We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Fantastic stay”

Best prices for -
Check In dd/mm/yyyy Check Out dd/mm/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 12 more sites!
Clarion Collection Hotel With
Ranked #1 of 18 Hotels in Tromso
Certificate of Excellence
GreenLeadersPlatinum level
Reviewed 24 April 2014

Went to Tromso hopefully to see the Northern Lights - they did not show up - shame. We stayed at this hotel and what a lovely place we chose. The food - staff and location were all excellent. Would certainly recommend this hotel to anybody going to Tromso.

  • Stayed: December 2013, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
2  Thank JoBri8
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Oyvind V, General Manager at Clarion Collection Hotel With, responded to this reviewResponded 28 April 2014

Hi JoBri8.

Thank you so much for a very nice review and stay with us.

Such a shame the lights did not appear for you. Maybe you can come back next winter for a long weekend? It truly is an experience when you get to enjoy it. You can even see it from the room window if it appears on the sky.

We hope to welcome you back to us.

Best regards
Øyvind Vassbotn
GM

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Write a Review
Reviews (1,546)
There are newer reviews for Clarion Collection Hotel With
See the most recent reviews
Traveller rating
Traveller type
Time of year
Language
  • More languages

700 - 706 of 1,546 reviews

Reviewed 23 April 2014

We stayed for four nights and the hotel was very good value. Although we didn't think we would take the free evening buffet meal in fact we did so twice: once on arrival from the airport and another time when we had been out on a day long excursion. The breakfast was OK. The cereal and yogurt option was good. It was great to be able to cook waffles and have coffee/tea during the afternoon, having come back in from a cold day.

Our room faced the harbour and was a good size so I would recommend paying the extra supplement for a superior room, The only drawback was the absence of storage apart from hanging space so we lived out of our suitcases.

The staff were friendly and helpful.

  • Stayed: April 2014, travelled with friends
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
1  Thank Carol G
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Oyvind V, General Manager at Clarion Collection Hotel With, responded to this reviewResponded 28 April 2014

Dear Carol G.

Thank you for your nice review and for the stay with us.

Really glad you enjoyed your stay, and your time in Tromsø. We hope you got to see the lights here, and we hope to welcome you back to us soon.

Best regards
Øyvind Vassbotn
GM

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 22 April 2014

This is a great place to stay at - we also stayed in the Clarion in Oslo. The price was good value and the evening meal really made a saving on our overall spending - taking into account how expensive Norway is.

  • Stayed: April 2014, travelled with friends
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Review collected in partnership with NordicChoiceHotels.com
Thank Ruth W
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Oyvind V, General Manager at Clarion Collection Hotel With, responded to this reviewResponded 28 April 2014

Dear Ruth.

Thank you for your review of us and for choosing us.

We are glad you enjoyed your time with us, and that you come back to us soon.

Best regards
Øyvind Vassbot¨n
GM

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 21 April 2014

The stay at Clarion Collection Hotel With was a memorable experience. My wife and I spent four nights there in mid March, to visit this unique town and to see the Northern Lights. The location is along the beautiful harbour, and is central to many transport (local buses would take you to most attractions, and the airport express coach stop is just around the corner), restaurants, local landmarks, and cruise terminal. The room size is reasonable and if available, choose the harbour facing room, which one could appreciate the ever changing scenes of the harbour at different times of the day. This is not the ultra luxury type hotel, however it does give its guests a homey feel of the Northern hospitality and a sense of exploration with the tasteful deco - that is appropriate and it flows with the environment. Staff is helpful, polite, and attentive – they even help us book tickets in Oslo while we were out sightseeing during the day.

In-house dining is great – food is fresh, with a wide range of choices at the buffet breakfast, while the dinner buffet main is changed daily with quality comparable to other restaurants. The pluses are that both meals are already inclusive in the price that set Clarion Collection Hotel With apart from the rest. As other reviewers have commented, there is also waffle making in the late afternoon, for those who are hungry, which is a nice idea.

This is without doubt the first choice hotel to consider when visiting Tromsø.

Room Tip: If available request a harbour facing room. The scenes are beautiful!
  • Stayed: March 2014, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank tobeslo
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Oyvind V, General Manager at Clarion Collection Hotel With, responded to this reviewResponded 28 April 2014

Hi tobeslo.

Thank you for such a generous review and thank you for choosing us for your stay in Tromsø. Hope you got to see the lights after your long travel and that you enjoyed us and the town.

Hope you return back to us another time.

Best regards
Øyvind Vassbotn
GM

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 19 April 2014

very nice hotel set on the waters edge on a quayside with some other hotels and restaurants. A short walk to the city centre, less than 200metres to the bus station with links to the airport. the staff are very well trained, curtious and polite, the are informative regarding the city. the hotel restaurant throws up various dishes from the world over. the rooms are very clean as is the whole hotel. there is a canope on the quayside which makes sitting down looking over the water with coffee or beer very relaxing.

  • Stayed: July 2013, travelled with friends
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank CraigsdSmith
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Oyvind V, General Manager at Clarion Collection Hotel With, responded to this reviewResponded 28 April 2014

Hi CraigsdSmith.

Thank you so much for the review from your stay last summer. We are glad you had a nice time with us and hope you return back.

Wish you a nice summer.

Best regards
Øyvind Vassbotn
Gm

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 18 April 2014 via mobile

Stayed there from 27th till 31st March:

Pre-stay review:
email responses were very prompt usually within 24 hours. very efficient front desk at check-in. paid extra NOK150 for harbour (well worth). however, our request to avoid a slanted roof room was overlooked as our room was on the 5th floor (made this request for hubby; worried that the roof cause discomfort due to his height of 1.85m). no serious discomfort was experience though.

Room review: small basic room with all amenities and good view. 2 downsides; 1) despite booking a double room (as it was our honeymoon) the bed was made up of 2 single bed and separate mattresses placed together; this was really uncomfortable as there was a wooden beam in the center of the bed so not much of a honeymoon bed. 2) the window view was great but can only be open up to like around 30deg. Understand this from safety aspect cos the windows were huge and hung low, but it was difficult to take good photos through the small window opening.

Meals review (the ready supply of hot water at the restaurant is greatly appreciated):
breakfast was adequate though it was exactly the same offering every day. By the 3rd day, we started only taking the cereal on the breakfast table (the cereal was totally divine; never tasted such good cereal before... seriously!!!) will be good if the waffle machine is available at breakfast.

Afternoon waffles is especially welcoming if there's a snow storm outside. On our first day, there's barely 5-6 guests queuing for waffles and we had a great time. we could make the waffle, leave it at the machine to cook & have tea while waiting. seems to me the waffles taste better if we can wait an extra minute after the light turn green. 2nd day on, there was always a long queue, and thus no such luxury.

The evening meals were the real bonus!!! The food items changes everyday and we can always find something good. On one occasion, we had hot cream shrimp bisque. Another occasion, we had salmon. Yet another, we had fried rice (rare for European cities).

We also like to compliment the front desk for their help in booking airport buses for us in Oslo. We had trouble as the site was in Norwegian. They also willingly helped us print the tickets (something even the int'l names may not do in European cities).

Overall: best value & good service

Stayed: March 2014, travelled as a couple
Thank aurora0008
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Oyvind V, General Manager at Clarion Collection Hotel With, responded to this reviewResponded 28 April 2014

Hi aurora0008.

Thank you for the extensive and nice review of us. You are touching onto a few good points which I will take with our staff to provide better service on next time. By upgrading, they changed room category, and then all the previous considerations were most likely overlooked.

I am glad you enjoyed your stay with us and in Tromsø, after such a long trip.

We hope you return back to us one day :)

Have a lovely summer.

Best regards
Øyvind Vassbotn
Gm

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 17 April 2014

Everything was great, for low price breakfast, dinner, waffles and fruits included, i'm totally satisfied :) the staff very nice as well, the location is great. I wish to visit back soon! Really recommended!

  • Stayed: April 2014, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Review collected in partnership with NordicChoiceHotels.com
Thank Zsuzsanna K
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Oyvind V, General Manager at Clarion Collection Hotel With, responded to this reviewResponded 28 April 2014

Dear Zsuzsanna K

Thank you so much for the kind words.

I hope to welcome you back to us soon!

Best regards
Øyvind Vassbotn
GM

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Hotels you might also like...
Travellers also viewed these Tromso hotels
0.2 mi away
Clarion Hotel The Edge
0.1 mi away
Scandic Ishavshotel
Scandic Ishavshotel
#3 of 18 in Tromso
295 reviews
0.1 mi away
Radisson Blu Hotel, Tromso
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
0.3 mi away
Comfort Hotel Xpress Tromso
0.0 mi away
Clarion Collection Hotel Aurora
0.2 mi away
Scandic Grand Tromso
Scandic Grand Tromso
#9 of 18 in Tromso
488 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to Clarion Collection Hotel With? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Clarion Collection Hotel With

Address: Sjogata 35-37, Tromso 9291, Norway
Region: Norway > Northern Norway > Troms > Tromso
Amenities:
Bar / Lounge Beverage Selection Fitness Centre with Gym / Workout Room Free Breakfast Free High Speed Internet ( WiFi ) Restaurant Suites Wheelchair access
Hotel Style:
#1 Family Hotel in Tromso
#1 Green Hotel in Tromso
#1 Romantic Hotel in Tromso
#3 Business Hotel in Tromso
Price Range: £107 - £217 (Based on Average Rates for a Standard Room)
Hotel Class:3.5 star — Clarion Collection Hotel With 3.5*
Number of rooms: 76
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
Clarion Collection Hotel With is perfectly located in the harbor of the city center. Here you are only 50 meters away from the main street of Tromso, close to restaurants and shopping. At all Clarion Collection Hotels the guests have included breakfast, coffee/tea all day, waffles from 15:00(3pm)to 18:00(6pm) and light evening buffet from 18:00(6pm) to 21:00(9pm). The light evening buffet consists of one hot soup, one hot dish and bread. Not a big dinner buffet, but for most of our guests a really satisfying dinner. This makes Clarion Collection Hotel With a really cheap alternative for tourists visiting Tromso. We also offer a relax room with sauna and a steam room at the top of the hotel. Welcome to a warm and friendly hotel where you can feel at home. ... more   less 
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Booking.com, Expedia, TripOnline SA, Hotels.com, Evoline ltd, Agoda, Ebookers, HotelQuickly, Cancelon, 5viajes2012 S.L. and getaroom.com so you can book your Clarion Collection Hotel With reservations with confidence. We help millions of travellers each month to find the perfect hotel for both holiday and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
Clarion Collection With Hotel
Clarion Collection Tromsø
Clarion Tromso
Tromsø Clarion

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing