We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“OK hotel”

Best prices for -
Check In dd/mm/yyyy Check Out dd/mm/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 12 more sites!
Clarion Collection Hotel With
Ranked #1 of 18 Hotels in Tromso
Certificate of Excellence
GreenLeadersPlatinum level
Reviewed 27 March 2014

This is a ok hotel in Tromsø. The hotel is quite old and need renovation but the location is great. The beds are good and the rooms are small but nice. I had a room just above the entrance and heard the sliding doors all night. But all inn all ok.

  • Stayed: January 2014, travelled on business
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank Jorgen H
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Oyvind V, General Manager at Clarion Collection Hotel With, responded to this reviewResponded 28 March 2014

Hi Jorgen89.

Thank you for your review and stay with us. We actally renovated our lobby, restaurant and front desk area last fall. In the same period we also did some work to our guest rooms, and changed all TV's in the hotel. We have focus on keeping the history of the hotel and the old maritime concept which the hotel is based upon.

We hope you return back to us when you are in Tromsø next time, and wish you a lovely weekend and spring.

Best regards
Øyvind Vassbotn
GM

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Write a Review
Reviews (1,546)
There are newer reviews for Clarion Collection Hotel With
See the most recent reviews
Traveller rating
Traveller type
Time of year
Language
  • More languages

719 - 725 of 1,546 reviews

Reviewed 27 March 2014

This hotel has everything you need, great location, staff that go that extra to help you, my room was just what I needed, clean, comfortable, plenty of space to hang clothes, tea and coffee making facilities, the breakfast and evening meals are extremely good and plentiful, tea, coffee when ever you want, every afternoon at 3pm is waffle time, waffles as big as dinner plates (I so miss them!) and the most comfortable bed. This is my third visit in as many years, and going back in 2015...would recommend this hotel 100%

  • Stayed: March 2014, travelled solo
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
1  Thank christina l
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Oyvind V, General Manager at Clarion Collection Hotel With, responded to this reviewResponded 28 March 2014

Dear Christina I.

Thank you so much for the generous review and for returning back to us. We really appreciate it and we look forward to see you again next year. Hope I will see you.

Best regards
Øyvind Vassbotn
GM

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 27 March 2014

I had originally booked to stay in the Rica Ishav but having read lots of reviews beforehand about the building work, I switched and booked a room at the Clarion Collection Hotel With and I'm so pleased I did.
It's a lovely hotel with very friendly and helpful staff. We had a lovely room overlooking the harbour (there is hardly any storage in the rooms so we lived out of our cases for 3 days).
The breakfast was excellent with a great selection of hot and cold foods, and I was impressed that there were some gluten free items and also soya milk for those of us with food intolerances.
It was lovely to be able to have hot drinks throughout the day and we always seemed to make it back from our day trips just in time for waffles and fruit!
The evening meal was a real bonus, there was always hot food or a great selection of salad and cold items.
The hotel is well located near the harbour and the centre of Tromso.
If we go back to Tromso then we will definitely stay here again.

Room Tip: Ask for a harbour view
  • Stayed: March 2014, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank PJS100
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Oyvind V, General Manager at Clarion Collection Hotel With, responded to this reviewResponded 28 March 2014

Hi PJS100.

Thank you for the nice and generous review of us. Really glad you decided to go for us, and I hope to welcome you back to us for your next visit in Tromsø.

We thank you for your visit and wish you a lovely spring.

Best regards
Øyvind Vassbotn
GM

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 27 March 2014

We did spend a weekend here in March. It is a small and nice hotel with friendly staff. Big plus for waffles and a complementer evening meal (even if we did not try the evening meal). The only thing we did not really enjoy was the breakfast which was average at the best (but the coffee was good). The rooms could also have been a bit cleaner.

  • Stayed: March 2014, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank Lars A
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Oyvind V, General Manager at Clarion Collection Hotel With, responded to this reviewResponded 28 March 2014

Dear Lars.

Thank you for the review to us. I will take your comments with our staff. Good feedback gives us a chance to get better and live up to everyones expectations. Hope you will choose us also next time in Tromsø to let us make up the impression.

Best regards
Øyvind Vassbotn
GM

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 27 March 2014

A grand little hotel on the harbour front yet easy to walk to the shopping area, museums and Arctic Cathedral.
We found the staff to be very friendly and helpful, the hotel was clean and comfortable.
On the advise of a review on this site we upgraded our room to a sea view and it was well worth it.
The beds were very comfortable, shower was powerful, plenty of room in the the accommodation.
Our room had a kettle, hairdryer and fridge in it as well as room temperature controls and a separate heater by the window, the minor down side was a lack of wardrobe space which consisted of 5 hangers and no drawers.
The little extras you get withthis hotel were good value too. Breakfast was plentiful and varied (try the bread with carrot in, it's wonderful), dinner was more substantial than I thought & I ate fine despite being veggie as there was plentiful salad and breads & sometimes a hot vegetarian option.
Don't underestimate the fun of making your own waffles in the afternoon!
The hotel provides 24 hour tea/coffee (loved the lattes) and fresh fruit for guests.
The tap water is good to drink, tastes fresh and clear & great in a glass with a bit of ice from the drinks station.
We had a very relaxing peaceful weekend & were lucky enough to see the Aurora.
We'll definitely book in there again.

Room Tip: Upgrade to a sea view, it's worth it. First floor rooms look like they may get noise from the o...
  • Stayed: March 2014, travelled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank blossomdaisi
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Oyvind V, General Manager at Clarion Collection Hotel With, responded to this reviewResponded 28 March 2014

Hi blossomdaisi.

Thank you for such a generous and nice review and your stay with us. Really glad you enjoyed your stay and great that you got to see the lights. It is amazing when the conditions open up to a spectacular view of them.

I hope to welcome you back personallynext time.

Best regards
Øyvind Vassbotn
Gm

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 26 March 2014

My wife and I fell in love with this hotel ! Great location , super staff and a hotel which oozes character and warmth .
Loved the views of the harbour as the working boats came and went .clean rooms and plentiful breakfast.

would recommend for anyone visiting this lovely part of the world

  • Stayed: March 2014, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank paul s
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Oyvind V, General Manager at Clarion Collection Hotel With, responded to this reviewResponded 28 March 2014

Hi Paul.

Thank you for such a generous review and your stay with us. Glad you enjoyed your time in Tromsø and also hope you got to experience the northern lights. We have had a bit of unstable weather lately, but hope it did not affect your stay.

Wish you a lovely spring.

Best regards
Øyvind Vassbotn
GM

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 23 March 2014

The hotel is quite new, not sure if it is renovated recently. It's conveniently located by the bay which is quiet and has an excellent view of the harbour. Although the room rates may be a bit high, once you factor in the savings from the free waffles and evening meals, the overall package is quite a good value.

Stayed: March 2014, travelled with friends
Thank caion
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Oyvind V, General Manager at Clarion Collection Hotel With, responded to this reviewResponded 25 March 2014

Dear Caion.

Thank you for the nice review and staying with us from such a distant location. We really hope you enjoyed your time in Tromsø and with us, and hope to see you back on another occasion.

Best regards
Øyvind Vassbotn
GM

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Hotels you might also like...
Travellers also viewed these Tromso hotels
0.2 mi away
Clarion Hotel The Edge
0.1 mi away
Scandic Ishavshotel
Scandic Ishavshotel
#3 of 18 in Tromso
295 reviews
0.1 mi away
Radisson Blu Hotel, Tromso
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
0.3 mi away
Comfort Hotel Xpress Tromso
0.0 mi away
Clarion Collection Hotel Aurora
0.2 mi away
Scandic Grand Tromso
Scandic Grand Tromso
#10 of 18 in Tromso
487 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to Clarion Collection Hotel With? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Clarion Collection Hotel With

Address: Sjogata 35-37, Tromso 9291, Norway
Region: Norway > Northern Norway > Troms > Tromso
Amenities:
Bar / Lounge Beverage Selection Fitness Centre with Gym / Workout Room Free Breakfast Free High Speed Internet ( WiFi ) Restaurant Suites Wheelchair access
Hotel Style:
#1 Family Hotel in Tromso
#1 Romantic Hotel in Tromso
#1 Green Hotel in Tromso
#3 Business Hotel in Tromso
Price Range: £107 - £216 (Based on Average Rates for a Standard Room)
Hotel Class:3.5 star — Clarion Collection Hotel With 3.5*
Number of rooms: 76
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
Clarion Collection Hotel With is perfectly located in the harbor of the city center. Here you are only 50 meters away from the main street of Tromso, close to restaurants and shopping. At all Clarion Collection Hotels the guests have included breakfast, coffee/tea all day, waffles from 15:00(3pm)to 18:00(6pm) and light evening buffet from 18:00(6pm) to 21:00(9pm). The light evening buffet consists of one hot soup, one hot dish and bread. Not a big dinner buffet, but for most of our guests a really satisfying dinner. This makes Clarion Collection Hotel With a really cheap alternative for tourists visiting Tromso. We also offer a relax room with sauna and a steam room at the top of the hotel. Welcome to a warm and friendly hotel where you can feel at home. ... more   less 
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Expedia, Booking.com, TripOnline SA, Hotels.com, Agoda, Evoline ltd, Ebookers, HotelQuickly, Cancelon, 5viajes2012 S.L. and getaroom.com so you can book your Clarion Collection Hotel With reservations with confidence. We help millions of travellers each month to find the perfect hotel for both holiday and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
Clarion Collection With Hotel
Clarion Collection Tromsø
Clarion Tromso
Tromsø Clarion

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing