotel & Apartments
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to Clarion Collection Hotel With? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Clarion Collection Hotel With

Property: Clarion Collection Hotel With
Address: Sjogata 35-37, Tromso 9291, Norway
Region: Norway > Northern Norway > Troms > Tromso
Amenities:
Bar / Lounge Beverage Selection Fitness Centre with Gym / Workout Room Free Breakfast Free High Speed Internet ( WiFi ) Restaurant Suites Wheelchair access
Hotel Style:
#1 Family Hotel in Tromso
#1 Romantic Hotel in Tromso
#1 Green Hotel in Tromso
#3 Business Hotel in Tromso
Price Range (Based on Average Rates): ££
Hotel Class:3.5 star — Clarion Collection Hotel With 3.5*
Number of rooms: 76
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
Clarion Collection Hotel With is perfectly located in the harbor of the city center. Here you are only 50 meters away from the main street of Tromso, close to restaurants and shopping. At all Clarion Collection Hotels the guests have included breakfast, coffee/tea all day, waffles from 15:00(3pm)to 18:00(6pm) and light evening buffet from 18:00(6pm) to 21:00(9pm). The light evening buffet consists of one hot soup, one hot dish and bread. Not a big dinner buffet, but for most of our guests a really satisfying dinner. This makes Clarion Collection Hotel With a really cheap alternative for tourists visiting Tromso. We also offer a relax room with sauna and a steam room at the top of the hotel. Welcome to a warm and friendly hotel where you can feel at home. ... more   less 
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Nordic Choice Hotels, Booking.com, Expedia, Hotels.com, Agoda and Odigeo so you can book your Clarion Collection Hotel With reservations with confidence. We help millions of travellers each month to find the perfect hotel for both holiday and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
Clarion Collection With Hotel
Clarion Collection Tromsø
Clarion Tromso
Tromsø Clarion

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing